New video series about junior researchers at Münster University

In the video series “What’s Next? Junior Researchers at Münster University”, we’ll be introducing nine such researchers. What are the PhD students and postdocs at the University of Münster researching into? What do they find fascinating about their subjects? What obstacles do they have to contend with? It’s a broad spectrum: for example, what part do mathematics play in cancer research? Are there optimists and pessimists among mice? How do learning robots help us to understand algorithms? And why is the study of indigenous peoples’ languages such a challenge? We’ll be taking a closer look not only at the research topics, but also at the people who are working on them.

Dr. Viktoria Krakenberg

Is the glass half full or half empty? This question is useful for quickly finding out whether someone is optimistic or pessimistic. In the case of animals, it’s a bit more difficult. Using a touchscreen system, Viktoria Krakenberg tries to find out whether there are optimists and pessimists among mice and then draw conclusions on their well-being.

Links

Dr. Viktoria Krakenberg

Institut for Behavioural Biology

Dr. Andisheh Motealleh

Dr. Andisheh Motealleh works on the production of functional nano-biomaterials, specifically on cell-biomaterial interactions. In the video she describes how they are used in medicine and explains why one of the things her research does is influence the well-being of cancer patients.

Links

Andisheh Motealleh

Center for Soft Nanoscience

Raphael Fehrmann

Teaching school students how to work online with confidence is an important task for teachers. Raphael Fehrmann is looking in detail at this topic, studying how trainee teachers assess their own digital competence and how learning robots can help them to gain a better understanding of the algorithmic patterns behind the digital media.

Links

Raphael Fehrmann [de]

Lernroboter im Unterricht [de]

Franziska Kleybolte

Why were sacred spaces transformed in the Middle Ages? Franziska Kleybolte, a research associate at the “Religion & Politics” Cluster of Excellence, is looking into the question. In doing so, she is focusing on the transformation of synagogues into churches in the Iberian Peninsula. In the video, she describes not only the methodology she uses in her research, but also the obstacles which exist – and also why she finds research work so fascinating.

Links

Franziska Kleybolte [de]

Cluster "Religion und Politik"

Jens Natrup

Doctoral student at the Institute of Sport and Excercise Science

Jens Natrup is a PhD student at the Institute of Sport Sciences, working in the field of exercise sciences. He is looking into the gaze behaviour of gymnasts during movements involving rotations around their own body axis. In the video he shows how he carries out the studies in the movements laboratory, and how gymnasts and trainers can benefit from his findings.

Links

Jens Natrup

Institute of  Sport and Exercise Science

Study

Cristina Barca

Doctoral student at the European Institute for Molecular Imaging (EIMI)

Cristina Barca from Switzerland is a PhD student at the European Institute for Molecular Imaging (EIMI). Using imaging methods, she is investigating how well certain drugs work in treating strokes. In the video she provides an insight into her everyday working life and explains what is so special about being a scientist.

Links

Cristina Barca

European Institute for Molecular Imaging (EIMI)

Videos at Münster University

Are you a member of the University’s staff and would like to make a film yourself, do you have suggestions for a topic or do you have any questions relating to videos? Just get in touch with us at video@wwu.de. Our team at Film Service Point and at the Communication and Public Relations department will be only too pleased to help. You can find more information here.

Neue Videoreihe über wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs an der WWU

In der Videoserie "What's next? Wissenschaftlicher Nachwuchs an der WWU" stellen wir Ihnen neun Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und Nachwuchswissenschaftler vor. Woran forschen die Doktoranden und PostDocs an der Universität Münster? Was fasziniert sie an ihrem Thema? Mit welchen Hürden kämpfen sie? Die Bandbreite ist groß: Es geht beispielsweise darum, welche Rolle Mathematik in der Krebsforschung spielt, ob es Optimisten und Pessimisten unter Mäusen gibt, wie uns Lernroboter dabei helfen, Algorithmen zu verstehen und warum es eine Herausforderung ist, die Sprachen indigener Völker zu erforschen. Beleuchtet werden nicht nur die wissenschaftlichen Themen, sondern auch die Personen, die sich diesen Themen widmen.

Dr. Andisheh Motealleh

Dr. Andisheh Motealleh arbeitet an der Herstellung von funktionalen Nanobiomaterialien und beschäftigt sich mit Zell-Biomaterial-Interaktionen. Im Video beschreibt sie deren Einsatz in der Medizin und erklärt, warum ihre Forschung unter anderem einen Einfluss auf das Wohlergehen von Krebspatientinnen und -patienten hat.

Links

Andisheh Motealleh

Center for Soft Nanoscience

Raphael Fehrmann

Schülerinnen und Schüler zu digitaler Souveränität zu führen, ist eine wichtige Aufgabe von Lehrerinnen und Lehrern. Das ist während der Corona-Pandemie besonders deutlich geworden. Raphael Fehrmann widmet sich diesem Thema und untersucht, wie Lehramtsstudierende ihre digitale Kompetenz einschätzen und wie Lernroboter ihnen dabei helfen können, die algorithmischen Muster hinter den digitalen Medien besser zu verstehen.

Links

Raphael Fehrmann

Lernroboter im Unterricht

Franziska Kleybolte

Warum wurde sakraler Raum im Mittelalter umgewandelt? Mit dieser Frage beschäftigt sich Franziska Kleybolte, die als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am Exzellenzcluster "Religion & Politik" arbeitet. Ihr Augenmerk liegt dabei auf der Umwandlung von Synagogen in Kirchen auf der Iberischen Halbinsel. Im Video beschreibt sie die Methodik ihrer Forschung, erklärt, welche Hürden es gibt und warum sie Wissenschaft begeistert.

Links

Franziska Kleybolte

Cluster "Religion und Politik"

Jens Natrup

Doktorand am Institut für Sportwissenschaft

Jens Natrup ist Doktorand am Institut für Sportwissenschaft im Bereich Bewegungswissenschaften. Er untersucht das Blickverhalten von Turnern bei Rotationsbewegungen um die eigene Körperachse. Im Video zeigt er, wie er im Bewegungslabor die Untersuchungen durchführt und wie Turner und Trainer von seinen Erkenntnissen profitieren können.

Links

Jens Natrup

Institut für Sportwissenschaft

Studie

Cristina Barca

Doktorandin am European Institute for Molecular Imaging

Cristina Barca untersucht mithilfe bildgebender Verfahren, wie gut bestimmte Medikamente bei der Behandlung von Schlaganfällen wirken. Im Video gibt die Schweizerin einen Einblick in ihren Arbeitsalltag und erklärt, was das Besondere daran ist, Wissenschaftlerin zu sein.

Links

Cristina Barca

European Institute for Molecular Imaging (EIMI)

Videos an der WWU

Sie sind WWU-Angehöriger, möchten selber einen Film drehen, haben Themenvorschläge oder Fragen rund um das Thema Video? Alle Anliegen können Sie an video@wwu.de richten. Unser Team aus Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern des Servicepunkts Film und der Stabsstelle Kommunikation und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit hilft Ihnen gerne weiter. Weitere Infos finden Sie hier.