"Religion and Politics" – Cluster of Excellence at the WWU Münster

The Cluster of Excellence “Religion and Politics in Pre-Modern and Modern Cultures” was founded in 2007 at the Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster. Some 200 academics from more than 20 disciplines in the humanities and social sciences and from around 14 countries deal with the relationship of religion and politics across epochs and cultures. It is nationally the largest research association of its kind and of the 43 Clusters of Excellence in Germany, it is the only one to deal with religion. full story

God’s Revelation in the Human Word

News Korankommentar Khorchide 1 1News Korankommentar Khorchide 2 1
© C.H. Beck

The Islamic theologian Mouhanad Khorchide of the Cluster of Excellence “Religion and Politics” has published the first volume in the series “Herder’s Theological Commentary on the Quran”. The project combines for the first time the findings of historical-critical and literary analysis practised by Arabic and Islamic studies with the Islamic tradition of text commentary.

New funding for Cluster of Excellence “Religion and Politics”

News Dfg Entscheid Exzellenzinitiative 1 1News Dfg Entscheid Exzellenzinitiative 2 1
© Heiner Witte/MünsterView

A decision has been reached in the first funding line, “Cluster of Excellence”, in the Excellence Strategy being pursued by the national and state governments in Germany. In the competition, the University of Münster was successful with two of the three Cluster applications it submitted. The announcement was made today, September 27, by the Excellence Commission in Bonn. The following Clusters of Excellence will receive funding for a period of seven years, with effect from 1 January 2019: “Religion and Politics. Dynamics of Tradition and Innovation” and “Mathematics Münster. Dynamics – Geometry – Structure”.

Why there were no Islamic Middle Ages

News Bauer Islamisches Mittelalter 1 1News Bauer Islamisches Mittelalter 2 1
© C. H. Beck

In his latest publication entitled “Warum es kein islamisches Mittelalter gab” (Why There Were No Islamic Middle Ages), the scholar of Arabic studies Prof. Dr. Thomas Bauer questions historical epochal boundaries and widespread stereotypes about Islamic history. He shows by means of numerous examples how antiquity lived on in the Islamic world until the 11th century.

“Catholics then, Muslims now: the accusation of isolation”

Pm Parallelgesellschaft 1 1Pm Parallelgesellschaft 2 1
© Bundesarchiv/ wikipedia

Catholics then, Muslims today: at the 52nd Meeting of German Historians at the end of September in Münster, historians will put the concept of the religious “parallel society” to the test. “With the term ‘parallel society’, the German majority society has for decades been expressing the foreignness it feels towards migrants and also its ideas of the ‘right’ society,” says contemporary historian Thomas Großbölting.

Philosopher Warns Against “Drifting into State Terrorism” – Episode of the video series “Peace”

In the face of international conflicts, the philosopher and ethicist Prof. Dr Michael Quante warns against state warfare drifting into “state terrorism”. “In view of modern weapon systems, we need a social debate on the ethically and legally justifiable options of warfare that states have. State warfare can no longer always be distinguished from acts of terrorism, for example in Afghanistan, Yemen or Lebanon,” said the scholar from the University of Münster’s Cluster of Excellence “Religion and Politics”. He insists on honesty in the choice of words when it comes to war and peace. With a view to German arms exports, debates on the amount of German defence spending and international interference in conflicts such as those in Syria, Yemen or Afghanistan, “we should not trivialise by speaking of ‘crisis operations’, ‘armed conflicts’ or even ‘humanitarian interventions’, but of war. (sca/vvm)

Wissenschaftskommunikation 2 1
© Zentrum für Wissenschaftskommunikation, Presseamt Münster, LWL/Stephan Kube

Research Transfer

„Religion und Politik“ – Exzellenzcluster an der WWU Münster

Am Exzellenzcluster „Religion und Politik in den Kulturen der Vormoderne und der Moderne“ an der Westfälischen Wilhelms-Universität Münster forschen rund 200 Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus mehr als 20 geistes- und sozialwissenschaftlichen Fächern und rund 14 Nationen. Sie beschäftigen sich mit dem Verhältnis von Religion und Politik quer durch die Epochen und Kulturen. Es ist der bundesweit größte Forschungsverbund dieser Art und der einzige Exzellenzcluster in Deutschland zum Thema Religion. weiterlesen

Migrationsethik und offene Grenzen

News Joseph Carens 1 1News Joseph Carens 2 1
© Stefan Klatt

Über Migrationsethik spricht am 5. November Prof. Dr. Joseph Carens, Professor für politische Theorie an der Universität Toronto, Kanada. Er gilt als einer der Vorreiter in der noch jungen philosophischen Disziplin der Migrationsethik. In öffentlichen Debatten über Einwanderung argumentiert er für offene Grenzen.

Gottes Offenbarung in Menschenwort

News Korankommentar Khorchide 1 1News Korankommentar Khorchide 2 1
© C.H. Beck

Der islamische Theologe Prof. Dr. Mouhanad Khorchide vom Exzellenzcluster „Religion und Politik“ der WWU hat den ersten Band der großen Reihe "Herders Theologischer Koran-Kommentar" (HthKK) veröffentlicht. Erstmals verbindet das Projekt die Ergebnisse der historisch-kritischen und literarischen Analyse der Arabistik und Islamwissenschaft mit der islamischen Kommentartradition.

Wege zum digitalen Papsttum

News Digitales Papsttum 1 1News Digitales Papsttum 2 1
© Barbato/ Campus Verlag

Ein interdisziplinärer Band des Centrums für Religion und Moderne zeigt, welche Kommunikationsstrategien der Vatikan nutzt, um den Papst im Zusammenspiel von Text und Bild als politischen Akteur zu inszenieren, und wie diese medial aufgegriffen und verwandelt werden.

Exzellenzcluster „Religion und Politik“ erhält neue Förderung

News Dfg Entscheid Exzellenzinitiative 1 1News Dfg Entscheid Exzellenzinitiative 2 1
© Heiner Witte/MünsterView

In der Exzellenzstrategie des Bundes und der Länder ist die Entscheidung in der ersten Förderlinie „Exzellenzcluster“ gefallen: Die Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster (WWU) war im Wettbewerb mit zwei von insgesamt drei Cluster-Anträgen erfolgreich. Das gab die Exzellenzkommission am Donnerstag, 27. September 2018, in Bonn bekannt. Gefördert werden ab dem 1. Januar 2019 für die Dauer von sieben Jahren der Exzellenzcluster „Religion und Politik. Dynamiken von Tradition und Innovation“ und der Exzellenzcluster „Mathematik Münster. Dynamik – Geometrie – Struktur“.

Wenn staatliche Kriegsführung zu Staatsterrorismus wird – ein Video der Reihe „Frieden“

Der Philosoph Prof. Dr. Michael Quante warnt vor einem Abdriften staatlicher Kriegsführung in „Staatsterrorismus“. „Angesichts moderner Waffensysteme brauchen wir eine gesellschaftliche Debatte darüber, welche Möglichkeiten der Kriegsführung für Staaten ethisch und rechtlich vertretbar sind. Staatliche Kriegsführung lässt sich längst nicht mehr immer von terroristischen Akten unterscheiden, etwa in Afghanistan, im Jemen oder im Libanon“, so der Wissenschaftler des Exzellenzclusters „Religion und Politik“. Er drängt auf Ehrlichkeit in der Wortwahl, wenn es um Krieg und Frieden geht: Mit Blick auf deutsche Waffenexporte, Debatten über die Höhe der deutschen Verteidigungsausgaben und internationale Einmischungen in Konflikte wie in Syrien, Jemen oder Afghanistan „sollten wir nicht verharmlosend von ,Kriseneinsätzen‘, ‚bewaffneten Konflikten‘ oder gar ,humanitären Interventionen‘ sprechen, sondern von Krieg“. (sca/vvm)

Wissenschaftskommunikation 2 1
© Zentrum für Wissenschaftskommunikation, Presseamt Münster, LWL/Stephan Kube

Forschungstransfer