Institute of Landscape Ecology

Welcome!

© AG Klimatologie

Field Studies “CalmCity” concluded

The Climatology Research Group [en] and the Micrometeorology Group of the University of Bayreuth [en] concluded their intensive observation period of urban climate. The focus was on the analysis of weak wind situations in urban settings and their role in surface exchange processes. Further, the urban heat island of the city of Münster was intensively studied and its relation to the spatial distribution of the atmospheric aerosol concentrations. Further information... [de] (available in German language only)


© WWU.2021

Video series "Sustainability at the University of Münster": The research project "MikroPlaTaS “

A feature on the project "Microplastics in dams and reservoirs: sedimentation, distribution, effects (MikroPlaTaS)" has been published in the series Sustainability at the WWU (in German Language).
A new video informs about the project on which Dr. Friederike Gabel and Diana Michler-Kozma are the involved researchers at ILÖK. Numerous theses have also been written in this field of reserach.

© Michael Elmer

BiCO2 - New project on the connection between biodiversity and carbon storage

Significant amounts of carbon are stored in Central European forests. In addition, forests and their soils are important for biological diversity, which in turn strengthens the adaptability and stability of the forest ecosystem. The aim of this project, which is carried out jointly by the Soil Ecology and Land Use Research group [en] and the Biodiversity and Ecosystem Research Group [en] with the NABU-Naturschutzstation Münsterland [de] and the Landesbetrieb Wald und Holz Nordrhein-Westfalen (NRW) [en], is a synoptic view of the carbon balance and biodiversity - above and below ground. The studies planned for the next three years should help to better assess the influence of the intensity of use on the performance of forests in terms of biodiversity, carbon storage and climate stability.

Further information:
Project homepage [en]
Project homepage of the Biodiversity and Ecosystem Research Group [en]

New publications at the ILÖK

  • Heim, W.; Chan, S.; Hölzel, N.; Ktitorov, P.; Mischenko, A.; Kamp, J. (2021): East Asian buntings: ongoing illegal trade and encouraging conservation responses. Conservation Science and Practice 3: e405. doi: 10.1111/csp2.405 [en]
  • Yong, DL.; Heim, W.; Chowdhury, SU.; Choi, CY.; Ktitorov, P.; Kulikova, O.; Kondratiev, A.; Round, PD.; Allen, D.; Trainor, CR.; Gibson, L.; Szabo, JK. (2021): The state of migratory landbirds in the East Asian Flyway: distributions, threats, and conservation needs. Frontiers in Ecology and Evolution 9: 613172. doi: 10.3389/fevo.2021.613172 [en]
  • Beermann, I.; Thomas, A.; Anisimov, Y.; Batbayar, N.; Davaasuren, B.; Gerasimov, Y.; Hasebe, M.; Nakul, G.; Nergui, J.; Ktitorov, P.; Kulikova, O.; Kamp, J.; Heim, W. (2021): Range-wide breeding habitat use of the Critically Endangered Yellow-breasted Bunting Emberiza aureola after population collapse. Ecology and Evolution. doi: 10.1002/ece3.7668 [en]
  • De La Vega-Leinert, A.C.; Kieslinger, J.; Jiménez-Moreno, M.; Steinhäuser, C. (2021): Young People’s Visions for Life in the Countryside in Latin America, Geographical Review, doi: 10.1080/00167428.2021.1925897 [en]
  • Setyorini, L.; Michler-Kozma, D.; Sures, B.; Gabel, F. (2021): Transfer and effects of PET microfibers in Chironomus riparius. Science of the Total Environment, 757: 143735. doi: 10.1016/j.scitotenv.2020.143735 [en]
  • Freitag, M.; Klaus, V.H.; Bolliger, R.; Hamer, U.; Kleinebecker, T.; Prati, D.; Schäfer, D.; & Hölzel, N. (2021): Restoration of plant diversity in permanent grassland by seeding: assessing the limiting factors along land-use gradients. Journal of Applied Ecology, doi:[ 10.1111/1365-2664.13883]
  • Hamer, U.; Meyer, M.U.T.; Meyer, U.-N.; Radermacher, A.; Götze, P.; Koch, H.-J.; & Scherber, C. (2021): Soil microbial biomass and enzyme kinetics for the assessment of temporal diversification in agroecosystems. Basic and Applied Ecology. doi: [10.1016/j.baae.2021.03.014 [en] 

© Paul/ Mariengymnasium Warendorf

Plastic pollution of the oceans: Travelling exhibition

Plastic pollution of the oceans has gained broad media coverage. However, also freshwater ecosystems are heavily polluted by microplastics with crucial impacts on aquatic organisms. The Institute of Landscape Ecology is a partner of the joined research project MikroPlaTaS [en] (funded by the BMBF), which investigates the distribution and sedimentation of microplastics and the impacts on aquatic organisms. In the framework of this project, a travelling exhibition to the topic of microplastics [en] was developed that can be hired by schools for free. The exhibition was first presented at the Mariengymnasium Warendorf (school's report [de]). If you are interested in the borrowing the exhibition, please contact Dr. Friederike Gabel.

© Middelanis_Binder

WWU-Citizen-Science-Contest: Winning project from the ILÖK

"Monitoring of modern agroforestry ecosystems - new cultivation systems as meeting points for agriculture, civil society and science" is the name of the research project that Julia Binder and Thomas Middelanis have designed. The two students of the “Master Landscape Ecology” want to develop and apply over several years an ecological catalogue of methods together with fellow students, the working groups of the ILÖK and above all interested volunteers, school classes, farmers or conservationist groups. The multi-perspective cooperation has the aim to examine ecological interactions and climatic advantages that the integration of trees in the arable context brings with it. The University of Münster supports the initiative within  the "WWU-Citizen-Science-Competition" with 7.500 € [de].

PD Dr. Ute Hamer
|
© Hamer

Video education in soil science

Soil is a huge habitat hidden beneath our feet, especially during this online semester. The education videos of the Research Group Soil Ecology and Land Use [en] deliver a first insight into pedologic methods and into soils which frequently occurr not only in the Münsterland.

© Michael Elmer

Project "Insects in forests of North Rhine-Westphalia - condition and development" started

On May 8th, a project was started in the Lippspringer Forest, in which the insect diversity in the forests of North Rhine-Westphalia is investigated. It will be studied, how age, forest structure and dead wood content affect the insects. As part of the investigation, in which the Landesbetrieb Wald und Holz NRW [de] and the Research Group Animal Ecology and Multitrophic Interactions [en] are involved, various projects will be carried out in the forests of NRW over the next two years.

Looking back: 49th annual conference of the GfÖ in Münster

Photos

© Dora Schilling
  • © Johannes Kamp
  • © Hanna Reininghaus
  • © Johannes Kamp
  • © Hanna Reininghaus
  • © Johannes Kamp
  • © Johannes Kamp
  • © Johannes Kamp
  • © Hanna Reininghaus
  • © Hanna Reininghaus
  • © Hanna Reininghaus
  • © Johannes Kamp
  • © Johannes Kamp
  • © Johannes Kamp
  • © Johannes Kamp
  • © Norbert Hölzel
  • © Norbert Hölzel

From 9th to 13th September the ILÖK hosted the 49th annual conference of the Ecological Society of Germany, Austria and Switzerland (GfÖ) in the premises of the Fürstenberghaus. With 689 participants from 25 countries, the conference was one of the best attended GfÖ conferences in the past decades. In eight parallel sessions 380 talks and 180 posters were presented. According to the theme of the conference, many sessions dealt with topical environmental policy issues, such as urban air hygiene, climate change, the decline of insect populations and agricultural policy. The German-language sessions of the "Praktikertag" proved to be a demanded forum for exchange between researchers and practitioners of nature conservation and environmental protection. The conference ended with a conference dinner followed by a club night at the music club Jovel, excursions to the Emsaue and Rieselfelder Münster as well as to the ILÖK's restoration projects in limestone quarries of the Teutoburg Forest and peat extraction sites near Vechta.

25 years Institute of Landscape Ecology

Photos

© Dora Schilling
  • © Norbert Hölzel
  • © Norbert Hölzel
  • © Norbert Hölzel
  • © Norbert Hölzel
  • © Norbert Hölzel
  • © Norbert Hölzel
  • © Norbert Hölzel
  • © Norbert Hölzel
  • © Norbert Hölzel
  • © Norbert Hölzel
  • © Norbert Hölzel
  • © Norbert Hölzel
  • © Norbert Hölzel
  • © Norbert Hölzel
  • © Norbert Hölzel
  • © Norbert Hölzel

This year, the ILÖK celebrates its 25th anniversary. On this occasion the institute had invited on 10.09.2019 in the context of the annual conference of the Ecological Society of Germany, Austria and Switzerland (GfÖ) in Münster to a small celebration, attended by more than 80 former and active institute members. Also present were the two founding fathers of the Institute, Prof. Dr. Karl-Friedrich Schreiber and Prof. Dr. Friedrich-Karl Holtmeier, whose untiring efforts over many years have largely led to the founding of the Institute. After greetings of the dean of the department Prof. Dr. Harald Strauss and of the former AStA chairman and ILÖK graduate Dr. Josef Tumbrinck (today sub-department head nature conservation in the BMU), the managing director of the institute Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Norbert Hölzel gave a brief overview of the development of the Institute since its foundation [de] in 1994. The evening ended with a lively exchange and a friendly get-together of the guests.

© privat

On climate excursion in Taiwan

Blog of WWU students of geography and landscape ecology

From subtropical marshlands, methane fluxes and flood protection areas: 16 students of Geography and Landscape Ecology at the University of Münster set off for Taiwan to study the topics of climate, environmental meteorology, air hygiene and bio- and atmosphere. Click here for the blog [de]...

Institut für Landschaftsökologie

Herzlich Willkommen

© AG Klimatologie

Stadtklimatologische Feldmesskampagne „CalmCity“ erfolgreich abgeschlossen

Im Juli und August 2021 hat die Arbeitsgruppe Klimatologie [de] gemeinsam mit der Arbeitsgruppe Mikrometeorologie der Universität Bayreuth [de] eine Intensiv-Messkampagne zum „Stadtklima“ durchgeführt. Ein Fokus lag auf der Analyse von Schwachwindlagen und deren Bedeutung von bodennahen Austauschprozessen. Ein anderer Schwerpunkt lag auf der Analyse des Wärmeinseleffekts der Stadt und seinem Zusammenhang mit der Verteilung der Feinstaubbelastung der Luft.  Hier gehts zur ausführlichen Berichterstattung [de]...

© WWU.2021

Videoreihe zum Dossier „Nachhaltigkeit an der WWU“: Das Forschungsprojekt „MikroPlaTaS“

In der Reihe Nachhaltigkeit an der WWU ist ein neues Feature über das Projekt „Mikroplastik in Talsperren und Staubereichen: Sedimentation, Verbreitung, Wirkung (MikroPlaTaS) [de]“ erschienen.
Ein Video informiert über das Projekt an dem von Seiten des ILÖK Dr. Friederike Gabel und Diana Michler-Kozma [de] forschen. Auch zahlreiche Abschlussarbeiten sind in diesem Bereich bereits geschrieben worden.
Zum Video geht es hier. [de]...

© Michael Elmer

BiCO2 - Neues Projekt zum Zusammenhang von Biodiversität und Kohlenstoffspeicherung

In mitteleuropäischen Wäldern sind bedeutende Mengen an Kohlenstoff gespeichert. Darüber hinaus sind die Wälder und ihre Böden wichtig für die biologische Vielfalt, die wiederum die Anpassungsfähigkeit und Stabilität des Ökosystems Wald stärkt. Ziel dieses Projektes, das gemeinsam von der AG Bodenökologie und Landnutzung [de] und der AG Biodiversität und Ökosystemforschung [de] mit der NABU-Naturschutzstation Münsterland [de] und dem Landesbetrieb Wald und Holz Nordrhein-Westfalen (NRW) [de] getragen wird, ist eine synoptische Betrachtung des Kohlenstoffhaushalts und der Biodiversität – ober- und unterirdisch. Die geplanten Untersuchungen in den nächsten drei Jahren sollen dazu beitragen, den Einfluss der Nutzungsintensität auf die Leistungsfähigkeit von Wäldern in hinsichtlich Biodiversität, Kohlenstoffspeicher und Klimastabilität, besser beurteilen zu können.

Weitere Informationen:
Beitrag im Newsportal der WWU [de]
Projekthomepage BiC02 [de]
Projektseite der AG Biodiversität und Ökosystemforschung [de]

Aktuelle Publikationen am ILÖK

  • Heim, W.; Chan, S.; Hölzel, N.; Ktitorov, P.; Mischenko, A.; Kamp, J. (2021): East Asian buntings: ongoing illegal trade and encouraging conservation responses. Conservation Science and Practice 3: e405. doi:  10.1111/csp2.405 [en]
  • Yong, DL.; Heim, W.; Chowdhury, SU.; Choi, CY.; Ktitorov, P.; Kulikova, O.; Kondratiev, A.; Round, PD.; Allen, D.; Trainor, CR.; Gibson, L.; Szabo, JK. (2021): The state of migratory landbirds in the East Asian Flyway: distributions, threats, and conservation needs. Frontiers in Ecology and Evolution 9: 613172. doi: 10.3389/fevo.2021.613172 [en]
  • Beermann, I.; Thomas, A.; Anisimov, Y.; Batbayar, N.; Davaasuren, B.; Gerasimov, Y.; Hasebe, M.; Nakul, G.; Nergui, J.; Ktitorov, P.; Kulikova, O.; Kamp, J.; Heim, W. (2021): Range-wide breeding habitat use of the Critically Endangered Yellow-breasted Bunting Emberiza aureola after population collapse. Ecology and Evolution. doi: 10.1002/ece3.7668 [en]
  • De La Vega-Leinert, A.C.; Kieslinger, J.; Jiménez-Moreno, M.; Steinhäuser, C. (2021): Young People’s Visions for Life in the Countryside in Latin America, Geographical Review, doi: 10.1080/00167428.2021.1925897 [en]
  • Setyorini, L.; Michler-Kozma, D.; Sures, B.; Gabel, F. (2021): Transfer and effects of PET microfibers in Chironomus riparius. Science of the Total Environment, 757: 143735. doi: 10.1016/j.scitotenv.2020.143735 [en]
  • Freitag, M.; Klaus, V.H.; Bolliger, R.; Hamer, U.; Kleinebecker, T.; Prati, D.; Schäfer, D.; & Hölzel, N. (2021): Restoration of plant diversity in permanent grassland by seeding: assessing the limiting factors along land-use gradients. Journal of Applied Ecology, doi:[ 10.1111/1365-2664.13883 [en]]
  • Hamer, U.; Meyer, M.U.T.; Meyer, U.-N.; Radermacher, A.; Götze, P.; Koch, H.-J.; & Scherber, C. (2021): Soil microbial biomass and enzyme kinetics for the assessment of temporal diversification in agroecosystems. Basic and Applied Ecology. doi: [10.1016/j.baae.2021.03.014 [en]

weitere Publikationen: ILÖK, Arbeitsgruppen, Personen

© Paul/ Mariengymnasium Warendorf

Wissenschaft macht Schule: Wanderausstellung zu Mikroplastik in der Umwelt

Die Verschmutzung der Weltmeere durch Mikroplastik ist in allen Medien präsent. Aber auch Binnengewässer sind stark mit Mikroplastik belastet mit schwerwiegenden Auswirkungen für die dort lebenden Organismen und deren Ökosysteme. Das vom BMBF geförderte Projekt MikroPlaTaS [de], an dem das Institut für Landschaftsökologie beteiligt ist, erforscht die Verbreitung und Sedimentation von Mikroplastik in Talsperren und Stauhaltungen sowie dessen Auswirkungen auf aquatische Organismen. Im Rahmen dieses Projektes entstand eine Wanderausstellung zum Thema (Mikro-)Plastik in der Umwelt [de], die von interessierten Schulen kostenfrei ausgeliehen werden kann. Am Mariengymnasium Warendorf wurde die Ausstellung zuerst präsentier. (Bericht der Schule [de]). Falls Sie Interesse an der Wanderausstellung haben, wenden Sie sich bitte an Dr. Friederike Gabel.

© Middelanis_Binder

Landschaftsökologisches Siegerprojekt beim WWU-Citizen-Science-Wettbewerb

„Monitoring moderner Agroforst-Ökosysteme - Neue Anbausysteme als Begegnungspunkte von Landwirtschaft, Zivilgesellschaft und Wissenschaft“ so heißt das Forschungsvorhaben, das Julia Binder und Thomas Middelanis entworfen haben. Die beiden Studierenden des „Master Landschaftsökologie“ wollen gemeinsam mit KommilitonInnen, den Arbeitsgruppen des Institut für Landschaftsökologie und vor allem interessierten Ehrenamtlichen, Schulklassen, LandwirtInnen oder Naturschutzgruppen einen ökologischen Methodenkatalog entwickeln und über mehrere Jahre anwenden. In dem multiperspektivischen Forschungsnetzwerk möchten sie ökologische Wechselwirkungen und klimatische Vorteile untersuchen, welche die Pflanzung von Baumreihen auf Ackerflächen mit sich bringt. Die WWU Münster fördert diese Initiative innerhalb des "WWU-Citizen-Science-Wettbewerbs“ mit 7.500 € [de].

PD Dr. Ute Hamer
|
© Hamer

Lehrvideos zur Bodenkunde

Der Lebensraum Boden unter unseren Füßen bleibt oft verborgen, insbesondere in diesem Online-Semester. Die Lehrvideos der AG Bodenökologie und Landnutzung [de] geben einen ersten Einblick in bodenkundliche Geländemethoden und in Böden, die nicht nur im Münsterland, weit verbreitet sind.

© Michael Elmer

Projekt „Insekten in Wäldern NRWs – Zustand und Entwicklung“ gestartet

Am 8. Mai wurde im Lippspringer Wald ein Projekt gestartet, in dem die Insektenvielfalt in Wäldern NRWs untersucht wird und zudem ermittelt werden soll, wie sich Alter, Waldstruktur und Totholzanteil auf die Insekten auswirken. Im Rahmen der Untersuchung, an der der Landesbetrieb Wald und Holz NRW [de] und die AG Tierökologie und multitrophische Interaktionen [de] beteiligt sind, werden hierzu in den kommenden zwei Jahren verschiedene Projekte in den Wäldern NRWs durchgeführt.
Link zum Image-Film [de]
Link zum Artikel im Westfalen-Blatt [de]


Rückblick: 49. GfÖ-Konferenz 2019 in Münster

Fotos

© Dora Schilling
  • © Johannes Kamp
  • © Hanna Reininghaus
  • © Johannes Kamp
  • © Hanna Reininghaus
  • © Johannes Kamp
  • © Johannes Kamp
  • © Johannes Kamp
  • © Hanna Reininghaus
  • © Hanna Reininghaus
  • © Hanna Reininghaus
  • © Johannes Kamp
  • © Johannes Kamp
  • © Johannes Kamp
  • © Johannes Kamp
  • © Norbert Hölzel
  • © Norbert Hölzel

Vom 9. bis 13. September war das ILÖK in den Räumlichkeiten des Fürstenberghauses Ausrichter der 49. Jahrestagung der Gesellschaft für Ökologie (GfÖ). Die Tagung war mit 689 Registrierten aus 25 Ländern eine der mit am besten besuchten GfÖ-Tagungen in den vergangenen Jahrzehnten. In acht paralell laufenden Sessions wurden 380 Vorträge und 180 Poster präsentiert. Gemäß dem Motto der Tagung hatten viele Sessions und Diskussionsveranstaltungen hochaktuelle umweltpolitische Themen, wie städtische Lufthygiene, Klimawandel, Insektensterben und Agrarpolitik. Auch die deutschsprachigen Sessions des Praktikertages erwiesen sich als stark nachgefragtes Forum zum Austausch zwischen Forschenden und Personen aus der Praxis des Natur- und Umweltschutzes. Ihren Ausklang fand die Tagung beim Conference Dinner mit anschließender Club-Night im Musikclub Jovel sowie Exkursionen in die Emsaue und Rieselfelder Münster sowie zu Renaturierungsprojekten des ILÖKs in Kalksteinbrüche des Teutoburger Waldes und Torfabbaugebieten bei Vechta.

25 Jahre Institut für Landschaftsökologie

Fotos

© Dora Schilling
  • © Norbert Hölzel
  • © Norbert Hölzel
  • © Norbert Hölzel
  • © Norbert Hölzel
  • © Norbert Hölzel
  • © Norbert Hölzel
  • © Norbert Hölzel
  • © Norbert Hölzel
  • © Norbert Hölzel
  • © Norbert Hölzel
  • © Norbert Hölzel
  • © Norbert Hölzel
  • © Norbert Hölzel
  • © Norbert Hölzel
  • © Norbert Hölzel
  • © Norbert Hölzel

In diesem Jahr begeht das ILÖK sein 25-jähriges Bestehen. Aus diesem Anlass hatte das Institut am 10.09.2019 im Rahmen der Jahrestagung der Gesellschaft für Ökologie (GfÖ) in Münster zu einer kleinen Feierstunde eingeladen, an der über 80 ehemalige und aktive Institutsmitglieder teilnahmen. Anwesend waren auch die beiden Gründungsväter des Instituts Prof. Dr. Karl-Friedrich Schreiber und Prof. Dr. Friedrich-Karl Holtmeier, auf deren jahrelangem unermüdlichen Einsatz die Institutsgründung in großen Teilen beruht. Nach Grußworten des Dekans des Fachbereichs Prof. Dr. Harald Strauss und des ehemaligen AStA-Vorsitzenden und ILÖK-Absolventen Dr. Josef Tumbrinck (heute Unterabteilungsleiter Naturschutz im BMU), gab der geschäftsführende Direktor des Instituts Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Norbert Hölzel einen kurzen Überblick über die Entwicklung des Instituts seit dessen Gründung [de] im Jahr 1994. Der Abend fand seinen Ausklang in einem regen Austausch und gemütlichen Beisammensein der anwesenden Gäste.

© privat

Auf Klimaexkursion in Taiwan

Blog von WWU-Studierenden der Geographie und Landschaftsökologie

Von subtropischen Sumpflandschaften, Methanflüssen und Hochwasserschutzgebieten: 16 Studierende der Geographie und Landschaftsökologie der Westfälischen Wilhelms-Universität Münster sind nach Taiwan aufgebrochen, um sich dort den Themen Klima, Umweltmeteorologie, Lufthygiene sowie Bio- und Atmosphäre zu widmen. Hier geht's zum Exkursions-Blog [de]...