2020

Prof. Dr. Guido Hertel
© WWU - SP

New work, work motivation and climate change – Helpful insights from organisational and occupational psychology research

Interview with Prof. Dr. Guido Hertel

Occupational and organisational psychology is a field that explores the relationships between people working at a company or with other organisations. In this podcast, Professor Guido Hertel explains how recent research findings can shed light on a broad spectrum of unanswered questions. His research does not focus teamwork or employee motivation, but rather highly topical issues and problems, such as climate change and the rapidly advancing digitalisation of the work world.

© WWU - SP

Energy storage of the future – The potentials and challenges of battery research

Interview with Prof. Dr. Martin Winter

Is electromobility the thing of the future? What are the hurdles facing battery research? What are the advantages of lithium-ion batteries and where else are they used aside from electric cars? Professor Martin Winter, director of the MEET Battery Research Centre of the University of Münster, answers these and other questions. The chemistry professor, who has received over 50 academic prizes and distinctions over the course of his career, has been studying the area of battery research for more than 25 years. He is widely recognised as one of the world’s foremost authorities in the field.

Maximilian KoyMaximilian Koy
© privat

Special: Research in times of Corona

Interview with Maximilian Koy

How can research continue during the corona crisis when the university is in limited operation, laboratories are not accessible and libraries are closed? Maximilian Koy is a PhD student in the research group of Prof. Frank Glorius at the Organic Chemistry Institute. In the podcast, he talks about how he experiences the current situation as a scientist, how his research group is organized and how he uses the time effectively for his doctorate.

Doris FuchsDoris Fuchs
© WWU - SP

How can the transformation to sustainability succeed?

Interview with Prof. Dr. Doris Fuchs

Sustainability is a frequently used term that is used in many contexts. What does it actually mean in particular? Prof. Dr. Doris Fuchs is holder of the Chair of International Relations and Sustainable Development and speaker of the Center for Interdisciplinary Sustainability Research of the WWU. In the podcast, she talks about how sustainability can be defined, how sustainability can succeed and what distinguishes sustainable consumption.

Max Dornseiff and Alyssa Schmitz Max Dornseiff and Alyssa Schmitz
© privat

Special: Studying in times of Corona

Interview with Max Dornseiff and Alyssa Schmitz

What is it like to study during the corona crisis? What worries do students have? What do new online formats for teaching at WWU look like? Alyssa is studying German Studies and Music Pedagogy in her second semester, Max Sport and History in his eighth semester. In the podcast they report on how they perceive the current situation, what their digital summer semester at the University of Münster will look like and what effects corona will have on their studies.

Arne Beyer and Daniel WinzerArne Beyer and Daniel Winzer
© privat

Special: Medical students in action against corona

Interview with Arne Beyer and Daniel Winzer

In recent weeks, the Faculty of Medicine of the WWU has launched the MediCOVID program in the fight against the coronavirus: Several hundred students have been involved in the fight against the corona pandemic after having received appropriate training. Two of them are Arne Beyer and Daniel Winzer, who currently support the corona patient care at the University Hospital Münster. In the podcast, the two medical students report on how they were prepared for this, what their daily routine on the ward looks like and how they personally perceive the current corona crisis.

Bernhard MarschallMarschall _1 Von 1_
© WWU - SP

Tough competition and much desired - medical studies

Interview with Prof. Dr. Bernhard Marschall

Medicine is one of the programs with the highest number of applicants - not only at Münster University. Prof. Dr. Bernhard Marschall, Dean of Studies of the Faculty of Medicine, talks in a podcast about why medical studies are so popular, what makes good applicants stand out and how fair the admission procedure is. At the same time, he explains how the study programme at the University of Münster is structured, what consequences the new licensing regulations will have and what makes a good doctor.

Helene RichterHelene Richter
© WWU - SP

Animal welfare, animal protection and reproducibility in animal experimental research (Prof. Dr. Helene Richter)

Interview with Prof. Dr. Helene Richter

Animal experiments are controversial in society. Helene Richter is Professor of Behavioural Biology and Animal Protection - her research aims to improve the conditions in laboratory experiments for the benefit of animals. In the podcast, she explains what is actually meant by animal experimental research, which methods are used to determine animal welfare, which factors improve the reproducibility of animal experiments and how strict German legislation - compared to other European countries - is in this area.

Manfred KrafftManfred Krafft
© WWU - SP

Comeback in sight? What Corona means for the German economy

Interview with Prof. Dr. Manfred Krafft

The German economy collapsed at record speed in the second quarter due to the corona crisis. Prof. Dr. Manfred Krafft, Director of the Institute for Marketing, answers in a podcast how long it will take to get back on its feet. At the same time, he explains how such a slump is actually calculated, what psychological consequences the crisis will have and how a possible second wave of infection would affect the economy.

Stephan LudwigStephan Ludwig
© WWU - SP

Pandemics - a global problem for the future?

Interview with Prof. Dr. Stephan Ludwig

Infectious diseases are increasingly spreading from animals to humans. Such so-called zoonoses can - as is the case with the corona virus - be the trigger for worldwide pandemics. Prof. Dr. Stephan Ludwig, head of the Institute of Molecular Virology at WWU, talks about the reasons for this development in a podcast. The virologist and zoonoses expert also explains what politics, economy and the population can do to prevent future outbreaks.

Andreas HenselAndreas Hensel
© WWU - SP

Medicinal plants: Increasing demand for healing powers from nature

Whether Gingko, St. John's wort or hawthorn - many things that grow in the garden can have a healing effect on health. Prof. Dr. Andreas Hensel is Managing Director of the Institute of Pharmaceutical Biology and Phytochemistry at Münster University. In the podcast, he explains how effective natural substances are, where they can be used and what role they could possibly play in the treatment of corona viruses in the future. The pharmacist also gives an overview of the areas in which natural substances are used outside medicine.

Detlef PollackDetlef Pollack
© WWU - Brigitte Heeke

30 years of German unity - the process of reunification

Interview mit Prof. Dr. Detlef Pollack

Where do we stand after 30 years of reunification? Prof. Detlef Pollack, sociologist of religion and deputy speaker of the Cluster of Excellence "Religion and Politics", pursues this question in a podcast. He focuses in particular on the role, self-image and political influence of East Germans from the peaceful revolution to the present day. Aspects that he also highlights in his recent publication "Das unzufriedene Volk".

Jana WeißJana Weiß
© WWU - SP

Racism, divisions and unrest in the USA - new, old problems?

Interview with Dr. Jana Weiß

Donald Trump or Joe Biden: Probably never before have the presidential elections in the USA been of such great interest as this year, because the country is currently fighting several crises at once. In addition to the Corona pandemic and its economic effects, since the death of the African-American George Floyd, society has been preoccupied above all with a heated debate on racism. In the podcast, historian Dr. Jana Weiß from the Chair of Modern and Contemporary History sums up current developments and the upcoming elections in the USA in terms of the country's history.

Prof. Johannes WesselsProf. Johannes Wessels
© WWU - SP

Münster University and Corona - Start into the second digital semester

Interview with Prof. Johannes Wessels

At the end of October, the Münster University switched to "restricted operations" - for the second time. As was the case last summer semester, most teaching now takes place digitally. Rector Prof. Dr. Johannes Wessels answers in a podcast what this means for students and especially for first-year students, whether there is hope for classroom teaching in the current winter semester, and how the decisions on corona measures will be made. He also provides insights into the work of the crisis management teams, summarizes of the past semester and explains what would happen in the event of a shutdown. Finally, he describes the plans of the University of Münster for the further handling with its eponym, Kaiser Wilhelm II.

Prof. André KarchProf. André Karch
© WWU - SP

How epidemiological findings help to understand the corona virus

Interview with Prof. André Karch

Since the beginning of November, Germany is in lockdown light - are the restrictions too light? André Karch, Deputy Director of the Institute of Epidemiology and Social Medicine and Head of Clinical Epidemiology at Münster University, evaluates the current security measures to contain the pandemic. He also explains how epidemiological findings and models can provide clues to the spread of the virus, which statistical indicators are currently important and which new ideas such as contact diaries or the targeted isolation of risk groups are useful.

Prof. Anne MilekProf. Anne Milek
© WWU - SP

How does Corona influence couples and families?

Interview with Prof. Anne Milek

Contact restrictions, school closures, home office - the Corona pandemic has changed our lives in many areas in recent months and is affecting couples and families in particular. The special situation offers opportunities and risks. Prof. Dr. Anne Milek, holder of the Chair of Couple and Family Psychology - the only one of its kind in Germany - explains what these are in a podcast. She also provides insights into current research projects.

© WWU - SP

Doing right by the climate – What role does law play in climate protection?

Interview with Prof. Dr. Sabine Schlacke

The climate protection package, passed by the German government in October, has fuelled ongoing debates. The legislation marked the first time that German lawmakers defined legally binding climate goals for various sectors, such as transportation and agriculture. In this podcast, Sabine Schlacke, professor of public law, in particular, environmental and planning law, at the University of Münster and co-chair of the German Advisory Council on Global Change (WBGU), takes a closer look at the new climate protection package from a legal perspective. She also explains the “polluter pays” principle and what role it plays, why climate justice is a legally complex subject, and how climate protection laws differ at the European and international level.

2020

© WWU - SP

Forschung und Öffentlichkeit – aktuelle Entwicklungen in der Wissenschaftskommunikation

Interview mit Prof. Dr. Julia Metag

Die aktuelle Debatte um den Klimawandel und die Fridays-for-Future-Demonstrationen verdeutlichen nicht nur die Relevanz von wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen, sondern auch die Bedeutung von Wissenschaftskommunikation. Julia Metag, Professorin für Kommunikationswissenschaft, definiert den viel diskutierten Begriff im Podcast und erläutert zugleich, wie Wissenschaftskommunikation gelingen kann, welche Formate und Kanäle zukünftig eine Rolle spielen und wie das Vertrauen in die Wissenschaft gestärkt werden kann.

© privat

Spezial: Forschen in Zeiten von Corona

Interview mit Maximilian Koy

Wie kann Forschung während der Coronakrise funktionieren, wenn sich die Universität in einem eingeschränkten Betrieb befindet, Labore nicht zugänglich und Bibliotheken geschlossen sind? Maximilian Koy ist Doktorand in der Arbeitsgruppe von Prof. Frank Glorius am Organisch-Chemischen Institut. Im Podcast berichtet er, wie er die aktuelle Situation als Wissenschaftler erlebt, wie sich seine Arbeitsgruppe organisiert und wie er die Zeit für seine Promotion effektiv nutzt.

© WWU - SP

Wie kann die Transformation zur Nachhaltigkeit gelingen?

Interview mit Prof. Dr. Doris Fuchs

Nachhaltigkeit ist ein häufig verwendeter Begriff, der in vielen Kontexten verwendet wird. Was bedeutet er eigentlich konkret? Prof. Dr. Doris Fuchs ist Inhaberin des Lehrstuhls für Internationale Beziehungen und Nachhaltige Entwicklung und Sprecherin des Zentrums für Interdisziplinäre Nachhaltigkeitsforschung (ZIN) der WWU. Im Podcast spricht sie darüber, wie sich Nachhaltigkeit definieren lässt, wie Nachhaltigkeit gelingen kann und was nachhaltigen Konsum auszeichnet.

© privat

Spezial: Studieren in Zeiten von Corona

Interview mit Max Dornseiff und Alyssa Schmitz

Wie ist es, während der Corona-Krise zu studieren? Welche Sorgen haben Studierende? Wie sehen neue Online-Formate für die Lehre an der WWU aus? Alyssa studiert Germanistik und Musikpädagogik im zweiten Semester, Max Sport und Geschichte im achten Semester. Im Podcast berichten sie, wie sie die aktuelle Situation wahrnehmen, wie ihr digitales Sommersemester an der Uni Münster aussehen wird und welche Auswirkungen Corona auf ihr Studium hat.

© privat

Spezial: Medizinstudierende im Einsatz gegen Corona

Interview mit Arne Beyer und Daniel Winzer

In den vergangenen Wochen hat die Medizinische Fakultät der WWU im Kampf gegen das Coronavirus das MediCOVID-Programm gestartet: Mehrere hundert Studierende engagieren sich nach seitdem nach einer entsprechenden Schulung gegen die Corona-Pandemie. Zwei von ihnen sind Arne Beyer (re.) und Daniel Winzer (li.), die aktuell die Corona-Patientenversorgung im Universitätsklinikum Münster unterstützen. Die beiden Medizinstudenten berichten im Podcast, wie sie darauf vorbereitet wurden, wie ihr Alltag auf der Station aussieht und wie sie persönlich die aktuelle Corona-Krise wahrnehmen.

© WWU - SP

Hart umkämpft und heiß begehrt – das Medizinstudium

Interview mit Prof. Dr. Bernhard Marschall

Medizin gehört – nicht nur an der WWU – zu den Studiengängen mit den höchsten Bewerberzahlen. Prof. Dr. Bernhard Marschall, Studiendekan der Medizinischen Fakultät, spricht im Podcast darüber, warum das Medizinstudium so beliebt ist, was gute Bewerberinnen und Bewerber auszeichnet und wie gerecht das Zulassungsverfahren ist. Gleichzeitig erklärt er, wie das Studium an der Universität Münster aufgebaut ist, welche Konsequenzen die neue Approbationsordnung mit sich bringt und was einen guten Arzt ausmacht.

© WWU - SP

Wohlergehen, Tierschutz und Reproduzierbarkeit in der tierexperimentellen Forschung (Prof. Dr. Helene Richter)

Interview mit Prof. Dr. Helene Richter

Tierversuche sind in der Gesellschaft umstritten. Helene Richter ist Professorin für Verhaltensbiologie und Tierschutz - sie will mit ihrer Forschung die Bedingungen bei Laborversuchen zum Wohl der Tiere verbessern. Im Podcast erläutert sie, was unter tierexperimenteller Forschung eigentlich zu verstehen ist, mit welchen Methoden das Wohlergehen der Tiere ermittelt wird, welche Faktoren die Reproduzierbarkeit von Tierversuchen verbessern und wie streng die deutsche Gesetzgebung – verglichen mit anderen europäischen Ländern – in diesem Bereich ist.

© WWU - SP

Comeback in Sicht? Was Corona für die deutsche Wirtschaft bedeutet

Interview mit Prof. Dr. Manfred Krafft

Die deutsche Wirtschaft ist im zweiten Quartal aufgrund der Corona-Krise im Rekordtempo eingebrochen. Wie lange sie brauchen wird, um wieder auf die Beine zu kommen, beantwortet Prof. Dr. Manfred Krafft, Direktor des Instituts für Marketing, im Podcast. Gleichzeitig erklärt er, wie ein solcher Einbruch eigentlich berechnet wird, welche psychologischen Folgen die Krise mit sich bringt und wie sich eine mögliche zweite Infektionswelle auf die Wirtschaft auswirken würde.

© WWU - SP

Pandemien – ein globales Zukunftsproblem?

Interview mit Prof. Dr. Stephan Ludwig

Immer häufiger springen Infektionskrankheiten vom Tier auf den Menschen über. Solche sogenannten Zoonosen können – so wie es auch beim Corona-Virus der Fall ist – Auslöser für weltweite Pandemien sein. Über die Gründe dieser Entwicklung spricht Prof. Dr. Stephan Ludwig, Leiter des Instituts für molekulare Virologie an WWU, im Podcast. Der Virologe und Zoonosen-Experte erklärt außerdem, was Politik, Wirtschaft und die Bevölkerung tun können, um zukünftige Ausbreitungen zu verhindern.

© WWU - SP

Arzneipflanzen: Steigende Nachfrage nach Heilkräften aus der Natur

Interview mit Prof. Dr. Andreas Hensel

Ob Gingko, Johanniskraut oder Weißdorn – vieles, was im Garten wächst, kann eine heilende Wirkung auf die Gesundheit haben. Prof. Dr. Andreas Hensel ist Geschäftsführender Direktor des Instituts für Pharmazeutische Biologie und Phytochemie an der WWU und erklärt im Podcast, wie effektiv Stoffe aus der Natur sind, wo sie sich einsetzen lassen und welche Rolle sie möglicherweise in Zukunft bei der Behandlung von Coronaviren spielen könnten. Außerdem gibt der Pharmazeut einen Überblick darüber, in welchen Bereichen außerhalb der Medizin Naturstoffe zum Einsatz kommen.

© WWU - Brigitte Heeke

30 Jahre Deutsche Einheit – der Prozess der Wiedervereinigung

Interview mit Prof. Dr. Detlef Pollack

Wo stehen wir nach 30 Jahren Wiedervereinigung? Dieser Frage geht Prof. Dr. Detlef Pollack, Religionssoziologe und stellvertretender Sprecher des Exzellenzclusters "Religion und Politik", im Podcast nach. Dabei widmet er sich insbesondere der Rolle, dem Selbstverständnis sowie dem politischen Einfluss der Ostdeutschen von der friedlichen Revolution bis zu heute. Aspekte, die er auch in seiner jüngst erschienenen Publikation „Das unzufriedene Volk“ beleuchtet.

© WWU - SP

Rassismus, Spaltungen und Unruhen in den USA – neue, alte Probleme?

Interview mit Dr. Jana Weiß

Donald Trump oder Joe Biden: Wohl noch nie waren die Präsidentschaftswahlen in den USA von solch großem Interesse wie in diesem Jahr, denn aktuell kämpft das Land gleich gegen mehrere Krisen. Neben der Corona-Pandemie und deren wirtschaftlichen Auswirkungen beschäftigt die Gesellschaft seit dem Tod des Afroamerikaners George Floyd vor allem eine hitzige Rassismus-Debatte. Im Podcast ordnet die Historikerin Dr. Jana Weiß vom Lehrstuhl für Neuere und Neueste Geschichte die aktuellen Entwicklungen sowie die anstehenden Wahlen in den USA mit Blick auf die Geschichte des Landes ein.

© WWU - SP

Die WWU und Corona – Start ins zweite Digitalsemester

Interview mit Prof. Dr. Johannes Wessels

Ende Oktober ist die WWU in einen „eingeschränkten Betrieb“ gewechselt – zum zweiten Mal. Die Lehre findet wie bereits im vergangenen Sommersemester nun größtenteils digital statt. Was das für die Studierenden und speziell für die Studienanfänger bedeutet, ob es Hoffnung auf Präsenzlehre im aktuellen Wintersemester gibt und wie die Entscheidungen über die Corona-Maßnahmen getroffen werden, beantwortet Rektor Prof. Dr. Johannes Wessels im Podcast. Zudem gibt er Einblicke in die Arbeit der Krisenstäbe, bilanziert das vergangene Semester und erklärt, was im Falle eines Shutdowns geschehen würde. Schließlich schildert er die Pläne der WWU zum weiteren Umgang mit ihrem Namensgeber, Kaiser Wilhelm II..

© WWU - SP

Wie Erkenntnisse aus der Epidemiologie helfen, das Corona-Virus zu verstehen

Interview mit Prof. Dr. André Karch

Seit Anfang November befindet sich Deutschland im Lockdown light – sind die Einschränkungen zu leicht? André Karch, stellvertretender Direktor des Instituts für Epidemiologie und Sozialmedizin sowie Leiter der Klinischen Epidemiologie an der WWU, beurteilt im Podcast die aktuellen Sicherheitsmaßnahmen zur Eindämmung der Pandemie. Zudem erklärt er, wie Erkenntnisse und Modelle aus der Epidemiologie Hinweise auf die Verbreitung des Virus geben können, welche statistischen Kennzahlen momentan wichtig sind und welche neuen Ideen wie beispielsweise Kontakttagebücher oder die gezielte Isolation von Risikogruppen sinnvoll sind.

© WWU - SP

Wie beeinflusst Corona Paare und Familien?

Interview mit Prof. Dr. Anne Milek

Kontaktbeschränkungen, Schulschließungen, Home Office – die Corona-Pandemie hat unser Leben in den vergangenen Monaten in vielen Bereichen verändert und beeinflusst vor allem Paare und Familien. Dabei birgt die besondere Situation sowohl Chancen als auch Risiken. Welche das sind, erklärt Prof. Dr. Anne Milek, Inhaberin des Lehrstuhls für Paar- und Familienpsychologie – der einzige dieser Art in Deutschland –, im Podcast. Zudem gibt sie Einblicke in aktuelle Forschungsprojekte.

© WWU - SP

Dem Mond auf der Spur

Interview mit Prof. Dr. Harald Hiesinger

Bald wird es - zum ersten Mal seit fast 45 Jahren - wieder neue Gesteinsproben des Mondes geben, wenn die chinesische Sonde "Chang'e 5" zurück auf der Erde landet. Welche neuen Erkenntnisse das Mondgestein liefern kann, erklärt Prof. Dr. Harald Hiesinger vom Institut für Planetologie im Podcast. Zudem berichtet er, was die Wissenschaft schon über den Mond weiß, ob der Mond eigentlich jemandem gehört und wie es ist, den Start eine Raumfahrtmission aus nächster Nähe zu beobachten.