Changing degree programmes

Changing, adding or cancelling a degree programme

Students enrolled at the University of Münster who wish to change their enrolment to a restricted-admission programme, or one or more restricted-admission subjects, must first apply for admission. If you want to switch into a non-restricted degree programme, you can change your enrolment status without applying. For more details, click on the section below pertaining to your desired programme.

When you change degree programmes, you are allowed to keep your student ID number and all login data to your WWU account. Therefore, it is important to re-register early (i.e. pay the semester fee).

After changing degree programmes, your enrolment certificates are automatically updated on the SelfService.

Visit the SelfService

More information about re-registration

  • Restricted-admission degree programmes or subjects

    If you wish to switch into a restricted-admission bachelor's programme or restricted-admission bachelor's subject, you must first apply via the online application portal. If you receive and accept an offer of admission, we will send you an official letter of notification via our Info Portal the following day. You must then complete the online enrolment process within the period stated in the letter (usually up to a week), at which time you must also indicate the subject you want to give up/keep. You will then receive an enrolment application via email which you are to submit together with additional documents listed therein to the Student Admissions Office.

    To change to a master's programme (non-teaching) or Master of Education programme, you must first apply for admission to the programme by the specified deadline and fulfil the respective admission requirements. This is the only way to change your enrolment to a non-teaching master's programme.

  • Non-restricted degree programmes

    The change of Course study have to be requested in person through authorized third parties, by post or by email to studentadministration@wwu.de from the university email address, indicating the student ID number.

    Exception: A change to an academic-theoretical master's degree programme or a Master of Education can only be requested in person or by post and requires a successful application, an admission and the acceptance of the admission in time. Without this, the enrolment in an academic-theoretical master's degree programme or a Master of Education is not possible.

    The change of course study (non-restricted) can only be made once the status of your re-registration request has been "approved" in the SelfService portal. A change of your course study have to be requested until the last working day before the start of lectures.

    • A change to a doctoral programme is possible until 15th May for a summer semester and 15th November for a winter semester. The required documents as well as the degree certificate entitling to doctoral studies and the individual doctoral certificate have to be submitted.
    • The Foreign Language Training for Lawyers (FFA) can be registered for a summer semester until the end of April and for a winter semester until the end of October. The C-Test certificate, an acknowledgement or admission from the FFA office have to be sent.
  • Higher semester enrolment

    To change to a higher semester in a non-restricted degree programme or subject, students must submit a certificate issued by the degree course advisor, confirming recognition of academic achievement (placement).

    For higher-semester enrolment in a restricted-admission degree programme or subject, students must submit or send all documents listed in the letter of admission.

  • visiting students and cooperation students

    Students who wish to change from visiting student to an ordinary student status request this in person, by post or by email (studentadministration@wwu.de) from their university email address, stating their WWU student ID number. The de-registration certificate of the previous first university and, if the studies were completed at the other university, a copy of the degree certificate have to be submitted.

    In addition, the digital transmission of the health insurance status by a statutory health insurance company is required.

    To the health insurance for students

    Students who wish to continue their studies at WWU Münster as a visiting student, have to contact the Student Admissions Office by phone or send an email to studentadministration@wwu.de. In general, the faculty at WWU Münster have to agree, the other university have not to be further than 100 km away from WWU Münster and the course of study at WWU Münster have to be non-restricted.

    The deadline for requesting a change is from the beginning of August for a winter semester and from the beginning of February for a summer semester until the last working day before the  start of lectures.

     

  • Students of the University of Fine Arts

    If you are already enrolled in a teaching degree program at WWU Münster and would like to change one of your teaching subjects to art, you have to request this change in person, by post, or by email (studentadministration@wwu.de), indicating the teaching subject you wish to change and your WWU student ID number. You have to submit your semester certificate from the University of Fine Arts. As soon as your request has been processed, you will receive an email notification to your university email address and you will see in the SelfService portal that you have been de-registered as an ordinary student and enrolled as a visiting student.

    Students who wishing to transfer from a two-subject bachelor's degree with art to the single-subject art for the teaching qualification at the secondary-school level (Gymnasien/Gesamtschule) have to submit a certificate of placement for Educational Studies in addition to the semester certificate from the University of Fine Arts.

    Information regarding the submitted documents is also available at the Student Service of the University of Fine Arts, Leonardo-Campus 2, 48149 Münster.

    As soon as your request has been processed, you will receive an email notification to your university email address and you will see in the SelfService portal that you have been de-registered as an ordinary student and enrolled as a cooperative student.

    The deadline for requesting a change is from the beginning of August for a winter semester and from the beginning of February for a summer semeter until the last working day before the start of lectures.

     

     

  • Cancelling a degree programme

    It is possible to cancel a degree programme at any time. Cancellation can be retroactively effected until midterm. The student, however, is not permitted to complete any required coursework or examinations in that semester. Concluded degree programmes are not automatically cancelled. In accordance with § 7 (2) of the Enrolment Regulations of the University of Münster, you must request to cancel or change your degree programme, or de-register (exmatriculate) no later than the last day of the semester during which you received your degree.

    Cancellation of one programme does not affect the continuation of your other degree programme(s). You must submit your request to cancel a degree programme online via the SelfService under Requests -> Create request -> Studies > Cancellation of enrolment for a degree programme.

    Visit the SelfService

  • Required documents

    Whenever we ask you to submit written applications or requests, you must also provide a self-addressed envelope with sufficient postage so that we can send you confirmation of your requested change, new semester certificates (if necessary) and return your submitted documents.

    If you have completed the degree programme in question, please include an authenticated copy of your degree certificate.

    If you wish to change to a doctoral programme, please submit confirmation of doctoral supervision or the letter of admission from the doctoral examination board or dean of the corresponding faculty.

    More information

    Students who wish to cancel enrolment in any of the following subjects are required to upload or send a confirmation of release (Entlastungsbescheinigung) from the respective faculty/ institute.

    • Pharmacy (Institute of Pharmaceutical Chemistry, Corrensstr. 48)
    • Music, Music/Music Practice and New Media and Musicology (Institute of Musicology and Music Education, Philippistr. 2)
    • Didactics of Geography, Geography, Geospatioal Tecnologies,  Water Sciences, Geoinformatics and Landscape Ecology (Geosciences I adm. office, Heisenbergstr. 2, Rm. 3). Confirmation of release from the Faculty of Geosciences [de] (then click on "Students")
    • Dentistry (available from the administrative office (Ms. I. Weers) issued by Prof. Dr. P. Scheutzel, academic coordinator in Dentistry, Waldeyerstr. 30, 48149 Münster)

Umschreibung

Wechsel, Ergänzung oder Streichung eines Studiengangs

Studierende, die bereits an der WWU Münster immatrikuliert sind und ihr Abschlussziel bzw. ein oder mehrere Studienfächer ändern möchten, müssen sich für einen Wechsel in zulassungsbeschränkte Studiengänge zunächst bewerben. Für einen Wechsel in zulassungsfreie Studiengänge können Sie sich ohne vorherige Bewerbung umschreiben lassen. Genaue Informationen finden Sie unter den entsprechenden Überschriften auf dieser Seite.

Bei einer Umschreibung behalten Sie Ihre Matrikelnummer sowie Ihre WWU-Kennung. Melden Sie sich daher bitte zeitnah durch Zahlung des Semesterbeitrags rück.

Ihre Bescheinigungen im SelfService aktualisieren sich nach der Umschreibung automatisch.

Zum SelfService

Mehr Informationen zur Rückmeldung

  • Zulassungsbeschränkte Studiengänge oder -fächer

    Sollten Sie eine Umschreibung in einen zulassungsbeschränkten Bachelor-Studiengang oder ein zulassungsbeschränktes Bachelor-Studienfach vornehmen wollen, müssen Sie sich dazu zunächst über das Bewerbungsportal bewerben. Wenn Sie dann ein Zulassungsangebot erhalten und dieses annehmen, erhalten Sie einen Tag später in unserem Infoportal Ihren Zulassungsbescheid. Innerhalb der darin genannten Frist (bis zu einer Woche), müssen Sie dann die Online-Immatrikulation durchführen (hier geben Sie dann auch an welches Fach Sie abgeben/ beibehalten wollen). Danach erhalten Sie per Email einen Einschreibeantrag, den Sie mit den darauf genannten Unterlagen im Studierendensekretariat einreichen.

    Ein Wechsel in einen fachwissenschaftlichen Master oder Master of Education setzt eine erfolgreiche Bewerbung innerhalb der genannten Fristen und eine Zulassung voraus. Ohne diese ist eine Einschreibung in einen fachwissenschaftlichen Master oder Master of Education nicht möglich.

     

  • Zulassungsfreie Studiengänge und -fächer

    Umschreibungen müssen persönlich, durch bevollmächtigte Dritte, postalisch oder unter Angabe der Matrikelnummer per E-Mail an studierendenverwaltung@wwu.de von der Uni-E-Mail-Adresse aus beantragt werden.

    Ausnahme: Ein Wechsel in einen fachwissenschaftlichen Master oder Master of Education kann nur persönlich oder postalisch beantragt werden und setzt eine erfolgreiche Bewerbung innerhalb der genannten Frist, eine Zulassung und die fristgerechte Annahme des Studienplatzes voraus. Ohne diese ist eine Einschreibung in einen fachwissenschaftlichen Master oder Master of Education nicht möglich.

    Umschreibungen (zulassungsfrei) können erst erfolgten, wenn der Status des Rückmeldeantrags im SelfService "Freigegeben" ist. Eine Umschreibung muss bis spätestens letztem Werktag vor Vorlesungsbeginn beantragt werden.

    • Ein Wechsel zu einem Promotionsstudium ist bis 15.05. für ein Sommersemester und bis 15.11. für ein Wintersemester möglich. Die erforderlichen Unterlagen, wie das zur Promotion berechtigende Abschlusszeugnis und der individuelle Promotionsnachweis müssen eingereicht werden.
    • Die Fachspezifische Fremdsprachenausbildung für Juristen (FFA) kann für ein Sommersemester bis Ende April und für ein Wintersemester bis Ende Oktober eingetragen werden. Zuzusenden ist der C-Test oder eine Anerkennung bzw. Zulassung des FFA-Büros.

     

  • Höhere Fachsemester

    Für im höheren Fachsemester zulassungsfreie Studiengänge oder -fächer ist bei der Änderung oder Ergänzung eine Bescheinigung des Studienfachberaters über die Anrechnung von Studienleistungen (Einstufung) erforderlich.

    Für im höheren Fachsemester zulassungsbeschränkte Studiengänge oder -fächer sind die im Zulassungsbescheid angegeben Nachweise vorzulegen bzw. zuzusenden.

  • Zweithörende und Kooperationsstudierende

    Studierende, die vom Zweithörenden- zum Ersthörendenstatus wechseln möchten, beantragen dies persönlich, postalisch oder unter Angabe der WWU-Matrikelnummer per E-Mail (studierendenverwaltung@wwu.de) von Ihrer Uni-E-Mail-Adresse aus. Einzureichen ist die Exmatrikulationsbescheinigung der vorherigen Ersthochschule und, sofern das Studium an der anderen Hochschule abgeschlossen wurde, eine Kopie des Abschlusszeugnisses.

    Zudem ist die digitale Übermittlung des Krankenversicherungsstatus durch eine gesetzliche Krankenkasse erforderlich.

    Zur Krankenversicherung für Studierende

    Studierende, die Ihr Studium an der WWU als Zweithörende fortsetzen möchten, wenden sich am besten telefonisch oder per E-Mail an das Studierendensekretariat (studierendenverwaltung@wwu.de). Grundsätzlich gilt: der Fachbereich (WWU) muss einverstanden, die andere Hochschule darf nicht weiter als 100 km von der WWU entfernt und der Studiengang an der WWU darf nicht zulassungsbeschränkt sein.

    Die Fristen für die Beantragung eines solchen Wechsels sind: Von Anfang August für ein Wintersemester und von Anfang Februar für ein Sommersemester bis jeweils zum letzten Werktag vor Vorlesungsbeginn.

  • Studierende der Kunstakademie

    Wer bereits an der WWU für ein Lehramtsstudium eingeschrieben ist und mit einem der Lehramtsfächer unter Beibehaltung des Abschlussziels zu Kunst wechseln möchte, muss dies persönlich, postalisch oder unter Angabe des zu tauschenden Lehramtsfachs sowie der WWU-Matrikelnummer per E-Mail (studierendenverwaltung@wwu.de) beantragen. Einzureichen ist die Immatrikulationsbescheinigung der Kunstakademie. Sobald Ihr Antrag bearbeitet wurde, erhalten Sie automatisierte E-Mails an Ihre Uni-E-Mail-Adresse und sehen im SelfService-Portal, dass Sie als Hauphörende/r exmatrikuliert und als Zweithörende/r immatrikuliert wurden.

    Von Studierenden, die von einem Zwei-Fach-Bachelor mit Kunst zum Ein-Fach Kunst (Gymnasium/Gesamtschule) wechseln möchten, wird neben der Immatrikulationsbescheinigung der Kunstakademie auch eine Einstufungsbescheinigung der Bildungswissenschaften benötigt.

    Informationen zu den einzureichenden Unterlagen erhalten Sie auch im Studierendenservice der Kunstakademie, Leonardo-Campus 2, 48149 Münster.

    Sobald Ihr Antrag bearbeitet wurde, erhalten Sie automatisierte E-Mails an Ihre Uni-E-Mail-Adresse und sehen im SelfService-Portal, dass Sie als Hauphörende/r exmatrikuliert und als Kooperationsstudierende/r immatrikuliert wurden.

    Die Fristen für die Beantragung eines solchen Wechsels sind: Von Anfang August für ein Wintersemester und von Anfang Februar für ein Sommersemester bis jeweils zum letzten Werktag vor Vorlesungsbeginn.

  • Streichung eines Studiengangs

    Die Streichung eines Studiengangs ist jederzeit möglich. Bis zur Hälfte eines Semesters erfolgt die Streichung rückwirkend. Studienleistungen dürfen in diesem Semester nicht erbracht worden sein. Bei Beendigung eines Studiengangs erfolgt die Streichung nicht automatisch. Gemäß § 7 Absatz 2 der Einschreibungsordnung der WWU müssen Sie spätestens mit Ablauf des Semesters, in dem Sie Ihr Zeugnis erhalten haben, die Streichung des abgeschlossenen Studiengangs, eine Studiengangsänderung oder die ordnungsgemäße Exmatrikulation beantragen.

    Die Fortsetzung Ihrer weiteren Studienfächer/ Ihres weiteren Studiengangs bleibt von einer Streichung unberührt. Die Streichung muss online im SelfService unter Anträge -> Antrag stellen -> Studium > Streichung eines Studiengangs beantragt werden.

    Zum SelfService

  • Einzureichende Unterlagen

    Bei allen schriftlichen Anträgen ist das Beifügen eines an Sie selbst adressierten, ausreichend frankierten Rückumschlags für den Erhalt eines Änderungsbelegs und ggf. neuer Nachweise sowie die Rücksendung eingereichter Unterlagen obligatorisch.

    Bei Abschluss des Studiums fügen Sie ggf. eine amtlich beglaubigte Kopie Ihres Abschusszeugnisses bei.

    Beim Wechsel in einen Promotionsstudiengang ist die Vorlage eines Betreuungsnachweises oder eine Zulassung des Promotionsausschusses bzw. der Dekanin/des Dekans der jeweiligen Fakultät erforderlich.

    Weiter Informationen

    Studierende, die sich aus einem der folgenden Fächer austragen, müssen eine Entlastungsbescheinigung der jeweiligen Einrichtung hochladen bzw. einreichen:

    • Pharmazie (Institut für Pharmazeutische Chemie, Corrensstraße 48),
    • Musik, Musik/Musikpraxis und neue Medien und Musikwissenschaft (Institut für Musikwissenschaft und Musikpädagogik, Philippistraße 2),
    • Masterstudiengang Klinische Musiktherapie (Sekretariat des Studienganges Klinische Musiktherapie, Philippistr. 2),
    • Didaktik der Geographie, Geographie, Geoinformatics, Geoinformatik, Geospatial Technologies, Humangeographie, Humangeographie - Raumkonflikte, Raumplanung, Raumentwicklung, Wasserwissenschaften und Landschaftsökologie (Geschäftszimmer Geowissenschaften I, Heisenbergstraße 2, Zimmer 3). Zur Entlastungsbescheinigung des Fachbereichs Geowissenschaften (danach bitte "Studierende" anklicken)
    • Studierende der Zahnmedizin benötigen eine Entlastungsbescheinigung des Sekretariats (Frau I. Weers) von Frau Prof. Dr. P. Scheutzel, der  Lehrkoordinatorin im Fach Zahnmedizin - Waldeyerstr. 30, 48149 Münster.