Semester fee

Every student is required to pay a so-called "semester fee" each semester. The revenues collected from the semester fee are used to finance various student-related services, such as the dining halls, student halls of residence, University Sports and the University radio station. The General Students’ Committee (AStA) receives a portion of the semester fee to finance projects and activities for the student body. Part of the semester fee also covers the cost of the "semester ticket" (see below). Students at the University of Münster are not obliged to pay tuition fees.

The semester fee is € 303.52 in the summer semester 2021.

This amount includes the following expenses:

Item Amount
Tasks of the Studierendenwerk Münster (Student Support Services) € 99.11
Supplementary student insurance € 0.23
University Sports € 1.40
Tasks of the student body € 11.68
University radio station € 0.30
Semester ticket for cultural events € 3.40
Semester ticket € 187.40

Following enrolment, first-time students receive their WWU account details by post which includes instructions on how to pay the semester fee. Students already enrolled at the University of Münster receive an email, sent to their WWU account, instructing them to transfer payment of the semester fee (see also re-registration).

If you find yourself unable to pay the semester fee due to financial or social hardship, the Social Counselling Office at AStA can help you find a solution on the basis of the current hardship case regulations (section 57 paragraph 1 clause 3 Hochschulgesetz NRW).

Social Counselling Office at AStA

Semester ticket

The semester ticket is based on an agreement between the constituted student body of the University of Münster, represented by AStA, the Stadtwerke Münster and the Deutsche Bahn. It permits all students of the University to use the busses and certain trains (2nd class) in Münster and North Rhine-Westphalia without additional tickets and at no additional expense. The semester ticket is a fixed cost calculated into the semester fee. The semester ticket will be available a month before the start of the new semester.

Please contact AStA for more information about the semester ticket area of coverage: Visit the AStA website

Semesterbeitrag

Pro Semester muss der Semesterbeitrag gezahlt werden. Durch die Semesterbeiträge werden Serviceeinrichtungen für Studierende wie die Mensen und Wohnheime, der Hochschulsport und das Hochschulradio unterstützt. Der Allgemeine Studierendenausschuss (AStA) erhält einen Anteil des Semesterbeitrags, um Angebote für die Studierendenschaft zu machen. Auch sind im Semesterbeitrag die Kosten für das Semesterticket (siehe unten) enthalten. Studiengebühren müssen an der WWU Münster nicht gezahlt werden.

Der Semesterbeitrag beträgt im Sommersemester 2021 303,52 Euro.

Er setzt sich aus folgenden Einzelbeträgen zusammen:

Posten Betrag
für Aufgaben des Studierendenwerks Münster 99,11 Euro
für die Zusatzversicherung der Studierenden 0,23 Euro
für den Studierendensport 1,40 Euro
für die Aufgaben der Studierendenschaft 11,68 Euro
für ein Hochschulradio 0,30 Euro
für ein Kultursemesterticket 3,40 Euro
für ein Semesterticket 187,40 Euro

Als „Neuling“ erhalten Sie einige Tage nach der Einschreibung per Post Ihre WWU-Kennung mit Erläuterungen zur Zahlung des Semesterbeitrags. Bereits an der WWU Münster eingeschriebene Studierende erhalten die Aufforderung zur Zahlung des Semesterbeitrags per E-Mail an ihren WWU-Account (siehe Rückmeldung).

Sollten Sie den Semesterbeitrag aufgrund eines sozialen Härtefalles nicht zahlen können, hilft Ihnen die Sozialberatung des AStA im Rahmen der Härtefallregelungen (Paragraph 57 Absatz 1 Satz 3 Hochschulgesetz NRW) eine Lösung zu finden.

Zur Sozialberatung des AStA

Semesterticket

Ein Vertrag zwischen der Studierendenschaft der WWU Münster (vertreten durch den AStA), den Stadtwerken Münster und der Deutschen Bahn ermöglicht es allen Studierenden der WWU Münster, die Busse und bestimmte Bahnen (2. Klasse) in Münster und NRW ohne zusätzliche Tickets über das Semesterticket zu nutzen. Es ist fester Bestandteil des Semesterbeitrags. Es kann erst einen Monat vor Beginn des jeweiligen Semesters heruntergeladen werden.

Nähere Informationen zum Geltungsbereich des Semestertickets bietet der AStA: Zur Informationsseite des AStA