© WWU - Peter Wattendorff

Welcome to the University of Münster!

We are delighted you have chosen Münster and the University of Münster as your academic home. After three digital semesters, we plan to hold the coming winter semester entirely in person. This will hopefully allow you to enjoy all the opportunities a study programme at a full-fledged university can offer. You will be able to meet your fellow students in person, cultivate personal and professional contacts, and become truly acclimated to your new place of study. Digital elements, which have proven quite effective in the past, will continue to supplement your studies. Since the beginning of the pandemic, we have created a system of digital measures and programmes which can be reintroduced at short notice if need be. However, as things stand now, I am optimistic that you will be able to take advantage of the many in-person opportunities available at the University – also outside academic life.

I very much look forward to greeting you in person at the Welcome Event for first-semester students on 7 October 2021. Until then, I wish you much success!

Johannes Wessels, Rector of the University of Münster

Getting off to a good start

  • Beginning your studies during coronavirus times

    The coronavirus pandemic has presented beginning students with various changes and challenges. To answer your questions, the University regularly updates an FAQ page for all students – including first-semester students – containing the most important information on the issue. We will inform you of any changes via social media. The ways in which introductory events, orientation weeks and teaching take place can vary greatly depending on your course of study. The best thing, therefore, is to consult the websites of your respective institute or faculty. The annotated lecture timetables are also helpful, as they contain detailed information on instruction in its various forms and numerous tips for first-year students.

    Coronavirus FAQs for students

  • Orientation events for first-semester and transfer students

    The faculties of the University of Münster host orientation events for first-semester and transfer students at the beginning of each semester. These are offered as individual information seminars or as part of a larger programme of orientation events. We definitely recommend taking part! The Student Advice and Counselling Centre (ZSB) can provide you with further details and dates.

    Orientation events for first-semester and transfer students [de]

  • Preliminary courses for first-semester students

    The Faculties of Mathematics and Computer Science, Physics, Chemistry and Pharmacy conduct preliminary courses which help beginning students reach a standard level of knowledge required for their degree programmes. The aim is to make the transition from school to university easier. The preliminary courses usually take place in September ahead of the winter semester.

    More information [de]

  • Search and find

    University map

    Although the University of Münster has no central campus, you can reach most facilities and institutes on foot, by bike or bus. Our University map shows you where each building is located.
    View map of the University of Münster

    Institutions A-Z

    Institutions A-Z is a database of all facilities of the University with their respective contact data. A link redirects you to the institute's corresponding website and another shows you its location on the University map.
    Search for Institutions A-Z

    Person search

    Professors, administrative staff, students – using this database, you can find the email addresses and phone numbers of many members of the University.
    Use the Person search

    Academic organisation

    The student portal MyWWU provides access to essential applications and includes a number of valuable additional features such as a calendar, timetable and news section. Via the LSF/QISPOS portal, you can register (and de-register) for individual courses and their corresponding required assignments and examinations.
    View the course catalogue (LSF/QISPOS portal)
    Visit MyWWU [de]

    Overview of the faculties

    The University of Münster is comprised of 15 faculties. Together they form the structural foundation of the University.
    Faculties

    Accommodation search

    Every student who studies in Münster needs a place to live. While some prefer sharing a flat (WG) with other students , others choose to rent a room in a student hall of residence. You can find offers of accommodation in various magazines and Internet portals.
    Overview of accommodation offers

    Studying with a disability

    To ensure that all students have an equal chance to achieve academic success, we feel it is important to provide consultation which is tailored to students’ needs. In addition to our comprehensive range of advice services, the Disability and Access Resource Centre provides extensive information on handicapped accessibility, technical support and assistance with developing individual solutions.
    More information

    Studying while raising a child

    Students raising a child have to be well-organised and know how to multitask. The University of Münster supports student parents with clarifying financial and legal matters, obtaining childcare and finding inexpensive accommodation.
    Overview of services

    International students

    International students are very welcome at the University of Münster! Whether you come to study for one semester at the University or to pursue an undergraduate or graduate degree – the right information and support for your studies and life in Münster is available for all international students.
    Overview of services for international students

  • First steps

    Are first steps always the hardest? Not necessarily! To help you gain orientation at the beginning of your studies, various facilities of the University of Münster provide helpful advice to first-semester students:

    University Library (ULB)

    The University Library (ULB) is one of the central facilities of the University of Münster – a place you are sure to encounter as a first-semester student. Your WWU student ID is also your ULB user card. You only have to activate your library user card once. For an introduction to our libraries and the services they offer, we recommend attending a training session.

    WWU IT

    The WWU IT  is the University's central service provider for communication and information technology. The WWU IT is responsible for assigning University email address to all first-semester students and ensuring that sufficient computer pools are available. The WWU IT also offers software courses.
    Important WWU IT information for first-semester students

    Student Advice and Counselling Centre (ZSB)

    The Student Advice and Counselling Centre (ZSB) is the place to go prior to and during your studies for information and advice in matters related to choosing, taking up and completing a degree programme. The ZSB staff provide support when dealing with personal, academically-related difficulties, and also offer psychological consultation.
    Visit the ZSB

    My WWU for students

    At Münster University, daily life for students is organized via the students’ portal. This provides access to the applications needed, as well as to additional functions such as diary, timetable and news area. Students can also register for courses on My WWU and access their academic achievements and examination results here. For now, information in the portal is in German only.
    My WWU for students [de]

    University Sports – Keeping your mind on the move

    Academic life can be exhausting and challenging at times. The best way to reduce stress is to take a University Sports course.  The University Sports programme offers a multifaceted, inexpensive, needs-based selection of high-quality fitness opportunities with some 120 different types of sport, tours, continuing education courses, tournaments and international sporting events.
    View the University Sports programme

    Student dining

    There's a saying in Germany that goes "You can't learn well on a full stomach". On the other hand, you can't learn well when you're famished either. At the dining halls (Mensen) and bistros operated by the Student Support Services (Studierendenwerk), you will find a wide variety of meals and snacks every day.
    View the menus at the University dining halls and bistros

    NRW Semesterticket

    With your Semesterticket, you can take all the buses in North Rhine-Westphalia for free. You can also use your Semesterticket to ride the trains in North Rhine-Westphalia for free. The Semesterticket is not valid on high-speed trains (IC and ICE).
    Semester ticket

  • Dates

    Orientation events

    The faculties of the University host introductions and week-long orientation programmes for first-semester students. Not only do these events introduce you to the city, but also help you get to know your fellow students. The Student Advice and Counselling Centre (ZSB) provides an overview of the upcoming events.
    Overview of orientation events [de]

    Preliminary courses for first-semester

    The Faculties of Mathematics and Computer Science, Physics, Chemistry and Pharmacy offer preliminary courses designed to balance the different levels of knowledge of first-year students. Courses usually take place in September of the respective winter semester.
    Overview of Preliminary Courses for First Semesters [de]

    Semester dates and holidays

    When does the semester begin, when does it end? This is important information for planning ahead.
    Overview of the semester dates and holidays

    Online event calendar

    In our online event calendar, you can find the dates of all upcoming events at the University of Münster, e.g. lectures, conferences, congresses, music performances, plays and sporting events.
    View the event calendar

    University Sport Dates

    There's a lot going on in college sports. Important events or registration deadlines for the sports courses can be found on the university sports page.
    To the university sports calendar [de]

  • Stay in the know

    Exciting things are always happening at the University of Münster. Interesting lectures are held, research findings are presented, new degree programmes are launched, new exchange programmes and courses are offered. If you want to stay on top of things, there are several news and media channels you can subscribe to:

    The WWU Münster on Instagram

    The WWU Münster on Facebook

    WWU Twitter feed

    WWU YouTube-Channel

    WWU Münster news at a glance

    Online event calendar

    In addition, it is worthwhile to have a look at the faculty pages and social media channels of the respective degree programme. In MyWWU [de] you can also create a personalized news feed overview under "News".

  • On the Matter WWU

    The University of Münster officially bears the name Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster, or WWU for short. It is named after Wilhelm II, during whose reign the royal academy was elevated to a university again. However, the person and governmental actions of the last German emperor are controversial. Therefore, the university wants to put its relationship to its namesake up for discussion. Under the title "On the Matter WWU" there is a webside on this topic.

© WWU - Peter Wattendorff

Willkommen an der WWU Münster!

Ich freue mich, dass Sie sich für Münster und die WWU als Studienort entschieden haben. Nach drei digitalen Semestern planen wir das anstehende Wintersemester als Präsenzsemester. Damit eröffnen sich Ihnen hoffentlich wieder all die Möglichkeiten, die ein Studium an einer großen Volluniversität bietet. Sie lernen Ihre Kommilitoninnen und Kommilitonen im direkten Austausch kennen, können sich vernetzen und "richtig" an Ihrem neuen Studienort ankommen. Digitale Angebote werden Ihr Studium dort ergänzen, wo sie sich bewährt haben. Wir haben wir an der WWU Münster seit Beginn der Pandemie die Voraussetzungen geschaffen, im Bedarfsfall auch kurzfristig verstärkt digitale Angebote zu machen. Aktuell bin ich jedoch optimistisch, dass Sie wie geplant das vielfältige Angebot an der Universität - auch außerhalb des Akademischen - nutzen können.

Ich freue mich sehr, Sie im Rahmen der zentralen Erstsemesterbegrüßung am 7. Oktober 2021 bald auch persönlich begrüßen zu dürfen und wünsche Ihnen viel Erfolg!

Johannes Wessels, Rektor der Universität Münster

Ersti-Begrüßung im Preußenstadion und Ausgabe der Ersti-Taschen

Die Universität Münster lädt alle Studienstarterinnen und Studienstarter zur großen Erstsemesterbegrüßung ein:

Am: 7. Oktober 2021
Im: Preußenstadion
Einlass: ab 9 Uhr, gestaffelt nach Fachbereichen
Beginn: 11 Uhr
Taschenausgabe: 12-14 Uhr auf dem Parkplatz vor dem Preußenstadion (Am Berg Fidel / Hammer Straße)

Wichtige Informationen:
Gemäß der 3G-Regel dürfen ins Preußenstadion und zur Taschenausgabe nur geimpfte, genese oder getestete Personen kommen. Wir bitten alle Besucher einen entsprechenden Nachweis in digitaler oder analoger Form sowie ein Ausweisdokument bereit zu halten, damit ein zügiger Einlass gewährleistet ist.

Taschenausgabe:
Traditionell wird allen Erstsemestern zum Studienstart an der WWU eine Tasche geschenkt. Die Taschen werden im Rahmen der zentralen Erstsemesterbegrüßung am 7. Oktober 2021 ausgegeben. Zu beachten ist, dass die Taschen nur an Studierende ausgegeben werden, die seit dem Sommersemester 2021 erstmalig an der WWU immatrikuliert wurden. Bringen Sie zum Nachweis bitte den Studierendenausweis mit. Wer nicht zur großen Erstsemesterbegrüßung kommen kann, bekommt die Tasche bei einem Nachverteilungstermin. Den Termin geben wir auf dieser Seite und in den Sozialen Medien bekannt.

Hilfreiches für Erstsemester

  • Studienstart in Corona-Zeiten

    Ein Studienstart in Coronazeiten bringt einige Veränderungen mit sich. Für alle Angehörigen der WWU - einschließlich der Erstsemester - gibt es deshalb eine Internetseite, die die wichtigsten zentralen Informationen zu dem Thema bündelt. Sie wird laufend aktualisiert. Über Änderungen informieren wir auch in den Sozialen Medien. Wie die Einführungsveranstaltungen, Orientierungswochen und Lehrveranstaltungen in Coronazeiten ablaufen, ist von Studiengang zu Studiengang sehr unterschiedlich. Informiert euch am besten auf den Webseiten der jeweiligen Institute und Fachschaften zu dem Thema. Hilfreich sind auch die kommentierten Vorlesungsverzeichnisse. Sie enthalten ausführliche Informationen zu den Lehrveranstaltungen und viele Tipps für Erstsemester.

    Informationen zum Coronavirus

  • Einführungsveranstaltungen für Erstsemester und Hochschulwechsler

    Zu Beginn des Semesters werden in einigen Fachbereichen/Instituten studieneinführende Veranstaltungen für Erstsemester und/oder Hochschulwechsler angeboten. Diese Einführungen finden als einzelne Informationsveranstaltungen oder als Orientierungseinheiten statt und sollten auf keinen Fall verpasst werden! Die Zentrale Studienberatung informiert über die Termine. Die zentrale Begrüßung für alle Erstis findet zum Start des Wintersemesters statt, die Erstis aus dem Sommersemester sind dazu ebenfalls herzlich eingeladen.

    Übersicht über die Einführungsveranstaltungen

  • Vorkurse für Erstsemester

    Die Fachbereiche Mathematik und Informatik, Physik, Chemie und Pharmazie führen Vorkurse durch, die dazu dienen sollen, den unterschiedlichen Kenntnisstand der Studienanfänger/innen auszugleichen. Ziel der Vorkurse ist es, den Übergang von der Schule zur Hochschule zu erleichtern.
    Die Vorkurse finden in der Regel im September zum jeweiligen Wintersemester statt.

    Mehr Informationen zu den Vorkursen

  • Suchen und Finden

    Uni-Lageplan

    Die Universität Münster ist keine Campusuniversität, doch mit dem Fahrrad, zu Fuß oder per Bus sind die Institutsgebäude alle gut zu erreichen. Der Uni-Lageplan zeigt, wo die einzelnen Gebäude zu finden sind.
    Zum Lageplan

    Einrichtungs A-Z

    Im Einrichtungs A-Z finden sich die Kontaktdaten der verschiedenen Einrichtungen der Universität. Ein Link führt zum Webauftritt der Einrichtung, ein anderer zeigt den Standort der Einrichtung im Uni-Lageplan an.
    Zum Einrichtungs A-Z

    Personensuche

    Professorinnen und Professoren, Verwaltungsmitarbeiter, Studierende: Hier finden sich die E-Mailadressen und Telefonnummern vieler Uni-Angehöriger.
    Zur Personensuche

    Studienorganisation

    Das Studierendenportal MyWWU bietet Zugang zu den erforderlichen Anwendungen und liefert mit Kalender, Stundenplan und Newsbereich wertvolle Zusatzfunktionen. Über LSF/QISPOS erfolgt die Anmeldung zu Veranstaltungen sowie die An- und Abmeldung zu Studien- und Prüfungsleistungen.
    Zum Vorlesungsverzeichnis (LSF/QISPOS-Portal)
    Zu MyWWU

    Übersicht über die Fachbereiche

    15 Fachbereiche hat die Universität Münster. Sie bilden die organisatorische Grundeinheit der Hochschule.
    Fachbereiche

    Wohnungssuche

    Wer in Münster studiert, braucht eine Wohnmöglichkeit. Während die einen lieber in eine WG ziehen, mieten andere ein Zimmer im Studentenwohnheim. Zeitschriften und das Internet informieren über die Angebote.
    Übersicht Wohnungsangebote

    Studium mit Beeinträchtigung

    Ein entscheidender Faktor für einen chancengleichen und erfolgreichen Studienverlauf ist die an den individuellen Bedarfen der Studierenden orientierte Beratung. Ergänzend zum umfangreichen Beratungsangebot bietet die Koordinierungsstelle Studium mit Beeinträchtigung Informationen zu barrierefreien Bedingungen sowie technischen Unterstützungen und berät zu individuellen Lösungsmöglichkeiten.
    Informationen zum Studium mit Beeinträchtigung

    Studieren mit Kind

    Studierende mit Kind müssen gut organisiert sein und vieles unter einen Hut bringen. Die WWU Münster unterstützt studentische Eltern dabei, finanzielle und rechtliche Fragen zu klären, eine Betreuung zu finden, und hilft bei der Suche nach günstigen Wohnungen.
    Übersichtsseiten Studieren mit Kind

    Internationale Studierende

    Internationale Studierende sind an der WWU Münster herzlich willkommen! Egal, ob sie für ein Semester an der WWU studieren, ihr gesamtes Studium hier in Münster verbringen – es gibt für alle internationalen Studierenden die passenden Informationen und Angebote für das Studium an der WWU und das Leben in Münster.
    Übersichtsseiten internationale Studierende

  • Erste Schritte

    Aller Anfang ist schwer? Das muss nicht sein! Damit niemand beim Start des Studiums den Überblick verliert, gibt es von verschiedenen Einrichtungen einige hilfreiche Angebote für Ersemester der Universität Münster:

    Universitäts- und Landesbibliothek

    Bücherwurm

    An der Universitäts- und Landesbibliothek, kurz ULB, kommen auch Erstsemester nicht vorbei. Die WWU-Studierendenkarte ist gleichzeitig auch ULB-Ausweis. Der Ausweis muss dazu aber einmalig aktiviert werden. Sinnvoll sind zudem Schulungen, die einen ersten Überblick über die Bibliotheken bieten:

    WWU IT

    Einsteinstrasse

    Die WWU IT ist an der Uni Münster der zentrale Dienstleister für Kommunikations- und Informationstechnik. So sorgt die WWU IT zum Beispiel dafür, dass Erstsemester eine eigene Uni-E-Mailadresse bekommen und dass ausreichend PC-Pools zur Verfügung stehen. Die WWU IT bietet zudem Softwarekurse an.
    Infofilm WWU IT

    Zentrale Studienberatung

    Nicht nur vor einem Studium, auch währenddessen ist die Zentrale Studienberatung (ZSB) die richtige Anlaufstelle für viele Bereiche: Sie informiert und berät in Fragen, die im Zusammenhang mit Wahl, Aufnahme und Bewältigung eines Studiums entstehen und sie bietet bei persönlichen Schwierigkeiten, die mit dem Studium zusammenhängen, auch eine psychologische Beratung an.
    Zur ZSB

    Das Studierendenportal MyWWU

    Die Organisation des Studienalltags erfolgt an der WWU über das Studierendenportal. Es bietet Zugang zu den erforderlichen Anwendungen und liefert mit Kalender, Stundenplan und Newsbereich Zusatzfunktionen. Auch Anmeldungen zu Veranstaltungen sowie zu Studien- und Prüfungsleistungen sind über My WWU erreichbar.
    MyWWU für Studierende

    Hochschulsport BasketballHochschulsport bewegt kluge Köpfe

    Der studentische Alltag kann anstrengend und fordernd sein. Bestes Mittel gegen Stress sind die Kurse des Hochschulsports. Der Hochschulsport bietet ein facettenreiches, kostengünstiges, bedarfsorientiertes und qualitativ hochwertiges Bewegungsangebot in ca. 120 Sportarten, Sporttouren, Fortbildungen, Turnieren und internationalen Sportbegegnungen.
    Zum Hochschulsport

    MensaEssen in der Mensa

    Es heißt zwar "Ein voller Bauch studiert nicht gern", aber hungrig lässt es sich eben auch nicht gut Lernen. In den Mensen und Bistros des Studentenwerks werden täglich verschiedene Menüs angeboten.
    Speisepläne in den Mensen und Bistros

    Semesterticket

    Das Semesterticket bedeutet unbegrenzte Freifahrten für Studierende der WWU, allerdings nur im nordrhein-westfälischen Nahverkehr und auf ausgewählten Strecken.
    Mehr Informationen zum Semesterticket beim AStA

  • Termine

    Einführungsveranstaltungen

    Die verschiedenen Fachbereiche bieten Einführungsveranstaltungen und Orientierungswochen für Erstsemester an. Dabei lernt man nicht nur die Stadt, sondern auch seine Kommilitonen besser kennen. Eine Übersicht über die Termine liefert die Zentrale Studienberatung der WWU.
    Übersicht Einführungsveranstaltungen

    Vorkurse für Erstsemester

    Die Fachbereiche Mathematik und Informatik, Physik, Chemie und Pharmazie führen Vorkurse durch, die dazu dienen sollen, den unterschiedlichen Kenntnisstand der Studienanfänger/innen auszugleichen. Ziel der Vorkurse ist es, den Übergang von der Schule zur Hochschule zu erleichtern.
    Die Vorkurse finden in der Regel im September zum jeweiligen Wintersemester statt.
    Übersicht Vorkurse für Erstsemester

    Semester- und Ferientermine

    Wann startet ein Semester, wann endet es? Für die eigene Planung ist das mitunter wichtig zu wissen.
    Übersicht Semester- und Ferientermine

    Online-Terminkalender

    Im Online-Terminkalender finden sich alle Termine an und von der Universität Münster: Vorträge, Tagungen und Kongresse, Musikveranstaltungen, Theaterstücke, Sportevents.
    Zum Kalender

    Termine des Hochschulsports

    Beim Hochschulsport ist immer viel los. Wichtige Veranstaltungen oder Anmeldefristen für die Sportkurse finden sich auf der Terminseite des Hochschulsports.
    Zum Terminkalender des Hochschulsports

  • Wissen, was läuft

    An einer Universität passieren viele spannende Dinge: Es gibt interessante Vorträge, Forschungsergebnisse werden vorgestellt und neue Studiengänge eröffnet, es werden neue Austauschmöglichkeiten und Kurse angeboten. Wer darüber informiert sein möchte, kann verschiedene Newskanäle abonnieren:

    Die WWU bei Instagram

    Die WWU bei Facebook

    Twitterkanal der WWU

    YouTube-Kanal der WWU

    News der WWU Münster im Überblick

    Online-Terminkalender

    Zusätzlich lohnt es sich die Fachbereichsseiten und Social Media Kanäle des jeweiligen Studiengangs im Blick zu haben. In MyWWU kann zudem unter "Neuigkeiten" eine personalisierte News-Feed-Übersicht erstellt werden.

  • Vergabe der Ersti-Taschen

    In der zweiten Hälfte des Sommersemesters 2021 werden die Erstis des Sommersemesters und des Wintersemesters 2020/21 ihre Ersti-Tasche bekommen. Sie werden vorher per E-Mail darüber informiert.

  • Zur Sache WWU

    Die Universität Münster trägt offiziell den Namen Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster, kurz WWU. Benannt ist sie nach Wilhelm II., in dessen Regierungszeit die Königliche Akademie wieder zur Universität erhoben wurde. Person und Regierungshandeln des letzten deutschen Kaisers sind allerdings umstritten. Daher will die Universität ihre Beziehung zu ihrem Namensgeber zur Diskussion stellen. Unter dem Titel „Zur Sache WWU“ gibt es eine Webpräsenz zu dieser Thematik.