Visiting and guest students

Visiting students

Students from other universities may apply for "visiting students" (Zweithörende) status in non-restricted degree programmes. It is not possible to enroll as  "visiting students" (Zweithörende) in a restricted-admission degree programme. Upon approval, they receive permission to attend courses and, in some cases, take degree-relevant examinations. Visiting students are not officially enrolled, but are considered affiliates of the University for the duration of their approved visit without being formally recognised as official "members". There are two status categories of visiting students: "full-time" and "part-time" visiting students.

  • Full-time visiting students

    Full-time visiting students remain enrolled at their first university in a different degree programme. This status entitles you to pursue a second degree at the University of Münster. Your first university cannot be located more than 100 km away from Münster and you may not be on a leave of absence from your first university.

  • Part-time visiting students

    Part-time visiting students are not fully entitled to take examinations and are enrolled in the same degree programme at their first university. You must provide evidence each semester that the course you want to attend is not being offered at your first university during that semester. You are only allowed to attend this one course and complete coursework and examinations in this course. The recognition of your academic achievement is determined by the examinations office where you intend to take your final examination. Part-time visiting students are not allowed to be on a leave of absence from their first university. They are granted visiting student status for a maximum of two semesters for which they are obliged to pay a visiting student fee of 100 euros per semester.

  • Enrolment / application procedures

    Visiting students who wish to participate in non-restricted degree programmes must enrol via the online enrolment portal. To enrol in a non-restricted master's degree programme, you must complete an online application!

    Deadlines and dates

    On the first page of the enrolment application, please write by hand (preferably in red pen) which status level you are applying for, i.e. "Full-time visiting student" or "Part-time visiting student".

  • Required documents

    In addition to the documents listed in the application, you must also submit a semester certificate from your first university indicating your desired degree, all your subjects and your total number of semesters (incl. semesters on leave). Proof of health insurance coverage is not required.

    Full-time visiting students must submit a hand-signed statement explaining how they intend to pursue two degree programmes at two universities at the same time. A statement by the Dean of Studies confirming the student's eligibility to enrol as a visiting student is also required.

    Part-time visiting students are required to provide a hand-signed statement indicating which course exactly they would like to attend at the University of Münster. The respective lecturer must submit a statement agreeing to the student's participation in his/her course. Furthermore, the student must provide evidence (e.g. in the form of a current course catalogue or confirmation from the respective faculty of his/her first university) that the desired course or seminar is not being offered at the first university. 

     

  • Re-registration

     

    Full-time visiting students receive an e-mail to their university e-mail account approx. 3 weeks before the end of lectures (of the respective semester) that a new certificate of study from their first university must be submitted in order to continue their studies.

     

    Part-time visiting students receive an e-mail to their university e-mail account approx. 3 weeks before the end of lectures (of the respective semester) that the fee for visiting students must be paid in order to continue their studies. In addition, a new semester certificate and a new proof that the desired course is not offered at their first university must be submitted.

     

Guest students

If you would like to attend individual courses offered in a non-restricted study program. Guest students are not allowed to take exams; proof of university entrance qualification is not required. All possible subjects are offered only in german language.

Registration deadlines for guest students are from mid-February to the last working day before the start of lectures for a summer semester, and from mid-August to the last working day before the start of lectures for a winter semester. Those who wish to apply must enrol via the online enrolment portal. All you have to do is pay the so-called "guest student fee" which amounts to 125 euros.

Zweit- und Gasthörende

Zweithörende

Studierende anderer Hochschulen können auf Antrag als Zweithörende in zulassungsfreien Studiengängen zugelassen werden. Eine Zulassung in einem zulassungsbeschränkten Studiengang ist nicht möglich. Sie erhalten damit die Berechtigung zum Besuch von Lehrveranstaltungen und ggf. zur Ablegung studienbegleitender Prüfungen. Zweithörende werden nicht eingeschrieben; sie werden durch die Zulassung und für die Dauer der Zulassung Angehörige der Universität, ohne Mitglieder zu sein. Zweithörende werden unterschieden in „Große Zweithörende“ und „Kleine Zweithörende":

  • Große Zweithörende

    Große Zweithörende sind fortlaufend an ihrer Ersthochschule für einen anderen Studiengang/ andere Studienfächer eingeschrieben. Damit sind sie voll prüfungsberechtigt und können an der WWU Münster einen Studienabschluss erwerben. Die Ersthochschule darf höchstens 100 km von Münster entfernt sein und sie dürfen an der Ersthochschule nicht beurlaubt sein.

  • Kleine Zweithörende

    Kleine Zweithörende sind nicht voll prüfungsberechtigt und sind im gleichen Studiengang/ gleichen Studienfach eingetragen. Hierfür müssen sie jedes Semester nachweisen, dass die entsprechende Lehrveranstaltung an der Ersthochschule in dem Semester nicht angeboten wird. Sie sind lediglich zum Besuch dieser einen Lehrveranstaltung berechtigt und dürfen auch nur in dieser Veranstaltung Prüfungsleistungen erbringen. Über die Anrechnung der erbrachten Leistungen entscheidet das Prüfungsamt, an dem sie später den Studienabschluss erlangen wollen. Kleine Zweithörende dürfen an der Ersthochschule nicht beurlaubt sein. Sie werden für die Dauer von maximal 2 Semestern zugelassen und zahlen pro Semester eine Gebühr für Zweithörende in Höhe von 100 Euro.

  • Anmeldung / Bewerbung

    Die Anmeldung erfolgt für zulassungsfreie Studiengänge/Studienfächer ausschließlich über die Online-Immatrikulation.
    Für zulassungsfreie Master-Studiengänge ist eine Online-Bewerbung erforderlich!

    Fristen und Termine

    Auf der Vorderseite des Antrags auf Einschreibung muss handschriftlich, möglichst mit Rotstift, „Große Zweithörendenschaft / Kleine Zweithörendenschaft“ vermerkt werden!

  • Einzureichende Unterlagen

    Zusätzlich zu den im Antrag aufgeführten Unterlagen muss eine Semesterbescheinigung der Ersthochschule zugesandt werden, auf der angestrebter Abschluss, alle Studienfächer sowie Gesamthochschul- und ggf. Urlaubssemester mit angegeben sind. Ein Nachweis über den Krankenversicherungsschutz ist nicht erforderlich.

    Große Zweithörende fügen eine eigenhändig unterschriebene Erklärung bei, wie sie das Studium an zwei Hochschulen gleichzeitig miteinander vereinbaren können. Zudem müssen große Zweithörende eine Zustimmung des jeweiligen Dekanats beilegen.

    Kleine Zweithörende fügen eine eigenhändig unterschriebene Erklärung bei, welche Lehrveranstaltung genau an der WWU besucht werden soll. Von der jeweils lehrenden Person muss eine Bescheinigung vorgelegt werden, für welche Veranstaltung die Zustimmung zu einer Teilnahme gegeben wird. Dazu ist der Nachweis zu erbringen, dass der ausgewählte Kurs oder das ausgewählte Seminar an der Ersthochschule nicht angeboten wird (z. B. aktuelles Vorlesungsverzeichnis oder Bestätigung durch den entsprechenden Fachbereich der Ersthochschule).

  • Rückmeldung

    Große Zweithörende erhalten ca. 3 Wochen vor Vorlesungsende (des jeweiligen Semesters) eine E-Mail an Ihren Uni-Mail-Account, dass für die Fortsetzung des Studiums eine neue Studienbescheinigung der Ersthochschule einzureichen ist.

    Kleine Zweithörende erhalten ca. 3 Wochen vor Vorlesungsende (des jeweiligen Semesters) eine E-Mail an Ihren Uni-Mail-Account, dass für die Fortsetzung des Studiums die Gebühr für Zweithörende zu entrichten ist. Zudem müssen eine neue Semesterbescheinigung sowie ein neuer Nachweis eingereicht werden, dass die gewünschte Lehrveranstaltung an der Ersthochschule nicht angeboten wird.

Gasthörende

Gasthörende können einzelne Lehrveranstaltungen in nicht zulassungsbeschränkten Studiengängen besuchen, ohne deshalb gleich ein ordentliches Studium aufnehmen zu müssen. Im Rahmen der vorhandenen Möglichkeiten können Gasthörende auf Antrag eingetragen werden. Gasthörende sind nicht berechtigt Prüfungen abzulegen.

  • Ein Nachweis der Hochschulreife ist in diesem Fall nicht erforderlich. Sie müssen lediglich eine Gebühr für Gasthörende zahlen. Diese Gebühr beträgt derzeit 125 Euro pro Semester.

    Bewerbungsfristen sind jeweils für ein Sommersemester von Mitte Februar bis zum letzten Werktag vor Vorlesungsbeginn, für ein Wintersemester von Mitte August bis zum letzten Werktag vor  Vorlesungsbeginn.

    Eine Liste der Studienfächer finden Sie im  Studienführer.

    Senden Sie Ihren Antrag per E-Mail (studierendensekretariat@uni-muenster.de).

    Zum Antragsformular

    Liste der Studienfächer