Master's degree programmes (non-teaching)

You have to apply for all restricted and non-restricted master's degree programmes (Master of Arts, Master of Science and Master of Laws) in the first or higher semester. In this context, "non-restricted" means that there is no fixed number of study places. However, even in non-restricted master degree programmes, a special selection committee in each master's degree programme reviews the applications to ensure that candidates possess the necessary subject-specific aptitude for admission. Before applying, please read up on our current master's degree programmes and application deadlines.

View our current degree programmes

Application deadlines

First semester application

  • All applicant groups

    Your application requires the following steps:

    1. You have to apply online for all restricted and non-restricted master's degree programmes via our online application during the application period. You may apply for up to three master's degree programmes in one online application.
    2. After submitting your online application, you will receive an email with an attached check sheet (PDF file). In the email, you will be informed about your application number and all the steps that are now necessary for a complete application on time.
    3. You log in the info portal of your application.
    4. You have to upload all required documents for your respective applications within the application deadline. The respective deadline is indicated on your check sheet.
    5. Your application is complete as soon as you have uploaded all of the required degree-programme specific documents. Now you can no longer access or exchange your uploaded documents. If you need to exchange an uploaded document, you have to contact the Student Admissions Office.

    You will be asked to upload the following documents:

    • University entrance qualification (final degree certificate of secondary, senior, high or middle school)
    • Transcript of Records including your GPA (grade point average)
    • Certificate of sufficient language proficiency (German and/or English depending on the degree programme)

    Please note that additional documents must also be uploaded, such as:

    • Curriculum vitae (CV)
    • (Preliminary) Bachelor's degree certificate with the minimum grade/Transcript of Records for at least five semesters
    • Certificate of additional language proficiency (e.g. English, French etc.)
    • Letter of motivation
    • Additional qualifications (work placements, internships etc.)

    Whether and which additional documents still have to be uploaded can be found in the admission requirements of the respective master's degree programme (see our study guide) as well as in the programme-specific upload fields in the info portal of your application.

    If your certificates are issued in a language other than German or English, please upload the document in original language together with an official translation of this in German or English in one PDF file up to 2 MB.

    If you apply online more than once, only the last online application received with the highest application number is valid.

    As part of your online application, you confirmed that you regulary check your application status in the info portal of your application. We recommend that you log in the info portal of your application at least once a week.

Higher semester application

  • All applicant groups

    Your application requires the following steps:

    1. ATTENTION: First you have to contact the degree course advisor of the corresponding master's degree programme for which you would like to apply and request a placement certificate.
    2. You have to apply for all restricted and non-restricted master's degree programmes via our online application during the application period.
    3. After submitting your online application, you will receive an email with an attached check sheet (PDF file). In the email, you will be informed about your application number and all the steps that are now necessary for a complete application on time.
    4. You log in the info portal of your application.
    5. You have to upload all required documents for your respective applications within the application deadline. The respective deadline is indicated on your check sheet.
    6. Your application is complete as soon as you have uploaded all of the required degree-programme specific documents. Now you can no longer access or exchange your uploaded documents. If you need to exchange an uploaded document, you have to contact the Student Admissions Office.

    You will be asked to upload the following documents:

    • University entrance qualification (final degree certificate of secondary, senior, high or middle school)
    • Transcript of Records including your GPA (grade point average)
    • Certificate of sufficient language proficiency (German and/or English depending on the degree programme)
    • Placement certificate from the respective degree course advisor

    Please note that additional documents must also be uploaded, such as:

    • Curriculum vitae (CV)
    • (Preliminary) Bachelor's degree certificate with the minimum grade
    • Certificate of additional language proficiency (e.g. English, French etc.)
    • Letter of motivation
    • Additional qualifications (work placements, internships etc.)

    Whether and which additional documents still have to be uploaded can be found in the admission requirements of the respective master's degree programme (see our study guide) as well as in the programme-specific upload fields in the info portal of your application.

    If your certificates are issued in a language other than German or English, please upload the document in original language together with an official translation of this in German or English in one PDF file up to 2 MB.

    If you apply online more than once, only the last online application received with the highest application number is valid.

    As part of your online application, you confirmed that you regulary check your application status in the info portal of your application. We recommend that you log in the info portal of your application at least once a week.

Fachwissenschaftlicher Master

Für alle zulassungsbeschränkten und -freien fachwissenschaftlichen Masterstudiengänge (Master of Arts, Master of Science und Master of Laws) im ersten und höheren Fachsemester müssen Sie sich bewerben. "Zulassungsfrei" bedeutet in diesem Zusammenhang lediglich, dass keine feste Anzahl an Studienplätzen festgesetzt wurde. Auch bei zulassungsfreien Studiengängen entscheidet eine vom Fach eingesetzte Auswahlkommission über Ihre fachliche Eignung für den Masterstudiengang. Informieren Sie sich bitte vor Ihrer Bewerbung über die angebotenen Studiengänge und Fristen.

Zur Übersicht über das Studienangebot

Zu den Fristen

1. Fachsemester

  • Alle Bewerbungsgruppen

    Ihre Bewerbung besteht aus folgenden Schritten:

    1. Sie bewerben sich für alle zulassungsbeschränkten und -freien Masterstudiengänge für das 1. Fachsemester fristgerecht online über unser Bewerbungsportal. Sie können sich für maximal 3 Masterstudiengänge innerhalb einer Online-Bewerbung bewerben.
    2. Sie bekommen nach erfolgter Online-Bewerbung eine Bestätigungsmail über Ihre an der WWU eingegangene Online-Bewerbung mit angehängtem Kontrollblatt (PDF-Datei). In der E-Mail werden Sie über alle nun noch ausstehenden notwendigen Schritte für eine vollständig fristgerechte Bewerbung informiert.
    3. Sie loggen sich in Ihr Infoportal ein.
    4. Sie laden nun alle erforderlichen Unterlagen für Ihre jeweiligen Bewerbungsanträge innerhalb der Bewerbungsfrist im Uploadbereich Ihres Infoportals hoch. Das jeweilige Bewerbungsfristende entnehmen Sie bitte Ihrem Kontrollblatt.
    5. Ihr Bewerbungsantrag ist erst dann vollständig, wenn Sie alle studiengangsspezifischen Pflichtuploads vorgenommen und bei optionalen Uploads das entsprechende Dokument hochgeladen oder aktiv auf den Upload verzichtet haben. Daraufhin können Sie nicht mehr auf Ihre hochgeladenen Dateien zugreifen bzw. diese austauschen. Der Austausch von Dateien kann nur durch das Studierendensekretariat erfolgen.

    Folgende Unterlagen müssen Sie hochladen:

    • Hochschulzugangsberechtigung (Schulabschlusszeugnis)
    • Transcript of Records inkl. Durchschnittsnote
    • Nachweis über ausreichende Sprachkenntnisse (je nach Studiengang Deutsch- oder Englischkenntnisse)

    Beachten Sie bitte, dass darüber hinaus meist noch zusätzliche Dokumente hochgeladen werden müssen, wie zum Beispiel:

    • Tabellarischer Lebenslauf
    • (ggf. vorläufiges) Bachelorzeugnis mit einer Mindestnote/Transcript of Records über mindestens fünf Semester
    • Nachweis zusätzlicher Sprachkenntnisse (z. B. Englisch, Französisch etc.)
    • Motivationsschreiben
    • Zusatzqualifikationen (Praktika etc.)
    • Ob und welche zusätzlichen Dokumente noch hochgeladen werden müssen, können Sie der jeweiligen Zugangs- und Zulassungsordnung des Studiengangs (siehe Studienführer) wie auch den studiengangsspezifischen Uploadfeldern in Ihrem Infoportal entnehmen.

    Wenn Ihre Unterlagen im Original nicht in deutscher oder englischer Sprache vorliegen, müssen Sie die Übersetzung in die deutsche oder englische Sprache zusammen mit dem originalsprachigen Dokument in einer Datei hochladen.

    Im Rahmen Ihrer Onlinebewerbung haben Sie bestätigt, dass Sie Ihren Bewerbungsstatus regelmäßig in Ihrem Infoportal überprüfen. Wir empfehlen Ihnen sich mindestens einmal wöchentlich in Ihr Infoportal einzuloggen.

Höheres Fachsemester

  • Alle Bewerbungsgruppen

    Ihre Bewerbung für fachwissenschaftliche Masterstudiengänge in höheren Fachsemestern besteht aus folgenden Schritten:

    1. WICHTIG VORAB: Sie nehmen mit der Studienfachberatung des entsprechenden Masterstudiengangs, für den Sie sich bewerben möchten, Kontakt auf und beantragen die notwendige Einstufungsbescheinigung rechtzeitig vor dem Start der Bewerbungsphase.
    2. Sie bewerben sich für zulassungsbeschränkte und -freie Masterstudiengänge in höheren Fachsemestern online über unser Bewerbungsportal.
    3. Sie bekommen nach erfolgter Online-Bewerbung eine Bestätigungsmail über Ihre an der WWU eingegangene Bewerbung mit angehängtem Kontrollblatt. In der E-Mail werden Sie über alle nun noch ausstehenden notwendigen Schritte für eine vollständig fristgerechte Bewerbung informiert.
    4. Sie loggen sich in Ihr Infoportal ein.
    5. Sie laden nun alle erforderlichen Unterlagen für Ihre jeweiligen Bewerbungsanträge innerhalb der Bewerbungsfrist hoch. Das jeweilige Fristende entnehmen Sie bitte Ihrem Kontrollblatt.
    6. Ihr Bewerbungsantrag ist erst dann vollständig, wenn Sie alle studiengangsspezifischen Pflichtuploads vorgenommen und bei optionalen Uploads das entsprechende Dokument hochgeladen oder aktiv auf den Upload verzichtet haben. Daraufhin können Sie nicht mehr auf Ihre hochgeladenen Dateien zugreifen bzw. diese austauschen. Der Austausch von Dateien kann nur durch das Studierendensekretariat erfolgen.

    Folgende Unterlagen müssen Sie einreichen:

    • Hochschulzugangsberechtigung (Schulabschlusszeugnis)
    • Transcript of Records inkl. Durchschnittsnote
    • Nachweis über ausreichende Sprachkenntnisse (je nach Studiengang Deutsch- oder Englischkenntnisse)
    • Einstufungsbescheinigung der jeweiligen Studienfachberatung

    Beachten Sie bitte, dass darüber hinaus meist noch zusätzliche Dokumente eingereicht werden müssen, wie zum Beispiel:

    • Tabellarischer Lebenslauf
    • Bachelorzeugnis mit einer Mindestnote
    • Nachweis zusätzlicher Sprachkenntnisse (z. B. Englisch, Französisch etc.)
    • Motivationsschreiben
    • Zusatzqualifikationen (Praktika etc.)
    • Ob und welche zusätzlichen Dokumente noch hochgeladen werden müssen, können Sie der jeweiligen Zugangs- und Zulassungsordnung des Studiengangs (siehe Studienführer) wie auch den studiengangsspezifischen Uploadfeldern in Ihrem Infoportal entnehmen.

    Wenn Ihre Nachweise im Original nicht in deutscher oder englischer Sprache vorliegen, müssen Sie die Übersetzung in die deutsche oder englische Sprache zusammen mit dem originalsprachigen Dokument in einer PDF-Datei hochladen.

    Im Rahmen Ihrer Onlinebewerbung haben Sie sich dazu verpflichtet Ihren Bewerbungsstatus regelmäßig in Ihrem Infoportal zu überprüfen. Wir empfehlen Ihnen sich mindestens einmal wöchentlich in Ihr Infoportal einzuloggen.