Germans, EU/EEA applicants and candidates with equivalent admission status

The application process for bachelor's programmes and the state examination in Law is conducted in entirely digital form. There are three steps to applying for 1st semester enrolment: 

  • 1. Registration with hochschulstart.de

    The WWU Münster participates in the Dialogue-Oriented Service Procedure (DoSV) via hochschulstart.de [de], therefore a registration is mandatory. This procedure compiles and compares the ranking lists of all participating universities in order to facilitate faster and more reliable allocation of study places.

  • 2. Online application

    You apply via our application portal. After truthfully answering the preliminary questions, you are assigned to an applicant category. On the second page of the online application, you will find more details about the information we need from you. Most importantly, this includes:

    • your applicant-ID (BID) und applicant authentification number (BAN) von hochschulstart.de
    • date and average grade of your higher education entrance qualification
    • data regarding military or alternative service
    • number of semesters you have already studied (if you have previously enrolled at a German university)

    You may apply for a maximum of 12 degree programmes or combinations in multi-subject degree programmes. Download the information here to view the application checklist.

  • 3. Login Infoportal - Check your application status

    Some applicant groups are required to upload documents as part of their application or special application process. If you belong to one of these applicant groups, you will see the button “Upload documents” in the Infoportal. These documents must be uploaded by the application deadline. If the button “Upload documents” does not appear, it means that no further documents are required to process your application. As a rule, additional documents are required if:

    • yours is a special case and you have submitted a special application (second degree programme, under 18, hardship cases etc.)
    • you do not hold a German Abitur (higher education entrance qualification)

    If you are required to upload additional documents, your application will only be reviewed after you have uploaded all the necessary documents. You will then receive notification via the Infoportal on the status of your application. If you are granted admission by the University of Münster via its study place allocation procedure, you will have to resubmit authenticated copies [de] of all your uploaded documents.

Please check the current status of your application on a regular basis, either by logging onto hochschulstart.de [de] or our Info Portal.

For more information about application modalities for admission to our teaching degree programmes and subject combinations, please see our Teaching Degree programme web pages.

Candidates seeking first-semester admission to the nationally restricted-admission subjects of Medicine, Pharmacy and Dentistry must apply via hochschulstart.de [de]. This only applies to candidates with a German "Abitur" or EEA-university entrance qualification and EEA-nationality.

Deutsche, EU-/EWR-Bewerbende und ihnen Gleichgestellte

Für die Bachelor-Studiengänge und das Staatsexamen Rechtswissenschaft erfolgt die Bewerbung vollständig digital. Für das 1. Fachsemester besteht die Bewerbung aus drei Schritten:

  • 1. Registrierung bei hochschulstart.de

    Die WWU Münster nimmt am Dialogorientierten Serviceverfahren (DoSV) von hochschulstart.de teil, so dass dort eine Registrierung erforderlich ist. Dass die Studienplätze im Rahmen des DoSV vergeben werden, bedeutet, dass die Ranglisten aller teilnehmenden Hochschulen zusammengeführt und miteinander abgeglichen werden mit dem Ziel, die Studienplätze zügiger und zuverlässiger zu besetzen.

  • 2. Online-Bewerbung

    Sie bewerben sich über unser Bewerbungsportal. Durch die wahrheitsgemäße Beantwortung der Einstiegsfragen werden Sie einer Bewerbungskategorie zugeordnet. Auf der zweiten Seite der Online-Bewerbung erhalten Sie Informationen über die von Ihnen benötigten Angaben. Dies sind in der Regel:

    • Bewerber-ID (BID) und Bewerber-Authentifizierungsnummer (BAN) von hochschulstart.de
    • Datum und Durchschnittsnote der Hochschulzugangsberechtigung
    • Daten über einen eventuell abgeleisteten Dienst
    • Anzahl Ihrer bereits studierten Semester (falls Sie schon mal an einer deutschen Hochschule eingeschrieben waren)

    Sie können sich maximal für 12 Studiengänge bzw. Kombinationen in Mehr-Fach-Studiengängen bewerben. Die Checkliste zum Bewerbungsverfahren finden Sie im Flyer zum DoSV.

  • 3. Login Infoportal - Stand der Bewerbung prüfen

    Manche Bewerbungsgruppen müssen für Ihre Bewerbung oder Ihren Sonderantrag Dokumente hochladen. Sie gehören nur zu diesen Bewerbungsgruppen, wenn Ihnen im Infoportal der Button "Dokumente hochladen" angezeigt wird. Die Dokumente sind dann innerhalb der Bewerbungsfrist hochzuladen. Sollte Ihnen der Button "Dokumente hochladen" nicht angezeigt werden, sind keine Dokumente zur Bewerbung erforderlich. Dokumente sind in der Regel nur hochzuladen, wenn

    • bei Ihnen ein besonderer Fall zutrifft und Sie einen Sonderantrag gestellt haben (Zweitstudium, U18, Härtefall, etc.)
    • Sie kein deutsches Abitur (allgemeine Hochschulreife) haben

    Sollten Sie Dokumente hochladen müssen, wird Ihre Bewerbung nach vollständigem Upload geprüft und Sie erhalten über das Infoportal weitere Informationen zum Stand Ihrer Bewerbung. Sollten Sie im Vergabeverfahren von der WWU Münster eine Zulassung erhalten, sind die hochgeladenen Dokumente dann zur Einschreibung nochmal als amtlich beglaubigte Kopien einzureichen.

Den aktuellen Stand Ihrer Bewerbung prüfen Sie bitte regelmäßig sowohl bei hochschulstart.de als auch in unserem Infoportal.

Hinweise zur Bewerbung für Lehramtsstudiengänge sowie Informationen zu möglichen Fächerkombinationen finden Sie auf unseren Internetseiten zum Lehramtsstudium.

Für die bundesweit zulassungsbeschränkten Studiengänge Humanmedizin, Pharmazie und Zahnmedizin im 1. Fachsemester erfolgt die Bewerbung über hochschulstart.de. Dies gilt jedoch nur für Bewerbende mit deutschem Abitur oder EU-/EWR-Hochschulzugangsberechtigung und EU-/EWR-Staatsangehörigkeit.