Profile

The University of Münster is one of the largest universities in Germany with a rich and time-honoured tradition. It enjoys an outstanding reputation in the region and far beyond. Fifteen faculties with 120 degree programmes and 27 research centres comprise the institutional backbone of the University. Some 44,000 students and 5,700 academics appreciate the University's excellent research opportunities, high-quality teaching, promotion of junior researchers, and the advantages of living in the city of Münster. Our slogan sums it up best: "living.knowledge".

Architectural detail on Schloss facade
© WWU - Peter Wattendorff

Cutting-edge research

As a research-oriented university, the WWU has made pioneering progress in numerous areas. Two Excellence Clusters, eight collaborative research centres (SFB), several research training groups and 27 research centres collectively advance inter- and transdisciplinary collaborative research and individual disciplinary research projects.

Chemistry promotion of young researchers
© WWU-Angelika Klauser

Promotion of junior researchers

The University of Münster actively supports its junior researchers as part of its academic personnel development strategy. Career counselling and funding opportunities, structured doctoral programmes and qualification measures provide candidates with a more transparent and plannable career path into academia.

University lecture
© WWU - Judith Kraft

Studying and teaching

The University of Münster is well-known for its large and distinguished faculties, such as Law and Medicine, but also for its so-called exotic subjects like Scandinavian Studies. The diverse and research-oriented course offerings attract several thousand students to Münster each year.

Intenational students
© WWU - Peter Leßmann

Equal opportunity and diversity

The University of Münster sees equal opportunity and diversity as a strength that impacts all areas of university development and management. The University of Münster is strongly committed to ensuring that all staff members and students are treated equally with respect and consideration regardless of age, gender, ethnicity, handicap, sexual orientation or religious affiliation.

International students
© Rawpixel.com - Fotolia.com

Internationalisation

The University of Münster has concluded more than 550 partnership agreements with universities and academic institutes worldwide – from nearby Enschede in the Netherlands to Beijing, China. Some 3,600 foreign students and 700 distinguished visiting researchers currently study and research at the University of Münster.

Profil

Die WWU zählt zu den größten und traditionsreichen Universitäten Deutschlands. Sie genießt in der Region und weit darüber hinaus eine hohe Reputation. 15 Fachbereiche mit 120 Studienfächern und 27 wissenschaftlichen Zentren bilden an der WWU das institutionelle Gerüst. Rund 44.000 Studierende und 5.700 Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler schätzen die exzellente Forschung, die hochwertige Lehre und die engagierte Nachwuchsförderung ebenso wie die Vorzüge der lebenswerten Stadt Münster. Der WWU-Slogan bringt es auf den Punkt: „wissen.leben“.

Schloss-front
© WWU - Peter Wattendorff

Spitzenforschung

Als Forschungsuniversität leistet die WWU in vielen Bereichen Pionierarbeit. Zwei Exzellenzcluster, acht Sonderforschungsbereiche, mehrere Graduiertenkollegs sowie 27 wissenschaftliche Zentren ermöglichen inter- und transdisziplinäre Verbundforschung sowie ausgezeichnete disziplinäre Einzelforschung.

Chemie-Nachwuchsförderung
© WWU-Angelika Klauser

Nachwuchsförderung

Im Rahmen ihrer akademischen Personalentwicklung fördert die WWU ihren wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs: Individuelle Beratungs- und Fördermöglichkeiten, strukturierte Promotionsprogramme sowie Qualifizierungsmaßnahmen machen Karrierewege in der akademischen Welt planbarer und transparenter.

Vorlesung
© WWU - Judith Kraft

Studium und Lehre

Die WWU ist für ihre großen und renommierten Fachbereiche wie Jura oder Medizin als auch für ihre sogenannten Orchideen-Fächer, zum Beispiel Skandinavistik, bekannt. Das vielfältige und forschungsorientierte Lehrangebot lockt jährlich mehrere tausend Studierende nach Münster.

Internationale Studierende
© WWU - Peter Leßmann

Gleichstellung und Diversität

Die WWU versteht Gleichstellung und Diversität als eine Stärke, die alle Bereiche der Hochschulentwicklung und -steuerung betrifft. Eine anerkennende, wertschätzende und chancengerechte Haltung gegenüber allen Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter sowie Studierenden, unabhängig von Alter, Geschlecht, Ethnizität, Behinderung, sexueller Orientierung und Religion, ist an der WWU von zentraler Bedeutung.

Internationale Studierende
© Rawpixel.com - Fotolia.com

Internationalisierung

Die WWU hat mehr als 550 Partnerschaftsabkommen mit Hochschulen und wissenschaftlichen Einrichtungen weltweit: Vom benachbarten Enschede in den Niederlanden bis nach Beijing in China. Rund 3.600 ausländische Studierende und 700 renommierte Gastwissenschaftlerinnen und Gastwissenschaftler lernen und forschen an der WWU.