Compliance at the University of Münster

© WWU Compliance Office

Conduct that is lawful and guided by our shared values is part of the culture of the University of Münster.

A large number of external rules with legal binding force apply to activities in research, teaching, transfer and university support areas. This external framework is supplemented by various internal guidelines of the University. In addition, the University of Münster is committed to further improving its activities and aligning them with values such as diversity, equal opportunity and sustainability.

This framework of norms and values is not only intended to counter misconduct by individuals, but also to support the positive development and reputation of the university and the fulfilment of its social responsibility. By complying with the rules and committing to the shared values, all members and affiliated persons of the University contribute to both the reputation of the University and to a positive work and study atmosphere.

Adherence to statutory rules is a given. But at the University of Münster compliance is more than that, and also includes taking internal self-obligations and values into account.
Prof. Dr. Johannes Wessels, Rector of the University o Münster

In a nutshell

  • Compliance inlcudes external regulations, internal rules and values.
    © WWU Compliance Office

    What does compliance mean?

    Compliance refers to the adherence to rules and standards. At the University of Münster, we understand it as adherence to

    (1) external regulations (such as laws and ordinances) and,

    (2) internal rules and agreements (such as the University Constitution, the University Development Plan, the structural and development plans of the faculties or agreements on interactions in a work and study environment), as well as encouraging all members to act in accordance with

    (3) agreed ethical norms and values (such as the Code of Good Scientific Practice or the Diversity and Sustainability Mission Statements) to which the University has committed itself.

    Compliance management is the organisational and procedural support for adherence to and communication of these rules.

  • © WWU Designservice

    What does the WWU Compliance Office do?

    Since May 2021, the WWU Compliance Office (CO) has been the central coordination point for compliance management as a support department of the Rectorate.

    This service facility is a point of contact in regulatory matter for everyone at the and is run by its managing director. The CO develops, orientation aids, communication and training offers (see link list) that seek to foster compliance and strengthen the compliance culture of the WWU. They are also intended to reduce conflicts of interest and information deficits and strengthen the self-responsibility of members of the University and all other persons affiliated with it, increase their certainty of action and help them avoid unintentional mistakes.

    The voluntary commitment of the staff of the University of Münster to compliance is taken seriously and all breaches of rules that become known are investigated, and in a in transparent manner. Any information about apparent misconduct or complaints from employees (in accordance with §13 AGG) the Compliance Office receives will be treated in confidence.

    Under the oversight of the WWU Compliance Officer, Prof Dr Theresia Theurl, the WWU Compliance Office coordinates the development and expansion of the existing compliance structures and elements into an integrated compliance management system and advises the Rectorate on the further development of compliance structures and processes.

  • © WWU Designservice

    WWU Compliance Organisation - the pillar model

    The Compliance Office forms an umbrella structure for the coordination of numerous compliance activities at the WWU. Following the compliance concept, these include raising awareness of compliance issues, promoting common values and ensuring compliance with the relevant rules. Currently, the umbrella is supported by these pillars:

    In addition, there are compliance tasks in almost all areas of work, which is why the Compliance Office continuously works closely with the Offices for Central Risk Management and Internal Audit, as well as on a case-by-case basis with many other central units and the University faulties.

Internal Reporting Office

  • Misconduct notices

    Compliance with the law and our own rules is part of the WWU culture to which we are committed. We would greatly appreciate it if you, too, take responsibility if you become aware of any breaches of the rules and report them to your superior or the relevant department. In the event of significant violations or if you fear personal disadvantage, you can alternatively contact the Compliance Office as the central internal reporting office. Reliable information can help us to counteract misconduct and breaches of rules at an early stage and to prevent harm to our university, our employees and our cooperation partners.

    In addition to employees, students and external partners can also pass their concerns or infrormation about compliance violations on to the Compliance Office, in person, by telephone, by post, by e-mail or via our digital whistleblower system. All information will be treated in the strictest confidence. Please also note the data protection declaration (momentarily in German only) Datenschutzerklärung.

    WWU Compliance Office
    Schlossplatz 2
    48149 Münster
    T: +49 251 - 83 21202
    compliance
  • Complaints office for employees (according to § 13 AGG)

    The Compliance Office is also the complaints office for employees in accordance with § 13 of the General Act on Equal Treatment (AGG), where you can report experienced or observed discrimination on the grounds of race, ethnic origin, gender, religion or world view, disability, age or sexual identity.

    Employees can find more information (momentarily in German only) on the intranet  here.

WWU Compliance

© WWU Compliance Office

Das rechtmäßige und an unseren gemeinsamen Werten orientierte Verhalten ist Teil der WWU Kultur.

Für die Aktivitäten in der Forschung, der Lehre, dem Transfer und in den universitären Unterstützungsbereichen gelten eine Vielzahl externer Regeln mit rechtlicher Verbindlichkeit. Dieser äußere Rahmen wird an der WWU durch verschiedene interne Richtlinien ergänzt. Darüber hinaus bekennt sich die WWU dazu, ihre Aktivitäten anhand von Werten wie Diversität, Chancengleichheit und Nachhaltigkeit auszurichten und weiter zu verbessern.

Dieser Normen- und Werterahmen soll nicht nur Fehlverhalten von einzelnen Personen entgegenwirken, sondern auch die positive Entwicklung und Reputation der Universität sowie die Wahrnehmung ihrer gesellschaftlichen Verantwortung unterstützen. Mit der Einhaltung der Regeln und der Selbstverpflichtung zu den geteilten Werten tragen alle Mitglieder und Angehörige zum Ansehen der WWU und einem guten Miteinander bei.

Compliance an der WWU ist mehr als die selbstverständliche Einhaltung gesetzlicher Regeln, sie beinhaltet auch die Berücksichtigung interner Selbstverpflichtungen und Werte.
Prof. Dr. Johannes Wessels, Rektor der WWU

In aller Kürze

  • Compliance umfasst externe Vorschriften, interne Regeln und Werte.
    © WWU Compliance Office

    Was bedeutet Compliance?

    Compliance bezeichnet die Einhaltung von Regeln und Normen. An der WWU verstehen wir darunter die Einhaltung von

    (1.) externen Vorschriften (wie Gesetzen und Verordnungen),

    (2.) internen Regeln und Vereinbarungen (wie bspw. die  Universitätsverfassung, der Hochschulentwicklungsplan, die Struktur- und Entwicklungspläne der Fachbereiche oder Vereinbarungen zum Umgang miteinander) und die Förderung des Handelns nach 

    (3.) vereinbarten ethischen Normen und Werten (wie dem Kodex für Gute wissenschaftliche Praxis oder den Mission Statements Diversität und Nachhaltigkeit), zu denen sich die WWU verpflichtet hat.

    Compliance Management ist die organisatorische und prozessuale Unterstützung zur Einhaltung und Kommunikation dieser Regeln.

  • © WWU Designservice

    Was macht das WWU Compliance Office?

    Seit Mai 2021 ist das WWU Compliance Office (CO) als Stabsstelle des Rektorats die zentrale Koordinationsstelle für das Compliance Management.

    Die Serviceeinrichtung ist für alle Menschen der WWU eine Anlaufstelle in Regelungsfragen und wird von der Geschäftsführung geleitet. Im CO werden Orientierungshilfen, Kommunikations- und Schulungsangebote (siehe Linkliste) entwickelt, die präventiv zu mehr Compliance und der Stärkung der Compliance Kultur der WWU beitragen. Damit sollen auch Interessenkonflikte und Informationsdefizite abgebaut und die Eigenverantwortung der Mitglieder und Angehörigen gestärkt, deren Handlungssicherheit erhöht und ungewollte Fehler vermieden werden.

    Die Selbstverpflichtung der WWU-Mitarbeitenden zur Compliance wird ernst genommen und alle bekanntgewordenen Regelverstöße werden konsequent in transparenten Verfahren geprüft. Das Compliance Office nimmt zudem Hinweise auf Fehlverhalten und Beschwerden von Beschäftigten (nach §13 AGG) vertraulich entgegen.

    Unter der fachlichen Aufsicht der Rektoratsbeauftragten für Compliance, Prof. Dr. Theresia Theurl, koordiniert das WWU Compliance Office den Auf- und Ausbau der vorhandenen Compliance Strukturen und Elemente zu einem ganzheitlichen Compliance Management System und berät das Rektorat in der Weiterentwicklung der Compliance Strukturen und Prozesse.

  • © WWU Designservice

    Die WWU Compliance Organisation - das Säulenmodell

    Das Compliance Office bildet das Dach zur Vernetzung zahlreicher Compliance-Aktivitäten an der WWU, die dem Compliance Konzept folgend auch die Sensibilisierung und Förderung der gemeinsamen Werte und Einhaltung der jeweils relevanten Regeln umfassen. Aktuell wird das Dach von diesen Säulen getragen:

    Darüber hinaus gibt es Compliance-Aufgaben in fast allen Arbeitsbereichen, weshalb das Compliance Office kontinuierlich eng mit dem zentralen Risikomanagement und der internen Revision sowie fallbezogen mit vielen weiteren zentralen Einheiten und den Fachbereichen der Universität zusammenarbeitet.

Interne Meldestelle

  • Hinweise auf Fehlverhalten

    Die Einhaltung von Recht und Gesetz sowie unseren eigenen Regeln gehört zur WWU Kultur, für die wir uns einsetzen. Übernehmen auch Sie Verantwortung, wenn sie Kenntnis von Regelverletzungen erhalten und melden Sie diese an Ihre*n Vorgesetzte*n oder die fachlich zuständigen Stellen. Bei wesentlichen Verstößen oder Sorge vor persönlichen Nachteilen können Sie sich alternativ an das Compliance Office als zentrale interne Meldestelle wenden. Ernsthafte Hinweise können uns helfen, Fehlverhalten und Regelverstößen frühzeitig entgegenzuwirken und Schäden für unsere Universität, unsere Mitarbeiter*innen und unsere Kooperationspartner*innen vorzubeugen.

    Neben Beschäftigten können auch Studierende und externe Partner*innen dem Compliance Office ihre Bedenken oder Hinweise zu Compliance Verstößen persönlich, telefonisch, postalisch, per E-Mail oder über unser digitales Hinweisgebersystem zukommen lassen. Alle Hinweise werden streng vertraulich behandelt. Bitte beachten Sie hierzu auch die Datenschutzerklärung.

    WWU Compliance Office
    Schlossplatz 2
    48149 Münster
    T: +49 251 - 83 21202
    compliance
  • Beschwerdestelle für Beschäftigte gemäß § 13 Allgemeines Gleichbehandlungsgesetz (AGG)

    Das Compliance Office ist zudem Beschwerdestelle für Beschäftigte gemäß § 13 Allgemeines Gleichbehandlungsgesetz (AGG), bei der Sie erlebte oder beobachtete Benachteiligungen aus Gründen der Rasse, der ethnischen Herkunft, des Geschlechts, der Religion oder Weltanschauung, einer Behinderung, des Alters oder der sexuellen Identität anzeigen können.

    Nähere Informationen finden Beschäftigte im Intranet unter dem nachfolgenden: Link.