equal opportunity and Diversity at the University of Münster

Diversity in the workplace and the classroom is centrally important at the University of Münster. The University values every single staff member and student regardless of age, gender, ethnicity, handicap, sexual orientation or religion. It promotes and expresses this commitment through an active gender equality and diversity policy. Its academic, university and student-based activities are largely defined by recognition across academic cultures and respect for individual personality. The University of Münster supports the myriad traits, talents and experiences of its staff and students. With a broad range of projects, programmes and funding opportunities, the University supports equal opportunity measures, enabling it to remain competitive and future-oriented.

Equal opportunity

The University of Münster regards equal opportunity and gender equality as tasks of strategic importance. The gender equality directive has meanwhile been institutionalised and integrated within university structures, processes and organisational cultures. The University of Münster continues to systematically implement the DFG Research-Oriented Standards on Gender Equality.

Family-friendly policy

Managing the demands of one's job, education and family is not always easy and often poses daunting challenges. The University of Münster makes every effort to consider the specific circumstances and needs of its employees and students. Whether it be childcare, flexible working times, teleworking, financial advice or support with caring for family members – the University of Münster offers numerous options and measures to adequately address these challenges.

Research

The University of Münster offers leading national and international researchers a multifaceted and creative research environment. Its research profile is characterised by open-mindedness, cultural diversity and a diverse range of academic cultures. This is perhaps best demonstrated by the planned establishment of the nation's first and only "Campus of Religions" and in the current "Clusters of Excellence". This is where renowned researchers from around the world teach and conduct research on key issues of social relevance.

Personnel development

The University's reputation as an attractive employer is underscored by its life- and career-phase personnel development measures. Taking their needs and wishes into consideration, the University of Münster promotes and professionally trains its employees on an ongoing basis. It supports university staff with developing their potential and strengthening their existing skills.

Students

As a liberal-minded university, the WWU is devoted to supporting the diverse experiences and abilities of its students. It offers them the chance to independently and creatively pursue the education they desire – both inside and outside the lecture halls. With the skills gained in their degree programmes, students are optimally equipped to meet the demands of a pluralistic, internationally oriented and dynamic society, and serve as multipliers in society. Especially in the area of teacher education, the University of Münster prepares its students for adapting to and embracing the growing heterogeneity in our schools.
The University of Münster supports the needs of students who have children or family members in need of care, as well as students with physical disabilities.

Diversität und Chancengleichheit an der WWU

Vielfalt am Arbeitsplatz und im Studium sind an der WWU von zentraler Bedeutung. Die Universität schätzt alle Beschäftigten und Studierenden, unabhängig von Alter, Geschlecht, Ethnizität, Behinderung, sexueller Orientierung und Religion. Sie fördert und begleitet dies durch eine aktive Diversitätspolitik. Anerkennung über die Fächerkulturen hinweg und Respekt vor der individuellen Persönlichkeit bestimmen maßgeblich wissenschaftliches, universitäres und studentisches Handeln. Die WWU unterstützt die unterschiedlichen Eigenschaften, vielfältigen Talente sowie Erfahrungen ihrer Beschäftigten und Studierenden. Durch eine Vielzahl an Projekten, Programmen und Fördermöglichkeiten setzt sich die WWU für Chancengleichheit ein und macht sich damit zukunfts- und wettbewerbsfähig.

Chancengleichheit

Die WWU sieht in der Gleichstellung der Geschlechter eine strategisch wichtige Aufgabe. Der Gleichstellungsauftrag ist in Hochschulstrukturen institutionalisiert, in Prozessen verankert und in die Organisationskultur integriert. Die WWU setzt systematisch die forschungsorientierten Gleichstellungsstandards der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) um.
Darüber hinaus unterstützt die WWU alle Hochschulangehörigen bei Konflikten am Arbeitsplatz und kümmert sich um die Belange von schwerbehinderten und chronisch kranken Personen.

Familienbewusstsein

Die Vereinbarkeit von Beruf, Studium und Familie ist nicht immer einfach und bringt Herausforderungen mit sich. Die Universität Münster berücksichtigt die spezifischen Situationen und Bedürfnisse von Beschäftigten und Studierenden. Ob Kinderbetreuung, flexible Arbeitszeiten, Telearbeit, finanzielle Beratung oder Unterstützung bei der Pflege von Angehörigen: Die WWU bietet zahlreiche Möglichkeiten und Maßnahmen, um diesen Herausforderungen gerecht zu werden.

Forschung

Die WWU bietet ein facettenreiches und kreatives Forschungsumfeld für nationale und internationale Spitzenforscherinnen und Spitzenforscher. Gelebte Weltoffenheit, kulturelle Vielfalt und verschiedene Wissenschaftskulturen prägen das Forschungsprofil an der WWU. Dies wird unter anderem im geplanten bundesweit einzigartigen Campus der Religionen und in den bestehenden Exzellenzclustern deutlich. Dort forschen und lehren renommierte Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus aller Welt zu gesellschaftsrelevanten Fragestellungen.

Personalentwicklung

Als attraktive Arbeitgeberin verfolgt die WWU eine lebens- bzw. berufsphasenorientierte Personalentwicklung. Unter Berücksichtigung individueller Bedürfnisse und Wünsche fördert und fordert die WWU ihre Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter. Sie unterstützt die Hochschulbeschäftigten bei der Entwicklung des eigenen Potenzials und stärkt vorhandene Kompetenzen.

Studierende

Als weltoffene Hochschule ist es der Universität Münster ein besonderes Anliegen, die vielfältigen Erfahrungen und Fähigkeiten ihrer Studierenden zu unterstützen. Sie ermöglicht ihnen dadurch eine eigenständige und kreative Gestaltung des Studiums – innerhalb und außerhalb der Hörsäle. Mit den im Studium erworbenen Kompetenzen sind Studierende bestens ausgestattet, den Anforderungen einer pluralistischen, international orientierten und dynamischen Gesellschaft erfolgreich zu begegnen sowie als Multiplikatoren in die Gesellschaft zu wirken. Vor allem in der Lehrerbildung macht die WWU ihre Studierenden fit für einen offenen und erfolgreichen Umgang mit Schülerheterogenität.
Die WWU unterstützt Studierende mit Kindern oder pflegebedürftigen Angehörigen sowie Studierende mit körperlichen Beeinträchtigungen entsprechend ihrer Bedarfe.