Career opportunities at the University of Münster

© Fotolia

The University of Münster (WWU) owes its success in research and teaching to its committed, experienced staff. In this section, we provide extensive information about work placements, training programmes and employment opportunities for staff and students of the University of Münster. Here you will find general information, job advertisements, work placement announcements, training programme openings and administrative services. We hope you choose the University of Münster!

  • Why the University of Münster?

    The University of Münster (WWU) draws its success from those who study, research, teach and work here. As one of the largest universities in Germany, it is a leading driver of cutting-edge research and first-rate teaching in a city which boasts an excellent quality of life. The University of Münster employs 7,850 people, ranging from craftspeople to professors in over 220 buildings and several hundred facilities across campus.

    Münster's cultural scene is extremely vibrant, enriched even further by numerous cultural activities and events hosted by student organisations and the University itself.

  • Healthy Balance

    The University of Münster knows that balancing one's career and private life is key to enjoying a good quality of life. As a cooperative employer, we strive to cultivate a wholesome working environment which makes for a well-balanced, satisfied and motivated staff.  To this end, we apply a comprehensive approach of working time models, personnel development measures and workplace health promotion programmes.

    All management-level staff at the University of Münster are committed to achieving this goal by engaging in constructive dialogue and working to ensure that health promotion is established in all areas of the University.

    The health of our staff is the basis for a long-term productive career. Consequently, the University of Münster offers an extensive range of health promotion and maintenance services, e.g. the multifaceted and needs-oriented sports and preventive exercise courses in the University Sports programme, the health promotion programme "Nutrition - Movement - Relaxation" by the In-house Medical Service of the University Hospital Münster (UKM), and many other health-related support services offered in various facilities.

  • Time for Flexibility

    Depending on one's department or field of activity, our staff can take advantage of various working time models, e.g. part-time work, life phase-oriented solutions and flexible working times.

    We generally take the personal interests of our staff into account and provide them with as much freedom to schedule their working hours as possible.

    In March 2004, the University of Münster introduced an alternating teleworking model as a flexible form of employment. With this model, employees complete a portion of their work from home and the rest at the University. For staff members who have children or family members in need of care, this option represents a viable solution for meeting the obligations of one's career and familial responsibilities. 

  • Mobility

    The University of Münster provides its staff a "Job Ticket" which entitles them to a discount when using public transport operated by the Münsterland Ruhr-Lippe Transport Authority.

    The Bike Station at the Münster main train station ensures mobility at all times and provides a safe place to store one's bike.

    University bicycles are available if you need a pair of wheels to reach a meeting or appointment during your work day.

    You will find that most facilities on campus offer a sufficient number of parking spaces for bikes and cars.

© Fotolia

The University of Münster – A Family-Friendly University

The University of Münster has held the "audit family-friendly university" certificate since 2008. During the certification process, all University groups were involved in implementing many small and larger changes which improved the compatibility of career/study and family life for all staff and students of the University of Münster.

As part of the re-certification process, the University has now assumed lasting responsibility as a family-friendly university. Rejecting the notion of working and studying despite having children with the more positive idea of working and studying while raising children, the University has explicitly demonstrated its desire to anchor and continue developing family-friendly working, research and study conditions.

For more information, visit the Family Portal of the University of Münster [de]

© Fotolia

Programmes for female junior researchers

With its mentoring programme "Erstklassig!" (First Class!), the University of Münster offers female junior researchers and post-docs a career path to professorship. The qualification programme "Women in University Management" prepares women for their future responsibilities in university management.

More information about programmes for female junior researchers

Karriere an der Universität Münster

© Fotolia

Der Erfolg unserer Universität in Forschung und Lehre hängt von unseren Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern ab. An dieser Stelle haben wir alle wichtigen Informationen zu Praktika, zur Ausbildung und dem Arbeiten an der WWU gebündelt. Sie finden hier sowohl erste Informationen, Stellenangebote, Praktikums- und Ausbildungsplätze, sowie Dienstleistungen der Verwaltung. Wir wollen, dass Sie sich für die WWU entscheiden!

  • Warum die WWU?

    Die WWU lebt durch die Menschen, die hier studieren, forschen, lehren, arbeiten. Als eine der größten Universitäten Deutschlands ist sie ein Garant für Spitzenforschung und hochwertige Lehre in einem äußerst lebenswerten Umfeld. An der WWU Münster verteilen sich 7.850 Beschäftigte vom Handwerker bis zur Professorin auf mehr als 220 Gebäude und mehrere hundert Einrichtungen.

    In Münster gibt es eine ausgesprochen lebendige Kulturszene, zu der studentische Initiativen und die WWU mit vielen eigenen kulturellen Einrichtungen und Veranstaltungen maßgeblich beitragen.

  • Gesundes Gleichgewicht

    An unserer Universität gehört die Vereinbarkeit von Beruf und Privatleben zur Lebensqualität. Als partnerschaftliche Arbeitgeberin sehen wir uns verantwortlich für gesunde Arbeitsbedingungen und ausgeglichene, zufriedene und motivierte Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter. Dabei verfolgen wir einen ganzheitlichen Ansatz bestehend aus Arbeitsgestaltung, Personalentwicklung und Gesundheitsförderung.

    Alle Akteure des Personal- und Gesundheitsmanagements an der WWU arbeiten hierfür in einem kooperativen Austausch und tragen dazu bei, dass Gesundheitsförderung in allen Bereichen der Hochschule etabliert wird.

    Von den facettenreichen und bedarfsorientierten Kurs- und Präventionsangeboten des Hochschulsports über das gesundheitsfördernde Programm "Ernährung - Bewegung - Entspannung" des Arbeitsmedizinischen Dienstes des Universitätsklinikums bis hin zu den vielfältigen Unterstützungsangeboten der verschiedenen Einrichtungen - den Beschäftigten der WWU steht ein breites Angebot zur Förderung und zum Erhalt der eigenen Gesundheit als Grundlage ihrer beruflichen Tätigkeit zur Verfügung.

  • Zeit für Flexibilität

    Je nach Arbeitsbereich und Aufgabengebiet bieten wir verschiedene Arbeitszeitmodelle, wie beispielsweise Teilzeitarbeit sowie lebensphasenorientierte Lösungen und flexible Arbeitszeit.

    Generell berücksichtigen wir die persönlichen Interessen unserer Beschäftigten und geben ihnen den größtmöglichen Spielraum bei ihrer Arbeitszeitgestaltung.

    Seit März 2004 bietet die WWU Münster die alternierende Telearbeit als flexible Arbeitsform für ihre Beschäftigten an. Die Arbeitsleistung wird bei der alternierenden Telearbeit teilweise am häuslichen Arbeitsplatz und teilweise an der WWU Münster erbracht. Diese Maßnahme bietet insbesondere den Beschäftigten mit Kindern und pflegebedürftigen Angehörigen eine weitere Möglichkeit, den Beruf und die familiären Pflichten zu vereinbaren.

  • Mobilität

    Die WWU bietet ihren Beschäftigten ein Job-Ticket an, das eine vergünstigte Nutzung von Bussen und Bahnen in den Verkehrsgemeinschaften Münsterland und Ruhr-Lippe ermöglicht.

    Die Radstation an Münsters Hauptbahnhof sorgt dafür, dass Sie jederzeit mobil sind und bietet Ihrem Rad ein Zuhause.

    Bei Bedarf erhalten Sie ein Dienstrad, welches Sie während des Arbeitstages zu Ihren Terminen begleitet.

    An (fast) jedem Dienstort stehen ausreichend kostenlose Abstellplätze für Ihr Rad oder den Pkw zur Verfügung.

© Fotolia

Die WWU Münster - eine familiengerechte Hochschule

Das Zertifikat „audit familiengerechte Hochschule" trägt die Universität Münster bereits seit 2008. Unter Beteiligung aller Hochschulgruppen wurden im Rahmen der Auditierung viele kleine und größere Veränderungen zur besseren Vereinbarkeit von Beruf bzw. Studium und Familie für Beschäftigte und Studierende an der WWU erreicht.

Im Rahmen der Re-Auditierung übernimmt die WWU auch nachhaltig Verantwortung als familienbewusste Hochschule und macht deutlich, dass das positive Leitbild „Arbeiten und Studieren mit Kind statt Arbeiten und Studieren trotz Kind“ und damit ihre familiengerechten Arbeits-, Forschungs- und Studienbedingungen gesichert und weiterentwickelt werden.

Mehr im Familienportal der Universität

© Fotolia

Programme für Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen

Für Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen bietet die WWU mit Erstklassig! ein Mentoringprogramm für Post-Docs auf dem Weg zur Professur. Darüber hinaus unterstützt das Qualifizierungsprogramm „Frauen managen Hochschule“ Frauen bei zukünftigen Aufgaben im Hochschulmanagement.

Mehr zu Programmen für Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen