Mortarboards in the air
© colourbox.de

Information on doctoral study

Two women looking at a list
© WWU - BananaStock Ltd

Doctoral degree courses

If you have completed a master's degree programme with above-average marks and are interested in pursuing a doctoral degree, you can find information here about your doctoral options at the University of Münster.

Mortarboard drawn in chalk on a blackboard
© colourbox.de

Structured doctoral programmes

Outstanding junior researchers and academics at the University of Münster have the possibility of earning a doctorate within three years by joining a structured doctoral programme. Applications can be submitted directly to the respective graduate school.

Pen in hand
© sepy - Fotolia.com

Application and enrolment

If you are interested in earning a doctorate at the University of Münster, you may submit your own doctoral topic for consideration. Admission to a doctoral degree programme is determined by the corresponding faculty. Accepted candidates are required to observe deadlines and meet specific requirements when enrolling.

Hands holding money
© Robert Kneschke-Fotolia.com

Doctoral funding

Doctoral students can receive financial support from a variety of sources.

Student looking at notice board
© BananaStock Ltd

Doctoral study abroad

There are numerous funding programmes for doctoral students at German universities who wish to conduct a research visit abroad. Funding is also available to those who wish to take teaching assignments or participate in advanced training programmes abroad.

Meeting between two women
© Jeanette Dietl/Fotolia.com

Advice and support

Several offices at the University of Münster provide consultation and support services to doctoral students. Study advisers are available to answer content-related questions. The International Office assists international academics in enrolling. The Student Admissions Office provides help with all study-related administrative and organisational matters.

Informationen zur Promotion

© WWU - BananaStock Ltd

Promotionsstudiengänge

Wer ein Hochschulstudium mit überdurchschnittlichen Leistungen absolviert hat und an einer Promotion interessiert ist, findet hier Informationen zu den Promotionsmöglichkeiten an der Universität Münster.

© colourbox.de

Strukturierte Promotion

An der WWU haben hervorragende Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftler die Möglichkeit, im Rahmen eines strukturierten Programms innerhalb von drei Jahren zu promovieren. Bewerbungen sind direkt an die jeweilige Graduate School zu richten.

© sepy - Fotolia.com

Einschreibung und Bewerbung

Interessierte können sich mit ihrem individuellen Promotionsthema an der Universität Münster für einen Promotionsstudiengang bewerben. Über eine Zulassung entscheidet der jeweilige Fachbereich. Für die Einschreibung gelten Fristen und besondere Voraussetzungen.

© Robert Kneschke-Fotolia.com

Promotionsförderung

Promovenden können von unterschiedlichen Stellen finanzielle Unterstützung bekommen.

© BananaStock Ltd

Promovenden ins Ausland

Für Promovenden an deutschen Hochschulen, die einen Forschungsaufenthalt im Ausland machen möchten, gibt es diverse Förderprogramme. Außerdem werden Lehr- und Weiterbildungsaufenthalte unterstützt.

© Jeanette Dietl/Fotolia.com

Beratung

Die Beratung von Promotionstudierenden erfolgt durch mehrere Institutionen. Für inhaltliche Fragen stehen die Studienfachberater zur Verfügung, das International Office unterstützt internationale Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler bei der Einschreibung. Bei Fragen rund um die administrative Organisation eines Studiums hilft das Studierendensekretariat.