Young Professors Programme (YPP)

The WWU support programme for assistant professors and junior research group leaders

The Young Professors Programme (YPP) of the University of Münster is an innovative programme that supports assistant professors (Juniorprofessoren) and junior research group leaders to surmount the often daunting challenges specific to their profession. These academics have achieved success early in their career and now find themselves in positions of responsibility with management obligations. Junior researchers require a broad range of knowledge and skills to achieve outstanding research results while continuing to perform teaching, supervisory and administrative duties. The Young Professors Programme (YPP) helps them meet the diverse challenges in this stage of their career.

In addition to various training formats, YPP provides junior researchers with a networking platform that enables them to make contacts within and outside the University of Münster. Our goal is to accompany them on their career path in an individual, flexible and needs-oriented manner. Feel free to inquire anytime about our current programme!

  • About the Young Professors Programme (YPP)

    The Young Professors Programme (YPP) helps assistant professors (with and without tenure track) and junior research group leaders to develop personal and career-building skills in their everyday professional life. We offer:

    • A seminar programme of short-term micro-sessions and in-depth seminars and workshops in German and English
    • A mentoring programme with one-on-one mentoring sessions, as well as group and peer mentoring formats
    • A networking platform for establishing contacts with other assistant professors and junior research group leaders
    • Support for faculty members responsible for supervising and advising junior researchers

    The various programmes can be selected and flexibly combined according to one’s personal needs. We can also arrange an introductory session upon request to discuss your qualification goals and select programme components to achieve these.

    The Young Professors Programme draws on and bundles the expertise of various University facilities and departments. In addition to our regular services, assistant professors and junior research group leaders can participate in the post-doc events held at the WWU Graduate Centre and the professional training programmes offered by the HR department. Assistant professors can also participate in “Management skills for new professors” (Erfolgreich managen für Erstberufene), “Women in University Management” (Frauen managen Hochschule) and “First Class” (Erstklassig), the mentoring programme for female academics.

    © WWU

    Other important service offices:

    Dual Career Center
    https://www.uni-muenster.de/karriere/career.html

    Family Service Office
    https://www.uni-muenster.de/Service-Familie/

    WWU advice office for employees and supervisors for coping with conflicts, addiction- and health-related issues
    https://www.uni-muenster.de/Verwaltung/orga/sozialberatung.html

    SAFIR Research Funding Support
    https://www.uni-muenster.de/Safir/

    International Office
    Welcome Center

    https://www.uni-muenster.de/forschung/wissenschaftler/index.html

  • Mentoring

    Mentoring is a valuable instrument for academic career development. The participating mentors are experienced colleagues whose advice and supervision can help you achieve your professional goals. Not only can you benefit from their contacts, but also their experience. In the first phase of the programme, one-on-one mentoring sessions help early-career academics on their way to lifetime professorships. To learn how to make the most of mentoring, we recommend arranging a personal consultation or attending a workshop on mentoring. Group mentoring is offered on an ongoing basis.

  • Seminar programme

    Our programme consists of two formats – micro-sessions and in-depth seminars – which address such topics as management in academia, interdisciplinary skills, career development, scientific working methods and academic teaching. We offer special seminars for junior researchers with tenure track which highlight the various phases of the tenure process. The seminars are given by University colleagues and external experts. For more details, click on the programme profiles below.

    The events are free of charge and can be attended in any order. Registration is required. After completing the course, you will be sent written confirmation of participation.
    The thematic focus of each seminar is strongly tailored to the needs of the target group. Please contact us for information on our current programme and feel free to share your wishes with us!

    Current events:

    Colloquium for newly appointed professors [de]

    Team development as a management task [de]

    Working with doctoral candidates [de]

    Interim evaluations for assistant professors – How should I best prepare? [de]

    Meetings and counselling in an academic context: Achieving one's goal through successful communication [de]

    Training for the appointment procedure [de]

  • Faculty support

    The colleagues in your faculty can offer individual advice and support in the form of “onboarding”. They provide insight into the processes and particulars of the respective faculties, thereby helping assistant professors and junior research group leaders more quickly integrate and establish themselves at the University of Münster. Young academics receive subject-related feedback from colleagues of equal standing, particularly in consultation meetings, to help them proceed along their career path.

    More information for faculty members will be posted here shortly!

  • Team

    Dr. Magdalena Hundehege
    WWU Graduate Centre, YPP coordinator
    Room Raum 104
    Schlossplatz 6
    48149
    Tel: +49 251 83-23116
    magdalena.hundehege@uni-muenster.de
    • Overall YPP coordination
    • Contact building and management with the responsible facilities
    • Coordination and supervision of the seminar programme
    • Advisor and support liaison to the faculties
    Deniz Aydin
    WWU Graduate Centre, YPP administrator
    Room Raum 108
    Schlossplatz 6
    48149
    Tel: +49 251 83-21383
    deniz.aydin@uni-muenster.de
    • Event administration
    • Support for seminar programme participants
    • Public relations
    N. N.
    • Coordination and support of the mentoring programme
    • Mentoring advisor

Contact

Young Professors Programme (YPP)
Schlossplatz 6
48149 Münster
Germany
Tel.: + 49 251 83-23116
ypp@uni-muenster.de

Young Professors Programme (YPP)

Das Begleitprogramm der WWU für Juniorprofessor*innen und Nachwuchsgruppenleiter*innen

Als innovatives Begleitprogramm an der WWU unterstützt das Young Professors Programme (YPP) Juniorprofessor*innen und Nachwuchsgruppenleiter*innen in ihrer spezifischen und zum Teil herausfordernden beruflichen Situation: Sie sind sehr früh wissenschaftlich erfolgreich und tragen ebenso früh Verantwortung für sich und andere. Hervorragende Forschungsergebnisse zu erzielen und gleichzeitig in Lehre, Betreuung und Administration involviert zu sein, fordert vielseitige Kenntnisse und Kompetenzen. Die Angebote des Young Professors Programme bieten den Wissenschaftler*innen Hilfestellungen, um die vielfältigen Herausforderungen und den aktuellen Karriereschritt erfolgreich zu meistern.

Neben diversen Trainingsformaten bietet das YPP eine Plattform zur Vernetzung inner- und außerhalb der WWU und ist darüber hinaus eine Anlauf- und Servicestelle. Unser Ziel ist eine bedarfsorientierte, individuelle und flexible Begleitung – sprechen Sie uns jederzeit auf die aktuellen Angebote an!

  • Informationen über das Young Professors Programme


    Das Young Professors Programme unterstützt Juniorprofessor*innen mit und ohne Tenure Track sowie Nachwuchsgruppenleiter*innen in ihrer individuellen Persönlichkeits- und Karriereentwicklung sowie in ihrem beruflichen Alltag. Wir bieten:

    • Ein Seminarprogramm mit Kurzzeitformaten in Form von Mikrosessions sowie vertiefende Seminare und Workshops in deutscher und englischer Sprache.
    • Ein Mentoringangebot mit One-to-one Mentoring, aber auch Gruppen- und Peermentoring.
    • Eine Plattform zur Vernetzung und zum Austausch mit anderen Juniorprofessor*innen und Nachwuchsgruppenleiter*innen.
    • Außerdem unterstützen wir die Fachbereiche bei der individuellen Begleitung der jungen Wissenschaftler*innen.

    Die verschiedenen Angebote können flexibel und je nach individuellem Bedarf frei gewählt und miteinander kombiniert werden. Bei Interesse werden in einem persönlichen Auftaktgespräch die Qualifizierungswünsche besprochen und die Bausteine des Programms passend dafür ausgewählt.

    Im Young Professors Programme wird die Expertise verschiedener Einrichtungen zusammengeführt. Neben unseren Angeboten können Juniorprofessor*innen und Nachwuchsgruppenleiter*innen auch auf die Angebote für Post-Docs im Graduate Centre der WWU sowie auf Fortbildungen der Personalentwicklung zurückgreifen. Darüber hinaus stehen den Juniorprofessor*innen auch die Programme „Erfolgreich managen für Erst- und Neuberufene“ „Frauen managen Hochschulen“, sowie  sowie „Erstklassig“ das Mentoring Programm für Wissenschaftlerinnen offen.

    © WWU

    Weitere wichtige Anlaufstellen sind:

    Dual Career Center
    https://www.uni-muenster.de/karriere/career.html

    Servicebüro Familie
    https://www.uni-muenster.de/Service-Familie/


    WWU Beratungsstelle für Mitarbeiter*innen und Führungskräfte bei Konflikten, Suchtfragen und gesundheitlichen Belastungen

    https://www.uni-muenster.de/Verwaltung/orga/sozialberatung.html

    SAFIR Forschungsförderberatung

    https://www.uni-muenster.de/Safir/


    International Office
    Welcome Center

    https://www.uni-muenster.de/forschung/wissenschaftler/index.html

  • Mentoring

    Mentoring als Instrument der wissenschaftlichen Karriereentwicklung kann Sie unterstützen, indem eine erfahrene Person Sie berät und auf dem Weg der Umsetzung Ihrer beruflichen Ziele begleitet. Profitieren Sie nicht nur von den Kontakten, sondern auch von den Erfahrungen Ihrer Mentorin oder Ihres Mentors. Das One-to-one-Mentoring fördert in der ersten Phase des Programms eine möglichst frühe Begleitung auf dem Weg zur Lebenszeitprofessur. Auf die bestmögliche Nutzung von Mentoring bereitet Sie eine persönliche Beratung oder ein Workshop zu Mentoring als Methode vor. Das Gruppen-Mentoring wird fortlaufend angeboten.

  • Seminarprogramm

    Wir bieten zwei verschiedene Formate in diesem Bereich an: Mikrosessions und vertiefende Seminare. Thematisch werden die folgenden Felder abgedeckt: Führung in der Wissenschaft, Interdisziplinäre Kompetenzen, Karriereentwicklung, wissenschaftliches Arbeiten und Akademische Lehre. Außerdem werden speziell für die Juniorprofessor*innen auf dem Tenure Track Veranstaltungen angeboten, die inhaltlich an den Phasen des Tenure Tracks orientiert sind. Sowohl interne als auch externe Referent*innen sind für die einzelnen Seminare verantwortlich, Details entnehmen Sie bitte dem Programm im Folgenden.

    Die Veranstaltungen können unabhängig voneinander kostenfrei besucht und frei gewählt werden. Eine Anmeldung ist erforderlich. Im Anschluss an die Veranstaltung erhalten Sie eine schriftliche Teilnahmebestätigung.
    Die Veranstaltungsplanung ist sehr stark am Bedarf der Zielgruppe orientiert. Sprechen Sie uns jederzeit auf aktuelle Angebote an und teilen Sie uns Ihre Wünsche mit!

    Aktuelle Veranstaltungen:

    Kolloquium für Neuberufene

    Teamentwicklung als Führungsaufgabe

    Zusammenarbeit mit Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden

    Die Zwischenevaluation in der Juniorprofessur: Wie bereite ich mich optimal vor?

    Gesprächsführung und Beratungskompetenz im akademischen Kontext: Mit gelungener Kommunikation zum Ziel

    Training Berufungsverfahren

  • Begleitung in den Fachbereichen

    Im Fachbereich wird durch Kolleg*innen vor Ort eine individuelle Begleitung und Beratung im Sinne eines Onboarding ermöglicht. Vermittlung von Wissen über Abläufe vor Ort und Spezifika des Fachbereichs sollen die Juniorprofessor*innen und Nachwuchsgruppenleiter*innen unterstützen, sich schnell zu integrieren und gut an der WWU anzukommen. Das Feedback auf Augenhöhe, das insbesondere in den Konsultationsgesprächen Raum findet, und die Nähe zum Fach unterstützen die jungen Wissenschaftler*innen auf ihrem Karriereweg.

    In Kürze folgen hier weitere Informationen für Angehörige der Fachbereiche!

  • Das Team

    Dr. Magdalena Hundehege
    WWU Graduate Centre, Koordinatorin YPP
    Raum Raum 104
    Schlossplatz 6
    48149 Münster
    Tel: +49 251 83-23116
    magdalena.hundehege@uni-muenster.de
    • Gesamtkoordination YPP
    • Weitervermittlung an und Kontaktherstellung mit zuständigen Einrichtungen bei spezifischen Fragestellungen
    • Koordination und Betreuung Seminarprogramm
    • Beratung und Begleitung der Fachbereiche
    Deniz Aydin
    WWU Graduate Centre, Administration YPP
    Raum Raum 108
    Schlossplatz 6
    48149 Münster
    Tel: +49 251 83-21383
    deniz.aydin@uni-muenster.de
    • Administration Veranstaltungen
    • Betreuung der Teilnehmer*innen im Seminarprogramm
    • Öffentlichkeitsarbeit
    N. N.
    • Koordination und Betreuung Mentoringprogramm
    • Beratung in Mentoringfragen

Kontakt & Adresse
Young Professors Programme
Schlossplatz 6
48149 Münster
Deutschland
Tel.: + 49 251 83 23 116
ypp@uni-muenster.de