WWU international

© WWU - International Office

At the University of Münster, internationality is one of the basic principles guiding research and teaching. With more than 550 cooperation agreements with universities around the world and involvement in multiple networks, the University of Münster promotes international collaboration in research and teaching.

Student and researcher mobility is an essential element, from which the University of Münster draws its strength. Over 1,400 students study and work abroad every year. At the same time, more than 700 international researchers come to the University of Münster each year to take advantage of its outstanding research facilities and support services.

The University focuses on cultivating partnerships with Latin America, Asia and Europe. Particularly close relationships are maintained with the University of Twente in the Netherlands, the University of São Paulo in Brazil (where the WWU operates a liaison office) and Hiroshima University in Japan.

Internationalisation Strategy

 

 

 

© WWU - International Office

Academia is international. International engagement is an essential component of research and teaching. It forms the backbone of excellence and competitiveness and enhances the attractiveness of the WWU as a place of research, study and employment. Moreover, internationalisation contributes to intercultural dialogue and global understanding. In pursuit of achieving these key objectives, the University wishes to fulfil its responsibilities toward society.

The University of Münster sees itself as an international community comprised of current and former students, researchers, lecturers, administrators and technical staff.
The University regards internationalisation and diversity as the expression of cosmopolitanism put into practice and its global responsibility toward research and society.

All University members should treat each other with mutual respect. The University is an inter-cultural meeting place where internationalisation is practised every day. Diversity with regard to origin, nationality and life plans is intrinsically valuable and enriches academia, research and teaching to an equal degree.

By undersigning the Magna Charta Universitatum, the University of Münster has declared its commitment to fundamental values and principles of university research and teaching. These principles represent an important societal and historical achievement and it is therefore par-amount that they be upheld and safeguarded. It is an important aim of the University to put them into everyday practice.

The internationalisation goals and activities of the WWU are based on this self-image. Read the current version of the Internationalisation Strategy.

WWU international

© WWU - International Office

Internationalität gehört an der WWU zum Grundverständnis von Wissenschaft und Lehre. Durch mehr als 550 Partnerschaftsabkommen mit Hochschulen weltweit sowie durch zahlreiche Netzwerke treibt die WWU die internationale Zusammenarbeit in Forschung und Lehre fortwährend voran.

Fester Bestandteil und große Stärke der Universität Münster ist dabei der Studierenden- und Wissenschaftler*innen-Austausch: Jährlich gehen über 1.400 Studierende ins Ausland. Aber auch über 700 internationale Wissenschaftler*innen kommen jedes Jahr an die WWU und nutzen die hervorragenden Forschungs- und Unterstützungsangebote.

Kooperationsschwerpunkte liegen in Lateinamerika, Asien und Europa. Dabei werden besonders enge Verbindungen mit der niederländischen Universität Twente gepflegt, der Universität von São Paulo in Brasilien (hier hat die WWU ein Außenbüro) und der Universität Hiroshima in Japan.

Internationalisierungsstrategie

Wissenschaft ist international. Internationalität gehört unauflöslich zum Grundverständnis von Wissenschaft und Lehre. Sie ist ein zentrales Mittel als Grundlage für Exzellenz und Wettbewerbsfähigkeit von Forschung und Lehre sowie für die Attraktivität der WWU als Wissenschafts-, Studien- und Arbeitsort. Zugleich trägt Internationalisierung zu interkulturellem Dialog und globaler Verständigung bei. Internationalität ist damit ein intrinsisches Ziel, mit dessen Realisierung die WWU ihrer gesellschaftlichen Verantwortung gerecht werden will.

© WWU - Robert Matzke

Die WWU versteht sich als eine internationale Gemeinschaft von allen Gruppen: aktuellen wie ehemaligen Studierenden, Forschenden, Lehrenden, Personal in Technik und Verwaltung.
Die WWU begreift Internationalität und Vielfalt als Ausdruck gelebter Weltoffenheit und globaler Verantwortung für Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft.

Die Mitglieder der WWU begegnen sich mit gegenseitiger Achtung und Respekt. Der Campus ist Ort interkultureller Begegnung und gelebter Internationalität. Die Vielfalt von Herkunft, Nationalitäten und Lebensentwürfen ist intrinsisch wertvoll; sie bereichert Wissenschaft, Forschung und Lehre gleichermaßen.

Die WWU hat sich als Unterzeichnerin der Magna Charta Universitatum grundlegenden Werten und Prinzipien universitärer Forschung und Lehre verpflichtet. Diese Prinzipien stellen eine wichtige gesellschaftliche und historische Errungenschaft dar. Es gilt, sie zu bewahren und zu schützen. Sie im alltäglichen Handeln mit Leben zu füllen, ist ein wesentliches Ziel der WWU.

Die Internationalisierungsziele und -aktivitäten der WWU basieren auf diesem Selbstverständnis. Lesen Sie hier die aktuelle Version der Internationalisierungsstrategie.