Academic and non-academic staff mobility opportunities

Make cross-border cooperation sustainable and digital

Universities of Münster and Radboud launch project on staff mobility in times of the COVID-19 pandemic

In the current Covid-19 pandemic, international encounters are largely taking place digitally. But there are also creative ideas for such exchanges, as shown by a pilot project of the Universities of Münster and Radboud (Nijmegen, Netherlands). As part of the Erasmus project "Team Travel", staff from both universities set off yesterday (Wednesday, 16 June) on roller skates, bicycles, cargo pedelecs and e-cars to meet at the Dutch border - all in the spirit of "green mobility".

The idea for this open-air event came from the Welcome Centre team of the International Office. "Instead of cancelling the long-standing staff exchanges again or holding another Zoom meeting, we decided on a symbolic, forward-looking project," says Maria Homeyer from the Welcome Centre and project initiator.
Representatives of the Welcome Centre, University Sports, the English Support Office, the Department Personnel Development, the International Graduate School BACCARA and the Battery Research Center MEET took great pleasure in the joint action - even if not everyone went all the way to the border. As a symbol of the cross-border cooperation, there was a joint picnic in the fresh air and a "jersey swap" with the logos of the respective universities - of course, everything in compliance with hygiene rules.

At the same time, an alternative programme took place alongside the sporting event: Staff from both universities used the video platform "gather.town" to enter a conversation with each other. Representatives of WWU IT exchanged ideas with their Dutch colleagues about working methods, processes and challenges, for example in IT security or about the prospects for sustainability at universities.

With the event, the project team draws attention to the fact that internationalisation is also possible in Covid-19 times. "Team travel, i.e. professional exchange at work level, is an important part of the long-standing partnership with Radboud University," says Thomas Böckenholt from the Department Personnel Development and one of the project organisers. "The fact that we were able to organise a digital exchange together and meet at the border this year makes it clear: it is worth every effort to work for the continuation of Team Travel and the partnership of the universities." Maria Homeyer emphasises: "Sustainability and digitalisation play an important role for future international mobility. With this first symbolic event and the second planned Team Travel to the partner university Twente in September this year, we are shining a spotlight on 2022. We hope that 'green mobility' with real job shadowing stays at the respective partner university will be possible next year."

Information on "Team Travel" - Erasmus staff mobility

The promotion of international mobility of both academic and non-academic staff and the internationalisation of the administration are integral components of the internationalisation strategy of the University of Münster. The aim of both focal points is to improve the support structures for international students and academics and to address the intercultural and linguistic challenges.

One building block for the internationalisation of the administration is the promotion of international mobility of non-academic staff, preferably in exchange with partner institutions abroad. The goals are to deepen international relations and partnerships as well as to gain experience and knowledge about different ways of working and problem solving. On the one hand, this leads to a further training effect in the professional context and, on the other hand, to the intercultural and linguistic competence development of the employees. This, in turn, helps employees in their work with international students and academics to shape their integration at the University of Münster.

A partnership with Radboud University Nijmegen has been in place since 2015. Since then, a structured staff mobility has been carried out: the "Team Travel" events in the Erasmus staff mobility programme of the European Union to and from Nijmegen.

DAAD video explaining " staff mobility”

Cooperation partners of the project organisation (Welcome Centre, Personnel Development) for this year‘s „Team Travel“ are:

Radboud University Nijmegen
WWU Hochschulsport
WWU Meet Battery Research Centre
International Graduate School BACCARA
WWU Innovation Office
ADFC Münsterland (in German)
DAAD
VELOfactur

Important:

Information on business trips provided by the Rectorate of the WWU

  • Please inform yourself about the possibilities of travelling abroad here [de].
  • Please note that a new form ("A1") is required for business trips abroad!
    Further information in MyWWU

Arrows pointing up
© Sör Alex / Photocase.com

Information event

The International Office regularly holds a general information event for the academic staff of the University of Münster on staff mobility programmes and financing opportunities for visits abroad.

Last Thursday of every month from 1 pm – 2 pm
Please sign up in advance at: project.international@uni-muenster.de.
 

EU flag
© krockenmitte / photocase.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

European visits (Erasmus)

The higher education programme of the European Union (EU), Erasmus, was established over 20 years ago to promote cross-border mobility of students, university instructors and other university staff, as well as business personnel.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Globe
© Yaban / photocase.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Visits worldwide

Global mobility programmes in higher education strive to achieve a variety of goals. Mobility within existing partnerships can help intensify collaboration, promote the creation of new partnerships, or serve as the basis for arranging guest lectureships and (foreign) research visits.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

book
© DerGrafischer / Photocase.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Practical information

Here you will find information to help you prepare for your visit abroad, e.g. on language courses for university instructors. You will also find links to info material about the University and the city of Münster, which you can take along and share with your foreign partners.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Intercultural workshops

Due to a steadily growing number of foreign students, the University of Münster has become a multicultural working environment. Intercultural competence is now a key qualification which everyone at the University will need in the future.

Wissenschaftler und Mitarbeiter ins Ausland

Grenzüberschreitende Zusammenarbeit nachhaltig und digital gestalten

Universitäten Münster und Radboud starten Projekt zur Personalmobilität in Zeiten von Corona

Internationale Begegnungen finden in der aktuellen Coronapandemie zum Großteil digital statt. Doch es gibt auch kreative Ideen des Austausches, wie jetzt ein Pilotprojekt der Universitäten Münster und Radboud (Nijmegen, Niederlande) zeigt: Als Teil des Erasmus-Projekts „Team Travel“ setzten sich Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter beider Universitäten am gestrigen Mittwoch (16. Juni) mit Rollschuh, Fahrrad, Lasten-Pedelec und E-Auto in Bewegung, um sich an der niederländischen Grenze zu treffen – ganz im Sinne der „green mobility“ (grüne Mobilität).

Die Idee zu diesem Frischluft-Event hatte das Team vom Welcome Centre des International Office. „Anstatt die langjährig erprobten Mitarbeiteraustausche erneut ausfallen zu lassen oder ein weiteres Zoom-Meeting durchzuführen, haben wir uns für ein symbolisches, zukunftsweisendes Projekt entschieden“, sagt Maria Homeyer vom Welcome Centre und Projektinitiatorin.

Vertreter des Welcome Centres, des Hochschulsports, der Supportstelle Englisch, der Personalentwicklung, der International Graduate School BACCARA und des Batterieforschungszentrums MEET hatten große Freude an der gemeinsamen Aktion – auch wenn nicht alle bis zur Grenze mitfuhren. Als Symbol für die grenzüberschreitende Zusammenarbeit gab es ein gemeinsames Picknick an der frischen Luft und ein „Trikottausch“ mit den Logos der jeweiligen Unis – natürlich alles unter Einhaltung der Hygieneregeln.

Gleichzeitig fand neben dem sportlichen Event ein alternatives Programm statt: Mitarbeiter beider Universitäten nutzten die Videoplattform „gather.town“, um miteinander ins Gespräch zu kommen. Vertreter der WWU IT tauschten sich mit ihren niederländischen Kollegen über Arbeitsweisen, Prozesse und Herausforderungen aus, zum Beispiel in der IT-Sicherheit oder über die Perspektiven für Nachhaltigkeit an Universitäten.

Mit dem Event macht das Projektteam darauf aufmerksam, dass Internationalisierung auch in Coronazeiten möglich ist. „Team Travel, also der fachliche Austausch auf Arbeitsebene, ist ein wichtiger Teil der langjährigen Partnerschaft zur Radboud Universität“, sagt Thomas Böckenholt von der Personalentwicklung und einer der Projektorganisatoren. „Dass wir in diesem Jahr gemeinsam einen digitalen Austausch organisieren und uns an der Grenze treffen konnten, mach deutlich: Es ist jede Anstrengung wert, sich für die Weiterführung des Team Travel und die Partnerschaft der Universitäten einzusetzen.“ Maria Homeyer betont: Nachhaltigkeit und Digitalisierung spielen eine wichtige Rolle für die zukünftige internationale Mobilität. Mit diesem ersten symbolischen Event und dem zweiten geplanten Team Travel zur Partneruniversität Twente im September dieses Jahres, werfen wir ein Schlaglicht auf 2022. Wir hoffen, dass im kommenden Jahr eine ‚green mobility‘ mit echten Hospitationsaufenthalten bei der jeweiligen Partneruniversität möglich ist.“

Informationen zum „Team Travel“ – Erasmus staff mobility

Die Förderung der Auslandsmobilität sowohl des wissenschaftlichen als auch des nichtwissenschaftlichen Personals und die Internationalisierung der Verwaltung sind integrale Bestandteile der Internationalisierungsstrategie der WWU. Ziel beider Schwerpunkte ist es, die Unterstützungsstrukturen für internationale Studierende und Wissenschaftler zu verbessern und auf die interkulturellen und sprachlichen Herausforderungen einzugehen.

Ein Baustein für die Internationalisierung der Verwaltung ist die Förderung der internationalen Mobilität der nichtwissenschaftlichen Mitarbeiter, bevorzugt im Austausch mit Partnereinrichtungen im Ausland. Ziele sind dabei die internationalen Beziehungen und Partnerschaften zu vertiefen sowie Erfahrung und Wissen über unterschiedliche Arbeitsweisen und Problemlösungen zu sammeln. Dies führt einerseits zu einem Weiterbildungseffekt im beruflichen Kontext und andererseits zur interkulturellen und sprachlichen Kompetenzentwicklung der Mitarbeiter. Diese wiederum hilft den Beschäftigten bei ihren Tätigkeiten mit internationalen Studierenden und Wissenschaftlern deren Integration an der WWU zu gestalten.

Bereits seit 2015 besteht eine Partnerschaft mit der Radboud Universität Nijmegen. Seitdem findet eine strukturierte Mitarbeitermobilität statt: die „Team Travel“ Events im Erasmus staff mobility Programm der Europäischen Union von und nach Nijmegen.

Erklärvideo des DAAD zum Programm „staff mobility“

Kooperationspartner der Organisationspartner (WeCo, PE) des diesjährigen „Team Travel“ sind:

Radboud University Nijmegen
WWU Hochschulsport
WWU MEET Batterieforschungszentrum
International Graduate School BACCARA
WWU Arbeitsstelle Forschungstransfer
ADFC Münsterland
DAAD
VELOfactur

Wichtig:

Informationen des Rektorats zu Dienstreisen

  • Bitte informieren Sie sich über die aktuellen Möglichkeiten von Auslandsreisen hier.
  • Bitte beachten Sie bei Dienstreisen ins Ausland, dass ein neues Formular ("A1") verlangt wird!
    Nähere Informationen in MyWWU

Nach oben laufende Pfeile
© Sör Alex / Photocase.com

Informationsveranstaltung

Das International Office lädt zu einer allgemeinen Informationsveranstaltung zu Möglichkeiten und Finanzierung von Auslandsaufenthalten für Wissenschaftler der WWU ein.

Jeden letzten Donnerstag im Monat von 13.00-14.00 Uhr,
Anmeldung erforderlich unter project.international@uni-muenster.de.

EU Flagge
© krockenmitte / photocase.com

Europa-Aufenthalte (Erasmus)

Das Hochschulprogramm der Europäischen Union (EU), Erasmus, existiert seit über 20 Jahren und fördert grenzüberschreitende Mobilität von Studierenden, Dozenten und anderem Hochschulpersonal sowie von Unternehmenspersonal.

Globus
© Yaban / photocase.com

Weltweite Aufenthalte

Die Ziele einer weltweiten Mobilität sind weit gefächert. Mobilität kann innerhalb bestehender Partnerschaften zur Intensivierung der Zusammenarbeit dienen, kann zum Aufbau von neuen Partnerschaften oder zu Lehraufenthalten genutzt werden oder auch einen Forschungsaufenthalt bedeuten.

 

Buch
© DerGrafischer / Photocase.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Praktische Informationen

Für Ihren Auslandsaufenthalt erhalten Sie an dieser Stelle Informationen zur Vorbereitung, beispielsweise zu Sprachkursen für Dozenten. Zudem finden Sie einige Links zu Materialien, die Sie mitnehmen können, um die WWU und Stadt Münster im Ausland vorzustellen.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Interkulturelle Weiterbildung_2

Interkulturelle Weiterbildung

Die Zahl der ausländischen Studierenden steigt stetig an, so dass die WWU sich zu einem multikulturellen Arbeitsfeld entwickelt hat. Daher wird Interkulturelle Kompetenz für alle an der Universität immer mehr zu einer Schlüsselqualifikation.