Research focus "Religion and Politics"

The research focus “Religion and Politics has been investigating since 2007 the complex relationship between religion and politics across eras and cultures. The 140 researchers from 20 disciplines in the humanities and social sciences focus on the “dynamics of tradition and innovation”. They analyze in transepochal studies ranging from antiquity to the present day the conditions and factors that make religion an engine of political and social change, with their focus being above all on the paradox that religions often develop their innovative potential precisely by drawing on their traditions.

The researchers concentrate on the monotheistic religions of Judaism, Christianity and Islam, and on their polytheistic precursors. The focus of interest is on Europe and the Mediterranean region, as well as on their entanglements with the Near East, Africa, North and Latin America. The research network is the largest of its kind in Germany; and, of the Clusters of Excellence, one of the oldest and the only one to deal with the issue of religion.

The University of Münster has become through the Cluster of Excellence “Religion and Politics” a nationally and internationally outstanding location for interdisciplinary research on religion – in terms of size and diversity of disciplines, methods, cultures and epochs. An internationally unique “Campus of Religions” will be established at the University in 2023, which will bring together Protestant, Catholic, Orthodox and Islamic theology, as well as institutions of non-denominational research on religion, and promote inter- and transdisciplinary, as well as interreligious, exchange. The University set up a Centre for Digital Humanities (CDH) in 2017, which brings together researchers working in the Digital Humanities at the University.

Interdisciplinary cooperation in the research focus “Religion and Politics” benefits from three epoch-related research centres that have emerged from the Cluster: the Centre for Religion and Modernity (CRM), the Centre for Medieval and Early Modern Studies (CMF), and the Centre for Eastern Mediterranean Studies (GKM). A guest professorship in religion and politics, the “Hans Blumenberg Professorship” (named after the famous Münster philosopher), brings innovative momentum from international research to Münster and strengthens its interdisciplinarity.

Cluster of Excellence "Religion and Politics"

CRC 1150 "Cultures of Decision-Making"

Centre for Religion and Modernity (CRM)

Centre for Medieval and Early Modern Studies (CMF) [de]

Centre for Eastern Mediterranean Studies (GKM) [de]

Centre for Islamic Theology (CIT) [de]

Institute for Jewish Studies [de]

Interdisciplinary Research Centre "Religious Plurality and Its Regulation in the Region" [de]

Forschungsschwerpunkt "Religion und Politik"

Der Forschungsschwerpunkt „Religion und Politik“ der Universität Münster untersucht seit 2007 das komplexe Verhältnis von Religion und Politik quer durch die Epochen und Kulturen. Die 140 Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus 20 geistes- und sozialwissenschaftlichen Fächern und 10 Ländern befassen sich besonders mit „Dynamiken von Tradition und Innovation“. In epochenübergreifenden Untersuchungen von der Antike bis heute analysieren sie, wie Religion zum Motor politischen und gesellschaftlichen Wandels wird. Das Augenmerk gilt dem Paradox, dass Religionen ihr Innovationspotential regelmäßig im Rückgriff auf ihre Traditionen entwickeln.

Die Forschenden konzentrieren sich auf die monotheistischen Religionen Judentum, Christentum und Islam und ihre polytheistischen Vorläufer. Im Zentrum stehen Europa und der Mittelmeerraum sowie deren Verflechtungen mit Vorderasien, Afrika, Nord- und Lateinamerika. Der Forschungsverbund ist der bundesweit größte dieser Art und unter den Exzellenzclustern in Deutschland einer der ältesten und der einzige zum Thema Religion.

Die WWU ist durch den Exzellenzcluster „Religion und Politik“ zu einem in Größe und Vielfalt der Disziplinen, Methoden, Kulturen und Epochen national und international herausragenden Standort für interdisziplinäre Religionsforschung geworden. Ein weltweit einzigartiger „Campus der Religionen“ wird ab 2023 die evangelische, katholische, orthodoxe und islamische Theologie und Einrichtungen der bekenntnisungebundenen Religionsforschung der Universität zusammenführen und den inter- und transdisziplinären sowie interreligiösen Austausch fördern. Die Universität hat ein Center for Digital Humanities (CDH) eingerichtet, das die in den Digital Humanities arbeitenden Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler an der WWU zusammenführt.

Die interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit im Forschungsschwerpunkt „Religion und Politik“ profitiert von drei epochenbezogenen Forschungs-Centren, die aus dem Verbund hervorgegangen sind: das Centrum für Religion und Moderne (CRM), das Centrum für Mittelalter- und Frühneuzeitforschung (CMF) und das Centrum für Geschichte und Kultur des östlichen Mittelmeerraums (GKM). Die Hans-Blumenberg-Gastprofessur für Religion und Politik – benannt nach dem berühmten Münsteraner Philosophen – bringt innovative Impulse aus der internationalen Forschung nach Münster.