Tenure track

The University of Münster continuously strives to support young academics by providing transparent and dependable working conditions and viable career paths. To this end, it has established a new associate professorship (Juniorprofessur) model with a tenure track for excellent academics while taking into account the various disciplinary cultures at the University. A primary goal is to strengthen gender equality by increasing the proportion of women academics in attractive post-graduate positions and expanding target group-oriented personnel development measures for all junior researchers.

Bananastock _13 _1 1
© BananaStock Ltd

Support and services for early-career academics

For those who decide to pursue an academic career, it is crucial to carefully plan the next steps. The University of Münster is committed to helping you achieve your goals with support and services related to career planning and development, balancing professional and familial obligations, funding opportunities and grants, and programmes for women academics.

WWU careers
© WWU - Peter Leßmann

Appointment procedure and quality assurance

In order to attract highly qualified junior academics and to increase the number of women professors in particular, the University of Münster amended its appointment regulations in October 2018 with the addition of a "tenure track" procedure. At the same time, it introduced a centralised "Tenure Board" which shall act as the most important instrument in quality assurance. The Tenure Board is comprised of professors from the University's 15 faculties and draws on their extensive expertise in research, teaching and self-administration.

© WWU

Tenure track model

By introducing the tenure track model, the University Senate established a career path that offers early-career academics transparency and reliability. In addition to meeting cross-disciplinary academic standards, the model ensures a high procedural quality. This is institutionally anchored in concrete procedural processes and measures which will bring about a positive cultural transformation in the long term to the tenure-track career option at the University of Münster.

Colourbox6050437 Promotion Hut 2 1
© colourbox.de

Young Professors' Programme (YPP)

The Young Professors' Programme (YPP) is an accompanying, advanced training programme for highly-qualified junior academics which promotes individual career and personality development. The programme is based on a mentoring concept which further develops one's competence and strengthens potentials which improve one's career prospects in the long term. Thanks to its supportive, accompanying and voluntary character, the programme enhances the attractiveness and sustainability of the tenure-track career path at the University of Münster.

Tenure Track

Die WWU unterstützt konsequent die Situation des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses durch transparente und verlässliche Arbeitsbedingungen und Stärkung planbarer Karrierewege. Dazu etabliert sie die Einrichtung von Juniorprofessuren mit Tenure Track für junge exzellente Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler bei gleichzeitiger Berücksichtigung der unterschiedlichen Fachkulturen. Der WWU ist es ein besonderes Anliegen, die Chancengerechtigkeit durch die Erhöhung des Anteils von Frauen auf attraktiven Nachwuchsstellen zu stärken sowie zielgruppengerechte Personalentwicklungsmaßnahmen für alle Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftler auszubauen.

Bananastock _13 _1 1
© BananaStock Ltd

Unterstützung und Services für akademische Nachwuchskräfte

Wer sich für eine akademische Karriere entscheidet, muss die nächsten Schritte sorgfältig planen: Beratung und Services rund um die Themen Karriereplanung und -entwicklung, Vereinbarkeit von Beruf und Familie, Fördermöglichkeiten und Stipendien sowie Programme für Frauen sind der WWU ein zentrales Anliegen.

WWU Karriere
© WWU - Peter Leßmann

Berufungsverfahren und Qualitätssicherung

Zur Gewinnung hoch qualifizierter Nachwuchskräfte und insbesondere zur Erhöhung der Anzahl von Frauen auf Professuren wurde die bestehende Berufungsordnung der WWU im Oktober 2018 um eine Tenure-Track-Ordnung ergänzt. Gleichzeitig wurde das zentrale Tenure Board als wichtigstes Instrument der Qualitätssicherung eingeführt. Das Tenure Board setzt sich aus professoralen Mitgliedern der 15 Fachbereiche zusammen und verfügt über umfangreiche Erfahrungen in Forschung, Lehre und Selbstverwaltung.

© WWU

WWU-Tenure-Track-Modell

Mit dem Tenure-Track-Modell hat sich der Senat der WWU auf einen Karriereweg verständigt, der für den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs Transparenz und Verlässlichkeit schafft. Neben den fächerübergreifenden wissenschaftlichen Standards stellt das Modell eine hohe Verfahrensqualität sicher. Umgesetzt wird dies durch die institutionelle Verankerung konkreter Verfahrensprozesse und Maßnahmen, die langfristig zu einem positiven Kulturwandel gegenüber der Karriereoption Tenure Track an der WWU führt.

Colourbox6050437 Promotion Hut 2 1
© colourbox.de

Young Professors' Programme (YPP)

Das Young Professors' Programme ist ein Begleitungs- und Fortbildungsprogramm für hochqualifizierte Nachwuchskräfte und zielt auf eine individuelle Karriere- und Persönlichkeitsentwicklung ab. Dazu zählt ein Mentoring-Konzept, das Kompetenzen weiterentwickelt und Potenziale stärkt, um die berufliche Perspektive nachhaltig zu verbessern. Durch den unterstützenden und begleitenden sowie freiwilligen Charakter fördert das Programm die Attraktivität und Nachhaltigkeit des Karrierewegs Tenure Track an der WWU.