Are you new to Münster University?

The WWU IT offers numerous services that you need for your work and that make your everyday life at the university easier. To help you keep an overview, you will find everything you need to know about IT on this page for a good start at WWU. If you need background information on a topic, simply follow the corresponding links. If you have any questions, our hotline is there to help you.

© WWU IT - C. Burgholz

Start Assistent

When you log in to the IT portal for the first time, our start assistent is waiting for you to make the most important settings for central IT services of the WWU directly and in one go. This will take you about 10 minutes. The start assistant covers the following topics: passwords, 2-factor authentication with mTAN, e-mail, cloud storage "sciebo" and our printing service.

WWU ID

Each employee receives a WWU ID when they start work. Together with the WWU password, it serves to identify the user. The WWU ID cannot be changed and remains valid until the end of your employment. It is required for almost all WWU services – from checking emails to accessing PC workstations.

Rights & User Groups

Membership in a user group gives your WWU ID the rights associated with the user group. These include, for example, access rights to software, data, systems or mail distribution lists. There are user groups for individual departments, institutes or working groups, among others. You can find an overview of your memberships in the IT portal under "WWU ID and Group Memberships". Here you can also apply for group memberships.

© WWU IT - C. Burgholz

E-Mail & Groupware

Important e-mails from the university are sent to your WWU e-mail address: userID@uni-muenster.de. You should personalise your address with an e-mail alias (e.g. firstname.lastname@uni-muenster.de). For easy and secure management of your e-mails, appointments and tasks, you can use the groupware solution Exchange. You can retrieve your e-mails via Outlook.

© WWU IT - C. Burgholz

Internet

You can access the internet and the WWU university network via LAN and WLAN. The advantages of the LAN are higher stability and speed as well as extended security functions. Your devices must be registered to use the LAN; your IVV will support you in this. The WWU WLAN is available in most university buildings. You only need to set a network access password in the IT portal. As part of the eduroam project, you can also use the WLAN at many other national and international universities and research institutions.

© WWU IT - C. Burgholz

Telephony

Flexible options are available for the use of your telephone, among other things by means of Unified Communication (UC). The UC web client and the OpenScape Mobile App give you worldwide access at any time. Other features include webphone, call forwarding, voicemail, call journal, phonebook, fax and SMS. You can also apply for a business mobile phone if your institution confirms the official need.

Software

Microsoft Office 365 is available to you free of charge after registering via the IT portal as long as you are an employee of the WWU. The package includes Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Outlook and OneNote among others. Various other software (e.g. VPN client, Sophos Anti-Virus and department-specific programmes such as Matlab, SPSS or Statistica) can also be purchased free of charge or at favourable prices. For installation and if you need department-specific software, please contact your IVV.

Hardware

You will be provided with the basic hardware when you start work. If you have any additional requirements, please contact your IVV if you are an employee of one of the departments; if you are an employee of the administration, please contact our Service Desk.

© WWU IT - C. Burgholz

Communication Tools

In addition to telephony and e-mail, we also offer various other communication services such as the chat service Mattermost, the team wiki Confluence and various video conferencing tools.

Time Recording with ZEUS

At the WWU you have flexible working hours. Within a predefined working time frame, you are largely free to choose the start and end of your work. If your organisational unit participates in flexible working hours, you can record your working hours via the ZEUS time recording system. For this purpose, you will receive a transponder on your first working day, with which you can log in and out at the terminals at your place of work, or if there is no terminal, a corresponding virtual booking option. You can request time corrections, holidays and flex days via the ZEUS web service. Here you can also view your bookings at any time. Further information and instructions on flexible working time can be found in MyWWU.

SAP

In the self-service area of SAP, you can update your personal data, submit travel requests and apply for parking permits. As a teacher, you can use SAP SLcM to take advantage of a much wider range of functions for course and exam management within the framework of the student lifecycle management.

© WWU IT - C. Burgholz

Cloud Service "sciebo

Sciebo is a free cloud storage service for research, study and teaching. With sciebo you can synchronise files on different devices, share them with other users and edit them together. You can use up to 500 GB of storage space.

Home Office

The WWU offers various options for flexibly working in different locations. For this, some requirements must be met, as you need access to your work data and programmes and must be reachable by telephone. You can find out more details on our home office website. Some settings have to be made on site at your work PC, with the support of your IVV.

Digital Teaching

Due to the pandemic, many hybrid formats are used in teaching at the WWU in addition to online and face-to-face events. You can find information on room equipment and hardware that can be booked on our website on hybrid teaching formats. In addition, we have compiled an overview of tools for hybrid teaching formats for you.

© WWU IT - C. Burgholz

IT Security

Information on current security topics and recommendations on IT security can be found on the pages of the IT Security Team. For increased security (e.g. when sending e-mails), you can obtain digital IDs (certificates) from the certification authority.

© WWU IT - C. Burgholz

Contact Persons

If you still have questions about our services, please contact our IT hotline. Your IVV is responsible for IT support in your department and will assist you with questions about your workstation PC or department-specific software. As an employee of the administration, our Service Desk is your first point of contact.

Sie sind neu an der WWU?

Die WWU IT bietet Ihnen zahlreiche Services, die Sie für Ihre Arbeit benötigen und die Ihnen den Alltag an der Universität erleichtern. Damit Sie den Überblick behalten, finden Sie auf dieser Seite alles Wichtige zur IT für einen guten Start an der WWU. Falls Sie Hintergrundinformationen zu einem Thema benötigen, folgen Sie einfach den entsprechenden Links. Bei Fragen steht Ihnen unsere Hotline zur Seite.

© WWU IT - C. Burgholz

Startassistent

Beim ersten Login im IT-Portal erwartet Sie unser Startassistent, mit dem Sie die wichtigsten Einstellungen für zentrale IT-Services der WWU direkt und in einem Zug vornehmen können. Sie benötigen hierfür ca. 10 Minuten. Der Startassistent umfasst folgende Themen: Passwörter, 2-Faktor-Authentifizierung mit mTAN, E-Mail, Cloudspeicher "sciebo" und Druckservice.

WWU-Kennung

Eine WWU-Kennung erhält jede*r Beschäftigte bei Dienstbeginn. Sie dient gemeinsam mit dem WWU-Passwort der Identifizierung der Nutzer*innen. Die WWU-Kennung kann deshalb nicht verändert werden und bleibt bis zum Dienstende gültig. Sie wird für fast alle Dienste der WWU benötigt – vom Abruf der E-Mails bis zum Zugriff auf PC-Arbeitsplätze.

Rechte & Nutzergruppen

Durch die Mitgliedschaft in einer Nutzergruppe erhält Ihre WWU-Kennung die mit der Nutzergruppe verbundenen Rechte. Diese umfassen z.B. Zugriffsrechte auf Software, Daten, Systeme oder Mail-Verteiler. Nutzergruppen gibt es u.a. für einzelne Fachbereiche, Institute oder Arbeitsgruppen. Eine Übersicht über Ihre Mitgliedschaften finden Sie im IT-Portal unter "WWU-Kennung und Gruppenmitgliedschaften". Hier können Sie auch Gruppenmitgliedschaften beantragen.

© WWU IT - C. Burgholz

E-Mail & Groupware

Wichtige E-Mails der Universität werden an Ihre WWU-E-Mail-Adresse gesendet: kennung@uni-muenster.de. Sie sollten Ihre Adresse mit einem E-Mail-Alias personalisieren (z. B. vorname.nachname@uni-muenster.de). Zur einfachen und sicheren Verwaltung Ihrer E-Mails, Termine und Aufgaben steht Ihnen die Groupware-Lösung Exchange zur Verfügung. Abrufen können Sie Ihre E-Mails über das Programm Outlook.

© WWU IT - C. Burgholz

Internet

Über LAN und WLAN erhalten Sie Zugang zum Internet und zum Universitätsnetz der WWU. Die Vorteile des LAN sind eine höhere Stabilität und Geschwindigkeit sowie erweiterte Sicherheitsfunktionen. Ihre Geräte müssen für Nutzung des LANs registriert sein; hierbei unterstützt Sie Ihre IVV. Das WLAN der WWU steht Ihnen in den meisten Unigebäuden zur Verfügung. Sie müssen für den Zugang im IT-Portal lediglich ein Netzzugangspasswort festlegen. Im Rahmen des eduroam-Projekts können Sie auch das WLAN an vielen anderen nationalen und internationalen Hochschulen und Forschungseinrichtungen verwenden.

© WWU IT - C. Burgholz

Telefonie

Für die Nutzung Ihres Telefons stehen Ihnen u.a. mittels Unified Communication (UC) flexible Optionen zur Verfügung. Durch den UC-Webclient und die OpenScape Mobile App haben Sie jederzeit weltweiten Zugriff. Weitere Funktionen sind u.a. Webphone, Rufumleitung, Voicemail, Anrufjournal, Telefonbuch, Fax und SMS. Außerdem können Sie ein Diensthandy beantragen, wenn Ihre Einrichtung die dienstliche Notwendigkeit bescheinigt.

Software

Microsoft Office 365 steht Ihnen nach der Anmeldung über das IT-Portal kostenlos zur Verfügung, solange Sie Beschäftigte*r der WWU sind. Das Paket beinhaltet unter anderem Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Outlook und OneNote. Diverse weitere Software (z.B. VPN-Client, Sophos Anti-Virus und fachspezifische Programme wie Matlab, SPSS oder Statistica) können Sie ebenfalls kostenlos oder zu günstigen Preisen erwerben. Für die Installation und falls Sie fachbereichspezifische Software benötigen, wenden Sie sich an Ihre IVV.

Hardware

Die grundlegende Hardward wird Ihnen bereits mit Arbeitsbeginn zur Verfügung gestellt. Falls Sie darüber hinaus Bedarfe haben, wenden Sie sich als Beschäftigte*r der Fachbereiche an Ihre zuständige IVV; als Mitarbeiter*in der Verwaltung kontaktieren Sie die unseren Service Desk.

© WWU IT - C. Burgholz

Kommunikationstools

Neben Telefonie und E-Mail bieten wir Ihnen auch diverse weitere Kommunikationsdienste  wie den Chatservice Mattermost, das Team-Wiki Confluence und verschiedene Videokonferenztools.

Zeiterfassung mit ZEUS

An der WWU haben Sie flexible Arbeitszeiten. Innerhalb eines vorgegebenen Arbeitszeitrahmens können Sie Arbeitsbeginn und -ende weitgehend frei wählen. Wenn Ihre Organisationseinheit an der flexiblen Arbeitszeit teilnimmt, können Sie Ihre Arbeitszeiten über das Zeiterfassungssystem ZEUS erfassen. Dazu erhalten Sie am ersten Arbeitstag einen Transponder, mit dem Sie sich an den Terminals an Ihrem Arbeitsort ein- und ausbuchen, bzw. falls kein Terminal vorhanden ist, eine entsprechende virtuelle Buchungsmöglichkeit. Zeikorrekturen, Urlaubs- und Gleittage können Sie über den ZEUS Webservice beantragen. Hier können Sie auch jederzeit Ihre Buchungen einsehen. Weitere Informationen und Anleitungen zur flexiblen Arbeitszeit finden Sie in MyWWU.

SAP

Im Self-Service-Bereich von SAP können Sie Ihre persönlichen Daten aktualisieren, Reiseanträge stellen und Parkplaketten beantragen. Als Lehrende*r können Sie mit  SAP SLcM einen deutlich größeren Funktionsumfang für das Lehrveranstaltungs- und Prüfungsmanagement im Rahmen des Student Lifecycle Managements nutzen.

© WWU IT - C. Burgholz

Cloudservice "sciebo"

Sciebo ist ein kostenloser Cloud-Speicher für Forschung, Studium und Lehre. Mit sciebo können Sie Dateien auf verschiedenen Endgeräten synchronisieren, mit anderen Nutzer*innen teilen und gemeinsam bearbeiten. Dabei stehen Ihnen bis zu 500 GB Speicher zur Verfügung.

Homeoffice

Die WWU bietet Ihnen verschiedene Möglichkeiten des örtlich flexiblen Arbeitens. Hierzu müssen einige Voraussetzungen erfüllt werden, denn Sie benötigen Zugriff auf Ihre dienstlichen Daten und Programme und müssen für andere telefonisch erreichbar sein. Genaueres erfahren Sie auf unserer Webseite zum Homeoffice. Einige Einstellungen müssen Sie vor Ort an Ihrem Dienst-PC vornehmen, wobei Sie Ihre IVV unterstützt.

Digitale Lehre

Durch die Pandemie werden an der WWU neben Online- und Präsenzveranstaltungen auch viele hybride Formate in der Lehre eingesetzt. Informationen zu Raumausstattungen und buchbaren Hardware finden Sie auf unserer Webseite zu hybriden Veranstaltungen. Darüber hinaus haben wir für Sie eine Übersicht über Tools für hybriden Lehrformate zusammengestellt.

© WWU IT - C. Burgholz

IT-Sicherheit

Informationen über aktuelle Sicherheitsthemen und Empfehlungen zur IT-Sicherheit erhalten Sie auf den Seiten des IT-Sicherheitsteams. Für eine erhöhte Sicherheit (z.B. beim E-Mail-Versand) erhalten Sie bei der Zertifizierungsstelle digitale IDs (Zertifikate).

© WWU IT - C. Burgholz

Ansprechpartner*innen

Sollten noch Fragen zu unseren Diensten offen sein, wenden Sie sich gerne an unsere IT-Hotline. Für den IT-Support in Ihrem Fachbereich ist Ihre IVV zuständig. Sie steht Ihnen bei Fragen zum Arbeitsplatz-PC oder zu fachspezifischer Software zur Seite. Als Beschäftigte*r der Verwaltung ist unser Service Desk Ihr erster Ansprechpartner.