Hybrid Teaching Formats

In the winter semester 2020/21, in addition to online courses and normal face-to-face courses, Münster University will also offer many hybrid formats in which some of the participants participate virtually via the Internet while the lecturers and the other participants are on site at Münster University. Since hybrid formats are technically demanding and have not yet been tested to any great extent, we would like to give you some tips on this below.

As a general rule, hybrid events are always a compromise from a technical point of view and are inferior to purely face-to-face or online events in terms of effort, discussion possibilities between the participants, acoustic and visual comprehensibility, recording possibilities, etc. However, they are always suitable if a course is to take place explicitly in presence, but you also want to enable students who cannot attend in person to participate.

  • Seminar/Seminar Room

    All seminar rooms are equipped with a media system that transmits the presentation slides from a connected laptop to the video projector. In order to make the event accessible to external participants, a WWUzoom session must be opened, into which the online participants dial in. In order to transmit the lecturer's image and sound, ideally a USB room microphone should be used in addition to the laptop's camera, which can also capture the participants' statements on site. Alternatively, a headset can be used. In this case, however, the lecturer will have to repeat the requests of the participants on site for the online participants.

    If slides are to be shown, they can be transmitted via the "screen sharing function" of WWUzoom.

    If things in the room (e.g. blackboard notes, experiments, people in the room) are to be shown, a USB camera with tripod is also required.

    © WWU IT
  • Lecture/Lecture Hall

    All lecture halls are equipped with a media system that transmits the presentation slides from a connected laptop to the video projector. In order to make the event accessible to external participants, a WWUzoom session must be opened, into which the online participants dial in. The camera of the laptop is used to transmit the image of the lecturer. For the sound transmission it is necessary to connect the wireless microphones in the room to the laptop via USB. In this scenario, interaction between online participants and students present on site is not possible, as it is strongly discouraged to pass on the wireless microphones for reasons of hygiene. For the sake of simplicity, we recommend that lecturers repeat statements and questions from the audience for the online participants.

    If slides are to be shown, they can be transmitted via the "screen sharing function" of WWUzoom.

    If things in the room (e.g. blackboard notes, experiments, people in the room) are to be shown, a USB camera with tripod is also required.

    © WWU IT
  • Room Equipment & Bookable Hardware

    All seminar rooms and lecture halls are equipped with media control systems, video projectors and loudspeakers, lecture halls also with radio microphones. A few seminar rooms are equipped with ceiling microphones and camera systems. Some lecture halls are already equipped with audio signal converters (microphone sound -> USB) for sound transmission of the radio microphones in the room via USB. An overview of the rooms with the equipment mentioned as well as instructions for using the media technology can be found in the list of equipped rooms.

    can be found in the list of equipped rooms.

    USB cameras can be borrowed from WWU IT via the online rental form (media technology) [de]. If you wish to purchase such equipment yourself via your IVV, product recommendations are listed here:

    • USB PTZ camera: Logitech PTZ Pro 2
    • 5m USB extension cable: Logilink UA001A USB 2.0 cable
    • Camera tripod: Hama Star 62 tripod
    • Bluetooth Headset with BT Stick: Sennheiser MB Pro 1
    • Bluetooth Headset with BT Stick: Jabra Evolve 65 UC Mono
    • Wired headset via USB: Sennheiser PC7
    • Wired conference microphone via USB: Jabra Speak 510
    • Wired conference microphone via USB: Jabra Speak 710

Hybride Veranstaltungen

Im Wintersemester 2020/21 wird es an der WWU neben reinen Onlineveranstaltungen und normalen Präsenzveranstaltungen auch viele hybride Formate geben, bei denen ein Teil der Teilnehmer*innen über das Internet virtuell teilnimmt, während sich die Dozent*innen und die übrigen Teilnehmer*innen vor Ort an der WWU befinden. Da hybride Formate technisch anspruchsvoll sind und bisher nur wenig erprobt werden konnten, möchten wir Ihnen im Folgenden einige Hinweise dazu geben.

Grundsätzlich gilt, dass hybride Veranstaltungen aus technischer Sicht immer ein Kompromiss sind und im Hinblick auf Aufwand, Diskussionsmöglichkeiten zwischen den Teilnehmer*innen, akustischer und optischer Verständlichkeit, Aufzeichnungsmöglichkeiten usw. reinen Präsenz- oder Onlineveranstaltungen unterlegen sind. Sie eignen sich aber immer dann, wenn eine Veranstaltung explizit in Präsenz stattfinden soll, Sie aber zusätzlich auch Studierenden die Teilnahme ermöglichen wollen, die nicht persönlich anwesend sein können.

  • Seminar/Seminarraum

    Alle Seminarräume sind mit einer Medienanlage ausgestattet, die die Präsentationsfolien von einem angeschlossenen Laptop an den Videoprojektor überträgt. Um die Veranstaltung externen Teilnehmer*innen zugänglich zu machen, muss zusätzlich eine WWUzoom-Session eröffnet werden, in die sich die Onlineteilnehmer*innen einwählen. Um Bild und Ton des Dozenten bzw. der Dozentin zu übermitteln, sollte idealerweise zusätzlich zur Kamera des Laptops ein USB-Raummikrofon verwendet werden, das auch Wortmeldungen der Teilnehmer*innen vor Ort einfangen kann. Alternativ kann ein Headset benutzt werden. Dann müssen Wortmeldungen der Teilnehmer*innen vor Ort allerdings von dem Dozenten bzw. der Dozentin für die Onlineteilnehmer*innen wiederholt werden.

    Sollen Folien gezeigt werden, können diese über die "Bildschirm freigeben-Funktion" von WWUzoom übermittelt werden.

    Falls Dinge im Raum gezeigt werden sollen (z.B. Tafelmitschrift, Experiment, Personen im Raum) wird außerdem eine USB-Kamera mit Stativ benötigt.

    © WWU IT
  • Vorlesung/Hörsaal

    Alle Hörsäle sind mit einer Medienanlage ausgestattet, die die Präsentationsfolien von einem angeschlossenen Laptop an den Videoprojektor überträgt. Für die Onlineteilnehmer*innen muss zusätzlich eine WWUzoom-Session eröffnet werden, in die diese sich einwählen. Zur Übertragung des Bildes des Dozenten bzw. der Dozentin wird die Kamera des Laptops genutzt. Für die Tonübertragung ist es erforderlich, die im Raum vorhandenen Funkmikrofone mittels USB an den Laptop anzuschließen. Eine Interaktion zwischen Onlineteilnehmer*innen und vor Ort anwesenden Studierenden ist in diesem Szenario nicht möglich, da vom Weitergeben der Funkmikrofone aus Hygienegründen dringend abgeraten wird. Der Einfachheit halber empfehlen wir, dass die Dozent*innen Wortbeiträge und Fragen aus dem Publikum für die Onlineteilnehmer*innen wiederholen.

    Sollen Folien gezeigt werden, können diese über die "Bildschirm freigeben-Funktion" von WWUzoom übermittelt werden.

    Falls Dinge im Raum gezeigt werden sollen (z.B. Tafelmitschrift, Experiment, Personen im Raum) wird außerdem eine USB-Kamera mit Stativ benötigt.

    © WWU IT
  • Raumausstattung & buchbare Hardware

    Alle Seminarräume und Hörsäle sind mit Mediensteuerungsanlage, Videoprojektor und Lautsprechern ausgestattet, Hörsäle auch mit Funkmikrofonen. Einige wenige Seminarräume verfügen bereits über Deckenmikrofone. Einige Hörsäle verfügen bereits über Audiosignal-Umwandler (Mikrofonton -> USB) für die Tonübertragung der im Raum vorhandenen Funkmikrofone mittels USB. Eine Übersicht über die ausgestatteten Räume sowie Anleitungen für die Nutzung der Medientechnik in den jeweiligen Räumen finden Sie in der Liste der Räume mit Deckenmikrofon bzw. USB-Audiointerface.

    USB-Kameras können bei Bedarf bei der WWU IT über das Online-Ausleihformular (Medientechnik) ausgeliehen werden. Falls Sie selbst entsprechende Geräte über Ihre IVV anschaffen wollen, finden sind hier Produktempfehlungen aufgelistet:

    • USB-PTZ Kamera: Logitech PTZ Pro 2
    • 5m USB-Verlängerungskabel: Logilink UA001A USB 2.0 Kabel
    • Kamera-Stativ: Hama Star 62 Dreibeinstativ
    • Bluetooth Headset mit BT-Stick: Sennheiser MB Pro 1
    • Bluetooth Headset mit BT-Stick: Jabra Evolve 65 UC Mono
    • Kabelgebundenes Headset über USB: Sennheiser PC7
    • Kabelgebundenes Konferenzmikrofon über USB: Jabra Speak 510
    • Kabelgebundenes Konferenzmikrofon über USB: Jabra Speak 710