Master of Education (MEd)

  • First-semester enrolment

    A prescribed number of study places are available in every restricted-admission subject. After deducting a certain quota of places for hardship cases and second-degree applicants, 80% of the study places are awarded based on the average grade in the respective subject, and 20% are allocated on the basis of waiting time. Waiting time corresponds to the number of semesters that have passed since you received your bachelor-level teaching degree and were not enrolled at a German university. The number of waiting semesters is calculated automatically based on the data provided in your application.

    On the grade ranking list, applicants with the same average grade are ranked further with regard to waiting time, whether they performed civil or military service and, in the case of a tie, the drawing of lots. On the waiting-time ranking list, applicants with the same number of waited semesters are ranked further based on their average grade, whether they performed civil or military service and, in the case of a tie, the drawing of lots. All candidates who apply for enrolment in restricted-admission subjects are ranked on the basis of both their average grade and their waiting time.

    If you are granted admission, you must formally accept the study place offered to you via the Info Portal by the date indicated in your letter of admission. For enrolment in the Master of Education (MEd) programme, you will need approval for all of the subjects offered in the programme (MEd G: 4, MEd HRSGe/GymGe/BK: 3). If your application is turned down, you must register to participate in the succession procedure (Nachrückverfahren) within the period indicated on the Info Portal. We will inform you by email when you should register for the succession procedure after the main admission process is concluded. Study places, which are not accepted, are regularly granted to those on the waiting list.

  • Higher semester enrolment

    Candidates who apply for enrolment in restricted-admission subjects at a higher semester are only granted admission if study places are available. When students drop out of university, their study places are not automatically reassigned. Allocation can only take place if the total number of available study places (for first-time applicants and higher-semester students) does not exceed the prescribed capacity of the degree programme in question.

    If (a few) higher-semester study places happen to become available, these are allocated in the following order:

    1. Students who were previously admitted to the same degree programme (equivalent subject and degree name) at the University of Münster, received credit for degree-relevant coursework in the degree programme and have now been placed at a higher semester
    2. Applicants who have taken a placement test
    3. Students who have moved to Münster and were enrolled in the same degree programme (equivalent subject and degree name) at a university in Germany. If selection falls between several candidates in this group, social criteria are taken into account.
    4. Students who have changed degree programmes (lateral entrants). If selection falls between several candidates in this group, admission is granted in the following order:

    • Students who have already completed a different degree programme at a German university

    • Students enrolled in a restricted-admission degree programme/subject in the first semester

    • Students enrolled in a restricted-admission degree programme/subject at a higher semester

Master of Education (MEd)

  • 1. Fachsemester

    Für jedes zulassungsbeschränkte Studienfach gibt es eine festgelegte Anzahl von Studienplätzen. Nach Abzug von bestimmten Quoten wie für Härtefälle und Zweitstudium werden 80 % der Studienplätze nach Durchschnittsnote des jeweiligen Fachs und 20 % nach Wartezeit vergeben. Als Wartezeit werden alle Semester nach Erwerb des lehramtsfähigen Bachelor-Abschlusses anerkannt, in denen Sie nicht an einer deutschen Hochschule eingeschrieben waren. Die Wartesemester werden durch Ihre Angaben nach der Bewerbung automatisch vom System berechnet.

    Auf der Rangliste nach Durchschnittsnote entscheiden bei gleicher Durchschnittsnote als nachrangiges Kriterium die Anzahl der Wartesemester, danach ein geleisteter Dienst und danach das Los über den exakten Rangplatz. Auf der Rangliste nach Wartezeit entscheiden bei gleichen Wartesemestern nachrangig die Durchschnittsnote, danach ein geleisteter Dienst und danach das Los über den exakten Rangplatz. Sie nehmen für jedes beantragte zulassungsbeschränkte Studienfach sowohl auf der Rangliste nach Durchschnittsnote als auch nach Wartezeit am Vergabeverfahren teil.

    Erhalten Sie eine Zulassung müssen Sie diese in der im Zulassungsbescheid genannten Frist im Infoportal annehmen. Für die Einschreibung in den MEd benötigen Sie für alle Fächer eines Studienganges eine Zulassung (MEd G: 4, MEd HRSGe/GymGe/BK: 3). Wenn Sie nicht zugelassen wurden, müssen Sie sich für die Teilnahme am Nachrückverfahren in der hierfür vorgesehenen Frist im Infoportal anmelden. Die Frist für die Anmeldung zum Nachrückverfahren wird Ihnen nach Durchführung des Hauptverfahrens per E-Mail mitgeteilt. Sollten Zulassungen nicht angenommen werden, werden frei gebliebene Plätze regelmäßig nachbesetzt.

  • Höheres Fachsemester

    In zulassungsbeschränkten höheren Fachsemestern können Studienplätze nur vergeben werden, sofern freie Kapazitäten vorhanden sind. Nicht jeder Studienplatz eines Studienabbrechers/einer Studienabbrecherin wird nachbesetzt. Eine Vergabe erfolgt erst, wenn die Anzahl der im beantragten Fachsemester als auch der insgesamt in den höheren Fachsemestern eines Studiengangs eingeschriebenen Studierenden die festgesetzte Studienplatzkapazität unterschreitet.

    Sollten in den höheren Fachsemestern eines Studiengangs einige (wenige) Studienplätze vorhanden sein, würden diese Studienplätze in folgender Reihenfolge vergeben werden:

    1. Studierende, die bereits an der WWU für das 1. Fachsemester im Hauptverfahren im selben Studiengang (übereinstimmende Fach- und Abschlussbezeichnung) zugelassen wurden, anrechenbare Leistungen für diesen Studiengang erbracht haben und hochgestuft wurden.
    2. Bewerber/-innen, die eine Einstufungsprüfung abgelegt haben.
    3. Studienortwechsler/-innen, die bereits im selben Studiengang (übereinstimmende Fach- und Abschlussbezeichnung) an einer Hochschule innerhalb Deutschlands eingeschrieben sind. Muss innerhalb dieser Gruppe eine Auswahl getroffen werden, werden Sozialkriterien berücksichtigt.
    4. Studiengangwechsler/-innen (Quereinsteiger/-innen). Muss innerhalb dieser Gruppe eine Auswahl getroffen werden, wird derjenige/diejenige nachrangig zugelassen, der/die:
      • bereits ein Studium in einem anderen Studiengang an einer deutschen Hochschule abgeschlossen hat,
      • in einem zulassungsbeschränkten Studiengang/-fach im 1. Fachsemester eingeschrieben ist, oder
      • in einem zulassungsbeschränkten Studiengang/-fach in einem höheren Fachsemester eingeschrieben ist.