Physics lecture hall
© WWU/Fachbereich Physik

Studying at the Department of Physics

The Department of Physics at the University of Münster has approximately 1,300 students of physics and geophysics (including those in physics education), plus about 200 PhD students. It has long been one of the large physics departments in Germany. Due to its size, the department is able to cover a broad range of subjects in both research and teaching, with programs for both undergraduates and postgraduates offering many possibilities for specialization, depending on students’ interests.

In addition, the department offers teaching services for students of other departments such as chemistry, biology, earth science, computer science, mathematics, medicine, pharmacy and other subjects.

Despite the large number of students (for a physics department at least), the department places great value on intensive and personal study guidance. Theoretical and laboratory assignments are carried out in small study groups, offering many opportunities for in-depth discussion both between the students themselves and with their supervisors.

About 30 professors and 70 scientists are engaged in the teaching at the department. About the same number of researchers is financed by external research funds offering students exciting insights on an internationally acknowledged level in all research areas of the department.

Bachelor‘s and Master‘s Courses

All study programs in the department are structures as consecutive Bachelor’s/Master’s courses. In the Bachelor’s course, which is planned for a duration of 3 years (6 semesters), the students acquire primarily a broad fundamental knowledge in the respective subject. However, it also provides a first professional qualification. The Master’s course, planned for 2 years (4 semesters), is then devoted to a specialization towards the chosen professional perspective. In particular during the research phase, which comprises also the delivery of the Master’s thesis, the study program in the Master’s course reaches the current state of research.

The degree programs offered by the department of physics can be separated into scientifically oriented courses, in which a single subject is studied, and in courses which are primarily devoted to the education of prospective physics teachers. In the latter case (at least) two subjects complemented by elements of educational sciences are studied. The scientifically oriented courses comprise the Bachelor of Science (BSc) and Master of Science (MSc) in Physics as well as the Bachelor of Science (BSc) and Master of Science (MSc) in Geophysics. Courses for the teaching profession are offered for the German school types Gymnasium and Gesamtschule as well as Berufskolleg (GymGe, BK), Haupt-, Real-, Sekundar- und Gesamtschule (HRSGe) as well as Grundschule (G). In all cases the study program consists of a Bachelor’s Course followed by a Master of Education course.

The quality of all study courses is based on a long and successful teaching tradition at the WWU, as well as on constant examination and evaluation. Of course, all study courses at the department are accredited.

Information on the Degree Programs

  • If you want to become a physicist or geophysicist:
    For new students two Bachelors’s degree programs, Physics and Geophysics (both in German), are offered. The Bachelor’s course in physics can also be completed in a practice-oriented branch of study called “Scientific Instrumentation”. The decision for this option has to be taken in the third year of study. The Master’s courses in Physics (in English) or Geophysics (in German) build on the respective Bachelor’s courses to attain a complete academic education. The Master’s course in Physics can also be studied within the double degree program in cooperation with the University of Seville (Spain).
  • If you want to become a teacher:
    Also the study programs for the teaching profession are structured in consecutive Bachelor’s and Master’s courses. For the different school types we offer:

General Information

Are you a student thinking about studying physics in Münster? Then you should check the following link „Physikstudium – die Seite für Schülerinnen und Schüler“ (in German). There you will find valuable information about studying physics.

To facilitate the entry into the study programs, each year towards the end of September a Preparatory Course in Physics is offered, in which the subjects of the high school curriculum relevant for the study programs in physics are recapitulated. The course is complemented by an analogous Preparatory Course in Mathematics offered by the mathematics department.

Guidance on general questions of studying is offered by the Zentrale Studienberatung of the University of Münster. Persons responsible for specific questions related to the study programs in the physics department and the various course programs can be found on the web page Study Guidance.

Information related to a study program abroad you will find on the pages of the Erasmus-program. Questions can be addressed to the Erasmus coordinator of the department.

An extensive seminar program, information and support related to the professional orientation and vocational preparation is offered by the Career Service of the University of Münster.

Physik-Hörsaal
© WWU/Fachbereich Physik

Studium im Fachbereich Physik

Der Fachbereich Physik der Universität Münster hat etwa 1.300 Studierende in den Fächern Physik und Geophysik einschließlich Lehramt, sowie etwa 200 Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden. Er zählt damit seit Jahren zu den großen Physik-Fachbereichen in Deutschland. Durch seine Größe ist er in der Lage, ein breites Themenspektrum sowohl in der Forschung als auch in der Lehre abzudecken. Entsprechend breit gefächert sind auch die Angebote für Bachelor-, Master- und Doktorarbeiten, so dass sich je nach Interesse viele Möglichkeiten der Spezialisierung bieten.

Der Fachbereich erbringt außerdem umfangreiche Lehrleistungen für Studierende der Chemie, Biowissenschaften, Geowissenschaften, Informatik, Mathematik, Medizin, Pharmazie und anderer Fächer.

Trotz der für einen Physik-Fachbereich großen Zahl von Studierenden legt der Fachbereich großen Wert auf eine intensive und persönliche Betreuung während des Studiums. Die theoretischen Übungen und experimentellen Praktika werden in kleinen Gruppen durchgeführt, in denen vielerlei Gelegenheiten zu ausführlichen Diskussionen sowohl der Studierenden untereinander als auch mit den Betreuerinnen und Betreuern bestehen.

Etwa 30 Professuren und 70 weitere Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler engagieren sich im Fachbereich für die Lehre. Etwa noch einmal so viele Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler werden durch externe Forschungsgelder finanziert und bieten den Studierenden aufregende Einblicke und Physik „zum Anfassen“ auf international anerkanntem Niveau in allen Forschungsgebieten des Fachbereichs.

Bachelor- und Master-Studiengänge

Alle Studiengänge im Fachbereich sind als konsekutive Bachelor-/Master-Studiengänge konzipiert. Im Bachelorstudium, das auf eine Dauer von drei Jahren (6 Semester) angelegt ist, erwerben die Studierenden in erster Linie eine breite Grundlagenausbildung im jeweiligen Fach. Es bietet aber auch einen ersten berufsqualifizierenden Abschluss. Im zweijährigen Masterstudium folgt dann die Vertiefung im Hinblick auf die gewählte Berufsperspektive. Das Masterstudium führt insbesondere in der Forschungsphase, in der auch die Masterarbeit angefertigt wird, bis an den aktuellen Stand der Forschung heran.

Die im Fachbereich Physik angebotenen Studiengänge unterteilen sich in die so genannten fachwissenschaftlichen Studiengänge, in denen jeweils ein Fach studiert wird, und in Studiengänge, die in erster Linie auf das Lehramt vorbereiten, in denen jeweils (mindestens) zwei Fächer sowie Elemente der Bildungswissenschaften studiert werden. Als fachwissenschaftliche Studiengänge werden angeboten: Bachelor of Science (BSc) und Master of Science (MSc) in Physik sowie Bachelor of Science (BSc) und Master of Science (MSc) in Geophysik. Lehramtsstudiengänge werden angeboten für die Schultypen Gymnasien und Gesamtschulen bzw. Berufskollegs (GymGe, BK), Haupt-, Real-, Sekundarschulen und die entsprechenden Jahrgangsstufen der Gesamtschulen (HRSGe) sowie Grundschulen (G). In allen Fällen besteht das Studium aus einem Bachelor-Studiengang und dem entsprechenden Master of Education (MEd) Studiengang.

Die Qualität aller Studiengänge beruht auf langer und erfolgreicher Lehrtradition an der WWU, aber auch auf regelmäßiger Überprüfung und Evaluation. Selbstverständlich sind alle Studiengänge des Fachbereichs akkreditiert.

Informationen zum Studium und zu den Studiengängen

  • Wenn Sie Physiker/in oder Geophysiker/in werden möchten:
    Wir bieten für Studienanfänger/innen die Bachelor-Studiengänge Physik und Geophysik an. Der Bachelor-Studiengang Physik wird auch mit der praxisorientierten Studienrichtung „Scientific Instrumentation“ angeboten. Die Entscheidung für diese Variante muss erst im dritten Studienjahr getroffen werden. Auf diesen beiden Studiengängen bauen die entsprechenden Master-Studiengänge in Physik oder Geophysik zur Erlangung einer vollständigen wissenschaftlichen Ausbildung auf. Den Master of Science in Physik kann man auch als Doppelabschluss mit der Universität Sevilla erwerben.

Allgemeine Informationen zum Studium

Sie sind Schülerin oder Schüler und überlegen sich, Physik in Münster zu studieren? Dann sollten Sie einmal dem nachfolgenden Link auf unserer Seite „Physikstudium – die Seite für Schülerinnen und Schüler“ folgen. Dort finden Sie viel Wissenswertes über das Physikstudium.

Um den Einstieg in das Studium zu erleichtern, findet jeweils Ende September ein Studienvorkurs Physik statt, in dem der für den Einstieg in das Physikstudium notwendige Stoff der gymnasialen Oberstufe wiederholt wird. Die Termine sind mit dem Studienvorkurs Mathematik abgestimmt.

Beratung zu allgemeinen Fragen des Studiums bietet die Zentralen Studienberatung der WWU. Ansprechpartner zu Fragen speziell zum Physikstudium und den verschiedenen Studiengängen finden sich auf der Seite Studienberatung Physik.

Informationen zu einem Auslandsstudium finden Sie auf den Seiten zum Erasmus-Programm. Ansprechpartner ist der Erasmus-Koordinator des Fachbereichs.

Ein umfangreiches Seminar-, Informations- und Beratungsangebot zu Fragen der beruflichen Orientierung und Berufsvorbereitung hält der Career Service der WWU bereit.