Bachelor of Science in Physics

The three-year-long Bachelor’s study course provides a general education in physics forming the basis for scientific work. In addition to the obligatory basic education in mathematics, another minor subject is studied in the module “Interdisciplinary Studies”. It can be chosen from a broad variety of subjects. After the successful completion of the study course the academic grade Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.) in Physics or, depending on the choice of modules (see below), Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.) in Physics with Specialization Scientific Instrumentation is awarded. Besides providing a first professional qualification, both Bachelor courses form the basis for further scientific education in various Master’s courses.

The following graphic depicts the general structure of the study course:

Modules for the Bachelor of Science in Physics

Semester

1 (WS) Physics I
14 CP (OM)
Fundamental
Mathematics
16 CP (OM)
Interdisciplinary
Studies
18 CP (EM)
2 (SS) Physics II
14 CP (OM)
3 (WS) Physics III
14 CP (OM)
Laboratory
Course I
13 CP (OM)
Integration Theory
8 CP (OM)
4 (SS) Atomic and
Quantum Physics
10 CP (OM)
Computational
Physics
9 CP (OM)
Measuring Technology
and Signal Processing
8 CP (OM)
5 (WS) Structure of
Matter
14 CP (OM)
Laboratory
Course II
13 CP (OM)
Quantum Theory and
Statistical Physics
or
Scientific Instrumentation
16 CP (EM)
6 (SS) Bachelor’s Thesis
13 CP (EM)
OM: obligatory module
WS: winter semester
EM: elective module
SS: summer semester

Contents of the Modules:

  • Physics I-III
  • These modules provide an overview of the various topics of classical physics, starting with the mechanics of particles and systems of particles, thermodynamics, electromagnetism, electrodynamics and optics up to a first glance at the limits of classical physics and the appearance of quantum effects. Theoretical complements to Physics II and III are dedicated to the fields of analytical mechanics and special relativity. The modules Physics I-III as well as the module Atomic and Quantum Physics are taught in Münster as integrated courses by two lecturers, one coming from experimental physics and the other from theoretical physics, in order to emphasize from the beginning of the studies the strong interplay between theory and experiment.
  • Fundamental Mathematics and Integration Theory
    As a quantitative science, physics relies on expressing physical laws in terms of mathematical formulas. These modules, which are taught by lecturers from the mathematics department, cover the physics-relevant fundamentals of analysis and linear algebra.
  • Atomic and Quantum Physics
    The (failing) attempts to understand the inner structure of atoms at the beginning of the 20th century highlighted the limits of classical physics. As a consequence, quantum mechanics emerged as the relevant theory to describe nature at the microscopic scale. This module provides insight into the structure of atoms and an introduction to quantum mechanics.
  • Structure of Matter
    This module introduces the physical basis of the structure of matter, ranging from the subatomic scale of nuclei and elementary particles to solids consisting of many atoms up to cosmic time and length scales of astrophysics and cosmology.
  • Computational Physics
    Computers have become an indispensable tool in physical research, being used in the control and evaluation of experiments, the numerical solution of problems in theoretical physics and the simulation of complex physical systems and processes. This module starts with an introduction to scientific programming. In a second part, the focus can be placed either on the numerical solution of physical problems or on computer-based experiments.
  • Measuring Technology and Signal Processing
    The measurement of physical quantities and the processing of the resulting signals are at the heart of experimental work in physics. The electronic and opto-electronic components used for this purpose as well as the methods of analogue and digital signal processing are the contents of this module.
  • Laboratory Course I and II
    In physics, experiments play a key role. During this module, performing experiments using more and more complex equipment, the written presentation of results and their critical evaluation are trained.
  • Quantum Theory and Statistical Physics
    Concepts of theoretical physics are at the heart of this module. It expands the knowledge in quantum theory and it develops methods to describe systems composed of a large number of particles using statistical laws. If this module is chosen, after completing the study course the academic degree Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.) in Physics is awarded.
  • Scientific Instrumentation
    As an alternative to the theoretical module “Quantum Theory and Statistical Physics”, this module focusses on the practical application of modern experimental measurement techniques. Its primary intention is to provide a professional qualification for students who aim at leaving the University with the Bachelor’s degree, but it is possible to continue with a Master’s course in physics. If this module is chosen, after completing the study course the academic degree Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.) in Physics with Specialization Scientific Instrumentation is awarded.
  • Interdisciplinary Studies
    The study program in physics is complemented by interdisciplinary studies. The range of subjects offered in Münster is extraordinarily broad: It spans from the neighboring fields in science, mathematics and computer science to economics, business administration, psychology and philosophy. Upon request it is possible to create a self-assembled module in a specific field of interest.
  • Bachelor’s Thesis
    First experiences with independent scientific work are made in the course of the Bachelor’s project. Its results are summarized in a written thesis and presented in a talk.

More detailed module descriptions can be found in the Course Program of the BSc in Physics and in the appendix of the examination regulations of the Bachelor’s course in Physics (in German).

Further Information:

Bachelor of Science Physik

Der dreijährige Bachelor-Studiengang dient vornehmlich dem Erwerb einer breiten physikalischen Allgemeinbildung, die die Grundlage für wissenschaftliches Arbeiten bildet. Neben der obligatorischen Grundausbildung im Fach Mathematik wird in den „Fachübergreifenden Studien“ ein weiteres Nebenfach studiert, das aus einem breiten Spektrum von Fächern ausgewählt werden kann. Bei erfolgreichem Abschluss des Bachelor-Studiums werden die Grade Bachelor of Science (B. Sc.) Physik bzw. Bachelor of Science (B. Sc.) Physik mit Studienrichtung Scientific Instrumentation verliehen. Neben einem ersten berufsqualifizierenden Abschluss bilden die beiden Bachelor-Studiengänge die Grundlage für eine weitere wissenschaftliche Ausbildung in verschiedenen Masterstudiengängen.

Die folgende Grafik verdeutlicht den prinzipiellen Studienverlauf:

Module im Bachelor of Science Physik

Semester

1 (WS) Physik I
14 LP (PM)
Mathematische
Grundlagen
16 LP (PM)
Fachübergreifende
Studien
18 LP (WPM)
2 (SS) Physik II
14 LP (PM)
3 (WS) Physik III
14 LP (PM)
Experimentelle
Übungen I
13 LP (PM)
Integrationstheorie
8 LP (PM)
4 (SS) Atom- und
Quantenphysik
10 LP (PM)
Computational
Physics
9 LP (PM)
Messtechnik und
Signalverarbeitung
8 LP (PM)
5 (WS) Struktur der
Materie
14 LP (PM)
Experimentelle
Übungen II
13 LP (PM)
Quantentheorie und
Statistische Physik
oder
Physikalische Instrumente
und Messmethoden
16 LP (WPM)
6 (SS) Examensmodul
13 LP (WPM)
PM: Pflichtmodul WPM: Wahlpflichtmodul

Inhalte der Module:

  • Physik I–III
    Diese Module geben einen Überblick über die verschiedenen Gebiete der klassischen Physik, angefangen von der Mechanik von Teilchen und Teilchensystemen über die Thermodynamik, Elektromagnetismus, Elektrodynamik und Optik bis hin zu einem ersten Ausblick auf die Grenzen der klassischen Physik und das Auftreten von Quantenphänomenen. Ergänzungen zur Physik II und III sind der Analytischen Mechanik und der Speziellen Relativitätstheorie gewidmet. Die Module Physik I–III sowie Atom- und Quantenphysik werden in Münster integriert von jeweils einer Dozentin/einem Dozenten aus der Experimentalphysik und aus der Theoretischen Physik gehalten, um von Beginn des Studiums an die enge Verknüpfung von Theorie und Experiment zu betonen.
  • Grundlagen der Mathematik und Integrationstheorie
    Physik als eine quantitative Naturwissenschaft beruht auf der Formulierung physikalischer Gesetze in Form von mathematischen Formeln. Die Module vermitteln die für die Physik relevanten mathematischen Grundlagen aus den Bereichen Analysis und Lineare Algebra.
  • Atom- und Quantenphysik
    Die Versuche, den Aufbau der Atome zu verstehen, haben zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts die Grenzen der klassischen Physik aufgezeigt. Hieraus entstand die Quantenmechanik als die relevante Theorie zur Beschreibung der Natur auf einer mikroskopischen Skala. Das Modul liefert einen Einblick in den Aufbau der Atome und eine Einführung in die Quantenmechanik.
  • Struktur der Materie
    Das Modul vermittelt die physikalischen Grundlagen der Struktur der Materie vom subatomaren Bereich der Kerne und Elementarteilchen über den Bereich der aus vielen Atomen aufgebauten Festkörper bis hin zu den kosmischen Zeit- und Längenskalen der Astrophysik und Kosmologie.
  • Computational Physics
    Computer sind ein unerlässliches Werkzeug in der physikalischen Forschung von der Auswertung von Experimenten über die Anwendung physikalischer Theorien bis hin zur Simulation komplexer physikalischer Systeme und Vorgänge. Das Modul bietet zunächst eine Einführung in das wissenschaftliche Programmieren. Im zweiten Teil kann dann der Schwerpunkt entweder auf die numerische Lösung physikalischer Probleme oder auf das rechnergestützte Experimentieren gelegt werden.
  • Messtechnik und Signalverarbeitung
    Die Messung physikalischer Größen und die Verarbeitung der dabei anfallenden Signale bildet die Grundlage experimentellen Arbeitens in der Physik. Die hierbei verwendeten elektronischen und opto-elektronischen Bauelemente sowie die Verfahren der analogen und digitalen Signalverarbeitung bilden die Inhalte dieses Moduls.
  • Experimentelle Übungen I und II
    In der Physik als Naturwissenschaft spielt das Experiment eine zentrale Rolle. In diesen Modulen wird an zunehmend komplexeren Apparaturen die Durchführung von Experimenten, die schriftliche Darstellung der Ergebnisse und deren kritische Auswertung erlernt und eingeübt.
  • Quantentheorie und Statistische Physik (WPM)
    In diesem Modul wird die theoretische Physik im Bereich der Quantentheorie vertieft und es werden Methoden entwickelt, um Systeme, die aus sehr vielen Teilchen bestehen, mit Hilfe von statistischen Gesetzmäßigkeiten zu beschreiben. Bei Wahl dieses Moduls lautet der Abschluss „Bachelor of Science (B. Sc.) Physik“.
  • Physikalische Instrumente und Messmethoden (WPM)
    Alternativ zur Vertiefung in der theoretischen Physik stehen in diesem Modul die Anwendung moderner experimenteller Messmethoden im Vordergrund. Es dient in erster Linie der Berufsqualifizierung für Bachelor-Absolventen, es besteht aber unter bestimmten Auflagen auch die Möglichkeit, das Studium im Masterstudiengang Physik fortzusetzen. Wird dieses Modul gewählt, so lautet der Abschluss „Bachelor of Science (B. Sc.) Physik mit Studienrichtung Scientific Instrumentation“.
  • Fachübergreifende Studien
    Das Studium der Physik wird ergänzt durch fachübergreifende Studien. Das Angebot an möglichen Nebenfächern ist dabei in Münster außergewöhnlich breit: Es erstreckt sich von den benachbarten Naturwissenschaften, der Mathematik und der Informatik über die Wirtschaftswissenschaften bis hin zur Psychologie oder Philosophie. Auf Antrag sind auch weitere, selbst zusammengestellte Module möglich.
  • Examensmodul
    Im Rahmen der Bachelorarbeit werden erste Erfahrungen im selbständigen wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten gesammelt. Die Ergebnisse werden in einer Arbeit schriftlich zusammengefasst und in einem Vortrag präsentiert.

Detaillierte Modulbeschreibungen finden Sie als Anhang in der Prüfungsordnung des Bachelor-Studiengangs Physik.

Weitere Informationen: