The Student Council’s Teaching Prize

For outstanding teaching and extraordinary commitment

Background and general information

In the summer semester of 2013, the Student Council awarded the “Physics Student Council’s Teaching Prize” for the first time. Since then, the prize is given out on a yearly basis each summer semester. We consider both the previous winter semester and the ongoing summer semester. The award ceremony takes place in the framework of the General Physical Colloquium; ideally, the Student Council also invites a guest speaker for the occasion.

To obtain as good a data basis and comparability as possible, we restrict ourselves to lectures, i. e. seminars and lab courses (which also do not represent a distinct teaching performance by one teacher) are not considered. Moreover, the course regularly has to exhibit at least 15 (optional courses/master’s) or 30 (mandatory courses/bachelor’s) participants (course evaluation feedback forms). Further, we do not consider any courses from the teacher’s programs (Seminar für Didaktik des Sachunterrichts, Institut für die Didaktik der Physik, Institut für Technik und ihre Didaktik) and the geophysics programs, with the exception of introductory lectures which are also taken by physics students with geophysics as a minor subject. These courses have their own student councils or are not comparable in a sensible way.

We primarily use the results of the course evaluation (access restricted) as criteria. However, this is not a point-by-point comparison, but an overview evaluation and weighting which also includes the clear text answers. If there are any direct experiences, these can also be considered. A Teaching Prize Committee will make a proposal to the Student Council and have a decision made there.

The following courses will be considered this year

  • Basic lectures (bachelor’s in physics): Physik I–III, Theoretische Ergänzungen zu Physik II & III, Atom- und Molekülphysik, Einführung in die Quantenmechanik, Messtechnik und Signalverarbeitung, Quantentheorie, Statistische Physik, Kern- und Teilchenphysik, Physik der kondensierten Materie
  • Basic lectures in geophysics: Einführung in die Geophysik, Geophysikalische Grundlagen I, Geophysik für Fortgeschrittene III , Geophysikalische Grundlagen II
  • Course lectures (master’s in physics): Kern- und Teilchenphysik II, Materialphysik I, Festkörperphysik I (Einführung in die Festkörpertheorie), Theoretische Nichtlineare Physik I; Allgemeine Relativitätstheorie
  • Physics as a minor subject: Physik für Mediziner, Zahnmediziner, Pharmazeuten, Landschaftsökologen und Biologen; Physik für Humanmediziner, Zahnmediziner und Pharmazeuten; Physik A; Physik B

Crossed-out courses or optional courses which we have not considered due to low numbers of participants or evaluation feedback are regularly checked for inclusion in the list in the coming years.

Laureates and laudations

  • Laureate 2016: Prof. Dr. Nikos Doltsinis

    The Physics Student Council has awarded the annual “Physics Student Council’s Teaching Prize” on in the General Physical Colloquium (HS 2). This year’s laureate is Prof. Dr. Nikos Doltsinis with his lecture Introduction to Quantum Mechanics.

    Our guest speaker this year was Dr. Römer from the university Duisburg-Essen with a presentation on the “Magic of Magnetism”.

  • Laureate 2015: Prof. Dr. Michael Rohlfing

    Already for the third time, the Student Council has awarded the “Physics Student Council’s Teaching Prize”. The prize was given to Prof. Dr. Michael Rohlfing on 2015-07-16 starting at 16 o’clock in the General Physical Colloquium [de] (HS 2).

    As guest speaker for the prize this year, Dr. Katharina Krüger, patent referee and patent scout at the Arbeitsstelle Forschungstransfer (AFO) here at WWU Münster, was invited and spoke about the topic “Erfindungen und Patente aus der WWU” (“Inventions and patents from the WWU”).

  • Laureate 2014: Prof. Dr. Rudolf Bratschitsch

    The laureate of the year 2013/2014 [de] will be announced 2014-07-10 starting at 16 o’clock in the General Physical Colloquium and awarded with the Teaching Prize. The guest speaker, Prof. Michael Schreckenberg from the University of Duisburg-Essen, will provide the appropriate setting with his talk “Unser Leben im Stau – Neue Erkenntnisse der Verkehrsphysik” (“Our life in the traffic jam – New insights from traffic physics”).

  • Laureate 2013: Prof. Dr. Gernot Münster

    The laureate of the year 2012/2013 [de] will be announced 2013-07-18 starting at 16 o’clock in the General Physical Colloquium and awarded with the Teaching Prize. The guest speaker, Prof. Metin Tolan from TU Dortmund, will provide the appropriate setting with his talk “Titanic – Mit Physik in den Untergang” (“Titanc – Into doom with physics”) .