| | Teaching Prize and Special Prize
Teaching Prize and Special Prize

The Physics Student Council’s Teaching Prize und Special Prize: Laureate 2020

Prof. Dr. Carsten Schuck & Prof. Dr. Cornelia Denz
Prof. Dr. Cornelia Denz and Prof. Dr. Carsten Schuck (2nd and 4th f. l.) with Student Council members Jonas Lübken, Anna Niemann and Michael te Vrugt (f. l.)
© Fachschaftsrat Physik

The Student Council’s award went to Prof. Dr. Carsten Schuck this year, for the BSc lecture "Atomic and molecular physics" and the MSc lectures "Quantum communicartion and quantum sensors" and "Quantum computers and quantum simulators".

Since there are a lot of excellent lecturers at our department, the decision wasn't easy. The winning lecturer convinced us with outstanding evaluation results in a variety of different courses, including one basic and two advanced lectures.

In addition, there was a special prize this year: Prof. Dr. Cornelia Denz received an award in honour of her dedicated work in addition to teaching and research in the fields of gender equality, support of students from school, and career advancement.

Prof. Dr. Carsten Schuck is working at the Physical Institute of the WWU Münster in the field of quantum technology, in particular quantum optics and nanophotonics. Prof. Dr. Cornelia Denz is working at the Institute of Applied Physics of the WWU Münster in the field of nonlinear optics.

On the background: The Teaching Price has been awarded for the ninth time already. As every year, the award relies on the results of the course evaluation at the department. The Student Council has set criteria which a good lecture must satisfy. Among these are the lecturer’s ability to evoke the students’ interest and to convey the subject matter in a manner that is as inspiring and understandable as possible. Thus, it is important that the lecturer is well-prepared and appropriately responds to questions.

The comparison of lectures according to these criteria is done by the Teaching Prize committee, which consists of the Student Council’s chairman and two additional members: Anna Niemann, Jonas Lübken and Michael te Vrugt. However, only lectures with a minimum number of participants were considered in order to obtain a certain degree of comparability. With these criteria, almost all compulsory lectures and the introductory lectures for the specializations could be considered.

Further information on the Physics Student Council’s Teaching Prize