| | Teaching Prize
Teaching Prize

The Physics Student Council’s Teaching Prize: Laureate 2018

PD. Dr. Svetlana Gurevich
PD. Dr. Svetlana Gurevich (2nd f. l.) with Student Council members René Henke, Lukas Eschmann and Michael te Vrugt (f. l.)
© Fachschaft Physik

The Student Council’s award went to PD Dr. Svetlana Gurevich this year, for the lecture series "numerical methods for complex systems I", an introductory master lecture from the section of nonlinear physics.

Since there are a lot of excellent lecturers at our department, the decision wasn't easy. The winning lecture convinced us with evaluation results that are outstanding for a number of years. Like last year, a master lecture was awarded the prize.

Mrs PD Dr. Svetlana is a scientist at the institute for theoretical physics and is doing research on "self-organization and complexity" in the group of Prof. Thiele. Among her fields of research are nonlinear optics, pattern formation, time-delay-systems and further aspects of theoretical nonlinear physics.

On the background: The Teaching Price has been awarded for the fivth time already. As every year, the award relies on the results of the course evaluation at the department. The Student Council has set criteria which a good lecture must satisfy. Among these are the lecturer’s ability to evoke the students’ interest and to convey the subject matter in a manner that is as inspiring and understandable as possible. Thus, it is important that the lecturer is well-prepared and appropriately responds to questions.

The comparison of lectures according to these criteria is done by the Teaching Prize committee, which consists of the Student Council’s chairman and two additional members: Lukas Eschmann, René Henke and Michael te Vrugt. However, only lectures with a minimum number of participants were considered in order to obtain a certain degree of comparability. With these criteria, almost all compulsory lectures and the introductory lectures for the specializations could be considered.

Further information on the Physics Student Council’s Teaching Prize