Exchange

Language requirements and language courses

Studying in Germany is the perfect chance to improve your German language skills. Exchange students should keep in mind that most courses at German universities are taught in German. There are only a few lectures offered in English. So if you want to participate in your seminars and lectures as soon as you begin, you should get your German skills up to speed before arriving in Münster.

Another option is to participate in a language course during your first semester in Münster and then attend seminars and lectures starting in your second semester.

Language courses and language tandems

The Language Centre of the University of Münster offers a broad range of German language courses.
Visit the Language Centre website

  • Two-week intensive language course at the beginning of the semester
    The Language Centre offers an intensive German language course for ERASMUS students at the beginning of every semester. After you apply for  enrolment at the University of Münster, you will receive information about these language courses together with your notification of admission.
  • Language tandems
    The Language Centre organises so-called "language tandems" for German and international students. The idea is that German and foreign students meet up regularly to learn about each other's language and culture.
    Information and registration for a language tandem

Austausch

Sprachvoraussetzungen und Sprachkurse

Ein Studienaufenthalt in Deutschland ist eine gute Gelegenheit, seine Deutschkenntnisse zu verbessern. Austauschstudierende sollten bedenken, dass der Unterricht an deutschen Universitäten meistens auch in deutscher Sprache stattfindet. Nur wenige Vorlesungen werden in englischer Sprache gehalten. Wer also von Anfang an erfolgreich an Seminaren und Vorlesungen teilnehmen möchte, sollte sich schon vor dem Aufenthalt in Münster sprachlich gut vorbereiten.

Ein möglicher Weg ist auch, im ersten Semester in Münster zunächst einen Sprachkurs zu besuchen und im zweiten Semester dann mit den Seminaren und Vorlesungen zu beginnen.

Sprachkurse und Sprachtandem

Am Sprachenzentrum der Universität Münster gibt es eine breite Auswahl an Deutschkursen.
Zur Internetseite des Sprachenzentrums

  • Zweiwöchiger Intensivsprachkurs zu Semesterbeginn
    Das Sprachenzentrum der Universität Münster bietet am Anfang jedes Semesters einen Intensiv-Deutschkurs für ERASMUS-Studierende an. Informationen zu den Sprachkursen bekommen Austauschstudierende nach der Bewerbung zusammen mit dem Zulassungsbescheid zugeschickt.
  • Semester begleitende Kurse
    Das Sprachenzentrum bietet auch zahlreiche Kurse an, die innerhalb des Semesters stattfinden.
    Übersicht über die Semester begleitenden Kurse
  • Sprachtandem
    Das Sprachenzentrum der Universität Münster organisiert auch ein sogenanntes Sprachtandem für deutsche und internationale Studierende. Das Prinzip ist, dass sich deutsche und internationale Studierende regelmäßig treffen, um voneinander zu lernen.
    Infos und Anmeldung für das Sprachtandem