Universitätsgesellschaft Münster e. V.

The Universitätsgesellschaft Münster e. V. annually honours outstanding young scientists with a sponsorship award - here the award ceremony 2019.
© UG - Peter Grewer

The Universitätsgesellschaft Münster e.V. (Friends of Münster University, formerly the Gesellschaft zur Förderung der Westfälischen Wilhelms-Universität zu Münster e. V.) has been an integral part of the University since 1918. The non-profit organisation supports projects for which public funding is unavailable or insufficient.

Ten foundations with assets totalling 2.6 million euros and four prestigious research advancement awards provide individual grants to students, teaching staff and academic personnel. In addition to two endowment chairs, the Friends of Münster University also financed the construction of the student dining facility “Aasee Mensa”. Over the past 50 years, the Friends of Münster University have maintained the Landhaus Rothenberge, which several thousand members of the University have come to appreciate as an extraordinary location for seminars.

By becoming a member of the Friends of Münster University, not only will you be supporting a good cause, but more importantly, entering a closer partnership with the University of Münster from which you can directly benefit. In addition to receiving the University journal “wissen|leben” eight times a year, you can look forward to being invited to association meetings and exclusive events with the Rector. In this way, you can remain close to the University, make contacts with researchers, students and other friends of the University, and always stay on top of the latest developments.

Visit the website of Universitätsgesellschaft Münster e.V. (Friends of Münster University) [de]

Universitätsgesellschaft Münster e. V.

Die Universitätsgesellschaft Münster e. V. zeichnet jährlich herausragende NachwuchswissenschaftlerInnen mit einem Förderpreis aus - hier die Preisverleihung 2019.
© UG - Peter Grewer

Bereits seit 1918 ist die Universitätsgesellschaft Münster e. V. (vormals Gesellschaft zur Förderung der Westfälischen Wilhelms-Universität Münster e. V.) ein integraler Bestandteil der Universität. Er unterstützt als gemeinnütziger Verein überall dort, wo staatliche Mittel nicht zur Verfügung stehen oder nicht ausreichen.

Zehn Stiftungen mit einem Gesamtvermögen von 2,6 Millionen Euro und vier namhafte Förderpreise ermöglichen die individuelle Unterstützung von Studierenden, Lehrkräften und wissenschaftlichen Mitarbeitern. Neben zwei Stiftungslehrstühlen hat die Universitätsgesellschaft in der Vergangenheit beispielsweise auch den Mensabau am Aasee ermöglicht. Seit 50 Jahren unterhält die Universitätsgesellschaft das Landhaus Rothenberge, das seitdem einige Tausend Angehörige der WWU als außergewöhnlichen Seminarort schätzen gelernt haben.

Mit einer Mitgliedschaft in der Universitätsgesellschaft unterstützen Sie nicht bloß irgendeine gute Sache. Sie gehen vielmehr eine Verbindung mit der Universität Münster ein und können davon direkt profitieren: Sie erhalten acht Mal im Jahr die Universitätszeitung „wissen|leben“, Sie werden zu Veranstaltungen der Universitätsgesellschaft und exklusiven Veranstaltungen des Rektors eingeladen – so sind Sie ganz nah dran an der WWU, kommen in Kontakt mit Wissenschaftlern, Studierenden und anderen Freunden der WWU und bleiben stets auf dem Laufenden.

Zur Homepage der Universitätsgesellschaft Münster e.V.