WWUzoom: Recordings

Cloud Recording vs. Local Recording
We recommend that you select the "Local recording" option for your recordings. Cloud recordings are deleted automatically after 7 days, so this variant is only suitable if you want to provide a recording for this limited period of time (e.g. for students who could not attend the live meeting). Otherwise, you must also back up the cloud recording locally. In the case of local recording, the recording is saved on your local device and is therefore available to you in the long term. How you provide the recording (e.g. via the Learnweb) is up to you.

Recording Meetings
In order to record WWUzoom meeting, you need the prior consent of all persons who will be seen or heard in the recording. The consent must be given voluntarily and there must be no disadvantages for those who do not consent. Otherwise you are not allowed to make a recording. If consent is revoked, the passages containing the image or sound of the person concerned must be removed from the recording. For lectures and courses, the requirements below apply.

Recording Courses
If you want to record your lecture or course and make it available at a later date, you have the following options, taking into account data protection:

  1. The primary delivery path for recorded videos should be the asynchronous variants described in the Learnweb at https://www.uni-muenster.de/LearnWeb/learnweb2/, i.e. "video preserves" without audience. The subsequent discussion on these contents can then take place, for example, in a separate WWUzoom session (which is not recorded).
  2. If a course takes place live via WWUzoom, it is not advisable to record it, since a) the consent of students in the context of teaching does not always have the voluntary nature required by the GDPR (moreover, those who do not consent are also excluded from the WWUzoom meeting for technical reasons) and b) the subsequent deletion of individual comments in a video is hardly feasible in practice. (This would have to be done manually with the help of a separate video editing tool, with the lecturer himself/herself reviewing the entire video, which takes several hours.) Therefore we have deactivated the recording function as standard. However, it can be switched on again by the moderator when the meeting is created.
  3. If a recording is still desired, only the lecturer should be visible and audible. Students' questions should be asked via a separate channel (e.g. the integrated chat). However, it is not technically possible in WWUzoom meetings to permanently mute participants or prevent their video transmission. We will soon provide the additional module "Webinar" where these settings are possible.

Since a person's voice is also considered a "personal date" in terms of data protection regulations, it makes no difference for the assessment of the recording of an event under data protection law whether "picture and sound" or only "sound" is recorded and whether a person that can be seen and/or heard has registered for the recording with a real name or, for example, an anonymizing fantasy name.

  • One-Time Settings

    1. Settings in the Web Interface

    Go to https://wwu.zoom.us and log in to activate the recording function in the personal settings.

    © WWU IT

    Click on "Settings" and then on the "Recording" tab. Activate "Local Recording". (Note: You can deactivate recordings by the participants in the next step.)

    © WWU IT

    Confirm the message "Turn ON for 'Local Recording'" with "Switch on".

    © WWU IT

    Uncheck "Hosts can give participants the permission to record locally" so that only you, as moderator of the meeting, can create a recording. Click on "Save".

    © WWU IT

    2. Settings in the Desktop Client

    Now open the Zoom Desktop Client and click on the settings icon in the upper right corner.

    © WWU IT

    Select the menu item "Recording". Via the "Location" you can now determine where your recordings are to be stored on your PC.

    © WWU IT
  • Recording a Meeting

    After you have started a (scheduled) meeting, you can use the "Record" option in the lower menu to start recording your meeting.

    © WWU IT

    Confirm the displayed note with "Continue".

    © WWU IT

    If you want to pause or stop the recording, you can do this in the upper left corner or via the lower menu bar.

    © WWU IT

    When the meeting ends, the folder in which your recording was saved is automatically opened.

    © WWU IT
  • Recording a Presentation

    Open your presentation in PowerPoint. Start the (planned) meeting. If you create the recording as a "pre-taped video" in the absence of other participants, it is best to lock the meeting using the "Security" button in the lower menu bar. This way nobody can disturb your recording. Click on "Share screen" in the lower menu bar.

    © WWU IT

    Here you now have the possibility to share your entire screen (1), a whiteboard (2), an iPhone/iPad (3), or an open application (4). For a PowerPoint presentation you should only share the open application, because in this case only PowerPoint is shown, even if you switch to other applications during the presentation. If you want to show a video with sound, activate "Share computer sound" (5).

    © WWU IT

    Screen sharing allows other participants to write annotations on the screen by default. If you do not need this feature, you should disable it. Once you have shared your screen, hover your mouse over the green box with the meeting ID at the top of the screen to open the screen sharing menu. Click on "More" and deactivate the annotation by the participants there.

    © WWU IT

    You can now start your presentation as usual in full screen mode. Minimize your video so that the recording shows only your presentation.

    © WWU IT

    Open the Screen Sharing menu at the top of the screen again. Click on "More" and select "Record".

    © WWU IT

    Confirm the displayed note with "Continue". Recording starts immediately.

    © WWU IT

    If you want to pause or stop the recording, you can also do this in the upper menu bar under "More". (Note that the red "Stop" button stops the screen sharing and not the recording.)

    © WWU IT

    When the meeting ends, the folder in which your recording was saved is automatically opened.

    © WWU IT