Botanicum – Centre for Student Affairs

© WWU - MünsterView

The “Botanicum” at Schlossgarten 3 is one of the important “first stops” for students. The University of Münster has gone to a lot of work and expense to renovate and expand the former Botanical Institute. With 4,200 square metres of floor space, the spacious two-storey brick building houses central advisory and service facilities relating to studying at the University of Münster.

Central location

© WWU - Lageplan

From the rear entrance of the Schloss, it is only a few steps to the "Botanicum" on the south side of the Botanical Garden. Close by are the "Landgericht/Schlossplatz Süd", "Hüfferstiftung" and "Schlossplatz" bus stops. A  map of the public transport network [de] can be obtained from Münster Stadtwerke (municipal utilities). Cyclists park directly at the "Botanicum". If you come by car, it’s best to park at Schlossplatz. Students and staff with disabilities will find special parking spaces for them next to the building.

© WWU - Career Service

Careers Service

The Careers Service has a comprehensive range of seminars, information and advisory services for undergraduates, PhD students and graduates, helping them to develop a sound career profile, gain and reflect on practical experience, make contacts with employers and, last but not least, learn strategies and techniques for drafting job applications up to one year after graduation.

© contrastwerkstatt/fotolia.com

Student Advice And Counselling Centre (ZSB)

The Student Advice and Counselling Centre (ZSB) provides advice and support to help you transition from school to university (in choosing and preparing courses of studies), as well as during your studies. The ZSB offers help in finding solutions to individual problems. Taking your personal situation as the starting point, our aim is to give you information and guidance and, working together with you, draw up possible courses of action.

© BananaStock Ltd

International Office

The International Office is the central place to go for all international activities at the University of Münster. The team there offers advice and support to incoming and outgoing students in matters concerning international mobility, as well as to institutions at the University engaged in activities related to internationalisation.

© WWU - BananaStock Ltd

Student Admissions Office

The Student Admissions Office provides assistance and support in all matters concerning applications, admissions, enrolment and de-registration. We invite you to visit us during office hours at the Welcome Centre in the Botanicum where we would be happy to clarify any problems you have.

Further offers

  • Department for Students with Disabilities and Chronic Illnesses at the General Students’ Committee (AStA) at the University of Münster

    The autonomous AStA Department for Students with Disabilities and Chronic Illnesses [en] represents the interests of all students who are at a disadvantage during their studies as a result of physical or mental impairment. The department works towards a barrier-free university as well as equality for disabled and chronically ill students.

  • Senate-appointed student representative for the interests of disabled and chronically ill students

    There is a Senate-appointed student representative for the interests of disabled and chronically ill students, and she endeavours to ensure that account is taken of the special needs of these particular groups and, in particular, that the statutory provisions relating to them are observed to their benefit. She is especially involved in the planning and organisation of teaching and study conditions, as well as compensation for disadvantages as regards

    • access and admission to courses of study,
    • courses of study themselves, and
    • examinations.

    Anyone with a complaint can contact her. In addition, the Senate-appointed representative is involved in working groups and projects:
    In collaboration with the ‘Studying with Impairments’ Coordination Unit and the Department for the Disabled, she is working on the development of a digital pedestrian lights system for barrier-free university buildings.

    She is currently head of the working group “Mission Statement: Students and Staff with Disabilities or Chronic Illnesses”, drawing up a mission statement and a catalogue of measures for the University’s treatment of students and staff with impairments (disabilities, chronic illnesses, etc). The working group has equal representation with active members and appointees from among the university instructors, academic staff, technical and administrative staff and students.

    Contact

    The office hours in the Botanicum have not yet been finalised. You can send an email to Dennis Schnittke and make an appointment held as a video conference.

     

Rooms

  • Student learning rooms

    In the “Botanicum" there are three rooms for students to learn in, as well as a “learning loft” – which is situated in the refurbished attic over the lecture hall and comprises around 45 workstations. The rooms are accessible via entrance D and can be used Monday through Friday from 10 am to 9:30 pm.

  • Student organisations and university groups

    Student organisations and university groups can book two event rooms in the "Botanicum" for evening events (Monday – Friday, 6 pm – 9:15 pm). All reservations and bookings are arranged through the Central Room Allocation office.

About the building

  • © PFEIFFER · ELLERMANN · PRECKEL | ARCHITEKTEN UND STADTPLANER BDA

    Renovation

    The building at Schlossgarten 3 is a narrow, elongated and symmetrically designed structure situated on the periphery of the Schlossgarten. The massive, two-storey brick building with lattice windows is a typical example of the architectural style of Münster’s post-war reconstruction efforts. It features sandstone cornices, frames and ornamentation around the exterior doors and stairways, and a slate roof with integrated dormers.

    The building was completely renovated and expanded. It received an annex on the west side and an extension on the south side: The modern single-storey seminar wing with a new foyer and welcome point was attached to the existing building to the south and partly 'embedded' into the castle wall. The various uses are distributed over approx. 4,200 square metres.

  • © WWU - Drepper

    History

    The Botanical Institute was Münster’s first research facility for biology, designed by the royal master foreman Böhnert and constructed at the south end of the Botanical Garden in 1896-97. Behind its neo-classical facade, the institute contained laboratories, offices, a library and collection rooms. While the central section of the building was largely destroyed during World War II, the lecture hall, added in 1911, remained standing. Therefore, it was decided to rebuild the ensemble on its former foundation walls from 1949 to 1953. The construction work was supervised by the director of the State Building Authority II, Friedrich Knolle. He adhered to a traditional architectural style which was typical in the early 1950s in Münster. Despite the emphasis on simplicity, the building contains several surprising architectural flourishes, such as the fitted glass cases in the entrance area and library, and the high-quality materials used in the reconstruction.
    In the following decades, the building was renovated and extended several times to meet the research demands of the day, the largest of which was the construction of a new laboratory wing at the beginning of the 1970s. Despite these additions and renovations, the characteristic features of Friedrich Knolle’s plans remained intact.
    The Botanical Institute along with its preserved equipment from the 1950s was designated a historical landmark in 2018 as a characteristic example of the reconstruction architecture of the early 1950s.

Botanicum – Haus des Studiums

© WWU - MünsterView

Im "Botancium" am Schlossgarten 3 befinden sich einige wichtige Anlaufstationen für Studierende. Die Universität Münster hat das ehemalige Botanische Institut mit viel Aufwand sanieren und erweitern lassen. Der zweigeschossige Klinkerbau bietet auf insgesamt 4.200 Quadratmetern viel Platz für die zentralen Beratungs- und Serviceeinrichtungen rund um das Studium an der WWU.

Zentrale Lage

© WWU - Lageplan

Vom Hintereingang des Schlosses sind es nur noch ein paar Schritte bis zum "Botanicum" an der Südseite des Botanischen Gartens. In direkter Nähe befinden sich die Bushaltestellen "Landgericht/Schlossplatz Süd", "Hüfferstiftung" und "Schlossplatz" – die Stadtwerke Münster bieten einen Netzplan [de] an. Radlerinnen und Radler parken direkt am "Botanicum". Wer mit dem Auto anreist, stellt dieses am besten am Schlossplatz ab. Für Studierende und Beschäftigte mit Beeinträchtigung stehen Parkmöglichkeiten neben dem Gebäude zur Verfügung.

© WWU - Career Service

Career Service

Mit einem umfangreichen Seminar-, Informations- und Beratungsangebot hilft der Career Service Studierenden, Promovierenden sowie Absolvent*innen bis zu einem Jahr nach dem Examen ein tragfähiges berufliches Profil zu entwickeln, Praxiserfahrung zu sammeln und zu reflektieren, Kontakte zu Arbeitgebern anzubahnen und schließlich Bewerbungsstrategien und -techniken zu erlernen.

© contrastwerkstatt - Fotolia.com

Zentrale Studienberatung

Die Zentrale Studienberatung (ZSB) berät und unterstützt Sie bei Ihrem Übergang von der Schule zur Universität (bei der Studienwahl und der Studienvorbereitung) und während Ihres Studiums. Die ZSB bietet Hilfe bei individuellen Problemlösungen. Ausgehend von Ihrer persönlichen Situation möchten wir Ihnen Informationen und Orientierungshilfen geben und gemeinsam mit Ihnen Handlungsmöglichkeiten erarbeiten.

© BananaStock Ltd

International Office

Das International Office ist die zentrale Anlaufstelle für internationale Aktivitäten an der WWU. Das Team bietet Beratung und Begleitung bei internationaler Mobilität für Incomings und Outgoings und berät und unterstützt die Einrichtungen der WWU bei ihren Internationalisierungsaktivitäten.

© WWU - BananaStock Ltd

Studierendensekretariat

Das Studierendensekretariat steht Ihnen bei allen Fragen zu den Themen Bewerbung, Zulassung, Einschreibung und Exmatrikulation zur Seite. Im Willkommenspunkt des Botanicums begrüßen wir Sie während unserer Öffnungszeiten gerne auch persönlich um Ihre Anliegen zu klären.

Weitere Angebote

  • Referat für behinderte und chronisch kranke Studierende des Allgemeinen Studierendenausschusses der Universität Münster (AStA)

    Das autonome AStA-Referat für behinderte und chronisch kranke Studierende ist die Interessenvertretung aller Studierenden, die im Studium durch körperliche und geistige Beeinträchtigungen benachteiligt sind. Das Referat setzt sich für eine barrierefreie Universität und die Gleichstellung von behinderten und chronisch kranken Studierenden ein.

  • Studentischer Senatsbeauftragter für die Vertretung der Belange behinderter und chronisch kranker Studierender

    Die studentische Senatsbeauftragte für die Vertretung der Belange behinderter und chronisch kranker Studierender wirkt darauf hin, dass den besonderen Bedürfnissen der Zielgruppe Rechnung getragen wird und insbesondere die zu ihren Gunsten geltenden Rechtsvorschriften beachtet werden.
    Insbesondere ist sie bei der Planung und Organisation der Lehr- und Studienbedingungen sowie beim Nachteilsausgleich hinsichtlich

    • des Zugangs und der Zulassung zum Studium,
    • des Studiums und
    • der Prüfungen

    beteiligt. Weiterhin können sich Betroffene mit Beschwerden an sie wenden. Darüber hinaus engagiert sich die studentische Senatsbeauftragte in Arbeitsgemeinschaften und Projekten:

    • Gemeinsam mit der Koordinierungsstelle Studium mit Beeinträchtigung und dem Behindertenreferat war sie an der Entwicklung eines digitalen Ampelsystems für die Barrierefreiheit von Universitätsgebäuden beteiligt.
    • Derzeit leitet sie die Arbeitsgemeinschaft "Leitbild: Studierende und Beschäftigte mit Behinderung oder chronischer Erkrankung" zur Entwicklung eines Leitbildes bzw. Maßnahmenkatalogs zum Umgang der Universität mit Studierenden und Beschäftigten mit Einschränkungen (Behinderungen, chronischen Erkrankungen, o.ä.). Die Arbeitsgemeinschaft ist paritätisch besetzt mit aktiven Mitgliedern und Beaufragten aus der Gruppe der Hochschullehrerinnen und Hochschullehrer, Akademischen Beschäftigten, Beschäftigten aus Technik und Verwaltung sowie Studierenden.

    Kontakt

    Derzeit können keine Präsenz-Sprechstunden angeboten werden. Sie können sich per Mail an Dennis Schnittke wenden und bei Interesse Termine per Videokonferenz vereinbaren.

Räume

  • Studentisches Lernen

    Im "Botanicum" gibt es neben drei Räumen für studentisches Lernen auch ein "Lernloft". Dieses befindet sich im ausgebauten Dachboden über dem Hörsaal und beherbergt rund 45 Arbeitsplätze. Die Räume sind über den Eingang D erreichbar und können von montags bis freitags von 10 bis 21:30 Uhr genutzt werden.

  • Raum für studentische Initiativen

    Studentische Initiativen oder Hochschulgruppen können im "Botanicum" zwei Veranstaltungsräume für die Abendstunden buchen. Derzeit stehen die Veranstaltungsräume noch nicht zur Verfügung.

Informationen zum Gebäude

  • © PFEIFFER · ELLERMANN · PRECKEL | ARCHITEKTEN UND STADTPLANER BDA

    Sanierung

    Beim "Botanicum" am Schlossgarten 3 handelt es sich um einen schmalen, langgestreckten und symmetrisch angelegten Baukörper, der frei in das Schlossgartenareal eingestellt ist. Der zweigeschossige massive Klinkerbau mit Sprossenfenstern ist ein typisches Beispiel der Münsteraner Wiederaufbauarchitektur. Besonderheiten sind Sandsteinumrahmungen und -ornamente an Außentüren und -treppen sowie das Schieferdach mit aufgesetzten Gauben.

    Das Gebäude wurde kernsaniert und erweitert: Es erhielt einen Anbau an der Westseite und eine Erweiterung an der Südseite: Der modern gestaltete eingeschossige Seminartrakt mit neuem Foyer und Willkommenspunkt wurde südlich an das Bestandsgebäude angegliedert und z.T. in den Schlosswall 'hineingegraben'. Auf ca. 4200 qm verteilen sich die verschiedenen Nutzungen.

  • © PFEIFFER · ELLERMANN · PRECKEL | ARCHITEKTEN UND STADTPLANER BDA

    Geschichte

    Das Gebäude wurde als Botanisches Institut 1896-97 nach Plänen des Königlichen Regierungsmeisters Böhnert als erster Forschungsbau für Biologie in Münster an der Südseite des Botanischen Gartens errichtet. Hinter der neo-klassizistischen Fassade des Baus befanden sich Laboratorien, Büros, eine Bibliothek und Sammlungsräume. Während dieser Gebäudeteil im Zweiten Weltkrieg weitgehend zerstört wurde, blieb der 1911 angebaute Hörsaal erhalten. Daher wurde das Ensemble von 1949-53 auf den alten Grundmauern wiederaufgebaut. Die Verantwortung lag bei dem Leiter des Staatshochbauamtes II, Friedrich Knolle. Dieser entschied sich für einen traditionalistischen Stil, wie er in den frühen 1950er Jahren in Münster üblich war. Trotz der betonten Schlichtheit überrascht der Bau durch aufwändige planerisch-gestalterische Details, wie die Einbauvitrinen im Eingangsbereich und in der Bibliothek sowie durch die hohe Qualität der verwandten Materialien.
    In den folgenden Jahrzehnten wurde das Gebäude immer wieder den aktuellen Forschungsbedürfnissen angepasst, die größte Maßnahme war die Errichtung eines neuen Laborflügels Anfang der 1970er Jahre. Bei diesen Umbauten blieben charakteristische Teile von Friedrich Knolles Institutsbau jedoch intakt.
    Als charakteristisches Beispiel für Wiederaufbauarchitektur der frühen 1950er Jahre in Münster wurde daher das Botanische Institut mitsamt der erhaltenen Ausstattung der 1950er Jahre 2018 unter Denkmalschutz gestellt.