Culture at the University of Münster

Want to enjoy culture and creativity during your studies? The University of Münster is home to numerous cultural groups which actively enrich student life on campus and in the city with concerts, theatre productions and many other formats. Cultural enthusiasts can find inspiration at the city’s museums, public parks and the Studiobühne (Studio Stage). The Cultural Directory contains a list of all known cultural groups, theatres, museums and parks. If you have any questions about campus culture or have ideas for new cultural endeavours, the Kulturbüro at the University Curatorial Office will be happy to assist you. The Rectorate has established the WWU Cultural Fund to support cultural activities on campus.

Information about the Cultural Fund [de]

© WWU - Peter Grewer

Museums and collections

Research, teaching and education are not only confined to the lecture halls, libraries and laboratories of the University of Münster. Many institutes maintain collections for purposes of research and teaching, some of which are internationally renowned. Four of these collections, two museums and two gardens, are currently open to the public.

© WWU - Judith Kraft

Music

The Münster University of Music is a major cultural driver in the region. The WWU is home to over 25 choirs, orchestras and bands in which students of all faculties share their love for music and enrich the cultural life on campus and in the city. The WWU Cultural Directory offers an overview.

© WWU - Peter Grewer

Performance and text

For those who love the written and spoken word, the University of Münster offers numerous cultural opportunities – from Lecture Hall Slams to the English Drama Group to the blog of the Cultural Proletarians. And because the podium cannot hold so much creative energy, the University operates the Studiobühne, one of five university theatres in Germany.

© Presseamt Münster - MünsterView

Art

Monuments, contemporary sculptures, paintings and graphic art – we invite you to take a closer look at the intriguing artworks displayed on campus. The WWU art collections are supervised by the University Curatorial Office. With the establishment of the “Artothek”, it supports the faculties and administration with furnishing the representative rooms of the University.

Tours

If you're interested in art, culture and history and would like to get to know the University from a different perspective, join us on a tour of discovery! We offer various art-historical tours on campus and through the University buildings and facilities.

© WWU

Kulturbüro

The Kulturbüro (Cultural Office) supports cultural groups at the University of Münster with all matters. Every semester it publishes the magazine "UniKunstKultur", highlighting cultural life on campus. The latest news and information is posted on various social media platforms via @wwukultur.

Kultur an der Uni Münster

Neben dem Studium kreativ werden? Auf dem WWU-Campus sind eine Vielzahl von Kulturgruppen aktiv, die mit Konzerten, Theater und in anderen Formaten das kulturelle Leben auf dem Campus und in der Stadt bereichern. Außerdem laden Museen, öffentliche Gärten und die Studiobühne zum Kulturgenuss ein. Der Kulturatlas enthält eine Liste aller bekannten Kulturgruppen, Bühnen, Museen und Gärten. Bei allen Fragen rund um Campus-Kultur, auch bei Ideen zu neuen Initiativen, hilft das Kulturbüro in der Zentralen Kustodie gerne weiter. Zur Unterstützung kultureller Aktivitäten auf dem Campus hat das Rektorat den WWU-Kulturfonds eingerichtet.

Informationen zum Kulturfonds

© WWU - Peter Grewer

Museen und Sammlungen

Forschung, Lehre und Vermittlung findet an der WWU nicht nur in Hörsälen, Bibliotheken oder Laboren statt. Viele Institut verfügen über wissenschaftliche Lehr- und Forschungssammlungen, von zum Teil internationalem Rang. Vier dieser Sammlungen, zwei Museen und zwei Gärten, sind derzeit öffentlich zugänglich.

© WWU - Judith Kraft

Musik

Die Musikhochschule Münster  bildet einen kulturellen Schwerpunkt in der Region. In mehr als 25 Chören, Orchestern und Bands musizieren darüber hinaus Studierende aller Fachbereiche und bereichern so das Kulturleben der WWU und der Stadt. Einen Überblick gibt der WWU-Kulturatlas.

© WWU - Peter Grewer

Performance & Text

Vom Hörsaal-Slam über die English Drama Group bis zum Blog der Kulturproleten, auch die Wortkunst hat auf dem WWU-Campus viele Freunde. Und da ein Hörsaal-Pult für so viel kreative Energie nicht ausreicht, unterhält die WWU mit der Studiobühne eines von fünf Universitätstheater in Deutschland.

© Kulturbüro | ek

Kunst

Baudenkmale, zeitgenössische Skulpturen, Gemälde und Grafiken – es lohnt sich, auf dem WWU-Campus genau hinzuschauen. Der Kunstbesitz der WWU wird von der Zentralen Kustodie betreut. Durch die Einrichtung einer Artothek unterstützt sie die Fachbereiche und die Verwaltung bei der Ausstattung von Repräsentationsräumen.

Führungen

Wenn Sie an Kunst, Kultur und Geschichte interessiert sind und die Universität einmal aus einer anderen Perspektive kennen lernen möchten, gehen Sie mit uns auf Entdeckungstour! Wir bieten Ihnen verschiedene kunsthistorische Führungen auf dem Universitätsgelände und durch die Hochschulbauten an.

© WWU

Kulturbüro der Universität Münster

Das Kulturbüro der WWU unterstützt die künstlerischen Hochschulgruppen in allen Belangen. Zu Beginn eines jeden Semesters informiert das UniKunstKultur-Magazin über das kulturelle Leben auf dem Campus. Aktuelle Informationen sind auf den verschiedenen Social Media-Plattformen unter @wwukultur zu finden.