Departments

Movement Science

The Department of Movement Science represents two research and teaching divisions; biomechanics - characterized by natural and physical sciences - and kinematics as a motoric aligned technical discipline.

© Sönke Götschenberg

Physical Education and Teaching Research

Our department addresses the production of sport didactical processes in curricular and extra-curricular sport settings. In particular our profile targets the promotion of children and adolescents in the field of motion, play and sports. 

© Dorkewitz

EU-Studies in Physical Education and Youth Sport

We focus our applied research on different curricular and extra-curricular settings of physical activity, games and sports where children and adolescents live, e.g. with their parents at home, at kindergarten, at school, at a sports club and with peers in their local communities.

Neuromotor behavior and exercise

Our main research fieds are motor development, motor learning and movement control over the life span, the connection between motor and cognitive performance and the importance of motor skills for lifelong learning. A particular interest is the role of physical activity and exercise for cognitive development.

Social Sciences of Sports

We do research on the role of sport in contemporary societies, its changes and functions, and aim to make informed guesses about the future of sport.

© Emanuel Hübner

Sport Pedagogy and Sport History

We concentrate on the one hand on sport historical research, current projects are e.g. the history of doping or soccer. On the other hand, we continue our tradition of sport pedagogical and anthropoligical issues such as exploring the role of competition or of the body in the culture.

© IfS WWU

Sport Psychology

In our department we study the human behavior and cognition in sports (causes, conditions, objectives) and try to predict and influence the behavior of athletes.

© Emil Richelmann (IFS Medienlabor)

Arbeitsbereiche

Das Institut besteht aus sechs Arbeitsbereichen: Bildung und Unterricht im Sport, Movement Science, Neuromotorik & Training, Sozialwissenschaften, Sportpädagogik & Sportgeschichte und Sportpsychologie, die aus unterschiedlichen sportwissenschaftlichen Perspektiven lehren und forschen.

Bewegungswissenschaft

Der Arbeitsbereich Bewegungswissenschaft vertritt zwei Forschungs- und Lehrbereiche; die Biomechanik – naturwissenschaftlich, physikalisch geprägt – und die Bewegungslehre als eine motorisch orientierte Fachwissenschaft.

© Sönke Götschenberg

Bildung & Unterricht

Der Arbeitsbereich befasst sich mit der Inszenierung von Bildungs- und Unterrichtsprozessen im schulischen und außerschulischen Sport. Unser Profil zielt insbesondere auf die Förderung von Kindern und Jugendlichen im Feld von Bewegung, Spiel und Sport.

Neuromotorik und Training

Unsere Hauptforschungsinteressen sind die motorische Entwicklung, das motorische Lernen und die Bewegungskontrolle über die Lebensspanne, die Verbindung zwischen motorischer und kognitiver Leistung und die Bedeutung der Motorik für die lebenslange Entwicklung. Ein besonderes Interesse gilt der Rolle körperlicher Aktivität für die kognitive Entwicklung.

Sozialwissenschaften

Wir erforschen die Rolle des Sports in der Gesellschaft, seine Veränderungen und Funktionen, und versuchen, Vorhersagen über die künftige Entwicklung des Sports zu machen.

© Emanuel Hübner

Sportpädagogik & Sportgeschichte

Wir widmen uns zum einen der sporthistorischen Forschung, in jüngsten Projekten z. B. der Geschichte des Dopings oder des Fußballs. Zum anderen stehen wir in der Tradition sportpädagogisch-anthropologischer Fragestellungen, z. B. nach der Rolle des Wettkampfs oder des Körpers in der Kultur.

© AB Sportpsychologie

Sportpsychologie

Der Arbeitsbereich erforscht das menschliche Verhalten und Erleben im Sport (Ursachen, Bedingungen, Ziele) und versucht, zukünftiges Verhalten von Personen im Sport vorherzusagen und zu beeinflussen.

Ehemalige Arbeitsbereiche