Research
© IfS Medienlabor

Research

The field of sports and exercise sciences is one of a kind, viewing the common topic of sports from various scientific perspectives. Social sciences, behavioral sciences and natural sciences practice different, specific methods of data acquisition and offer a wide variety of varying aspects regarding the phenomenon of sports.

Main Research Topics

At the Institute of Sports and Exercise Sciences in Münster,  a couple of main topics are addressed and gradually filled content and structure.

  1. Dynamic Human Systems, with a focus on cognitive neural systems, dynamic motor systems and dynamic social systems
  2. Social responsibility, with the individual topics of mental and physical health, teaching and learning in an educational context, performance and expertise, social cohesion and integration, as well as the mechanization of living environments.

With this structure, however, no conventional categorization into basic vs. application research or even scientific vs. social science research is meant or intended. The structural perspective offers excellent concepts and methods for analyzing human experience and behavior in various socially relevant fields. The main topics in the area of ​​social responsibility offer complex issues and application contexts for the validation of system-oriented processes and models. These synergies are reflected in the fact that all work units of FB 07 deal with several key topics and are very often involved in both key areas. All topics contain specifications for research, teaching and transfer.

  • Dynamic Human Systems

    Dynamic Human Systems focuses on understanding the underlying processes of complex human experience and behavior and thus providing the basis for predicting and changing health, social, athletic and professional adjustments, decisions and performance. The focus is on three conceptually and methodologically complementary focal points:


    (1) Cognitive Neural Systems,
    (2) Dynamic Motor Systems and
    (3) Dynamic social systems.

    These focal points cover a broad spectrum of psychological and sports science research. This breadth is not only in terms of content, but is also reflected in the spectrum of methods, which ranges from neurophysiological and imaging examination methods of the brain to laboratory and field-based behavioral studies and mathematical modeling.

  • Social responsability

    This focus area of research at FB 07 is more application-oriented and includes dealing with current social challenges and the development of suitable solutions. This orientation of research towards social relevance corresponds to the recommendations of the Science Council (2018). In addition, this orientation follows the HEP of the WWU and the interlinking of research, teaching and transfer as part of the Excellence Strategy. The goal is the generation of new knowledge and the initiation of transfer processes in the various fields of action in order to communicate and advise scientific results and to enter into a systematic research-practice dialogue.

    Central fields of action are
    (1) mental and physical health,
    (2) teaching and learning in an educational context,
    (3) performance and expertise,
    (4) social cohesion and integration, and
    (5) mechanization of living environments.

© Markus Jürgens (IfS Medienlabor)

Forschung

Das Fach Sportwissenschaft zeichnet sich dadurch aus, dass das gemeinsame Thema Sport von den naturwissenschaftlichen Disziplinen, über die Sozial- und Verhaltenswissenschaften bis hin zu den Geisteswissenschaften mit ihren ganz unterschiedlichen und spezifischen forschungsmethodischen Zugängen bearbeitet wird. Dieses breite Spektrum wird in der forschungsmethodischen Ausrichtung – von der historisch orientierten Hermeneutik bis zur experimentellen Physik – deutlich.

Forschungs - Schwerpunkte

Im Institut für Sportwissenschaft in Münster werden verschiedene inhaltliche Schwerpunkte verfolgt, die sukzessive strukturell wie auch inhaltlich ausgebaut werden.

  1. Dynamic Human Systems, mit den Schwerpunkten Kognitive Neuronale Systeme, Dynamische Motorische Systeme und Dynamische Soziale Systeme
  2. Gesellschaftliche Verantwortung, mit den Einzelthemen Psychische und physische Ge-sundheit, Lehren und Lernen im Bildungskontext, Leistung und Expertise, Gesellschaftlicher Zusammenhalt und Integration, sowie Technisierung von Lebenswelten.

Mit dieser Gliederung ist jedoch keine herkömmliche Kategorisierung in Grundlagen- vs. Anwendungsforschung oder gar naturwissenschaftlicher vs. sozialwissenschaftlicher Forschung gemeint oder intendiert, im Gegenteil. So bietet die strukturelle System-Perspektive exzellente Konzepte und Methoden für die Analyse menschlichen Erlebens und Verhaltens in den verschiedenen gesellschaftlich relevanten Themenbereichen. Umgekehrt bieten die Schwerpunkt-themen im Bereich Gesellschaftliche Verantwortung komplexe Fragestellungen und Anwendungskontexte zur Validierung systemorientierter Verfahren und Modelle. Diese Synergien spiegeln sich nicht zuletzt in dem Umstand, dass sich alle Arbeitseinheiten des FB 07 mit mehreren Schwerpunktthemen beschäftigen, und sehr häufig in beide Schwerpunktbereiche involviert sind. Alle Themen enthalten Spezifikationen für Forschung, Lehre und Transfer.

  • Dynamic Human Systems

    Der Schwerpunktbereich Dynamic Human Systems fokussiert darauf, die zugrundeliegenden Prozesse komplexen menschlichen Erlebens und Verhaltens zu verstehen und damit die Grundlage für die Vorhersage und Veränderung von gesundheitlichen, sozialen, sportlichen und beruflichen Anpassungen, Entscheidungen und Leistungen zu bieten. Der Fokus liegt dabei auf drei sich konzeptuell und methodisch ergänzenden Schwerpunkten:

    (1) Kognitive Neuronale Systeme,
    (2) Dynamische Motorische Systeme und
    (3) Dynamische Soziale Systeme.

    Diese Schwerpunkte decken dabei ein breites Spektrum psychologischer und sportwissenschaftlicher Forschung ab. Diese Breite ist nicht nur inhaltlicher Natur, sondern bildet sich auch im Methodenspektrum ab, das von neurophysiologischen und bildgebenden Untersuchungsverfahren des Gehirns über labor- und feldbasierte Verhaltensuntersuchungen bis hin zur mathematischen Modellierung reicht.

  • Gesellschaftliche Verantwortung

    Dieser Schwerpunktbereich der Forschung am FB 07 ist stärker anwendungsorientiert und beinhaltet die Auseinandersetzung mit aktuellen gesellschaftlichen Herausforderungen und der Entwicklung von passenden Lösungen. Diese Orientierung von Forschung an gesellschaftlicher Relevanz entspricht den Empfehlungen des Wissenschaftsrats (2018). Darüber hinaus folgt diese Orientierung dem HEP der WWU und der im Rahmen der Exzellenzstrategie angelegten Verzahnung von Forschung, Lehre und Transfer. Ziel ist jeweils die Generierung von neuem Wissen und die Initiierung von Transferprozessen in die verschiedenen Handlungsfelder, um Ergebnisse der Wissenschaft zu kommunizieren, zu beraten und in einen systematischen Forschungs-Praxis-Dialog zu treten.

    Zentrale Handlungsfelder sind dabei

    (1) Psychische und physische Gesundheit,
    (2) Lehren und Lernen im Bildungskontext,
    (3) Leistung und Expertise,
    (4) Gesellschaftlicher Zusammenhalt und Integration und
    (5) Technisierung von Lebenswelten.