Research institutes

  • Centre for Manichaean Research

    The Centre for Manichaean Research was founded in 1990 with the purpose of producing an annotated edition of the oldest existing Manichaean writings, discovered in 1929 in seven codices dating back to the fourth century AD. As part of a much larger international project, the researchers in Münster are studying the Coptic-Manichaean psalm book which is presently kept at the Chester Beatty Library in Dublin. Centre for Manichaean Research [de]

  • logo of this network

    Archaeology diagonal

    Established in 2011, Archaeology diagonal is a network of archaeological disciplines at the University of Münster. By means of exchange and collaboration, it aims to reconstruct the civilisations of the past from Northern Europe to the Sahara, from the Iberian Peninsula to South Asia from the times of early human settlement to the Middle Ages. Archaeology diagonal [de]

  • logo of the centre

    Centre for Aldous Huxley Studies (CAHS)

    The Centre for Aldous Huxley Studies was founded in 1998. It serves as the central office and administrative body of the international Aldous Huxley Society (AHS). The tasks of the CAHS include producing a text-critical edition of Huxley’s works, editing his unpublished correspondence and lectures, and establishing and maintaining a research library. Centre for Aldous Huxley Studies (CAHS)

  • logo of the CEMES

    Centre for Multilingualism and Language Acquisition (CEMES)

    The CEMES is a sub-department of the Institute of German Language and Literature. Its task is to coordinate the courses of the DaZ module (German as a second language for pupils with an immigrant background) and organise the module examinations. In addition, it bundles the research activities which focus on multilingualism and language acquisition at the Faculty of Philology and offers training and continuing education courses to teachers in all subjects in the area of DaZ. CEMES [de]

  • logo of the CfN

    Centre for Low German (CfN) [de]

    The CfN is a cross-disciplinary research centre, at which academics work and collaborate on the study of Low German. One of its central goals is to increase public awareness of the fact that Low German is an integral part of northern German culture, history and identity. Centre for Low German [de]

  • logo of the CfR

    Centre for Rhetoric, Communication, and Theatre Practice (CfR)

    The CfR oversees diverse research projects in the areas of oral communication, theatre and media pedagogy, and conducts research on all areas of oral presentation (breath, voice, speech and conversational rhetoric, aesthetic communication and media speech). Students of the Faculty of Philology can gain an important additional qualification by earning the “Oral competency” certificate at the CfR. Centre for Rhetoric [de]

  • logo of the CeSI

    Centre for Language in Interaction (CeSI)

    The CeSI is a research institute of the Institute of German Language and Literature dedicated to addressing research issues involving the empirical study of the use of language. Linguistics students (particularly those of German Linguistics) may participate in research projects at the CeSI during their bachelor’s and master’s degree programmes. CeSi [de]

  • logo

    Ehrenpreis Centre for Swift Studies

    Affiliated institute

    The Ehrenpreis Centre for Swift Studies was established as an independent institute of the University of Münster in 1986 following the death of the renowned Swift researcher Irvin Ehrenpreis. His estate created the foundation of the library. The Centre’s purpose is to promote the study of works by Jonathan Swift in the form of texts, commentaries and interpretations. Its collection contains the entire breadth of literary criticism of Swift’s works produced since 1750. Ehrenpreis Centre

  • Research Centre Old Sudan

    This research centre strives to initiate and coordinate archaeological and cultural-historical activities related to Old Sudan. Its research does not limit itself to any chronological parameters, but rather aims to study the people in the cultural region of Old Sudan from the Palaeolithic era to the pre-modern period. Research Centre Old Sudan [de]

  • logo of the forum

    Forum for Foreign Language Education

    The Forum was founded in 2019 and is a cooperation of the Didactics at the English Department, the Institute of Dutch Philology and the Department of Romance Studies. The Forum’s purpose is to promote young academic talent and to strenghten exchange with school practice. Forum for Foreign Language Education [de]

  • logo of the forum

    Forum for Life Writing Research

    The Forum for Life Writing Research was established as an interdisciplinary research institute in 2015. It addresses current lines of academic discourse and impulses from other disciplines, and actively participates in developing new topics of research interest with regard to “life writing”. Forum for Life Writing Research

  • logo of ALEA

    Leibniz Prize Research Group "Arabic Literature and Rhetoric from 1100 to 1800" (ALEA)

    The Leibniz Prize research project group ALEA at the Institute of Arabic and Islamic Studies is devoted to studying Arabic literature and rhetoric from past centuries – a field of study which has received little attention in recent years. ALEA [de]

  • logo of the centre

    Writing-Reading Centre (SLZ)

    The SLZ is a university-based institute which sees itself as a vibrant location of writing culture in all of its media-based manifestations. The centre serves as a platform for communication between academics, teaching and practice, and significantly contributes to promoting key qualifications in scholastic, university, professional and everyday life. SLZ [de]

  • logo SFB

    CRC "Law and Literature"

    Collaborative Research Center 1385

    The Collaborative Research Centre 1385 "Law and Literature" focuses on crucial questions concerning the relation between law and literature, the corresponding academic fields and disciplines, as well as their respective impact on culture and society. The CRC includes the following disciplines from the faculties 03 and 09 at the University of Münster: literary studies, law, Jewish studies, Slavic studies, Arab and Islamic studies; as well as the Institute for English and American Studies at the University of Osnabrück. CRC 1385

Former research institutes

  • logo

    Europa-Kolleg

    Funding 2012-2015

    The Europa-Kolleg was a literary research association that investigated the relationship of identity and difference in the literary images of Europe. Researchers explored to what extent literature can play a role in political controversy and provide a crisis-plagued Europe with new ideas.

Forschungseinrichtungen

  • Arbeitsstelle für Manichäismusforschung

    Die Arbeitsstelle für Manichäismusforschung wurde im Jahr 1990 gegründet und widmet sich der Edition und inhaltlichen Bearbeitung der ältesten erhaltenen manichäischen Texte, die im Jahre 1929 in sieben Codices aus dem 4. Jh. entdeckt wurden. Als Teil eines internationalen Projektes wird in Münster das koptisch-manichäische Psalmenbuch bearbeitet, das in der Chester Beatty Library in Dublin aufbewahrt wird. Arbeitsstelle für Manichäismusforschung

  • © x

    Archäologie Diagonal

    Archäologie Diagonal ist ein 2011 gegründetes Netzwerk archäologischer Wissenschaften an der WWU Münster, welches im gegenseitigen Austausch an der Rekonstruktion vergangener Lebenswelten von Nordeuropa bis in die Sahara, von der iberischen Halbinsel bis Südasien in einem Zeitraum von der Sesshaftwerdung des Menschen bis ins Mittelalter arbeitet. Archäologie Diagonal

  • © x

    Centre for Aldous Huxley Studies (CAHS)

    Das Centre for Aldous Huxley Studies / Aldous-Huxley-Forschungsstelle (CAHS) wurde 1998 gegründet. Es fungiert als Sitz und Träger der Aktivitäten der internationalen Aldous Huxley Society (AHS). Aufgaben des CAHS sind unter anderem eine textkritische Edition der Werke Huxleys, die Herausgabe unveröffentlichter Briefe und Vorträge sowie Aufbau und Pflege einer Forschungsbibliothek. Centre for Aldous Huxley Studies (CAHS)

  • © x

    Centrum für Mehrsprachigkeit und Spracherwerb (CEMES)

    Das CEMES ist eine Untergliederung des Germanistischen Instituts. Es hat die Aufgabe, die Veranstaltungen des DaZ-Moduls (Deutsch für Schülerinnen und Schüler mit Zuwanderungsgeschichte) zu koordinieren und die Modulprüfungen zu organisieren. Außerdem bündelt es die am Fachbereich Philologie betriebene Forschung zu Mehrsprachigkeit und Spracherwerb und bietet Schulungs- und Weiterbildungsangebote für Lehrende aller Fächer im Bereich DaZ an. CEMES

  • © x

    Centrum für Niederdeutsch (CfN)

    Das CfN ist ein fächerübergreifendes wissenschaftliches Zentrum, in dem sich Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler zusammenfinden, um Niederdeutsch zu erforschen. Ein Ziel ist, das Niederdeutsche als Bestandteil der norddeutschen Kultur, Geschichte und Identität wieder ins Bewusstsein der Menschen zu rücken. Centrum für Niederdeutsch

  • © x

    Centrum für Rhetorik, Kommunikation und Theaterpraxis (CfR)

    Das CfR arbeitet ständig an unterschiedlichen Projekten aus den Bereichen der mündlichen Kommunikation, Theater- und Medienpädagogik und betreibt wissenschaftliche Forschung zu allen Bereichen der Mündlichkeit (Atem, Stimme, Rede- und Gesprächsrhetorik, Ästhetische Kommunikation, Mediensprechen). Studierende des Fachbereichs Philologie können in Form des Zertifikats „Mündlichkeit“ am CfR eine wichtige Zusatzqualifikation erwerben. Centrum für Rhetorik

  • © x

    Centrum Sprache und Interaktion (CeSI)

    Das CeSI ist eine am Germanistischen Institut angesiedelte Einrichtung für aktuelle Forschungsfragen im Zusammenhang mit empirischen Untersuchungen zu Sprache im Gebrauch. Studierende der Sprachwissenschaft (vor allem der germanistischen Sprachwissenschaft) haben hier die Gelegenheit, sich bereits im Laufe ihres Studiums an Forschungsprojekten zu beteiligen. CeSi

  • © Ehrenpreis Centre for Swift-Studies

    Ehrenpreis Centre for Swift-Studies

    An-Institut

    Das Ehrenpreis-Institut für Swift-Studien wurde 1986 nach dem Tode des Swift-Forschers Irvin Ehrenpreis als selbständige Einrichtung an der Universität Münster gegründet. Sein Nachlass wurde zum Grundstock der Bibliothek. Ziel des Instituts ist die Erforschung der Werke Jonathan Swifts in Text, Kommentar und Interpretation. Sammelgebiet ist die gesamte Swift-Kritik seit 1750. Ehrenpreis-Institut

  • Forschungsstelle Alter Sudan

    Die Forschungsstelle verfolgt das Ziel, archäologische und kulturhistorische Aktivitäten mit Bezug zum Alten Sudan anzustoßen und zu koordinieren. Dabei legt sie sich keine chronologische Beschränkung auf, sondern interessiert sich für den Menschen in der Kulturlandschaft des Alten Sudan vom Paläolithikum bis in die Vormoderne. Forschungsstelle Alter Sudan

  • © Chair of TEFL

    Forum Fremdsprachendidaktik

    Das 2019 gegründete interdisziplinäre Forum ist eine Kooperation der Fachdidaktiken der Anglistik, Niederlandistik und Romanistik. Zu den Zielen des Forums gehören die Förderung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses sowie der Austausch mit der schulischen Praxis. Forum für Fremdsprachendidaktik

  • © x

    Forum für Autobiographieforschung

    Das Forum für Autobiographieforschung wurde 2015 als interdisziplinäre Forschungseinrichtung gegründet. Es greift aktuelle wissenschaftliche Diskussionen und Impulse aus anderen Disziplinen auf und beteiligt sich aktiv an der Entwicklung neuer Fragestellungen zum Thema "Life Writing". Forum für Autobiographieforschung

  • © x

    Leibnizpreis-Forschungsstelle "Arabische Literatur und Rhetorik Elfhundert bis Achtzehnhundert" (ALEA)

    Die Leibnizpreis-Forschungsstelle ALEA am Institut für Arabistik und Islamwissenschaft widmet sich der arabischen Literatur und Rhetorik der späteren Jahrhunderte, die bislang weitgehend vernachlässigt wurden. ALEA

  • © x

    Schreib-Lese-Zentrum (SLZ)

    Das SLZ versteht sich als lebendiger Ort der Schriftkultur in ihren medialen Ausgestaltungen und ist Teil des universitären Angebots. Das Zentrum ist Schnittstelle bzw. Plattform für Kommunikation zwischen Wissenschaft, Lehre und Praxis und trägt damit zum Ausbau von Schlüsselqualifikationen für Schule, Studium, Beruf und Lebensalltag maßgeblich bei. SLZ

  • © SFB 1385

    SFB "Recht und Literatur"

    Sonderforschungsbereich 1385

    Der SFB 1385 untersucht fundamentale Fragen zu Recht und Literatur, zu den mit ihnen befassten Disziplinen, ihren Grundbegriffen und Methoden, aber auch zu ihrer gesellschaftlichen und kulturellen Bedeutung. Am SFB sind die Fächer Literaturwissenschaft, Rechtswissenschaft (FB 03), Judaistik, Slavistik, Arabistik und Islamwissenschaft der Universität Münster sowie das Institut für Anglistik und Amerikanistik der Universität Osnabrück beteiligt. SFB 1385

Ehemalige Forschungseinrichtungen

  • © x

    Europa-Kolleg

    Förderphase 2012-2015

    Der literaturwissenschaftliche Forschungsverbund untersuchte das Verhältnis von Identität und Differenz in literarischen Europabildern und ging der Frage nach, wie sich Literatur in den politischen Meinungsstreit einschalten und dem kriselnden Europa neue Denkimpulse geben kann.