WWUzoom: Group Work (Breakout Sessions)

Breakout Sessions allow you to split your meeting into up to 50 separate sessions. As the moderator, you can automatically or manually split meeting participants into the separate sessions and switch between sessions at any time. Breakout sessions are therefore well suited for group work phases.

  • Creating Breakout-Sessions

    If you are in your meeting as a moderator, click on the "Breakout Session" button.

    © WWU IT

    Now you can choose how many breakout sessions you want to create and whether the participants should be distributed to the sessions automatically or manually.

    © WWU IT

    You will now see an overview of the breakout sessions and can add more if necessary by clicking on "Add a session". (Alternatively, you can change the number of sessions created by clicking on "Create again" and changing your details there. If the participants were assigned manually, you will have to do this again.)

    © WWU IT

    Additional settings are available under "Options":

    1. Automatically move all participants to breakout sessions so that no participant remains in the main session.
    2. Allow participants to return to the main session at any time.
    3. Automatically close breakout sessions after a certain period of time (e.g. for temporary group work). All participants will be moved back to the main session after this time.
    4. If a time limit has been set, you will receive a notification that the specified time has expired.
    5. Countdown timer after closing the breakout session.

    © WWU IT

    To manually add participants to a session, click on "Assign" and select the desired people from the list of participants. When all the necessary options are set, click "Start all sessions".

    © WWU IT

    If you have set a time limit for the breakout sessions, the time remaining is displayed in the breakout rooms and in your overview. You can end all sessions before the time limit expires by clicking "Stop all sessions". You can also send messages to all groups by clicking "Send a message to all".

    © WWU IT

    To enter a breakout session, click on "Join" and confirm with "Yes".

    © WWU IT

    To leave a breakout session, click on "Leave the breakout session" and then on "Return to the main session".

    © WWU IT