Subproject B01

B01 Literary Forms of European Legal Culture in Poland, Russia and Ukraine. Studies of Law and Literature in Central and Eastern European Societies from a Comparative Perspective

The idea of a ‘Europe of Law,’ or a ‘European Legal Identity’ is equally crucial for the Eastern part of this continent. This is why the PIs of B01 aim at a comparative analysis of West and East European texts that prove vital for research on law and literature. The historical focus lies on the 19th and 20th centuries, but some of the general lines of investigation will be followed through to the present.

1) Law as Literature. On this history of sources of law as literary forms. a) In what sense if law ‘like’ literature? Founding narratives of European Constitutions; b) Historiography as source of law

2) Literary Communications on Law: a) Literature as Medium and Defense towards Juridification (Poland, Russia, Ukraine); b) The early crime novel in Western Europe and the Russian Empire

Ronald’s Dworkin’s study How Law is Like Literature poses the question how distinctive parallels between literary and legal texts can be construed as constructive for both literary studies and law outside a common law jurisdiction. Written constitutions often include implicit foundation narratives that draw a line between the old and the new era. The project covers new ground as research on East European constitutions is still at its early beginnings. Besides such narratives underlying written constitutions, the PIs are also interested in the corresponding context of a normative appropriation of texts through historiography as a source of law. This evokes both the notion of traditional rights over texts as well as narrative myths. The project applies this approach to Ukrainian texts. From the early modern age through the late 18th century a series of historiographical texts emerges that seem to have normative, quasi-constitutional subtexts.

As an analysis of a literary communication about law, the project places a particular focus on legal acculturation as a problem and shows a specific interest in the role of what can be considered belle-lettres in this context; especially in countries with a state-controlled public. The question is how authors in Russia, Ukraine and Poland fictionalize juridification or try to ward it off, for instance through ethical maximalisms. While Russian authors tend to be interested mostly in spectacular criminal trials, Ukrainian authors show a different approach towards the law and questions of justice through legal practice in civil society and the lawyer character. The project follows these developments in Ukrainian literature into the 20th century, including narratives written during socialism and 1960s-dissedent culture. This vast historical framework can also be applied to Polish literature. While the Russian juridical reform in 1864 leads to decades of debates about how to evaluate the juridification process – often taken a nihilistic stance – the Polish authors of the time tend to regard the law as an instrument of social modernization and a means to restore an independent nation. Another focus within this part of the project – also comparing East and West European literatures – lies on potential parallels between forms of juridification and the rise of the crime novel in the 19th century. It is perfectly possible to consider the genre of the crime novel as an element of communications on the law; especially when, such as is the case in Émile Gaboriau’s “romans judiciaries,” the solving of the crime is expressed with explicit references to proper legal terms. The comparison of West and East European narratives will also include less canonical texts (such as Polish narratives) that illustrate more complex legal notions such as “feigned offence” or “fraud prevention.” The PIs would like to show that the crime novel becomes a popular medium of law reflection at this moment in time.

Head

Prof. Dr. Sebastian Lohsse
Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster
Institut für Rechtsgeschichte
Universitätsstraße 14-16, JUR 326
48143 Münster
Tel.: +49 251/83-22780
Email: Prof. Dr. Sebastian Lohsse

Prof. Dr. Alfred Sproede
Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster
Institut für Slavistik
Bispinghof 3a, Raum 209
48143 Münster
Tel.: +49 251/83-24570
Email: slavistik@uni-muenster.de

Prof. Dr. Irina Wutsdorff
Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster
Institut für Slavistik
Bispinghof 3, Raum 211
48143 Münster
Tel.: +49 251/ 83-24570
Email: irina.wutsdorff@uni-muenster.de

Research Assistants

Tetyana Dagovych
Melanie Foik
Fryderyk S. Zoll

Teilprojekt B01

Literarische Formen europäischer Rechtskultur in Polen, Russland und der Ukraine. Forschungen zu Recht und Literatur zentral- und osteuropäischer Gesellschaften in vergleichender Perspektive

Die Frage nach einem „Europa des Rechts“, ja einer „europäischen Rechtsidentität“, betrifft auch die Osthälfte des Kontinents. Vor diesem Hintergrund beabsichtigen die Teilprojektleitenden, Texte aus West- und Osteuropa, die für das Forschungsparadigma von Recht und Literatur relevant sind, in komparatistischer Sicht zu untersuchen. Der zeitliche Schwerpunkt der Untersuchungen liegt im 19. und 20. Jahrhundert; einige der folgenden Fragestellungen sollen bis in die Gegenwart fortgeschrieben werden:

1) Recht als Literatur. Zur literarischen Formengeschichte von Rechtsquellen: (a) In welchem Sinne ist Recht „wie Literatur“? Gründungsnarrative europäischer Verfassungen; (b) Geschichtsschreibung als Rechtsquelle.

2) Literarische Kommunikation über Recht: (a) Literatur als Medium und Abwehr von Verrechtlichung (Polen, Russland, Ukraine); (b) Der frühe Kriminalroman in Westeuropa und im Russischen Reich.

Ronald Dworkins Studie How Law is Like Literature provoziert die Frage, wie die Parallelen zwischen literarischen und Rechtstexten außerhalb des Common Law-Rechtskreises produktiv werden können, und zwar juristisch wie literaturwissenschaftlich. Verfassungstexte enthalten oft implizite (1/a) Gründungserzäh-lungen, die zwischen der neuen und der alten Ära Grenzen ziehen. Neuland wird das Projekt insofern betreten, als die einschlägige Erforschung osteuropäischer Verfassungen noch in den Anfängen steht. Neben den „Geschichten ‚hinter‘ Verfassungstexten“ ist auch der umgekehrte Konnex von Interesse, den wir (1/b) in den Versuchen einer Durchsetzung von Anspruchsrechten über Texte mit vordergründig historiographischer Intention beobachten können. Die Behauptung „althergebrachter Rechte“ rückt hier ebenso in den Blick wie romantische Geschichtsmythen. Der Ansatz soll an Texten aus der Ukraine erprobt werden. Hier entsteht zwischen Frühneuzeit und ausgehendem 18. Jahrhundert eine Reihe von Geschichtsdarstellungen mit normenvermittelnden, ‚quasi-konstitutionellen‘ Subtexten.
Im Bereich der „literarischen Kommunikation über Recht“ behandelt das Projekt (2/a) das Problem der Rechts-Akkulturation. Dabei interessiert die Rolle, die hier – speziell in Ländern mit schwacher oder staatlich eingeschränkter Öffentlichkeit – der ‚schönen Literatur‘ zufällt. Gefragt wird, wie die Literaten Russlands, der Ukraine und Polens im 19. und 20. Jahrhundert Phänomene der Verrechtlichung narrativ inszenieren oder – etwa im Namen ethischer Maximalismen – abwehren. Während sich die russischen Literaten v.a. für spektakuläre Strafprozesse interessieren, nähern sich ukrainische Literaten dem Begriff des Rechts und den Fragen der Justiz vorzugsweise über die zivilgesellschaftliche Rechtspraxis und die Figur des Rechtsanwalts. Wie das ukrainische Rechtsbewusstsein sich im weiteren 20. Jahrhundert und bis in die Gegenwart literarisch manifestiert, wird anhand von Texten auch aus der sozialistischen Zeit und der Dissidenten-Kultur der 1960er Jahre sowie bis in die jüngste Zeit verfolgt. Eine Studie zu diesem breiten Zeitrahmen ist auch für Polen ein Desiderat. Während man in Russland seit der Gerichtsreform von 1864 intensiv, aber vielfach in krass rechtsnihilistischen Formen, über die Bewertung der Verrechtlichungsprozesse streitet, betrachten die polni-schen Autoren der Zeit das Recht als Hebel der gesellschaftlichen Modernisierung und als Instrument für die Wiederherstellung einer unabhängigen Nation. Gegenstand der letzten Unterabteilung (2/b) des Projekts sind – erneut im ost- und westeuropäischen Vergleich (wie in Sektion 1/a) – Parallelen zwischen Formen der Verrechtlichung im 19. Jahrhundert und der Genese des Kriminalromans. Die Gattung kann in vielen frühen Manifestationen als Element der Rechtskommunikation betrachtet werden. Dies gilt, wie im Falle der „romans judiciaires“ von Émile Gaboriau, vor allem dann, wenn die Aufklärung des Verbrechens unter explizitem Be-zug auf juristische Begriffe ‚ausbuchstabiert‘ wird. Der Vergleich west- und osteuropäischer Romane wird auch weniger bekannte (darunter z.B. polnische) Texte einbeziehen, in denen komplexe Rechtsbegriffe wie „vorgetäuschte Straftaten“, „Strafvereitelung“ etc. illustriert werden. Der Kriminalroman, so die Arbeitshypothese, avanciert hier zum populären Medium von Rechtsbewusstsein.

Teilprojektleitung

Prof. Dr. Sebastian Lohsse
Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster
Institut für Rechtsgeschichte
Universitätsstraße 14-16, JUR 326
48143 Münster
Tel.: +49 251/83-22780
Email: Prof. Dr. Sebastian Lohsse

Prof. Dr. Alfred Sproede
Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster
Institut für Slavistik
Bispinghof 3, Raum 209
48143 Münster
Tel.: +49 251/83-24570
Email: slavistik@uni-muenster.de

Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeit

Prof. Dr. Irina Wutsdorff
Tetyana Dagovych
Melanie Foik
Fryderyk S. Zoll