Research Centres

Some 200 academics from more than 20 disciplines in the humanities and social sciences do research in the Cluster of Excellence “Religion and Politics in Pre-Modern and Modern Cultures” of the Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster. In recent years, several new institutions and third-party funding associations emerged from the Cluster of Excellence, which lend a more distinct profile to interdisciplinary religious research, incorporating it firmly into the University of Münster. The organisational backbone of the interdisciplinary cooperation are three period-specific research centres that serve to attract new research associations and to act as a forum for public events, publication series and journal editors.

The University of Münster’s small disciplines, which otherwise do not have the necessary resources to prepare research proposals, especially benefit from participation in the Centres. The university is home to several of these small disciplines – from archaeology and Egyptology to Westphalian regional history – many of which are also involved in the Cluster of Excellence. The Cluster’s interdisciplinary focus has contributed to their better institutional networking across different disciplines. The University of Münster will continue to promote this open culture of Centres and associations of researchers from small disciplines.

Center for Religion and Modernity (CRM): The Center for Religion and Modernity (CRM) was established within the context of the Cluster of Excellence in order to account for the new focus of religious studies in Law and the Social Sciences at the University of Münster. It concentrates and organises the research at the University of Münster on religions in the modern age. Since 2015, the Center has, with Campus Publishing, published the series “Religion and Modernity”, which has in the short time of its existence already become a coveted place of publication for external researchers, as well.

Centre for Medieval and Early Modern Studies (CMF): The Centre for Medieval and Early Modern Studies (Centrum für Mittelalter- und Frühneuzeitforschung – CMF) emerged after decades of collaborative research over epochs at the University of Münster. It provides a forum to discuss the periods from the early Middle Ages to the so-called Sattelzeit around 1800 in their structural continuity, and thus to continue the long and successful cooperation between specialists in the Medieval and Early Modern period. At the same time, the Centre broadens its perspective and assumes a transcultural point of view, also looking at the Christian-Islamic contact zones as well as at the Jewish contribution to European and Mediterranean history. The CMF includes two departments, the Institute for Early Medieval Studies and the research unit for the modern history of Great Britain. The Centre publishes two leading historical journals, “Frühmittelalterliche Studien” and the “Zeitschrift für Historische Forschung”, which together cover the entire chronological spectrum from the early Middle Ages to the Sattelzeit.

Centre for Eastern Mediterranean History and Culture (GKM): he Centre for Eastern Mediterranean History and Culture (Centrum für Geschichte und Kultur des östlichen Mittelmeerraums) brings all the classical and ancient studies of the University of Münster into one network. The function of the centre is to intensify interdisciplinary cooperation, develop new research projects, and provide a forum for public events. In the interdisciplinary Masters programme “Ancient cultures of the Eastern Mediterranean” (Antike Kulturen des östlichen Mittelmeerraums, AKOEM), the GKM’s broad spectrum is also made use of in teaching.

Forschungs-Centren

Am Exzellenzcluster „Religion und Politik in den Kulturen der Vormoderne und der Moderne“ an der Westfälischen Wilhelms-Universität Münster (WWU) forschen rund 200 Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus mehr als 20 geistes- und sozialwissenschaftlichen Fächern. Aus dem Forschungsverbund sind in den vergangenen Jahren eine Reihe neuer Institutionen und Drittmittelverbünde hervorgegangen, die das Profil in der interdisziplinären Religionsforschung stärken und sie nachhaltig an der WWU verankern. Ein organisatorisches Rückgrat der interdisziplinären Zusammenarbeit stellen die drei epochenbezogenen Forschungs-Centren dar, die der Einwerbung neuer Forschungsverbünde und als Forum für öffentliche Veranstaltungen, Publikationsreihen und Zeitschriftenredaktionen dienen.

Von der Beteiligung an den Centren profitieren besonders die Kleinen Fächer der WWU, die nicht über die erforderlichen Ressourcen zur Vorbereitung von Forschungsanträgen verfügen. Die Universität beheimatet diverse solcher Kleinen Fächer – von der Archäologie und Ägyptologie bis zur Westfälischen Landesgeschichte –, die in großer Zahl auch am Exzellenzcluster beteiligt sind. Dessen interdisziplinärer Fokus hat dazu beigetragen, dass sie sich über Fachbereichsgrenzen hinweg institutionell stärker vernetzen konnten. Die WWU wird die offene Centren-Kultur auch in Zukunft fortsetzen und die Zusammenschlüsse von Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern der Kleinen Fächer weiter fördern.

Centrum für Religion und Moderne (CRM): Das Centrum für Religion und Moderne (CRM) ist im Rahmen des Exzellenzclusters entstanden, um dem neuen Schwerpunkt der Religionsforschung in den Rechts- und Sozialwissenschaften der WWU Rechnung zu tragen. Es bündelt und organisiert die rechts- und sozialwissenschaftlichen Forschungen über Religionen in der Moderne. Seit 2015 gibt das Centrum im Campus Verlag die Schriftenreihe „Religion und Moderne“ heraus, die in der kurzen Zeit ihres Bestehens bereits zu einem begehrten Publikationsort auch für externe Forscherinnen und Forscher geworden ist.

Centrum für Mittelalter- und Frühneuzeitforschung (CMF): Das Centrum für Mittelalter- und Frühneuzeitforschung (CMF) ist aus der jahrzehntelangen epochenübergreifenden Verbundforschung an der WWU Münster hervorgegangen. Es bietet ein Forum, um die erfolgreiche Kooperation zwischen Mittelalter- und Frühneuzeitspezialisten fortzusetzen und die Epochen vom frühen Mittelalter bis zur Sattelzeit um 1800 auch weiterhin in ihren strukturellen Kontinuitäten zu thematisieren. Zugleich erweitert das CMF die Perspektive in transkultureller Hinsicht und nimmt auch die christlich-islamischen Kontaktzonen sowie den Beitrag unterschiedlicher jüdischer Gemeinschaften zur europäischen und mediterranen Geschichte in den Blick. Das CMF besteht aus zwei Abteilungen, dem Institut für Frühmittelalterforschung und der Abteilung für Frühneuzeitforschung. Am CMF sind die wissenschaftlichen Redaktionen zweier renommierter Fachzeitschriften angesiedelt, die gemeinsam das ganze chronologische Spektrum vom Frühmittelalter bis zur Sattelzeit abdecken: die Frühmittelalterlichen Studien und die Zeitschrift für Historische Forschung.

Centrum für Geschichte und Kultur des östlichen Mittelmeerraums (GKM): Im Centrum für Geschichte und Kultur des östlichen Mittelmeerraums (GKM) sind sämtliche Altertumswissenschaften der Universität Münster vernetzt. Das Centrum dient der Intensivierung der interdisziplinären Zusammenarbeit, der Entwicklung neuer Forschungsprojekte und als Forum für öffentliche Veranstaltungen. Im interdisziplinären Masterstudiengang „Antike Kulturen des östlichen Mittelmeerraums“ (AKOEM) wird das breite Angebot auch für die Lehre genutzt.