Organisation

The Cluster of Excellence “Religion and Politics” consists of around 140 researchers from more than 20 disciplines in the humanities and social sciences. Its central decision-making body is the General Assembly, which includes all Principal Investigators as well as other project leaders and members of the Graduate School. Responsibility for academic and strategic planning in the Cluster, as well as for building the Cluster’s profile, lies with the Board of Directors, which is elected for a period of two years.

Speaker of the Cluster of Excellence is Prof. Dr. Nils Jansen (History of Law; European Private Law); its Deputy Speaker is Prof. Dr. Detlef Pollack (Sociology of Religion). The Speaker represents the Cluster both within and outside the University, and chairs all its committees.

The Academic Advisory Board, consisting of internationally renowned scholars representing the most important disciplines in the Cluster of Excellence, supports the research conducted in the Cluster, and makes recommendations for further work.

The Cluster of Excellence “Religion and Politics” has a Graduate School with an interdisciplinary doctoral programme that supports early-career researchers. Postdocs are involved with their own independent projects in the interdisciplinary research of the Cluster.

The Management of the Cluster of Excellence is responsible for coordinating the academic activities of the Cluster, and for providing practical organizational support to its members. The Centre for Research Communication uses formats specific to a particular theme to disseminate the Cluster’s research from the humanities and social sciences to a large number of target groups in society. The Commission for Equal Opportunities and Diversity develops measures to promote equal opportunities and combat discrimination at work, and acts as a point of contact should conflicts arise.

Organisation of the Cluster of Excellence

Download organisational chart as pdf-format

© exc

Organisation

Dem Exzellenzcluster „Religion und Politik“ gehören rund 140 Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus mehr als 20 geistes- und sozialwissenschaftlichen Fächern an. Zentrales Entscheidungsgremium ist die Generalversammlung, der alle Hauptantragstellerinnen und Hauptantragsteller sowie weitere Projektleiterinnen und Projektleiter und Mitglieder der Graduiertenschule angehören. Die wissenschaftliche und strategische Planung sowie die Profilbildung des Exzellenzclusters liegen beim Vorstand, der auf zwei Jahre gewählt wird.

Sprecher des Exzellenzclusters ist Prof. Dr. Nils Jansen (Rechtsgeschichte; europäisches Privatrecht), stellvertretender Sprecher ist Prof. Dr. Detlef Pollack (Religionssoziologie). Der Sprecher vertritt den Exzellenzcluster innerhalb und außerhalb der Universität und führt den Vorsitz in allen Gremien des Forschungsverbundes.

Der Wissenschaftliche Beirat aus international renommierten Vertreterinnen und Vertretern der wichtigsten am Exzellenzcluster beteiligten Fächer begleitet die Forschungen und spricht Empfehlungen für die weitere Arbeit aus.

Zur Förderung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses unterhält der Exzellenzcluster „Religion und Politik“ eine Graduiertenschule mit interdisziplinärem Promotionsprogramm. Die Postdoktorandinnen und Postdoktoranden sind mit eigenständigen Projekten an der interdisziplinären Forschung beteiligt.

Die Geschäftsführung ist für die wissenschaftliche Koordination und praktische Organisation des Verbundes verantwortlich. Das Zentrum für Wissenschaftskommunikation des Exzellenzclusters vermittelt seine Forschungen aus den Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften in themenspezifisch gewählten Formaten an eine Vielzahl gesellschaftlicher Zielgruppen. Die Kommission für Gleichstellung und Diversity entwickelt Maßnahmen zur Förderung der Chancengleichheit, zum Schutz vor Diskriminierung im Arbeitsalltag und fungiert als Anlaufstelle in Konfliktfällen.

Aufbau des Exzellenzclusters

Organigramm zum Download im pdf-Format