© wikipedia/Vilallonga

Expansion of Research on Religion

The University of Münster (WWU) has become through the Cluster of Excellence “Religion and Politics” a nationally and internationally outstanding location for interdisciplinary research on religion – in terms of size and diversity of disciplines, methods, cultures and epochs: its scholars’ work spans cultures and epochs, relates to past and present, is denominational and non-denominational. This is to remain so in the long run. The university has created sustainable structures in order to safeguard the extent and variety of interdisciplinary research activities and international exchange: in recent years, several new research centres and institutions, chairs and third-party funding associations have emerged from the Cluster of Excellence. This has given the university a more distinct profile in interdisciplinary religious research.

Hans Blumenberg Visiting Professorship

The Hans Blumenberg Visiting Professorship for Religion and Politics – named after the influential Münster philosopher – was established at the Cluster of Excellence to attract innovative stimuli from international research to Münster and to deepen interdisciplinary discussion at the Cluster of Excellence. Renowned researchers from various disciplines are appointed to the visiting professorship, e.g. from history, sociology, ethnology and law.

Research Centres

The organisational backbone of interdisciplinary cooperation at the Cluster of Excellence “Religion and Politics” are three period-specific research centres that serve to attract new research associations and to act as a forum for public events, publication series and journal editors. The University of Münster is home to many small disciplines – from archaeology and Egyptology to Westphalian regional history – and these in particular benefit from participation in the Centres and the Cluster of Excellence.

Center for Religion and Modernity (CRM): The Center for Religion and Modernity (CRM) was established within the context of the Cluster of Excellence in order to account for the new focus of religious studies in Law and the Social Sciences at the University of Münster. It concentrates and organises research at the University of Münster on religions in the modern period.

Centre for Medieval and Early Modern Studies (CMF): The Centre for Medieval and Early Modern Studies (Centrum für Mittelalter- und Frühneuzeitforschung) emerged after decades of collaborative research across periods at the University of Münster. The Centre provides a forum to discuss the periods from the early Middle Ages to the so-called Sattelzeit around 1800 in their structural continuity, and thus to continue the long and successful cooperation between specialists in the Medieval and Early Modern period. At the same time, the Centre broadens its perspective and assumes a transcultural point of view, also looking at the Christian-Islamic contact zones as well as the Jewish contribution to European and Mediterranean history.

Centre for Eastern Mediterranean History and Culture (GKM): The Centre for Eastern Mediterranean History and Culture (Centrum für Geschichte und Kultur des östlichen Mittelmeerraums) brings all the classical and ancient studies of the University of Münster into a network. The function of the centre is to intensify interdisciplinary cooperation, develop new research projects and provide a forum for public events.

Acquisition of Research Networks

The fact that research into religion at the University of Münster is structured in centres has contributed in recent years to the acquisition not only of highly remunerated professorships and academic prizes, but also of large-scale joint projects.

Graduate School “Religious Plurality”: The Centre for Religion and Modernity (CRM) acquired in 2016, in cooperation with the University of Bochum, the interdisciplinary Graduate School “Regulating Religious Plurality in the Region”, which is funded by the state of North Rhine-Westphalia for a period of 4.5 years with €2.1 million. The Graduate School is part of the transdisciplinary research support provided by the state of North Rhine-Westphalia, which is intended amongst other things to provide practical solutions to current challenges in society.

Collaborative Research Centre “Cultures of Decision-Making”: The Centre for Medieval and Early Modern Studies (CMF) acquired in 2016 a new research network on “Cultures of Decision-Making”, which has been awarded approximately €7.8 million in the first phase (2016 to 2019). The Collaborative Research Centre investigates the social practice and the cultural fundamentals of decision-making in a historically comparative and interdisciplinary perspective from the Middle Ages until the present age. The subjects of history, literature, law, philosophy, ethnology, Jewish and Byzantine studies are involved. Although it deals with religion only indirectly, its basic conceptual idea – namely, to approach decision-making as a culturally variable form of action – has proven to be a fruitful stimulus for research in the Cluster, too.

Centre for Advanced Study “The Justification of Norms in Medical Ethics and Biopolitics”: Cooperation between scholars of law, philosophers and political scientists in the Cluster resulted in 2010 in the Centre for Advanced Study “The Justification of Norms in Medical Ethics and Biopolitics”. This Centre was funded by the German Research Foundation for a period of eight years. The Centre conducted discussion on the foundations of plausible normative arguments in bioethics. Dealing with the question of what role religious arguments have in justifying norms in pluralistic societies has resulted in staff synergies and overlaps with research questions pursued by the Cluster.

New Professorships and Institutes

The focus of research into religion at the University of Münster has been considerably expanded in the past years through the establishment and acquisition of several chairs related to religion in the humanities and social sciences. New professorships were created in sociology and in the political sciences; fundamental research in the legal sciences has also been radically strengthened. Jewish Studies was expanded significantly in 2015 through the recruitment of an Alexander von Humboldt professorship. An Institute for Jewish Studies has been established, with professorships focusing on Jewish art and cultural history and medieval book culture as well as Sephardic Judaism, Rabbinic Judaism and Jewish intellectual history.

The founding of the Cluster also enabled the significant extension of the Institute for Arabic and Islamic Studies. New professorships for Islamic History and Islamic Law were established. In 2013, the Arabist Thomas Bauer was awarded the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize by the German Research Foundation. Among other things, the prize money made it possible to create two further junior professorships, one with a focus on “Arabic literature and rhetoric”, and the other on “Modern Arabic literature and culture”.

Moreover, the University of Münster was one of three German universities to found a Centre for Islamic Theology (Zentrum für Islamische Theologie – ZIT). The Centre’s aim is to promote scholarly and intellectual reflection on the Muslim faith and contribute to the academic qualification of early-career researchers in the area of Islamic studies from a denominational perspective. In addition, the Centre trains teachers to teach the Islamic religion at German schools. In addition to the chairs of Islamic Religious Education and “Kalam, Islamic Philosophy and Mysticism”, chairs focusing on “Islamic Law and Islamic Ethics”, “The Koran and Quran Exegesis” and “Prophetic Tradition (Sunnah)” will be set up. The centre is funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research and by the Ministry of Innovation, Science and Research of North-Rhine Westphalia.

Centre of Religious Studies (CRS): Established in 2003, the University of Münster’s Centre of Religious Studies (CRS) has been an important nucleus for the Cluster of Excellence. It fulfils three functions: Firstly, it serves as an organisational anchor of religious research and teaching beyond the Christian theological faculties; the degree programmes of Orthodox Christian Theology, Islamic Religion and Religious Education, Jewish Studies and Religious Sciences form part of it. Secondly, it is a platform for the interdisciplinary cooperation of the various disciplines and departments that are related to religion. Thirdly, it serves as a point of contact between research into religion, churches and religious communities.

Zukuenftige Religionsforschung 2 1
© wikipedia/Vilallonga

Ausbau der Religionsforschung

Mit dem Exzellenzcluster „Religion und Politik“ ist die Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster (WWU) zu einem in Größe und Vielfalt bundesweit einzigartigen Standort für interdisziplinäre Religionsforschung geworden: Die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler arbeiten kultur- und epochenübergreifend, historisch und gegenwartsbezogen, bekenntnisneutral und bekenntnisgebunden. Das soll auf Dauer so bleiben. Um die Größe und Vielfalt der interdisziplinären Forschungsaktivitäten und den internationalen Austausch abzusichern, hat die Universität nachhaltige Strukturen geschaffen: In den vergangenen Jahren sind eine Reihe neuer Forschungs-Centren und -Einrichtungen, Professuren und Drittmittelverbünde aus dem Exzellenzcluster hervorgegangen. Das hat das Profil der Universität in der interdisziplinären Religionsforschung geschärft.

Hans-Blumenberg-Gastprofessur

Die „Hans-Blumenberg-Gastprofessur für Religion und Politik“ – benannt nach dem einflussreichen Münsteraner Philosophen – ist am Exzellenzcluster geschaffen worden, um innovative Impulse aus der internationalen Forschung nach Münster zu bringen und die interdisziplinäre Anschlussfähigkeit am Exzellenzcluster zu stärken. Auf die Gastprofessur werden renommierte Forscherinnen und Forscher aus wechselnden Disziplinen berufen, etwa aus der Geschichtswissenschaft, Soziologie, Ethnologie und Rechtswissenschaft.

Forschungs-Centren

Ein organisatorisches Rückgrat der interdisziplinären Zusammenarbeit am Exzellenzcluster „Religion und Politik“ stellen drei epochenbezogene Forschungs-Centren dar, die der Einwerbung neuer Forschungsverbünde und als Forum für öffentliche Veranstaltungen, Publikationsreihen und Zeitschriftenredaktionen dienen. Von der Beteiligung an den Centren und am Exzellenzcluster profitieren besonders die Kleinen Fächer, von denen die WWU viele beheimatet – von der Archäologie und Ägyptologie bis zur Westfälischen Landesgeschichte.

Centrum für Religion und Moderne (CRM): Das Centrum für Religion und Moderne (CRM) ist im Rahmen des Exzellenzclusters entstanden, um dem neuen Schwerpunkt der Religionsforschung in den Rechts- und Sozialwissenschaften der WWU Rechnung zu tragen. Es bündelt und organisiert die rechts- und sozialwissenschaftlichen Forschungen über Religionen in der Moderne.

Centrum für Mittelalter- und Frühneuzeitforschung (CMF): Das Centrum für Mittelalter- und Frühneuzeitforschung (CMF) ist aus der jahrzehntelangen epochenübergreifenden Verbundforschung an der WWU Münster hervorgegangen. Es bietet ein Forum, um die erfolgreiche Kooperation zwischen Mittelalter- und Frühneuzeitspezialisten fortzusetzen und die Epochen vom frühen Mittelalter bis zur Sattelzeit um 1800 auch weiterhin in ihren strukturellen Kontinuitäten zu thematisieren. Zugleich erweitert das CMF die Perspektive in transkultureller Hinsicht und nimmt auch die christlich-islamischen Kontaktzonen sowie den Beitrag unterschiedlicher jüdischer Gemeinschaften zur europäischen und mediterranen Geschichte in den Blick.

Centrum für Geschichte und Kultur des östlichen Mittelmeerraums (GKM): Im Centrum für Geschichte und Kultur des östlichen Mittelmeerraums (GKM) sind sämtliche Altertumswissenschaften der Universität Münster vernetzt. Das Centrum dient der Intensivierung der interdisziplinären Zusammenarbeit, der Entwicklung neuer Forschungsprojekte und als Forum für öffentliche Veranstaltungen.

Einwerbung von Forschungsverbünden

Die Centren-Struktur in der Religionsforschung der WWU hat es den beteiligten Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern ermöglicht, in den vergangenen Jahren neben hochdotierten Professuren und Wissenschaftspreisen großformatige Verbundprojekte einzuwerben.

Forschungskolleg „Religiöse Pluralität“: Das Centrum für Religion und Moderne (CRM) der WWU hat in Kooperation mit der Ruhr-Universität Bochum 2016 das interdisziplinäre Forschungskolleg „Religiöse Pluralität und ihre Regulierung in der Region“ eingeworben. Das Land Nordrhein-Westfalen fördert das Graduiertenkolleg für viereinhalb Jahre mit 2,1 Millionen Euro. Es ist Teil der transdisziplinären Forschungsförderung des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen und darauf ausgerichtet, problemlösungsorientierte Antworten auf aktuelle gesellschaftliche Herausforderungen zu geben.

DFG-Sonderforschungsbereich „Kulturen des Entscheidens“: Das Centrum für Mittelalter- und Frühneuzeitforschung (CMF) hat 2016 bei der DFG einen Sonderforschungsbereich (SFB) zum Thema „Kulturen des Entscheidens“ eingeworben, der in der ersten Phase von 2016 bis 2019 mit rund 7,8 Millionen Euro gefördert wird. Der Verbund untersucht die soziale Praxis und die kulturellen Grundlagen des Entscheidens in historisch vergleichender und interdisziplinärer Perspektive vom Mittelalter bis zur Gegenwart. Beteiligt sind die Fächer Geschichte, Literaturwissenschaft, Rechtswissenschaft, Philosophie, Ethnologie, Judaistik und Byzantinistik. Der SFB befasst sich nur teilweise mit Religion, doch die konzeptionelle Grundidee, das Entscheiden als eine kulturell variable Handlungsform zu thematisieren, hat sich als fruchtbare Anregung auch für die Forschung im Exzellenzcluster erwiesen.

DFG-Kollegforschergruppe „Normenbegründung in Medizinethik und Biopolitik“: Aus der Kooperation zwischen den Juristen, Philosophen und Politikwissenschaftlern im Exzellenzcluster ist 2010 die Kolleg-Forschergruppe „Normenbegründung in Medizinethik und Biopolitik“ hervorgegangen. Dieses von der DFG geförderte "Center for Advanced Study" ist auf acht Jahre angelegt und wird mit einer Summe von insgesamt rund 8,9 Mio. Euro gefördert. Die Forschergruppe führt einen vertieften Diskurs über die Grundlagen plausibler Normenbegründung in der Bioethik. Die Beschäftigung mit der Frage, welche Rolle religiöse Argumente für die Begründung von Normen in pluralistischen Gesellschaften spielen, führte zu zahlreichen personellen Synergien und inhaltlichen Überschneidungen mit Forschungsfragen des Exzellenzclusters.

Neue Professuren und Institute

Der Schwerpunkt der Religionsforschung an der WWU konnte in den vergangenen Jahren durch die Einrichtung und Einwerbung mehrerer religionsbezogener Lehrstühle in den Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften erheblich ausgebaut werden. Neue Professuren entstanden etwa in der Soziologie und Politikwissenschaft; auch die rechtswissenschaftliche Grundlagenforschung wurde stark erweitert. Mit der Einwerbung einer Alexander von Humboldt-Professur für Jüdische Studien 2015 konnte auch dieses Fach wesentlich erweitert werden. Inzwischen ist ein eigenes Institut für Jüdische Studien entstanden; die Professuren haben die Schwerpunkte jüdische Kunst- und Kulturgeschichte und Buchkultur des Mittelalters sowie sephardisches Judentum, und rabbinisches Judentum und jüdische Geistesgeschichte.

Durch die Gründung des Exzellenzclusters konnte zudem das Institut für Arabistik und Islamwissenschaft stark erweitert werden. So entstanden neue Professuren für Islamische Geschichte und Islamisches Recht. Mit dem Preisgeld des Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz-Preises der DFG für den Arabisten Thomas Bauer im Jahr 2013 konnten unter anderem zwei Juniorprofessuren mit den Schwerpunkten „Arabische Literatur und Rhetorik“ sowie „Arabische Literatur und Kultur der Moderne“ eingerichtet werden.

Zudem hat die WWU als einer von drei Standorten in Deutschland das Zentrum für Islamische Theologie (ZIT) gegründet. Ziel des Zentrums ist es, die wissenschaftlich-rationale Reflexion des muslimischen Glaubens voranzutreiben und zur Qualifizierung des akademischen Nachwuchses auf dem Gebiet der bekenntnisorientierten Beschäftigung mit dem Islam beizutragen. Es bildet außerdem Lehrer für den Islamischen Religionsunterricht an deutschen Schulen aus. Zusätzlich zu den Professuren für Islamische Religionspädagogik und „Kalam, islamische Philosophie und Mystik“ sollen Professuren folgen zu den Schwerpunkten „Islamisches Recht und islamische Ethik“, „Koran und Koranexegese“ sowie „Prophetische Tradition (Sunna)“. Gefördert wird das Zentrum durch das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung und das Ministerium für Innovation, Wissenschaft und Forschung des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen.

Centrum für religionsbezogene Studien (CRS): Das 2003 errichtete Centrum für religionsbezogene Studien (CRS) der WWU war ein wichtiger Kristallisationskern für den Exzellenzcluster. Es erfüllt drei Funktionen: Erstens dient es der organisatorischen Verankerung religionsbezogener Lehre und Forschung jenseits der Christlich-Theologischen Fakultäten; hier sind Studiengänge für Orthodox-Christliche Theologie, Islamische Religion und Religionspädagogik, Jüdische Studien und Religionswissenschaft angesiedelt. Zweitens stellt es eine Plattform für die interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit zwischen den verschiedenen religionsbezogenen Fächern und Fachbereichen dar. Drittens dient es als Kontaktstelle zwischen der Religionsforschung und Kirchen und Religionsgemeinschaften.