© Wilfried Gerharz

Digital Humanities

There is an increasingly strong demand for digital working methods in the humanities and social sciences at the University of Münster. University management, with the significant participation of the Cluster, set up in 2017 a Center for Digital Humanities (CDH), which is an interest group embedded in the institution that researchers from various disciplines who are interested in digital humanities can join. As a forum for cross-disciplinary knowledge transfer, the CDH unites the existing DH projects and interests at the University of Münster; it oversees and coordinates the different existing DH knowledge and resources within the University; it provides targeted support for the development of further fields of application for digital technologies; and it makes available its expertise in the planning and implementation of computer-aided project components.

The CDH is supported by the Service Centre Digital Humanities (SCDH), which is anchored in the eScience Support Centre of Münster’s University and State Library. The SCDH supports the development and use of digital techniques in the humanities and social sciences, and ensures that DH structures and services are tailored to needs.

Digital Humanities at the Cluster of Excellence “Religion and Politics”

The Cluster of Excellence “Religion and Politics” investigates the tension between theological doctrine and lived religiosity by examining the historical character of religiously binding texts. Here, the various historical layers that constitute the emergence and transmission of these texts will be illustrated digitally, and the historical origins of theological texts shown. The aim is to use methods from the Digital Humanities to approach the religiously binding texts of the three great monotheistic religions from various points of view. In some cases, these texts will be reconstructed for the first time.

Four research projects are dealing with the digital edition of authoritative religious texts. For Christianity, the church historian Hubert Wolf is examining the decisions made by the magisterium of the Catholic Church, and the church historian Holger Strutwolf is examining interpretative variants of the New Testament and their reception in Reformation and modern translations. For Islam, the Islamic theologian Mouhanad Khorchide is working with the Islamic scholar Angelika Neuwirth of the Corpus Coranicum in Berlin to research exemplary passages in the Quran on the subject of peace and violence. For Judaism, the liturgical scholar Clemens Leonhard is cooperating with Ben Gurion University in Be’er Scheva, Israel, to examine individual passages in the Passover-Haggadah.

© Wilfried Gerharz

Digital Humanities

Der Bedarf an digitalen Arbeitstechniken ist in den Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften der WWU stark gestiegen. Die Universität hat 2017 unter maßgeblicher Beteiligung des Exzellenzclusters ein Center for Digital Humanities (CDH) eingerichtet, einen institutionalisierten Interessenverbund, dem sich DH-interessierte Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler verschiedener Fachbereiche anschließen können. Zum fächerübergreifenden Wissensaustausch bündelt das CDH bestehende DH-Vorhaben und -Interessen an der WWU, moderiert und koordiniert die verschiedenen Kompetenzen und Ressourcen innerhalb der Universität, setzt Impulse zur Erschließung weiterer Einsatzfelder für digitale Technologien und stellt seine Expertise bei der Planung und Einrichtung computergestützter Projektkomponenten zur Verfügung.

Unterstützt wird das CDH durch das Service Center Digital Humanities (SCDH), das im eScience-Support-Center der ULB Münster verankert ist. Das SCDH unterstützt die Entwicklung und den Einsatz digitaler Arbeitstechniken an den geistes- und sozialwissenschaftlichen Fachbereichen und stellt bedarfsgerechte DH-Strukturen und Dienstleistungen sicher.

Digital Humanities am Exzellenzcluster „Religion und Politik“

Der Exzellenzcluster „Religion und Politik“ geht anhand der Auseinandersetzung um den historischen Charakter religiös verbindlicher Texte dem Spannungsverhältnis von theologischer Glaubenslehre und gelebter Religiosität nach. Dabei sollen die verschiedenen Schichten der Entstehungs- und Überlieferungsgeschichte digital veranschaulicht und die historische Entstehung von theologischen Texten aufgezeigt werden. Ziel ist es, religiös verbindliche Texte der drei großen monotheistischen Religionen mit Methoden der Digital Humanities unter verschiedenen inhaltlichen Gesichtspunkten zu erfassen. Teils werden sie dabei erstmals rekonstruiert.

Vier Forschungsprojekte befassen sich mit der digitalen Edition autoritativer religiöser Texte: Für das Christentum untersucht der Kirchenhistoriker Prof. Dr. Hubert Wolf lehramtliche Entscheidungen der katholischen Kirche sowie der Kirchenhistoriker Prof. Dr. Holger Strutwolf deutungsrelevante Varianten des Neuen Testaments und ihre Rezeption in reformatorischen und modernen Übersetzungen. Für den Islam erforscht der islamische Theologe Prof. Dr. Mouhanad Khorchide in Kooperation mit der Islamwissenschaftlerin Prof. Dr. Angelika Neuwirth vom Corpus Coranicum in Berlin exemplarische Textstellen des Korans zum Thema Frieden und Gewalt. Für das Judentum untersucht der Liturgiewissenschaftler Prof. Dr. Clemens Leonhard in Kooperation mit der israelischen Ben Gurion Universität in Be’er Scheva einzelne Passagen der Pessach-Haggada.