Chief Information Security Officer (CISO)

Chief Information Security Officer (CISO): IT Security Management Team (ISMT)
Team leader: Thorsten Küfer
Tel: +49 (0)251 83-31639
thorsten.kuefer@uni-muenster.de
Location: Röntgenstraße 7-13, Raum 413, 48149 Münster

The IT Security Managment Team (ISMT) has been established by the rectorate to ensure a robust, secure, state-of-the-art IT infrastructure for WWU. It acts as institutional Chief Information Security Officer (CISO).

The ISMT's tasks include the implementation and further development of the Information Security Management System (ISMS) according to ISO 27000, i.e. the establishment of procedures and rules within WWU which serve to define, control, monitor, maintain and continuously improve information security on a permanent basis.

In order to fulfil its objectives the ISMT develops and definites security-relevant objects, threats and risks and the security objectives derived from them. It coordinates the development and continuous adaptation of security guidelines.

The ISMT monitors the implementation of security standards, including auditing of WWU's IT institutions and systems.

It raises awareness for IT security among members of WWU through relevant trainings and campaigns.

Statute for the IT Security Management Team/Institutional Chief Information Security Officer (CISO) of WWU

Chief Information Security Officer (CISO)

Chief Information Security Officer (CISO): IV-Sicherheitsteam (IV-S)
Leitung: Thorsten Küfer
Tel: +49 (0)251 83-31639
thorsten.kuefer@uni-muenster.de
Standort: Röntgenstraße 7-13, Raum 413, 48149 Münster

Zur Sicherstellung einer robusten, sicheren IT-Infrastruktur der WWU nach dem aktuellen Stand der Technik wird vom Rektorat ein IV-Sicherheitsteam (IV-S) eingerichtet. Dieses fungiert als gremialer Chief Information Security Officer (CISO).

Zu den Aufgaben des IV-S gehören die Implementierung und Weiterentwicklung des Informationssicherheitsmanagementsystems (ISMS) nach ISO 27000, d.h. die Aufstellung von Verfahren und Regeln innerhalb der WWU, welche dazu dienen, die Informationssicherheit dauerhaft zu definieren, zu steuern, zu kontrollieren, aufrechtzuerhalten und fortlaufend zu verbessern.

Im Rahmen seines Auftrags erarbeitet und definiert das IV-S sicherheitsrelevante Objekte, Bedrohungen und Risiken für die WWU und die daraus abgeleiteten Sicherheitsziele. Es koordiniert die Ausarbeitung und laufende Anpassung von Sicherheitsrichtlinien.

Das IV-S überwacht die Umsetzung der Sicherheitsstandards, u.a. durch Auditierung der IV-Einrichtungen und –Systeme der WWU.

Es schafft ein Bewusstsein für IT-Sicherheit der Angehörigen der WWU durch entsprechendes Schulungsangebote und Kampagnen.

Rechtsstellung und Aufgaben der/des Chief Information Security Officer (CISO) der WWU