Research Council

The Research Council is appointed by the Rectorate for the duration of its term in office. It advises the University management in all matters related to initiating, coordinating, and financing research projects and alliances, and provides quality assurance support with applications for third-party funding. Its activities include advising academic staff at the University of Münster and drafting recommendations for approval by the Rectorate.

For research applications and outlines which include financial participation by the central administration, as well as funding applications to establish joint projects, such as collaborative research centres (SFBs), research training groups, research groups etc., the Rectorate requires that applicants consult with the Research Council in advance for quality-assurance advice.

Please contact the Research Council at least three weeks prior to the meeting. The upcoming meetings will take place on:

11 June
5 July 2019

Please also refer to the calendar of meetings for the dates of the upcoming sessions.

Please submit as close to a final version of your application as possible to the members of the Research Council 14 days prior to the corresponding meeting in order to ensure high-quality advising.

Members
Office of the Research Council

Members of the Research Council

Prof Dr Peter Funke

Prof Dr Peter Funke, born in Rheine in 1950, studied history and German studies in Münster and earned his doctoral degree in Cologne in 1978. Following his habilitation in Cologne in 1985, he was appointed chair of ancient history at the University of Siegen. Between 1988 and 2018, he was a professor of ancient history at the Institute for Epigraphy at the University of Münster, and since then, continues to work there as an emeritus (Seniorprofessor). From 1990 to 1994 he served as Vice-Rector for Teaching and Studies, and from 2004 to 2008, he was chairman of the Association of German Historians (VHD). Between 2005 and 2010, Professor Funke was a member of the Central Committee and the Senate of the German Research Foundation (DFG) and served as its vice-president from 2010 to 2016. From 2006 to 2015 he was a member of the Core Group and Standing Committee for the Humanities of the European Science Foundation. From 2007 to 2017 he was a member (and since 2011, also the deputy of the President) of the Executive Committee at the German Archaeological Institute (DAI). Since 2005 Professor Funke has served as scientific advisor to the German-Israeli Foundation and since 2007, has been a member of the committee “Grundlagenforschung Alte Welt” (Basic Research on the Ancient World) at the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities where he heads the Academy project “Inscriptiones Graecae”.

Prof Dr Ryan Gilmour

Prof Dr Ryan Gilmour was born in Ayrshire, Scotland, and educated at the universities of St Andrews and Cambridge (Prof Dr A. B. Holmes FRS). He held research fellowships at the Max-Planck-Institut für Kohlenforschung (A. Fürstner) and the ETH Zürich (P. H. Seeberger) before being appointed an Alfred Werner Assistant Professor at the ETH Zürich (2008-2012). In 2012 he accepted the CiM Professorship in Chemical Biology at the University of Münster, and since 2016, has held the chair of organic chemistry and chemical biology. Professor Gilmour is the recipient of the Ružička Prize of the ETH Zürich, is a distinguished Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry and was awarded an ERC Starting Grant (2013-2018) and an ERC Consolidator Grant (2018-2023).

Prof Dr Stephan Ludwig (chairman)

Prof Dr Stephan Ludwig was born in Gießen, Germany, in 1962, where he also studied chemistry. In 1993 he completed his PhD on structure-function relationships of influenza virus proteins at the Institute of Virology at the University of Giessen. He then changed his research field to cancer research at the University of Würzburg, where he built up his own independent workgroup. He earned his habilitation in 2000. In 2002 he was appointed to a C3 professorship for molecular medicine at the University of Düsseldorf. In November 2004 he came to the University of Münster to head the Institute of Molecular Virology at the Center for Molecular Biology of Inflammation (ZMBE). Professor Ludwig is the coordinator of the FluResearchNet, a nationwide research network on influenza, and the National Research Platform for Zoonoses funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF). From 2009 to 2016 he served as Vice-Rector for Research at the University of Münster and has been a permanent guest at the Research Council’s meetings since 2009. He has been a member of the grants committee for collaborative research centres (SFBs) at the German Research Foundation (DFG) since 2017.

Prof Dr Hans-Christian Pape

Prof Dr Hans-Christian Pape was born in Bad Oeynhausen in 1956, studied biology at the University of Bochum (RUB), earned his doctorate in 1986 and did post-doctoral research at Yale University et al. After earning his habilitation in physiology in 1992 and receiving a DFG Heisenberg Programme fellowship, he accepted an appointment as professor of physiology at the Faculty of Medicine at the Otto von Guericke University Magdeburg in 1994. In 2004 he became the director of the Institute of Physiology I at the University of Münster.
Professor Pape’s main research interests are waking and sleeping processes and emotional behaviour. He has served as spokesperson of the Collaborative Research Centre “Limbic Structures and Functions” (SFB 426) and is now the spokesperson for the Collaborative Research Centre “Fear, Anxiety, Anxiety Disorders” (SFB-TRR58). He has received a number of awards for his research achievements including the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize of the DFG in 1999 and the Max Planck Research Award in 2007. In 2006 he was nominated “Teacher of the Year” at the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Münster. Professor Pape was a member of the DFG Senate (1999-2005) and the German Council of Science and Humanities (2011-2018), and in 2018, became president of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation.

Prof Dr Andreas Pfingsten

Prof Dr Andreas Pfingsten, born in 1957, studied industrial engineering (Diplom) at the University of Karlsruhe and went on to earn his doctorate in economics in 1985. After earning his habilitation in macroeconomics (Karlsruhe, 1988), he was appointed chair of the economics department at the University of Siegen in 1990. Since 1994 he has worked at the University of Münster as a professor of business administration. Professor Pfingsten has been a member of the North Rhine-Westphalian Academy of Sciences since 1999.

Prof Dr Ulrich Pfister

Prof Dr Ulrich Pfister studied modern and contemporary history, sociology and macroeconomics at the University of Zurich. He earned his doctorare there in 1984, followed by his habilitation in 1991. After taking several temporary positions at the universities of Zurich, Konstanz and Geneva, he was appointed professor of modern and contemporary social and economic history at the University of Münster in 1996. In 2001-2002 he was appointed dean of the Faculty of History and Philosophy (FB 8), and from 2002 to 2006, served as vice-dean for teaching and international affairs. From 2010 to 2012 he chaired the Economic-Historical Committee in the Verein für Socialpolitik. Since 2015 he has been the spokesperson for the Collaborative Research Centre / SFB 1150 "Cultures of Decision-Making".

Prof Dr Norbert Sachser (deputy chairman)

Prof Dr Norbert Sachser, born in 1954, studied biology, chemistry and sociology in Bielefeld, where he also earned his doctorate in 1984. He received his habilitation in zoology at the University of Bayreuth in 1992. He has been teaching zoology with specialisation in behavioural biology at the University of Münster since 1994. Professor Sachser was the German representative in the International Council of Ethologists from 1988 to 1996, and then served as vice president and later president of the Ethologische Gesellschaft from 1997 to 2002. He became an honorary member of the association in 2012. From 2005 to 2008 he served as dean of the Faculty of Biology.

Prof Dr Sabine Schlacke

Prof Dr Sabine Schlacke, born in Osnabrück in 1968, studied law in Göttingen and Lausanne from 1987 to 1993 before earning her doctorate in a DFG Research Training Group at the University of Bremen in 1997. After passing her second state examination in law, she earned her habilitation in 2007 at the University of Rostock. In 2008 she was appointed professor of public law at the University of Bremen. In 2013 she received an appointment at the University of Münster where she has since served as the managing director of the Institute of Environmental and Planning Law and the director of the Central Institute for Spatial Planning. Professor Schlacke has been a member of the German Advisory Council on Global Change (WBGU) since 2008, and its chair since 2016. She is also a member of the DFG Permanent Senate Commission on Fundamental Issues of Biological Diversity (SKBV), chair of the Academic Advisory Council at the Academy for Spatial Research and Planning (ARL), deputy chair of the German Environmental Law Association (GfU), and head of the “Legal Studies” division in the project “Energy Systems of the Future” at the German Academies of Science (Acatech, Leopoldina, Union of the German Academies of Sciences and Humanities). Between 2010 and 2016 she was a member of the jury of the DBU-German Environmental Award.

Prof Dr Dr Katrin Tent

Prof Dr Dr Katrin Tent, born in 1963, studied general and comparative linguistics, mathematics and computer science at the University of Kiel. After earning her doctorate in linguistics there, she completed a postdoctoral fellowship at the University of Western Ontario in London, Ontario. She wrote her second dissertation in mathematics at the University of Notre Dame, Indiana. Following several extended research visits at the Hebrew University in Jerusalem and the University of Würzburg, she received a teaching position at the University of Birmingham (UK). In 2004 she accepted an appointment in Bielefeld, and in 2008, was appointed professor of mathematics and mathematical logic at the University of Münster.

Former Members of the Research Council

Professor Dr Dr hc Hans-Uwe Erichsen (Law): chairman 2008-2018

Professor Dr Gerhard Erker (Organic Chemistry): 2008-2018

Professor Dr Franz Hillenkamp (Medical Physics and Biomedical Physics): 2008-2014

Professor Dr Dr hc Michael Quante (Philosophy): 2013-2016

Professor Dr Ludwig Siep (Philosophy): 2008-2018

Professor Dr Monika Stoll (Human Genetics): 2014-2016

Professor Dr Martina Wagner-Egelhaaf (German Studies): 2008-2013

Professor Dr Johannes Wessels (Physics): 2013-2016

Forschungsbeirat des Rektorats

Der Forschungsbeirat ist ein vom Rektorat für die Dauer seiner Amtszeit  berufenes Gremium.  Er ist vom Rektorat damit beauftragt, die Universitätsleitung bei der Initiierung, Koordinierung und Förderung von Forschungsvorhaben und -verbünden zu beraten und bei der Qualitätssicherung von Anträgen auf Drittmittelförderung zu unterstützen. In diesem Rahmen berät der Forschungsbeirat u. a. die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler der WWU und beschließt an das Rektorat gerichtete Empfehlungen.

Mitglieder
Geschäftsstelle

Mitglieder des Forschungsbeirats

Prof. Dr. Peter Funke

Prof. Dr. Peter Funke, geboren 1950 in Rheine, studierte Geschichte und Germanistik in Münster und wurde 1978 in Köln promoviert. Nach der Habilitation 1985 in Köln übernahm er eine Professur für Alte Geschichte an der Universität-GHS Siegen. Von 1988 bis 2018 war er Professor für Alte Geschichte und Direktor des Seminars für Alte Geschichte/Instituts für Epigraphik an der WWU und ist seitdem ebenda Seniorprofessor. Von 1990 bis 1994 war er Prorektor für Lehre und studentische Angelegenheiten, von 2004 bis 2008 Vorsitzender des Verbandes der Historiker und Historikerinnen Deutschlands. Prof. Dr. Funke war von 2005 bis 2010 Mitglied des Hauptausschusses und des Senats der DFG und war von 2010 bis 2016 DFG-Vizepräsident. Von 2006 bis 2015 war er Mitglied der Core Group und des Standing Committee for the Humanities der European Science Foundation. Von 2007 bis 2017 war er Mitglied (und seit 2011 Vertreter der Präsidentin) der Zentraldirektion des Deutschen Archäologischen Instituts. Seit 2005 ist Prof. Dr. Funke Scientific Advisor der German-Israeli Foundation, seit 2007 zudem Mitglied der Kommission „Grundlagenforschung Alte Welt“ der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften, an der er auch das Akademievorhaben "Inscriptiones Graecae" leitet.

Prof. Dr. Ryan Gilmour

Prof. Dr. Ryan Gilmour wurde 1980 in Ayrshire, Schottland, geboren. 2002 erhielt er ein Masterdiplom (1st class) von der University of St Andrews. Anschließend promovierte er im Arbeitskreis von Prof. Dr. A. B. Holmes FRS an der University of Cambridge über die Synthese von mittelgroßen, cyclischen Ethern in marinen Naturstoffen. Nach einem Postdoktoranden-Aufenthalt bei Prof. Dr. Alois Fürstner am Max-Planck-Institut für Kohlenforschung (D) über die Synthese mariner Polyketide wechselte er an die ETH Zürich (Schweiz) in die Gruppe von Prof. Dr. Peter H. Seeberger. Im August 2008 wurde er zum Alfred-Werner-Assistenzprofessor für Synthetische Organische Chemie an der ETH Zürich ernannt. Anfang 2012 folgte Gilmour einem Ruf an die Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster und seit Oktober 2012 ist er CiMIC-Professor für Chemische Biologie. Seit 2016 hat Prof. Gilmour den Lehrstuhl für Organic Chemistry und die CiM-Professur für Chemical Biology inne. Zudem ist er Preisträger des Ružička-Preises der ETH Zürich, wurde zum "Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry" ernannt und mit einem ERC Starting Grant (2013-2018) sowie einem ERC Consolidator Grant (2018-2023) ausgezeichnet.

Prof. Dr. Stephan Ludwig (Vorsitzender)

Prof. Dr. Stephan Ludwig wurde 1962 in Gießen geboren und schloss dort auch sein Studium der Chemie ab. Im Jahr 1993 promovierte er zum Thema Struktur-Funktionsbeziehungen von Influenza-Virus-Proteinen am Institut für Virologie der Universität Gießen. Er wechselte dann in die Krebsforschung nach Würzburg, baute dort seinen eigenen unabhängigen Arbeitskreis auf und habilitierte im Jahr 2000. 2002 folgte er einem Ruf auf eine C3-Professur für Molekulare Medizin nach Düsseldorf und wechselte im November 2004 an die WWU Münster, um den Lehrstuhl für Molekulare Virologie am Zentrum für Molekularbiologie der Entzündung (ZMBE) zu übernehmen. Prof. Ludwig ist Koordinator des FluResearchNet, eines bundesweiten Forschungsnetzes zur Influenza, sowie der BMBF-geförderten Nationalen Forschungsplattform für Zoonosen. Von 2009 bis 2016 war er Prorektor für Forschung der WWU und nahm in dieser Funktion bereits seit 2009 als ständiger Gast an den Sitzungen des Forschungsbeirats teil. Seit 2017 ist er Mitglied des Bewilligungsausschusses für die Sonderforschungsbereiche der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft.

Prof. Dr. Hans-Christian Pape

Prof. Dr. Hans-Christian Pape wurde 1956 in Bad Oeynhausen geboren, studierte Biologie an der Ruhr-Universität Bochum, promovierte 1986 und war anschließend Postdoktorand u.a. an der Yale University. Nach Habilitation 1992 in Physiologie und Heisenbergstipendium der DFG folgte er 1994 einem Ruf auf den Lehrstuhl Physiologie an der Medizinischen Fakultät der Otto-von-Guericke-Universität Magdeburg. Seit 2004 ist er Direktor des Instituts für Physiologie I an der Westfälischen Wilhelms-Universität Münster.
Das Forschungsinteresse von Prof. Dr. Pape gilt den Prozessen von Wachheit und Schlaf sowie dem emotionalen Verhalten. Er war Sprecher des SFB 426 („Limbische Strukturen und Funktionen“), und er ist Sprecher des SFB-TRR58 („Furcht, Angst, Angsterkrankungen“). Für seine Forschungen wurde er mit dem Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz-Preis der DFG (1999) und dem Max Planck-Forschungspreis (2007) ausgezeichnet. Im Jahre 2006 wurde er zum „Lehrer des Jahres“ an der Medizinischen Fakultät Münster gewählt. Prof. Dr. Pape war Mitglied des Senats der DFG (1999-2005) sowie des Wissenschaftsrats (2011-2018) und er ist seit 2018 Präsident der Alexander-von-Humboldt-Stiftung.

Prof. Dr. Andreas Pfingsten

Prof. Dr. Andreas Pfingsten, geboren 1957, studierte Diplom-Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen an der Universität Karlsruhe und wurde dort 1985 im Fach Wirtschaftswissenschaften promoviert. Nach der Habilitation im Fach Volkswirtschaftslehre (Karlsruhe 1988) hatte er ab 1990 eine VWL-Professur an der Universität-GHS Siegen inne und ist seit 1994 Professor für Betriebswirtschaftslehre an der WWU Münster. Seit 1999 ist Prof. Dr. Pfingsten Mitglied der Nordrhein-Westfälischen Akademie der Wissenschaften.

Prof. Dr. Ulrich Pfister

Prof. Dr. Ulrich Pfister studierte Neuere und Neueste Geschichte, Soziologie und Volkswirtschaftslehre in Zürich. Er promovierte dort 1984; die Habilitation erfolgte 1991. Nach mehreren zeitlich befristeten Stellen an den Universitäten Zürich, Konstanz und Genf ist er seit 1996 Professor für Sozial- und Wirtschaftsgeschichte der neueren und neuesten Zeit an der Universität Münster. Er war 2001-2002 Dekan des Fachbereich 8 Geschichte/Philosophie und 2002-2006 Prorektor für Lehre und Internationales. Von 2010 bis 2012 war er Vorsitzender des Wirtschaftshistorischen Ausschusses im Verein für Socialpolitik. Seit 2015 ist er Sprecher des SFB 1150 Kulturen des Entscheidens.

Prof. Dr. Norbert Sachser (Stellvertretender Vorsitzender)

Prof. Dr. Norbert Sachser, geboren 1954, studierte Biologie, Chemie und Soziologie in Bielefeld und wurde dort 1984 promoviert. Er habilitierte sich 1992 in Bayreuth im Fach Zoologie. Seit 1994 lehrt er Zoologie mit Schwerpunkt Verhaltensbiologie an der WWU Münster. Prof. Dr. Sachser war von 1988 bis 1996 deutscher Vertreter im International Ethological Council, von 1997 bis 2002 zunächst Vizepräsident und dann Präsident der Ethologischen Gesellschaft. Im Jahr 2012 wurde er zu deren Ehrenmitglied ernannt. Von 2005 bis 2008 war er Dekan des Fachbereichs Biologie.

Prof. Dr. Sabine Schlacke

Prof. Dr. Sabine Schlacke, geboren 1968 in Osnabrück, studierte von 1987-1993 Rechtswissenschaften in Göttingen und Lausanne und promovierte in einem DFG-Graduiertenkolleg an der Universität Bremen (1997). Nach dem Zweiten Staatsexamen habilitierte sie sich 2007 an der Universität Rostock. Sie folgte 2008 einem Ruf auf eine Professur für Öffentliches Recht an der Universität Bremen. Seit 2013 ist sie geschäftsführende Direktorin des Instituts für Umwelt- und Planungsrecht der Westfälischen Wilhelms-Universität Münster und Direktorin des Zentralinstituts für Raumplanung. Prof. Dr. Schlacke ist seit 2008 Mitglied und seit 2016 Vorsitzende des Wissenschaftlichen Beirats der Bundesregierung Globale Umweltveränderungen, Mitglied der ständigen Senatskommission der DFG für Grundsatzfragen der biologischen Vielfalt (SKBV), Vorsitzende des Wissenschaftlichen Beirats der Akademie für Raumfoschung und Landesplanung (ARL), stellvertretende Vorsitzende der Gesellschaft für Umweltrecht und Sektionsverantwortliche für den Bereich "Rechtswissenschaften" des Projekt "Energiesysteme der Zukunft" der Wissenschaftsakademien (Acatech, Leopoldina, Union der deutschen Akademien). Von 2010 bis 2016 war sie Mitglied der Jury DBU-Deutscher Umweltpreis.

Prof. Dr. Dr. Katrin Tent

Prof. Dr. Dr. Katrin Tent, geboren 1963, studierte Allgemeine und Vergleichende Linguistik, Mathematik und Informatik an der Universität Kiel. Dort wurde sie in Linguistik promoviert und ging danach zunächst an die University of Western Ontario, London, Ontario. Anschließend schrieb sie ihre Dissertation in Mathematik an der University of Notre Dame, Indiana. Nach längeren Forschungsaufenthalten an der Hebrew University in Jerusalem und an der Universität Würzburg, nahm sie zuerst eine Stelle an der University of Birmingham, UK, an. Von dort folgte sie einem Ruf nach Bielefeld, und ist seit 2008 Professorin für Mathematik und Mathematische Logik an der WWU Münster.

Frühere Mitglieder des Forschungsbeirats

Professor Dr. Dr. h.c. Hans-Uwe Erichsen (Rechtswissenschaften): Vorsitzender 2008-2018

Professor Dr. Gerhard Erker (Organische Chemie): 2008-2018

Professor Dr. Franz Hillenkamp (Medizinische Physik und Biophysik): 2008-2014

Professor Dr. Dres. h.c. Michael Quante (Philosophie): 2013-2016

Professor Dr. Ludwig Siep (Philosophie): 2008-2018

Professorin Dr. Monika Stoll (Humangenetik): 2014-2016

Professorin Dr. Martina Wagner-Egelhaaf (Germanistik): 2008-2013

Professor Dr. Johannes Wessels (Physik): 2013-2016