Interdisciplinary Master of Science in Cognitive Neuroscience (iKoN)
© IfP - Robert Matzke

Click here for information on the application procedures.

The brain is incredibly complex, as are our experiences and behaviours. The interdisciplinary master’s programme in cognitive neuroscience (iKoN) conveys the knowledge and skills to understand the neural mechanisms underlying mental functions such as thinking, perceiving, feeling, remembering, dreaming, acting, speaking and problem solving. The study of these functions in cognitive neuroscience is strongly influenced by current methodological developments in various research fields. These include imaging techniques and the use of neural networks and artificial intelligence, as well as address research questions from psychology, biology, medicine, exercise science and other subjects. Interdisciplinary collaboration is essential for successful research and teaching in this field.

Neuroscientific research methods such as electroencephalography, magnetoencephalography, functional magnetic resonance imaging and computational modelling contribute to the understanding of the processes that underlie experience and behaviour. These methods and findings are taught theoretically and applied practically at iKoN by professors of psychology, medicine, biology, physics and sports science. This broad-based approach allows you to benefit from the full research potential of cognitive neuroscience at the University of Münster.

With your BSc degree under your belt, you will enter the programme with valuable interdisciplinary expertise from different disciplines (e.g. psychology, physics, mathematics, biology, medicine, computer science, movement sciences, neuroscience) and will have the opportunity to develop new, interdisciplinary approaches in seminars and practical courses together with other students and instructors.

  • Study

    The iKoN programme is characterised by a high degree of interaction between instructors and students and a pronounced practical orientation. The individual study content serves to strengthen competence in the field of cognitive neuroscience research, development and application. This, in turn, will allow you to apply these skills in future to the corresponding professional fields of science, business and industry. Specifically, you will acquire in-depth knowledge and skills in the following areas:

    • structures and functions of the nervous system underlying human behaviour and experience
    • experimental methods and procedures of neuroscientific research, e.g. functional magnetic resonance imaging, electroencephalography, virtual reality and eye tracking
    • mathematical modelling of neural networks and machine-learning applications
    • scientific programming and analysis of neuroscientific data
    • interdisciplinary communication and teamwork

    Module content

    In the lectures of the module “Neurocognition”, you will become familiar with theories and models of cognitive neuroscience. This will enable you to classify scientific findings that you are sure to encounter during your studies and in your future career. You will be able to determine whether these findings support existing theories and models, and to identify inconsistencies between different theories and models. In the “Neural Systems” module, these skills are enhanced through active seminar work using examples from the latest research.

    Are you interested in examining a real brain and exploring it in detail? This is possible in the module “Neuroanatomy”, a unique anatomical dissection course which introduces you to the structures and functional units of the nervous system in small groups and in a very practical way. This course will give you a concrete idea of how the brain is spatially constructed and enable you to recognise generic structures in individual brains and distinguish them from individual variations in morphology.

    How is an EEG measured, how do you analyse fMRI data, and how does an eye tracker work? In the “Methods of Neuroscience” module, you will be given a hands-on introduction to these and other important empirical methods of cognitive neuroscience and learn how to find the appropriate method for your own research project. You will then practice and expand on this knowledge with concrete examples in various laboratories during your research internship.

    In the “Computational Neuroscience” module, the theoretical understanding of brain functions is deepened, concretised and augmented by the area of modelling and programming. You will learn about the processes of information processing in individual neurons and in cell networks and understand how to model and interpret them.

    Depending on your bachelor’s degree, you will choose from different course offerings in the elective module “Discipline-Specific Foundations” and thereby complement your academic training in a very specific and individual way. You will further expand these areas of competence with the elective module “Interdisciplinary Deepening”, during which you can deepen them based on your personal research profile, knowledge and interests.

    The crowning glory – your own research paper! In the final module, “Research Module and Master’s Thesis”, you will learn how best to go about this with practical academic supervision. Based on existing research results, you will develop hypotheses and professionally test them with the aid of appropriate methods and procedures.

    Interdisciplinarity

    The special interdisciplinary breadth of the programme combines all relevant disciplines of cognitive neuroscience and is practiced by instructors and students alike. Students with a bachelor’s degree in psychology, biology, computer science, mathematics, physics, or exercise science – and related subject combinations – are welcome to apply! We are convinced that disciplinary diversity leads to the best possible learning and research results. See for yourself what excites students and faculty of all disciplines about neuroscience:

    With my background in biology, I find neuroscience totally exciting because it allows us to study the mechanisms behind human and animal behaviour, thinking and feeling. From imaging techniques like magnetic resonance imaging to electrophysiological measurements of individual neurons, neuroscience allows us to specifically explore complex questions and better understand our brain and its functions.
    Sophie Siestrup, research assistant in biological psychology (BSc Biosciences)
    I started the BSc in Psychology with the firm idea of working as a psychotherapist later on. During my bachelor thesis, however, I had so much fun analysing data and designing experiments that I decided to pursue a neuroscience master’s degree and was able to broaden my interests during that time. Today, as a research assistant, I still enjoy transforming a research question into an appropriate experiment and trying out new statistical methods.
    Frauke Heins, research assistant in general psychology (BSc Psychology)
    After completing my master’s degree in psychology with a focus on cognitive neuroscience, the path to neuroscience research wasn’t too far. Still, I have learned a lot from my time in science and there is always so much more to know because our brains haven’t quite figured out how they work themselves.
    Falko Mecklenbrauck, research assistant in biological psychology (BSc Psychology)
    The most successful teams are interdisciplinary. This is precisely the added value that iKoN students will experience directly.
    Anna-Gesina Hülemeier, research assistant in general psychology (BSc Psychology)
    Studying electromagnetic fields in the human brain is a very special application of physical phenomena, and there is an incredible amount to discover. The idea of using my research to better understand neuronal functioning or to contribute to understanding or curing diseases is very motivating.
    Yvonne Buschermöhle, research assistant at the Institute for Biomagnetism and Biosignalanalysis (IBB) (BSc, Phyics)
    This is a research field that brings together many different disciplines. Through mathematics, I have an understanding of the algorithms used to create medical image data. My background in psychology as a minor enables me to gain neuroscientific insights from the final medical image data. In the field of artificial intelligence, I see multiple potentials to gain new insights in cognitive neuroscience in the future.
    Jorunn Anna Mense, BSc Mathematics
  • Your benefits

    Your talents are in demand, and we support you individually!

    Neuroscience is as versatile as your interests. We want to provide you with individual support because we are convinced that you already have many relevant skills: interest in human experience and behaviour, logical thinking and empirical working methods.

    In our master’s programme, you will learn to think outside the box professionally because we all come together from a wide variety of backgrounds. What unites us is the fascination with the brain. That’s why we have created a degree-relevant curriculum with courses from different subjects depending on your area of specialisation and combine your interests with those of others in an interdisciplinary way. See for yourself what you have in common with the other subjects, and find out what you can learn from others:

    Psychology

    • What you already know: fundamentals in neurocognitive processes, general and biological psychology, empirical methods training and statistics
    • What you will learn: neuroscientific methods: EEG, fMRI, computational modelling, neuroanatomy

    Physics

    • What you already know: theoretical and experimental approaches to fundamental questions about the world as well as understanding of the physical processes underlying neural (action potential, networks) and behavioural processes (optics, acoustics, mechanics) as well as measurement methods (EEG, MRI)
    • What you will learn: structure and function of the brain, experimental investigation of psychological processes, neuronal information processing

    Mathematics

    • What you already know: mathematical understanding of analysis, linear algebra and probability theory, numerical methods
    • What you will learn: empirical and experimental research methods, structure and function of the brain, applied modelling, data processing of human behaviour

    Biology

    • What you already know: understanding of the evolution and diversity of biological functions, knowledge of neurophysiological processes and structures and knowledge of behavioural analysis
    • What you will learn: sound statistical data analysis, in-depth understanding of the human brain, neuroscientific methods (EEG, fMRI, computational modelling)

    Medicine

    • What you already know: human physiology and anatomy, as well as their healthy function and pathology
    • What you will learn: neuroscientific methods (EEG, fMRI, computational modelling), statistical data analysis, modelling

    Computer science

    • What you already know: information processing, algorithmic methods for data analysis, programming experience, structured approach to implementing workflows, human-machine interaction
    • What you will learn: empirical and experimental research methods, neuroanatomy and neurophysiology, analysis and understanding of human behaviour

    Exercise science

    • What you already know: empirical methods for behavioural research, anatomical and physiological principles of movement control
    • What you will learn: neuroanatomy: structure and function of the brain, neural methods: EEG, fMRI, MRI, computational modelling

    Neuroscience

    • What you already know: fundamentals of neurocognitive processes and neuroanatomical structures, empirical research and statistical data analysis
    • What you will learn: theory and methods for analysing human behaviour and experience
  • Career prospects

    Neuroscience offers graduates a broad range of versatile and attractive career perspectives.

    High-quality methodological skills enable graduates to take on challenging jobs in the field of data science and deep learning. Our modules provide knowledge about the human experience and interaction with a dynamic and complex environment, which is in high demand in professional fields such as human-machine interaction, robotics, autonomous driving, ergonomics, user experience (UX) design, artificial intelligence, medical technology or rehabilitation research.

    Knowledge of neurological damage and disorders in brain function is fundamental for pursuing research and development endeavours in the field of psychiatry, neurology and cognitive rehabilitation.

    The interdisciplinary approach and integrative understanding of complex problems related to the brain, experience, and behaviour prepare students for professional fields in which science communication and science-based consulting for the media, politics, organisations and individuals play a central role.

  • Research

    All faculty members at iKoN actively conduct neuroscientific research. You can find more information about their research interests on the following institute webpages. You can also find information on internships and completed theses.

    Institute of Psychology - Biological Psychology

    Institute of Psychology - General Psychology I

    Institute of Psychology - General Psychology II

    Institute of Biomagnetism and Biosignal Analysis

    Institute of Neuro- and Behavioral Biology

    Institute of Medical Psychology and Systems Neuroscience

    Translational Research Imaging Center

    Movement Sciences

    Neuromotor and Training

    Translational Psychiatry

  • Examination regulations, programme structure, performance overview and module handbook

    The examination regulations contain all the rules and requirements for the interdisciplinary MSC programme in cognitive neuroscience. The programme structure shows the ideal course of study. In the performance overview you will find all required coursework and degree-relevant examinations which must be completed in order to graduate. Here, you can download the programme structure and performance overview. You will find descriptions of all the courses in the module handbook, which also contains the examination regulations.

  • Psychotherapy training (under the old law)

    For admission to psychotherapeutic training (under the old law), the NRW State Examination Office requires, among other things, “a final examination passed in Germany at a university or equivalent institution of higher education in the course of study in psychology which includes the subject of clinical psychology ...”. It goes on to say, “‘Courses of study in psychology’ also include those courses whose designation indicates a focus or an addition, e.g., ‘Psychology and Psychotherapy’ or ‘Psychology, specialisation in clinical psychology’ (as distinct from a specialisation, e.g. ‘Rehabilitation Psychology’).” Thus, the interdisciplinary MSc programme in cognitive neuroscience does not meet the requirements for psychotherapeutic training (under the old law).

  • Application

    Please see our information on the regular application process and on special cases in the application process. This is where you will also find detailed information on admission requirements and the allocation of study places.

    In addition to the general requirements for enrolment, the prerequisite for admission to the interdisciplinary MSc programme in cognitive neuroscience is the completion of a relevant undergraduate degree programme at a German or foreign university with a standard period of study of at least 6 semesters with the conferral of a Bachelor of Science (BSc) or a comparable professional degree. The following courses of study are considered “subject-relevant”:

    Applied Physics, Bioinformatics, Biology, Biophysics, Bioscience, Cognitive Science, Computer Science, Experimental Physics, Human Movement Analytics -Biomechanics, Motor Control, and Learning, Human Movement in Sports and Exercise, Human Movement Science, Human Biology, Computer Science, Computer Science, Mathematics and Physics, Cognitive Science, Cognitive Informatics, Mathematics, Mathematics in Medicine and Life Sciences, Mathematics and Computer Science, Mathematical Physics, Human-Computer Interaction, Natural Sciences, Neuro-Cognitive Psychology, Neuroscience, Philosophy-Neuroscience-Cognition, Physics, Psychology, Sensory and Cognitive Psychology, Statistics, Theoretical Physics, or a degree in Medicine.

    Degrees from universities outside the European Union are reviewed for equivalency by the Student Admissions Office.

Interdisziplinärer Master of Science Kognitive Neurowissenschaften (iKoN)
© IfP - Robert Matzke

Hier geht es direkt zur Bewerbung!

Das Gehirn ist unglaublich komplex, genauso wie unser Erleben und Verhalten. Der interdisziplinäre Masterstudiengang Kognitive Neurowissenschaften (iKoN) befasst sich mit der Vermittlung von Wissen und Kompetenzen zur Untersuchung der neuronalen Mechanismen, die psychischen Funktionen wie Denken, Wahrnehmen, Fühlen, Erinnern, Träumen, Handeln, Sprechen und Problemlösen zugrunde liegen. Die Erforschung dieser Funktionen in der kognitiven Neurowissenschaft ist stark geprägt von aktuellen methodischen Entwicklungen in verschiedenen Forschungsfeldern, die bildgebende Verfahren und den Einsatz neuronaler Netzwerke und künstlicher Intelligenz umfassen und vereint Forschungsfragen aus Psychologie, Biologie, Medizin, Bewegungswissenschaft und weiteren Fächern. Für eine erfolgreiche Forschung und Lehre in diesem Bereich ist eine interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit unabdingbar.
 
Neurowissenschaftliche Untersuchungsmethoden wie Elektroenzephalographie, Magnetenzephalographie, funktionelle Kernspintomographie und computationale Modellierung tragen zum Verständnis der Prozesse bei, die unser Erleben und Verhalten ermöglichen. Diese Methoden und Erkenntnisse werden im iKoN von Dozierenden aus Psychologie, Medizin, Biologie, Physik und Sportwissenschaft theoretisch vermittelt und praktisch angewandt. So profitierst Du von allen Forschungspotentialen der kognitiven Neurowissenschaft an der Universität Münster.

Auch Du als Studierende:r bringst mit Deinem B. Sc.-Abschluss aus unterschiedlichen Disziplinen (wie Psychologie, Physik, Mathematik, Biologie, Medizin, Informatik, Bewegungswissenschaften, Neurowissenschaften) bereits wertvolle interdisziplinäre Expertise ein und wirst durch diese in Seminaren und Praktika zusammen mit anderen Studierenden und Dozierenden neue, fachübergreifende Lösungsansätze entwickeln.

  • Studium

    Ein hohes Maß an Interaktion zwischen Dozierenden und Studierenden und eine ausgeprägte Praxisorientierung ist im iKoN von zentraler Bedeutung. Die einzelnen Studieninhalte bauen dabei ganz gezielt Kompetenzen im Bereich kognitiv-neurowissenschaftlicher Forschung, Entwicklung und Anwendung auf, um diese später in entsprechenden Berufsfeldern der Wissenschaft, der Wirtschaft und der Industrie einsetzen zu können. Im Einzelnen wirst Du fundierte Kenntnisse und Fähigkeiten in mehreren Bereichen erwerben:

    • Strukturen und Funktionen des Nervensystems, die dem menschlichen Verhalten und Erleben zugrunde liegen
    • Experimentelle Methoden und Verfahren neurowissenschaftlicher Forschung, wie z.B. funktionelle Magnetresonanztomographie, Elektroenzephalographie, Virtual Reality und Eye Tracking
    • Mathematische Modellierung neuronaler Netzwerke und Anwendungen in maschinellem Lernen
    • Wissenschaftliches Programmieren und Durchführung von Analysen neurowissenschaftlicher Daten
    • Interdisziplinäre Kommunikation und Teamarbeit

    Modulinhalte

    In den Vorlesungen des Moduls Neurokognition lernst Du Theorien und Modelle der kognitiven Neurowissenschaften kennen, mit deren Hilfe Du wissenschaftliche Befunde einordnen kannst, mit denen Du Dich im Verlauf des Studiums und in Deiner späteren professionellen Tätigkeit auseinandersetzen wirst. Auf diese Weise kannst Du bestimmen, ob diese Befunde existierende Theorien und Modelle stützen, und Inkonsistenzen zwischen verschiedenen Theorien und Modellen feststellen. Im Modul Neuronale Systeme werden diese Fähigkeiten anhand von Beispielen aus der neuesten neuer Forschung in aktiver Seminararbeit erweitert.

    Einmal ein echtes Gehirn zu sehen und sogar genau zu erkunden? Dies geht im Modul Neuroanatomie, dem einzigartigen Angebot eines anatomischen Präparationskurses, in dem Du die Strukturen und funktionellen Einheiten des Nervensystems in Kleingruppen und ganz praktisch erarbeiten wirst. Dieser Kurs vermittelt Dir eine konkrete räumliche Vorstellung von der Bauweise des Gehirns und befähigt Dich dazu, generische Strukturen in individuellen Gehirnen zu erkennen und von individuellen Varianten der Morphologie abzugrenzen.

    Wie misst man ein EEG, wie wertet man fMRT Daten aus und wie funktioniert ein Eye Tracker? Im Modul Methoden der Neurowissenschaft lernst Du diese und weitere wichtige empirische Methoden der kognitiven Neurowissenschaft hands-on kennen und erfährst, wie Du die passende Methode für dein eigenes Forschungsprojekt findest. Diese Kenntnisse wirst Du dann im Forschungspraktikum in ganz verschiedenen Laboren direkt an konkreten Beispielen trainieren und vertiefen. 

    Im Modul Computational Neuroscience wird das theoretische Verständnis von Hirnfunktionen vertieft und um den Bereich der Modellierung und Programmierung praktisch konkretisiert und erweitert. Du lernst die Prozesse der Informationsverarbeitung in einzelnen Nervenzellen und in Zellnetzwerken kennen und verstehst, wie man sie modelliert und interpretiert.

    Abhängig von deinem Bachelorabschluss wirst Du im Wahlpflichtmodul Disziplinspezifische Grundlagen aus verschiedenen Angeboten wählen und so Deine fachliche Ausbildung ganz spezifisch und individuell ergänzen. Diese Kompetenzen baust Du im Wahlpflichtmodul Interdisziplinäre Vertiefung weiter aus und kannst sie auf Grundlage Deines persönlichen Forschungsprofils entsprechend Deinen Kenntnissen und Interessen vertiefen.

    Der krönende Abschluss – eine eigene Forschungsarbeit! Wie man dies am besten angeht, das lernst und entwickelst Du unter wissenschaftspraktischer Anleitung im letzten Modul Forschungsmodul und Masterarbeit. Auf Basis existierender Forschungsergebnisse werden Hypothesen entwickelt und fachgerecht unter Zuhilfenahme geeigneter Methoden und Verfahren einer Überprüfung unterzogen. 

    Interdisziplinarität

    Das in dieser interdisziplinären Breite besondere Studienangebot bündelt alle relevanten Disziplinen der kognitiven Neurowissenschaften und wird auf beiden Seiten, von den Lehrenden und von den Studierenden gelebt. Studierende mit einem Bachelorabschluss in Psychologie, Biologie, Informatik, Mathematik, Physik, oder Bewegungswissenschaften - und verwandten Fachkombinationen - sind deshalb herzlich willkommen! Wir sind davon überzeugt, dass gerade die fachliche Vielfalt bestmögliche Lern- und Forschungsergebnisse erzielen wird. Überzeuge Dich selbst, was Studierende und Lehrende aller Fachrichtungen an Neurowissenschaften begeistert: 

    Mit meinem Hintergrund in Biologie finde ich die Neurowissenschaften total spannend, da wir durch sie die Mechanismen hinter menschlichem und tierischem Verhalten, Denken und Fühlen untersuchen können. Von bildgebenden Verfahren wie der Kernspintomographie bis hin zu elektrophysiologischen Messungen einzelner Neuronen – die Neurowissenschaften ermöglichen es uns, komplexe Fragestellungen spezifisch zu erforschen und unser Gehirn und seine Funktionen besser zu verstehen.
    Sophie Siestrup, Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin Biologische Psychologie (B. Sc. Biowissenschaften)
    Den B.Sc. Psychologie begann ich mit der festen Vorstellung, später als Psychotherapeutin zu arbeiten. Während meiner Bachelorarbeit hatte ich jedoch so viel Spaß an der Datenanalyse und beim Programmieren von Experimenten, dass ich mich für einen neurowissenschaftlich ausgelegten Master entschied und in der Zeit meine Interessen vertiefen konnte. Als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin habe ich heute immer noch besonders viel Spaß daran, eine Fragestellung in das passende Experiment zu übersetzen und neue statistische Methoden auszuprobieren.
    Frauke Heins, Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin Allgemeine Psychologie (B. Sc. Psychologie)
    Da ich einen Master in Psychologie mit dem Schwerpunkt Kognitive Neurowissenschaften gemacht habe, war der Weg in die neurowissenschaftliche Forschung nicht allzu weit. Trotzdem habe ich meiner Zeit in der Wissenschaft noch jede Menge dazugelernt und es gibt immer noch so viel mehr zu wissen, denn unsere Gehirne haben bis jetzt noch nicht ganz herausgefunden, wie sie selbst funktionieren.
    Falko Mecklenbrauck, Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter Biologische Psychologie (B. Sc. Psychologie)
    Die erfolgreichsten Teams sind fachlich interdisziplinär. Genau diesen Mehrwert werden die Studierenden des iKon direkt erleben.
    Anna-Gesina Hülemeier, Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin Allgemeine Psychologie (B. Sc. Psychologie)
    Elektromagnetische Felder im menschlichen Gehirn zu untersuchen ist ein ganz besonderer Anwendungsbereich physikalischer Phänomene und es gibt unfassbar viel zu entdecken. Die Vorstellung, durch meine Forschung neuronale Funktionsweisen besser nachzuvollziehen oder einen Beitrag zum Verständnis bzw. zur Heilung von Krankheiten zu leisten, ist sehr motivierend.
    Yvonne Buschermöhle, Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin Institut für Biomagnetismus und Biosignalanalyse (B. Sc, Physik)
    Forschungsfeld, das viele verschiedene Disziplinen zusammenbringt. Durch die Mathematik habe ich ein Verständnis für die Algorithmen zur Erstellung von medizinischen Bilddaten. Mein Hintergrund in der Psychologie als Nebenfach befähigt mich aus den fertigen medizinischen Bilddaten neurowissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse gewinnen zu können. Im Bereich der künstlichen Intelligenz sehe ich in der Zukunft ein vielfältiges Potential neue Einblicke in den kognitiven Neurowissenschaften zu erhalten.
    Jorunn Anna Mense, B.Sc. Mathematik
  • Deine Benefits

    Deine Talente sind gefragt und wir fördern Dich individuell!

    Neurowissenschaften sind so vielseitig wie Deine Interessen. Wir möchten Dich gezielt fördern, weil wir davon überzeugt sind, dass Du bereits viele relevante Skills mitbringst: Das Interesse an menschlichem Erleben und Verhalten, logisches Denken, und empirische Arbeitsweisen.

    Mit unserem Masterstudiengang wirst Du fachlich über den Tellerrand schauen, weil wir alle aus den verschiedensten Bereichen zusammenkommen. Was uns verbindet, ist die Faszination am Gehirn. Deswegen haben wir Lehrveranstaltungen aus verschiedenen Fächern in Abhängigkeit von Deinem Abschluss zusammengestellt  und werden Deine Interessen mit denen der anderen interdisziplinär verbinden. Überzeuge Dich selbst von den Gemeinsamkeiten zu den anderen Fächern, und erfahre, was Du von den anderen lernen kannst: 

    Psychologie

    • Das bringst Du bereits mit: Grundlagen in neurokognitiven Prozessen, allgemeine und biologische Psychologie, empirische Methodenausbildung und Statistik
    • Das wirst Du lernen: Neurowissenschaftliche Methodenausbildung: EEG, fMRT, computational modeling, Neuroanatomie

    Physik

    • Das bringst Du bereits mit: Theoretische und experimentelle Herangehensweise an fundamentale Fragen über die Welt sowie Verständnis der physikalischen Prozesse, die neuronalen (Aktionspotential, Netzwerke) und behavioralen Vorgängen (Optik, Akustik, Mechanik) sowie den Messmethoden (EEG, MRT) zu Grunde liegen.
    • Das wirst Du lernen: Aufbau und Funktion des Gehirns, experimentelle Untersuchungsmethoden psychologischer Prozesse, neuronale Informationsverarbeitung

    Mathematik

    • Das bringst Du bereits mit: Mathematisches Verständnis von Analysis, linearer Algebra und Wahrscheinlichkeitstheorie, numerische Methoden

    • Das wirst Du lernen: Empirische und experimentelle Forschungsmethoden, Aufbau und Funktion des Gehirns, angewandte Modellierung, Datenverarbeitung von menschlichem Verhalten

    Biologie

    • Das bringst Du bereits mit: Verständnis der Entwicklung und Vielfalt biologischer Funktionen, Wissen über neurophysiologische Prozesse und Strukturen und Kenntnisse in der Analyse von Verhalten
    • Das wirst Du lernen: Fundierte statistische Datenauswertung, vertieftes Verständnis des menschlichen Gehirns, neurowissenschaftliche Methodenausbildung (EEG, fMRT, computational modeling)

    Medizin

    • Das bringst Du bereits mit: Kenntnisse der Physiologie und Anatomie des Menschen sowie ihre gesunde Funktion und Pathologie
    • Das wirst Du lernen: Neurowissenschaftliche Methodenausbildung (EEG, fMRT, computational modeling), statistische Datenanalyse, Modellierung

    Informatik

    • Das bringst Du bereits mit: Wissen über informationsverarbeitende Prozesse, algorithmischen Methoden zur Datenanalyse, Programmiererfahrung, strukturiertes Vorgehen zur Implementation von Abläufen, Mensch-Maschine Interaktion

    • Das wirst Du lernen: Empirische und experimentelle Forschungsmethoden, Neuroanatomie und Neurophysiologie, Analyse und Verständnis des menschlichen Verhaltens 

    Bewegungswissenschaften

    • Das bringst Du bereits mit: Erfahrung mit empirischen Methoden zur Verhaltensforschung, Anatomische und physiologische Grundlagen der Bewegungskontrolle

    • Das wirst Du lernen: Neuroanatomie: Aufbau und Funktion des Gehirns, neuronale Methodenausbildung: EEG, fMRT, MRT, computational Modelling 

    Neurowissenschaften

    • Das bringst Du bereits mit: Grundlagen neurokognitiver Prozesse sowie neuroanatomischer Strukturen, Kenntnisse in der empirischen Forschung sowie statistischer Datenanalyse

    • Das wirst Du lernen: Theorie und Methoden zur Analyse menschlichen Verhaltens und Erlebens

  • Berufliche Perspektiven

    So vielseitig die Neurowissenschaften sind, so unterschiedlich und attraktiv sind die beruflichen Perspektiven unserer Absolvent:innen.

    Die erstklassigen Methodenkenntnisse befähigen zu anspruchsvollen Tätigkeiten im Bereich Data Science und Deep Learning. Unsere Module vermitteln Kenntnisse über das menschliche Erleben und Interagieren mit einer dynamischen und komplexen Umwelt, die unter anderem in Berufsfeldern wie z. B. Mensch-Maschine-Interaktion, Robotik, Autonomes Fahren, Ergonomie, User Experience (UX) Design, künstliche Intelligenz, Medizintechnik oder Rehabilitationsforschung stark nachgefragt sind. 

    Wissen über Schädigungen des Gehirns und Störungen seiner Funktionen sind grundlegend für eine Forschungs- und Entwicklungstätigkeit im Bereich der Psychiatrie, der Neurologie und der kognitiven Rehabilitation. 

    Die interdisziplinäre Herangehensweise und das integrative Verständnis komplexer Probleme im Zusammenhang mit Gehirn, Erleben und Verhalten bereiten weiterhin auf Berufsfelder vor, in denen Wissenschaftsvermittlung und die wissenschaftlich basierte Beratung von Medien, Politik, Organisationen und Individuen eine zentrale Rolle spielen.

  • Forschung

    Alle Lehrenden im iKoN sind in der neurowissenschaftlichen Forschung aktiv. Hier kannst Du auf den Seiten der beteiligten Arbeitsgruppe weitere Informationen zu deren Forschungsinteressen bekommen. Darüber kannst Du auch die Möglichkeiten für Praktika oder Abschlussarbeiten sehen.

    Institut für Psychologie - AE Biologische Psychologie

    Institut für Psychologie - AE Allgemeine Psychologie I

    Institut für Psychologie - AE Allgemeine Psychologie II

    Institut für Biomagnetismus und Biosignalanalyse

    Institut für Neuro- und Verhaltensbiologie

    Institut für Medizinische Psychologie und Systemneurowissenschaften

    Translational Research Imaging Center

    Bewegungswissenschaften

    Neuromotorik und Training

    Translationale Psychiatrie

  • Prüfungsordnung, Strukturplan, Leistungsübersicht und Modulhandbuch

    Die Prüfungsordnung enthält alle Regelungen zum interdisziplinären Masterstudiengang Kognitive Neurowissenschaften. Der Strukturplan zeigt den idealtypischen Studienverlauf. In der Leistungsübersicht finden Sie alle Studien- und Prüfungsleistungen, die zum Abschluss des Studiums absolviert werden müssen. Hier können Sie den Strukturplan und die Leistungsübersicht herunterladen. Im Modulhandbuch finden Sie Beschreibungen aller Lehrveranstaltungen.

  • Psychotherapieausbildung (nach altem Recht)

    Für die Zulassung zur Psychotherapieausbildung (nach altem Recht) fordert das Landesprüfungsamt NRW u.a. "Eine im Inland an einer Universität oder gleichstehenden Hochschule bestandene Abschlussprüfung im Studiengang Psychologie, die das Fach Klinische Psychologie einschließt ...". Weiter heißt es: "Unter ‚Studiengang Psychologie‘ fallen auch solche Studiengänge, deren Bezeichnung auf einen Schwerpunkt oder einen Zusatz hinweist, z.B. ‚Psychologie und Psychotherapie‘ oder ‚Psychologie, Schwerpunkt Klinische Psychologie‘ (im Unterschied zu einer Spezialisierung z.B. ‚Rehabilitationspsychologie‘)." Der Interdisziplinäre Masterstudiengang Kognitive Neurowissenschaften erfüllt damit nicht die Vorgaben für die Psychotherapieausbildung (nach altem Recht).

  • Bewerbung

    Bitte beachte unsere Informationen zum regulären Bewerbungsverfahren und zu besonderen Fällen im Bewerbungsverfahren. Dort finden Sie auch ausführliche Informationen zu den Zulassungsvoraussetzungen und der Studienplatzvergabe.

    Voraussetzung für den Zugang zum interdisziplinären Masterstudiengang Kognitive Neurowissenschaften ist neben den allgemeinen Voraussetzungen für die Einschreibung die Absolvierung eines fachlich einschlägigen Studiums an einer deutschen oder ausländischen Hochschule mit einer Regelstudienzeit von mindestens 6 Semestern, das mit einem Bachelor of Science (B. Sc.) oder einem vergleichbaren berufsqualifizierenden Abschluss erfolgreich beendet worden ist. Fachlich einschlägige sind folgende Studiengänge:

    Angewandte Physik, Bioinformatik, Biologie, Biophysik, Biowissenschaften, Cognitive Science, Computer Science, Experimentalphysik, „Human Movement Analytics -Biomechanics, Motor Control, and Learning“, Human Movement in Sports and Exercise, Human Movement Science, Humanbiologie, Informatik, „Informatik, Mathematik und Physik“, Kognitionswissenschaft, Kognitive Informatik, Mathematik, Mathematik in Medizin und Lebenswissenschaften, Mathematik und Informatik, Mathematische Physik, Mensch-Computer-Interaktion, Naturwissenschaften, Neuro-Cognitive Psychology, Neurowissenschaften, Philosophie-Neurowissenschaften-Kognition, Physik, Psychologie, Sensorik und kognitive Psychologie, Statistik, Theoretische Physik oder ein Abschluss in Medizin.

    Abschlüsse an Hochschulen außerhalb der Europäischen Union werden vom Studierendensekretariat auf ihre Äquivalenz überprüft.