Bachelor of Science in Geophysics

Geophysics is located at the interface between physics and geoscience. It combines the phenomenological observations of physical properties of the earth’s crust and of natural processes such as earthquakes and volcanism with the use of mathematical and physical methods to reach a quantitative understanding of these phenomena. Therefore, besides providing a sound basis in geophysics and geoscience, the three-year long Bachelor’s course in Geophysics provides a solid background in mathematics, experimental and theoretical physics as well as methodical knowledge in data processing and programming. Geophysical practical training, an international field course and interdisciplinary studies complement the curriculum. After the successful completion of the study course the academic degree Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.) in Geophysics is awarded.

The following graphic depicts the general structure of the study course:

Modules for the Bachelor of Science in Geophysics

Semester

1 (WS) Geophysics I
8 CP (OM)
Fundamental
Mathematics
16 CP (OM)
Physics I
14 CP (OM)
Geosciences I
2 (SS) Geophysics II
8 CP (OM)
Physics II
14 CP (OM)
3 (WS) Integration Theory
8 CP (OM)
Physics III
14 CP (OM)
Geosciences I
(continuation)
8 CP (OM)
4 (SS) Geophysics III
10 CP (OM)
Geophysics V
10 CP (OM)
Physics
Laboratory
Course I
13 CP (OM)
Geosciences II
13 CP (OM)
5 (WS) Geophysics IV
10 CP (OM)
Geophysics VI
11 CP (OM)
6 (SS) Bachelor’s Thesis
14 CP (EM)
Interdisciplinary Studies
9 CP (EM)
OM: obligatory module
WS: winter semester
EM: elective module
SS: summer semester

Contents of the Modules:

  • Geophysics I-III
    These modules cover the basics of geophysics. They span from the most important properties of the system earth to geophysical exploration methods such as seismology, electric and electromagnetic techniques to mathematical and numerical methods of geophysics and geophysical data processing.
  • Geophysics IV-VI
    In lectures, seminars and exercises the knowledge of geophysics is expanded and connected to topics of current research. In an international field course the students experience selected methods of applied geophysics in practical use and are introduced to data analysis and data interpretation.
  • Geoscience I and II
    These modules supplement the geophysical perspective with knowledge from other areas of geoscience such as geology, geochemistry, petrography, hydrogeology etc. Thereby, students get a complete picture of the system of the earth.
  • Physics I-III
    These modules provide an overview of the various topics of classical physics, starting with the mechanics of particles and systems of particles, thermodynamics, electromagnetism, electrodynamics and optics up to a first glance at the limits of classical physics and the appearance of quantum effects. Theoretical complements to Physics II and III are dedicated to the fields of analytical mechanics and special relativity. These modules are identical with the respective modules of the Bachelor’s study course in physics.
  • Fundamental Mathematics and Integration Theory
    For both the analysis of geophysical data as well as for the model-building and simulation of geophysical processes a sound education in mathematics is needed. These two modules cover the fundamentals of analysis and linear algebra relevant for geophysics. They are identical with the respective modules of the Bachelor’s study course in physics.
  • Laboratory Couse
    In physics, experiments play a key role in the examination of laws of nature. During this module, the conduct of experiments, the written presentation of results and their critical evaluation are trained.
  • Interdisciplinary Studies
    The study course is complemented by interdisciplinary studies. Students can choose from a broad range of subjects related to geoscience or from the General Studies program offered at the University of Münster.
  • Bachelor’s Thesis
    First experiences with independent scientific work are made in the course of the Bachelor’s project. Its results are summarized in a written thesis and presented in a talk.

More detailed modules descriptions can be found in the appendix of the examination regulations of the Bachelor’s course in geophysics (in German).

Further Information:

Bachelor of Science Geophysik

Die Geophysik steht an der Schnittstelle zwischen Geowissenschaften und Physik. Sie verbindet die phänomenologische Betrachtung der physikalischen Eigenschaften der Erdkruste sowie natürlicher Prozesse wie Erdbeben und Vulkanismus mit dem Einsatz mathematisch-physikalischer Methoden, um so zu einem quantitativen Verständnis der Phänomene zu gelangen. Der dreijährige Bachelor-Studiengang Geophysik vermittelt dazu neben geophysikalischen und geowissenschaftlichen Grundlagen solide Kenntnisse in Mathematik, experimenteller und theoretischer Physik sowie methodisches Wissen aus dem Bereich der Datenverarbeitung und Programmierung. Geophysikalische Praktika, ein internationaler Feldkurs und fächerübergreifende Wahlstudien runden das Curriculums ab. Bei erfolgreichem Abschluss wird der Hochschulgrad Bachelor of Science (B. Sc.) Geophysik verliehen.

Die folgende Grafik verdeutlicht den prinzipiellen Studienverlauf:

Module im Bachelor of Science Geophysik

Semester

1 (WS) Geophysik I
8 LP (PM)
Mathematische
Grundlagen
16 LP (PM)
Physik I
14 LP (PM)
Geowissen-
schaften I
2 (SS) Geophysik II
8 LP (PM)
Physik II
14 LP (PM)
3 (WS) Integrationstheorie
8 LP (PM)
Physik III
14 LP (PM)
Geowissen-
schaften I
(Fortsetzung)
8 LP (PM)
4 (SS) Geophysik III
10 LP (PM)
Geophysik V
10 LP (PM)
Physik
Experimentelle
Übungen I
13 LP (PM)
Geowissen-
schaften II
13 LP (PM)
5 (WS) Geophysik IV
10 LP (PM)
Geophysik VI
11 LP (PM)
6 (SS) Examensmodul
14 LP (WPM)
Fächerübergreifende Studien
9 LP (WPM)
PM: Pflichtmodul WPM: Wahlpflichtmodul

Inhalte der Module:

  • Geophysik I–III
    In diesen Modulen werden grundlegende Kenntnisse der Geophysik vermittelt. Diese reichen von den wichtigsten Eigenschaften des Systems Erde über geophysikalische Untersuchungsmethoden wie Seismologie, elektrische und elektromagnetische Verfahren bis zu mathematischen und numerischen Methoden der Geophysik und der geophysikalischen Datenverarbeitung.
  • Geophysik IV–VI
    In Vorlesungen, Seminaren und Übungen werden die Kenntnisse in Geophysik vertieft und mit Themen der aktuellen Forschung verknüpft. In einem internationalen Feldkurs lernen die Studierenden ausgewählte Methoden der angewandten Geophysik im praktischen Einsatz kennen und werden an die Datenauswertung und Dateninterpretation herangeführt.
  • Geowissenschaften I und II
    Der geophysikalische Blickwinkel wird in diesen Modulen durch Veranstaltungen aus anderen Bereichen der Geowissenschaften wie Geologie, Geochemie, Gesteinskunde, Hydrogeologie u. a. ergänzt. Die Studierenden erhalten dadurch ein umfassendes Bild des Systems Erde.
  • Physik I–III
    Diese Module enthalten die Grundlagen der klassischen Physik, angefangen von der Mechanik von Teilchen und Teilchensystemen über die Thermodynamik, Elektromagnetismus, Elektrodynamik und Optik bis hin zu einem ersten Ausblick auf die Grenzen der klassischen Physik und das Auftreten von Quantenphänomenen. Ergänzungen zur Physik II und III sind der Analytischen Mechanik und der Speziellen Relativitätstheorie gewidmet. Die Module sind identisch mit den entsprechenden Modulen im B. Sc.-Studiengang Physik.
  • Grundlagen der Mathematik und Integrationstheorie
    Sowohl für die Analyse geophysikalischer Daten aus auch für die Modellierung und Simulation geophysikalischer Prozesse ist eine solide mathematische Basis notwendig. Die beiden Module vermitteln die für die Geophysik relevanten mathematischen Grundlagen aus den Bereichen Analysis und Lineare Algebra. Die Module sind identisch mit den entsprechenden Modulen im B. Sc.-Studiengang Physik.
  • Physik: Experimentelle Übungen
    In den Naturwissenschaften spielt das Experiment eine zentrale Rolle als Methode zur gezielten Untersuchung von Naturgesetzen. In diesem Modul wird die Durchführung von Experimenten, die schriftliche Darstellung der Ergebnisse und deren kritische Auswertung erlernt und eingeübt.
  • Fächerübergreifende Studien
    Das Studium der Geophysik wird ergänzt durch fächerübergreifende Studien. Hier kann aus einem breiten Angebot an Fächern, die in einem sinnvollen Zusammenhang mit der Geophysik stehen, sowie aus den an der WWU angebotenen allgemeinen Studien gewählt werden.
  • Examensmodul
    Im Rahmen der Bachelorarbeit werden erste Erfahrungen im selbständigen wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten gesammelt. Die Ergebnisse werden in einer Arbeit schriftlich zusammengefasst und in einem Vortrag präsentiert.

Detaillierte Modulbeschreibungen finden Sie als Anhang in der Prüfungsordnung des Bachelor-Studiengangs Geophysik.

Weitere Informationen: