Erasmus at the Department of Political Science (Incoming)

If you are interested to study at the Department of Political Sciences (IfPol) under an Exchange Programme, you firstly have to be nominated by your home university for a study at the University of Münster. The International Office of the University of Münster can provide you more information regarding the application procedure at our university.

At our department the ECTS-Points are assigned by course type. Please check below the table with the ratings for each seminar type.

Type of seminar
Credit Points
Grundkurs 6 ECTS
Proseminar / Erweiterungskurs 6 ECTS
Lektürekurs 6 ECTS
Bachelorseminar / Vertiefungskurs 6 ECTS
Statistikkurs / Methodenkurs 6 ECTS
Vorlesung 6 ECTS
Aktive Teilnahme ohne Leistungsnachweis / Active participation without assessed work 4 ECTS

The course catalogue for the Department of Political Science is updated each semester, an can be found on-line under the keyword "Vorlesungsverzeichnis". you can access the English courses here: "English Courses at the ifpol"

The teachers will send your marks to the "Service- und Informationscenter" with all the other marks. Please send us a screenshot from your ELVE-account (the system where all your marks are administered). If you attend courses outside the department of political science (ifpol) you can use the certificate ("Schein") to have your marks certified and hand this to us.

For further questions regarding your study at our department,  your Learning Agreement, etc. please have a look at our Erasmus+ FAQ or contact Tobias Schmidtke ( at the Exchange Office.

Urgent documents can also be delivered personally in the ERASMUS mailbox of the department, on the 2nd floor, room 224. Please give me a short notice via e-mail before.