Advancement of female academics at the University of Münster

The advancement of female academics is a central goal of the equal opportunity measures in place at the University of Münster. However, according to the University’s internal statistics [de], the number of female academics still lags behind that of their male colleagues. The disparity becomes even more evident with higher-level academic positions. Our goal is to address this disparity.

The University of Münster offers advancement programmes which specifically promote female junior researchers and women professors respectively.

© WWU - Julia Hubinger

Programmes for women professors

Women professors are given the opportunity to participate in coaching workshops which provide support with management tasks. In order to strengthen contacts between female academics within the University, the programme also organises annual meetings, to which all women professors, the Principal Equal Opportunity Officer and the female members of the Rectorate are invited.


© Rawpixel - Fotolia.com

Programmes for female junior researchers

The programme “Erstklassig!” (First Class!) is a mentoring programme designed to support female post-docs on their path to becoming tenured professors. “Frauen managen Hochschule” (Women in University Management) is a continuing education programme targeted at female academics to prepare them for the responsibilities of university management. Individual funding is also granted to female academics, e.g. to help finance conference and congress participation, which promotes the national and international visibility and reputation of female junior researchers in the scientific community.

© drubig-photo-Fotolia.com

Family-friendly university [de]

As part of the certification process as a recognised “family-friendly university” by the Hertie Foundation, the University of Münster has implemented special measures to enhance the compatibility of academic careers and family. One of the programmes is the Dual Career Service for spouses and life partners of University academics which supports their career development in the Münster region.

The Surrogate Grandparents project – “Time for you, time for me”

“Time for you, time for me” offers families and potential ‘surrogate grandparents’ an opportunity to meet one another at a picnic or café, share ideas and make contacts if you so desire. This could make your next family outing to the zoo a very special occasion and perhaps make a wish or two come true. And who knows what new perspectives might come of it? We provide the right setting and are always available if you have any questions or suggestions.

Förderung von Wissenschaftlerinnen an der WWU

Die Förderung von Wissenschaftlerinnen ist ein zentrales Gleichstellungsziel der WWU. Allerdings zeigt die WWU-Statistik, dass ihre Anzahl immer noch hinter der ihrer männlichen Kollegen zurücksteht. Der Unterschied ist umso deutlicher sichtbar, je höher die Position in der Wissenschaft ist. Hier gilt es anzusetzen.

Bei ihren Angeboten zur Förderung von Wissenschaftlerinnen unterscheidet die WWU zwischen der Förderung von Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und Professorinnen.

© WWU - Julia Hubinger

Programme für Professorinnen

Professorinnen erhalten die Möglichkeit, am Professorinnen-Coaching teilzunehmen, um sie in ihren Führungsaufgaben zu unterstützen. Zur besseren Vernetzung der Wissenschaftlerinnen innerhalb der Universität findet jährlich ein Treffen aller Professorinnen mit der zentralen Gleichstellungsbeauftragten und den weiblichen Mitgliedern des Rektorats statt.


Fotolia Rawpixel 73648766 L 2 1
© Rawpixel - Fotolia.com

Programme für Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen

Bei der Gruppe der Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen existiert mit Erstklassig! speziell ein Mentoringprogramm für Post-Docs auf dem Weg zur Professur.  „Frauen managen Hochschule“ ist ein Weiterqualifizierungsprogramm für Wissenschaftlerinnen für die Aufgaben des Hochschulmanagements. Das Instrument der Einzelförderung, mit welchem insbesondere Konferenz- und Tagungsreisen unterstützt werden, fördert die (inter)nationale Sichtbarkeit und Profilierung der Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen in ihrer scientific community.


Fotolia 42879785 S
© drubig-photo-Fotolia.com

Familiengerechte Hochschule

Die WWU hat im Rahmen des Professorinnenprogramms Mittel eingeworben, um Wissenschaftlerinnen mit Kind/ern zu unterstützen. Entsprechende Angebote finden Sie hier.

Spezielle Angebote zur besseren Vereinbarkeit von wissenschaftlicher Karriere und Familie wurden im Rahmen des Auditierungsprozesses zur
familiengerechten hochschule durch die Hertie-Stiftung geschaffen. Unter anderem wurde ein Dual Career-Service eingerichtet, der Ehe- und Lebensparter bzw. -partnerinnen von Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern der WWU bei ihrer beruflichen Entwicklung in der Region Münster unterstützt.
Mehr zum Thema familiengerechte Hochschule

Das Wunschgroßelternprojekt - "Zeit für Dich, Zeit für mich"

"Zeit für Dich, Zeit für mich" bietet Familien und potentiellen "Wunschgroßeltern" bei einem Picknick oder Kennlern- Café die unverbindliche Gelegenheit, einander kennenzulernen, Ideen auszutauschen und Kontakte zu knüpfen, die sie nach ihren Vorstellungen gestalten. So könnte der nächste Zoobesuch zu einem ganz besonderen Familienausflug werden oder der ein oder andere Wunsch in Erfüllung gehen. Wer weiß, welche neuen Perspektiven sich dabei eröffnen? Wir schaffen einen Rahmen und begleiten die Beteiligten mit all ihren Fragen und Anregungen.
Weitere Informationen zu Wunschgroßeltern gibt es hier