Conference participation funding


Female junior researchers may apply once a year for funding from the University’s Programme for the Advancement of Women to offset the cost of participating at academic congresses and conferences. For domestic trips, the programme can grant funding to cover up to 100% of the conference, travel and accommodation expenses (max. 400 euros), and for trips abroad, up to 60% (max. 1,000 euros). Individual applicants may receive a maximum of 1,000 euros per year in funding. Subsistence allowances are not provided, and travel and accommodation expense accounting is subject to the federal travel expense laws of North Rhine-Westphalia (Landesreisekostengesetz).

Candidates are invited to submit an informal application by email to the Equal Opportunity Officer prior to departure. Staff members in the Faculty of Medicine (FB 5) can obtain further informations here.
Application requirements:

  1. Confirmation of active participation in the event, generally indicated by a paper, poster presentation or lecture to be given by the applicant
  2. Reasons for funding request, briefly describing why attending the conference is important
  3. Written evidence showing (e.g. by way of a notice of denied funding) why other sources of financing (e.g. professorship, working group, institute, department, DAAD [de]* etc.) are unsuitable or insufficient
  4. Cost calculation which outlines the extent of the requested funding


*Information on applying for funding from the DAAD:
The DAAD requires applicants to submit their funding applications at least four months prior to the first day of the event. The confirmation of active participation (i.e. acceptance of the proposed presentation or lecture) and the amount of the conference fees can be provided at a later time.

Förderung von Konferenz- und Tagungsreisen für Promovendinnen und Postdocs

Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen können pro Person und Jahr einen Antrag stellen, um bei der Teilnahme an Tagungen und Konferenzen eine finanzielle Unterstützung aus dem universitätseigenen Frauenförderprogramm zu erhalten. Bei Inlandsreisen können  bis zu 100 Prozent der Tagungs-, Reise- und Übernachtungskosten gefördert werden (max. 400 Euro), bei Auslandsreisen bis zu 60 Prozent (max. 1.200 Euro). Insgesamt beträgt eine Individualförderung höchstens 1.200 Euro pro Jahr. Für die Abrechnung der Reise- und Übernachtungskosten gelten die Bedingungen des Landesreisekostengesetzes.

Anträge werden formlos (gerne per E-Mail) vor Antritt der Reise an die Gleichstellungsbeauftragte gerichtet. Zu den Fördermöglichkeiten von Kongressreisen im FB 05 finden Sie hier Hinweise.

Voraussetzungen für die Antragstellung sind

  1. der Nachweis über eine aktive Teilnahme an der Veranstaltung, i. d. R. durch eigene Paper/Poster-Präsentation bzw. Vortrag,
  2. die Begründung des Förderbedarfs, in der kurz dargelegt wird, welche Bedeutung der Besuch der Tagung hat,
  3. der schriftliche Nachweis (z. B. Ablehnungsbescheid) warum andere Finanzierungsquellen nicht in Frage kommen oder nicht ausreichen, d.h. Lehrstuhl/ Arbeitsgruppe/ Institut/ Fachbereich sowie DAAD(PDF)* (Bewerbungsfrist mindestens 4 Monate im Voraus, Nachreichung Beitragsannahme bis 30 Tage vorher)
  4. eine Kostenkalkulation, die den Umfang der beantragten Förderung darstellt.

    * Hinweis zur Antragstellung beim DAAD
    :
    Der Antrag muss den formalen Vorgaben entsprechend mindestens vier Monate vor dem ersten Tag der Veranstaltung beim DAAD eingegangen sein. Die Bestätigung der Vortragsannahme und der Nachweis über die Höhe der Tagungsgebühr können jedoch nachgereicht werden.

Förderung von virtuellen Konferenzen:

Für Konferenzen, die nicht in Präsenz stattfinden können, kann eine Förderung für die Tagungskosten (max. 400 Euro) beantragt werden. Es gelten die oben beschriebenen Voraussetzungen.