Important Dates

Overview of all lecture periods, semester breaks, general dates and deadlines for students

Semester dates and holidays

Pentacost/Christmas holidays
Start of semester
Beginning of lectures First day of holidays Last day of holidays End of lectures End of semester
WS 2014/15 1 Oct. 2014 6 Oct. 2014 22 Dec. 2014 2 Jan. 2015 6 Feb. 2015 31 Mar. 2015
SS 2015 1 Apr. 2015 7 Apr. 2015 26 May 2015 29 May 2015 17 Jul. 2015 30 Sep. 2015
WS 2015/16 1 Oct. 2015 19 Oct. 2015 23 Dec. 2015 6 Jan. 2016 12 Feb. 2016 31 Mar. 2016
SS 2016 1 Apr. 2016 11 Apr. 2016 17 May 2016 20 May 2016 22 Jul. 2016 30 Sep. 2016
WS 2016/17 1 Oct. 2016 17 Oct. 2016 23 Dec. 2016 6 Jan. 2017 10 Feb. 2017 31 Mar. 2017
SS 2017 1 Apr. 2017 18 Apr. 2017 6 Jun. 2017 9 Jun. 2017 28 Jul. 2017 30 Sep. 2017
WS 2017/18 1 Oct. 2017 9 Oct. 2017 27 Dec. 2017 5 Jan. 2018 2 Feb. 2018 31 Mar. 2018
SS 2018 1 Apr. 2018 9 Apr. 2018 22 May 2018 25 May 2018 20 Jul. 2018 30 Sep. 2018
WS 2018/19 1 Oct. 2018 8 Oct. 2018 21 Dec. 2018 4 Jan. 2019 1 Feb. 2019 31 Mar. 2019
Dates subject to change

Are you looking for other dates?

View all semester dates and holidays from SS 2011 to WS 2023/24

General dates and deadlines

  • Registering for required examinations

    If you wish to take an examination, you must first register for the exam on QISPOS or directly with your Examination Office. If you show up to take an exam without registering beforehand, you may be barred from taking it.

    Information on registration periods, QISPOS and the Examination Offices

  • Re-registration

    At the beginning of the second half of each semester, students are required to re-register to indicate to the University that they wish to continue their studies in the coming semester. You can re-register by simply paying the semester fee. The re-registration portal opens at the beginning of July for winter-semester registration, and at the beginning of January for summer-semester registration.

    More information on re-registration

  • Leave of absence

    You may submit a request to take a leave of absence to Student Admissions Office as long as you re-register no later than the last working day before the beginning of the new lecture period. Taking a leave of absence during a semester that has already begun is only permitted in exceptional cases (e.g. due to illness or pregnancy).

    More information on leaves of absence

  • Changing degree programmes

    If you are granted admission to a new restricted-admission degree programme, you may only switch into the new programme within the period stated in the notification of admission. In the case of non-restricted subjects, you may submit your request in person to the Student Admissions office, provided you have re-registered for the coming semester no later than the last working day before the beginning of the lecture period.

    Additional deadlines
    (e.g. for doctoral study after completing your degree programme)

  • De-registration

    As a rule, you may request permission to de-register (exmatriculate) at any time. Please note, however, de-registration may take effect either at the end or the beginning of a semester depending on when the request is approved. Furthermore, reimbursement of the semester fee can only be requested within a certain period.

    More information on de-registration

TERMINE

Nachfolgend finden Sie die Semester- und Ferientermine sowie allgemeine Termine und Fristen für Studierende.

Semester- und Ferientermine

      Pfingst-/ Weihnachtsferien:    
  Semester-
beginn
Vorlesungs-
beginn
Erster
Ferientag
Letzter
Ferientag
Vorlesungs-
ende
Semester-
schluss
Alle Angaben ohne Gewähr
WiSe 2014/15 01.10.2014 06.10.2014 22.12.2014 02.01.2015 06.02.2015 31.03.2015
SoSe 2015 01.04.2015 07.04.2015 26.05.2015 29.05.2015 17.07.2015 30.09.2015
WiSe 2015/16 01.10.2015 19.10.2015 23.12.2015 06.01.2016 12.02.2016 31.03.2016
SoSe 2016 01.04.2016 11.04.2016 17.05.2016 20.05.2016 22.07.2016 30.09.2016
WiSe 2016/17 01.10.2016 17.10.2016 23.12.2016 06.01.2017 10.02.2017 31.03.2017
SoSe 2017 01.04.2017 18.04.2017 06.06.2017 09.06.2017 28.07.2017 30.09.2017
WiSe 2017/18 01.10.2017 02.10.2017 27.12.2017 05.01.2018 26.01.2018 31.03.2018
SoSe 2018 01.04.2018 09.04.2018 22.05.2018 25.05.2018 20.07.2018 30.09.2018
WiSe 2018/19 01.10.2018 01.10.2018 21.12.2018 04.01.2019 25.01.2019 31.03.2019

Sie benötigen weitere Termine? Unter folgendem Link finden Sie alle Semester- und Ferientermine ab dem Sommersemester 2011 bis zum Wintersemester 2023/24.

Rückmeldung

Als Studierender erklären Sie jeweils ab Beginn der zweiten Hälfte eines Semesters mit Ihrer Rückmeldung, dass Sie auch im kommenden Semester an der Universität Münster studieren wollen. Die Rückmeldung erfolgt durch Zahlung des Semesterbeitrags. Das Portal für die Rückmeldung wird ab Anfang Juli für ein Wintersemester und ab Anfang Januar für ein Sommersemester geöffnet.
Nähere Informationen zur Rückmeldung

Beurlaubung

Nach durchgeführter Rückmeldung bis spätestens letztem Werktag vor Vorlesungsbeginn können Sie eine Beurlaubung im Studierendensekretariat beantragen. Während des laufenden Semesters ist eine Beurlaubung nur in Ausnahmefällen (Krankheit oder Schwangerschaft) möglich.
Nähere Informationen zur Beurlaubung

Umschreibung

Wenn Sie eine Zulassung für einen neuen zulassungsbeschränkten Studiengang erhalten haben, so können Sie sich nur in dem im Zulassungsbescheid angegebenen Zeitraum umschreiben lassen. Für zulassungsfreie Fächer können Sie sich nach durchgeführter Rückmeldung bis zum letzten Werktag vor Beginn der Vorlesungen persönlich im Studierendensekretariat umschreiben lassen. Weitere Fristen, wie z. B. für die Umschreibung für eine Promotion nach Abschluss Ihres Studiums, finden Sie hier.

Exmatrikulation

Grundsätzlich kann die Exmatrikulation jederzeit beantragt werden. Beachten Sie jedoch bitte, dass die Gültigkeit der Exmatrikulation je nach Zeitpunkt das Semesterende beziehungsweise der Semesteranfang sein kann. Außerdem gelten besondere Fristen zur Erstattung des Semesterbeitrages.
Nähere Informationen zur Exmatrikulation